What is the best pub in Perth?

I'll probably get abused for my choice of pubs but for some reason I really like the Hyde Park Hotel, the back bar, 20 cent pool, you can't go wrong
respect to that.

Thought it would go to the dogs when woolworths bought it, but so far it has stayed pretty much the same. Though they need to scrap that poxy electronic duke box and bring back the old one :thumbsu:

BTW DE, are you aware of the bearded man and the work he is involved in ;)

respect to that.

Thought it would go to the dogs when woolworths bought it, but so far it has stayed pretty much the same. Though they need to scrap that poxy electronic duke box and bring back the old one :thumbsu:

BTW DE, are you aware of the bearded man and the work he is involved in ;)

Hmmm you could only mean one of two people, Dodgey roger, or shane.

Both are involved in a fair share of dodgey dealings but yeah I know them both very well, Poor roger is not long for this world hey, Hopefully they will retire his seat when he passes, a true stallwart of the Hydie experience. I was just about to tell everyone of when and where he gets there and how but quickly decided against this. But yeah been there plenty of times and gone into the toilets only to be offered a toke of what i can only describe as a brown tar coasted smoke that always puts me on my arse

Oh and about those electronic dukeboxes their awesome. Just turn off the switch at the back, complain that they took your money (like 6 bucks is my regular amount) then they givie it to you and fix it (cos it resests the whole computer) Thats it, simple, but only do it once a night, they might catch on otherwise

Resurrecting this hread: Can i just say that the state of pubs in Perth seems to get weaker by the year. I remember going to the brisbane a year or two back, and going yeah, this isn't bad. Classy, pretty chilled out. I went there last weekend and **** ME it was packed. You couldn't get to the bar to save your life. it was a joke.

Why is every single bar in the city understaffed? Surely they realize the more bar staff, the more booze you can serve and the more money you make.

Whats with all the pubs these days going 'up market'? it's starting to drive me u the wall. I just want to be able to go to a pub, have a pie (not a bloody salmon wraop with wasbi and daikon coleslaw), have a jug (not a 330ml bottle of imported wank) and be able to sit with a few friends to watch whatever sport we wanted to watch that wasn't on free to air and not have to actually 'get dressed' to do it. I totally understand that generalyl places want to 'class up' to attraxct a more 'reputable' crowd, but **** me, it's very hard to act classy, when you on your 5 jug, drssed in your sports garb and yelling at somme goose ont he tele who stuffed up.

For example, If your pub is within 2km of a strip joint, you shouldn't be trying to class up the joint.

If you place is freqquented by prostitutes looking for a bit of shelter when it's raining outside. You shouldn't class up the joint

If there are people selling/using/looking to score drugs outside you venue. You shouldn't be trying to class up the joint

If there are blood/vomit/urine anywhere on your floor. You shouldn't be trying to class up your joint.

Idf you have a drive thru attatched to your pub, don't try and classy it up

but laslty, and this may be the most important of all. When you try to class up your place, you will inevitablly get the worst of the worst of the clientelle, the wannabe classy girls/metrosexual guys, who try as they might by drinknig crap beer, eating worsoe food and wearing fake fashion labels will only ever cause griewf and for the place to go downhill.

Haha, you're in form today DE!!! :thumbsu:

I met a mate at the Rivervale for a beer the other week and I was shocked walking into an old school working class pub because there's so few around now.

DE wins.

Case in point: Murdoch University Tavern. Sure, the old one was a bit small, it was in the middle of nowhere and the drinks were far too expensive for poverty stricken students, but at least it had a bit of character. Now the new tavern is a horrible piece of shit that was probably designed by all of the chancellery because as soon as you walk in there, you feel inadequate. If you aren't bringing home $100k a year then you don't belong. It's as if the bar staff are holding themselves back from telling you to f*ck right off and go drink goon on the kerb by yourself, you filthy, disease carrying, cardboard box inhabiting bum.

Queens....the best pub by far, followed by Moon & Sixpence and Elephant & Wheelbarrow. The Old Bailey in Joondalup is not bad either.

Brisbane is crap, full of high-class wannabees

DE wins.

Case in point: Murdoch University Tavern. Sure, the old one was a bit small, it was in the middle of nowhere and the drinks were far too expensive for poverty stricken students, but at least it had a bit of character. Now the new tavern is a horrible piece of shit that was probably designed by all of the chancellery because as soon as you walk in there, you feel inadequate. If you aren't bringing home $100k a year then you don't belong. It's as if the bar staff are holding themselves back from telling you to f*ck right off and go drink goon on the kerb by yourself, you filthy, disease carrying, cardboard box inhabiting bum.
I must disagree BKBP.

I really like it now. But I liked the old one too... so I dunno.

Much better perving location now.

Queens....the best pub by far, followed by Moon & Sixpence and Elephant & Wheelbarrow. The Old Bailey in Joondalup is not bad either.

I am a bit over the "British" pubs. The Moon', Elephant', Old Bailey etc..... The clientele are all geezers and there seems to be a bit try hard attempt to recreate an English pub.

Clancy's Fremantle is my favourite pub by far. A great mix of people, age wise and style wise. A great selection of beers on tap with four taps that change every month to smaller breweries, such as Matso's, Wicked Ale and other local micro breweries. Great fish and chips too - although overpriced.
A big space out the back for people with kids to run around and kick a footy. Quailty old fashioned pub !
I still love the Sail and Anchor. I thought when they were renovating all those years ago that they would ruin it, but it still has a great feel.
I hate The Left Bank with a passion. I remember drinking many pints of Guinness ther over the years and the last time I went, it cost about $7.00 for a warm bottle of lager. Some of my friends do insist on meeting there though !
I love the food at Little Creatures but don't enjoy the beer much. It is again a big favourite for people to meet so I end up there fairly often and have started drinking wine rather than beer as I really do not like the beer. Nice pub though and it is generally a good atmosphere.
I really enjoy The Seaview for an away game. Particularly an away derby that we have not manged to get tickets for. The screens could be bigger though.

Are we talking about the one on top of the library? or has it shifted again?
Many moons ago it was somewhere central, and then shifted to the back near all the guild offices, apparently because it was too popular. Now it's down the bottom of bush court, where you get to see all the wimmin coming and going. :)

I am a bit over the "British" pubs. The Moon', Elephant', Old Bailey etc..... The clientele are all geezers and there seems to be a bit try hard attempt to recreate an English pub.

Well, let me tell ya that, unlike what I experenced many times at Paddo's, Carine or Wembley, I've never seen a brawl at Queens or Moon. Old Bailey, although packed with Poms and Jocks, is not a British-type pub [contrary to what the name might suggest].

yeah but I've also never seen any women who aren't over 35 there either.

Remember that, these days, chicks look older then they actually are. ;)
It's my generation anyway, I feel much more comfortable without teeny-boppers going banans after couple of drinks willing to fight anyone.

Have to admit I haven't been in the Queens for a while, but a few years ago the crowd was exactly high class yuppie wannabees.
Maybe they all moved to the Brisbane when it was upgraded.....

Moon & Sixpence isn't bad, but the prices are ridiculously insane.

I agree with E_D. Over the whole wanky pub thing. Pubs a pub.

I live in Subi and its hard to find somewhere where I can rock up wearing whatever and get loose. EXCEPT for Paddy Maguires. Nice old fashioned pub with a surprisingly good crowd for Subi.

As for wider Perth, Queens is pretty good. The Royal is nice for something abit more flashy, good for a Sunday arvo date or something like that.

The Bakery, The Flying Scotsman, Sail and Anchor and the Rosemount

Yep. Great pub,Great pizza. The Inglewood is also good, as is the Oxford. I've also loved Clancy's in Freo, superb atmosphere and a great feel especially on a summer afternoon.

The Raffles bar is good as well if you can pay the worlds most ridiculous prices. :eek:

What is the best pub in Perth?