What do you want to see in 2025?

Who would be number one on your list, Sugar?
I don't have one at this point. But I think Brayshaw from Freo is up for free-agency to this point.

Tom deKoning would a great fit imo... with Maxy getting well into his 30's. But highly unlikely to escape the clutches of the Blues bayou.

... anyway the reason I added this to my post, was in hoping that someone would start a thread now, early, Re our next Trade and Draft period for 2025...

I do think we are one more trade and draft period away from more success... a further season into young players emerging, and more recruits (some might be ready and going from game one in 2026)... plus a top line free-agent added into this mix, I think will have us in great shape.

Here is the 2025 free agents list, as of Oct 2024.

www.zerohanger.com/full-list-of-2025-afl-free-agents-revealed-155618/

www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-2024-list-of-2025-free-agents-best-players-out-of-contract-next-season-trade-targets-marcus-bontempelli-andrew-brayshaw-luke-daviesuniacke-latest-news/news-story/c419bc1c35558d1acee7a00c4cb7f727

www.afl.com.au/news/1235717/the-fog-bont-rayner-head-long-list-of-2025-free-agents

Players out of contract at end of 2025

www.footywire.com/afl/footy/out_of_contract_players?year=2025

www.zerohanger.com/afl/players/off-contract-2025/

A) Having looked at the fixture which looks rather grouse. 15+ wins, Langford/Jefferson/Lindsay to have ripper first seasons and to add a new dynamic to the team with one of them winning the Rising Star. Goody and co to actually develop new game plans and an actual plan B. Finish somewhere between 3rd and 8th and at least make it through to a prelim or the grand final. Finally to finish the season with a planned succession with Cameron Bruce to replace Goodwin as senior coach in 2026. Petracca and Oliver to have a clean run at it this year and get back to their best. If Petracca leaves at the end of 2025, Demons to be adequately compensated. Dees to hold onto Pickett, McVee and anyone else who is constantly linked with a move. Demons to claim Kalani White in the top 10 in the 2025 Draft.

B) Lose the first 3-5 games, Goody gets the chop. Similar rebuilding style year where the likes of Jefferson, Lindsay and Langford get crucial development in the ones, however we finish bottom 6. Petracca, Oliver and potentially Pickett leave end of season after a solid campaign and the Dees get significant compensation (end up with 5-7 first round picks in the 2025 draft a la Richmond which allows us to quickly rebuild including taking Kalani White).

C) Several season ending injuries to crucial players once again, Goodwin extension, finish bottom 6, Kalani White goes to GC in the draft, issues with Trac/Oliver/etc continue and they don't leave, McVee/Rivers/Pickett request to go home, Petty plays the entire year as a forward and kicks 5.17, Pert/Bartlett sue the club and the media don't leave us alone suggesting that we once again merge with another club or relocate.

Firstly I'd like to see Petty go back and see Jeffo get given some games. I'd like to see Sparrow, Salem, and TMac pushed out of the team by young talent.

Secondly I'd like to see a much more attacking game plan that sees overlap footy through the middle and isolating our forwards more. No more over cautious movement from the back half from Salem and Lever. Who cares if we give up a few more goals.

Thirdly, if none of the above happens, as I expect, then I hope our continued cautious and boring approach results in more of the same - a bottom six finish and Goody getting the sack. Bonus points if Trac leaves and we get a dead fish for Oliver's contract off our books.

My preference is paragraph 2, but three would be tragically funny.
Can’t see anything positive if Petracca goes. Genuine A grade talent. Oliver the same if used right.

Agree with the rest.

Need a completely different approach from half back. Petty goes back as you say and pressure mounts on guys that are furniture. I’d like us to take a leaf out of the books or Hawthorn and Brisbane; speed and fitness, pressure and intensity.

I think the scoring will come if that occurs.

Petracca decides to leave and we trade him for a future first because he's 30
Oliver goes off the rails and we delist him
Kozzys decides to leave and we trade him for Darcy at Freo so we can play 2 rucks next year
We spend all the picks we have on JUH who misses next year with personal issues
The club in a strong showing of solidarity re contracts Goody for 5 more years.
Crowds dip below and average of 20k so that Headless can enjoy his decaf in peace.

Petracca decides to leave and we trade him for a future first because he's 30
Oliver goes off the rails and we delist him
Kozzys decides to leave and we trade him for Darcy at Freo so we can play 2 rucks next year
We spend all the picks we have on JUH who misses next year with personal issues
The club in a strong showing of solidarity re contracts Goody for 5 more years.
Crowds dip below and average of 20k so that Headless can enjoy his decaf in peace.
1_d8991e2603723a264e9b119502c179e8.jpeg

Return to finals playing attacking footy.

Oliver fit and back to his best.

Trac and Koz both happy and wanting to stay.

Jefferson and Adams to step up and get senior games and look like they belong.

Windsor, McVee, Riv, JVR continued improvement and looking like future AA prospects.

If little to none of this happens, then Goody to get the sack and we go hard for Buckley.

Can’t see anything positive if Petracca goes. Genuine A grade talent. Oliver the same if used right.

Agree with the rest.

Need a completely different approach from half back. Petty goes back as you say and pressure mounts on guys that are furniture. I’d like us to take a leaf out of the books or Hawthorn and Brisbane; speed and fitness, pressure and intensity.

I think the scoring will come if that occurs.
The third paragraph was the doomsday MFC supporter perspective. Of course I don't want that to happen.

I'd also like to see Verrall debut if Gawn is out injured because I'm wondering what he is doing on our books still if he's never going to play.

We kinda need a ruck when Gawn retires, which is sooner rather than later.
I think we got Campbell because Verrall is still a fair way off it. He looked improved at Casey last year but fitness still an issue. He's only 20. Rucks take time. Xerri is 25 and just came good. Seems like mid 20s is when rucks start to fully develop. He has time. But I'd be surprised if he gets a senior call up this year. But definitely would like to see him go close with form at Casey. I'm not too concerned about the ruck situation. Lions just won the GF with a makeshift ruckman. We've ben lucky to have big Maxy, but I'm more concerned about replacing May. I'd be more inclined to hope Adams comes good. Petty and Adams with Lever as the floater is hopefully our backline in 2 years. I rate Petty as a solid full back.

And Collingwood. We are both these clubs bunnies. Can't see us winning either.
Collingwood are gonna be junk I reckon we'll smash them.

I'm just hoping we get away with no injuries for that one.

I can take a collingwood loss as long as we beat Essendon. Hate that club so much i don't care how we do it, i'd take a goodwin style win over them

What do you want to see in 2025?