yazdo

Jan 31, 2007
Arsenal
Unless they are playing the MIGHTY PIES my 2nd favourite club is Adelaide. Ever since the Jarman brothers i have had a soft spot for the Crows. Anyone else have a 2nd favourite team?

I've had a soft spot for the Eagles after watching them in that 1990-1994 period (was at both winning grand finals), and being a massive fan of the Kerr, Judd, Cox team of a few years past.

They are also a similar organisation to us, massive in size, support and room to grow, but they also give back to the community in their area so well.

There's hardly another team out there that I feel any sympathy towards at all, definitely no Victorian based teams because you just know their fans absolutely despise us as humans just for being Pies fans.

I like the way hawthorn plays

I wouldn't actually say I have a second team, or even a soft spot fir anyone, but at a stretch the hawks play a style I enjoy

I have a bit of a schadenfreude thing going on with Carlton.

I am an AFL fan, so I take an interest in how GWS is going in this town and hope they do well.

But, no ... Collingwood is my first, second and third team.

This is a bit of a convoluted story for me. My Grandfather (Dads old man) was a Carlton supporter. But his sons collectively barracked for Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond and Vi$y United. My Nanna (My mums Mother), the best person who I have ever met in this world, was a diehard Tigers supporter. My Pop, her husband and a man of much character (who I never met :( ), was Collingwood through and through but didn't tell Nan til after they were married because he was a smartarse.

My old man went for the Magpies, instead of Carlton, because his best mate was a Pies supporter and because he was the rebellious oldest son. He got along well with Pop because they were both Pies supporters and punters to boot. So we have a lot of allegiances in my family which makes for some interesting and heated footy debates at family dinners.

Anyway add to this, all the junior teams me or anyone on my Nans side of the family ever played footy for were all Tigers (the reason she barracked for them) whether they were her old man, brothers, sons, or grandsons (me). Considering all the areas of Victoria and Australia we played footy for this is actually pretty amazing. We are all over the joint.

Onto Essendon. My little brother decided to buck the Collingwood trend in our family and barrack for Essendon following the result of the 93' grand final. Little shit he is. My favourite uncle is also an Essendon supporter. He is pretty damn awesome besides this sad fact.

So back to my 2nd favourite AFL clubs, well I have a soft spot for Essendon because of my brother and uncle and I like to see them happy (just don't tell them I told you that because it would take all the venom and fun out of my shit stirring) and I like the Tigers also because I have played for them at a local level (as all of my family has) and because my Nan was the best person there ever was and she was passionate about the Tiges.

Two teams by right I shouldn't have a soft spot for but hey, who said sport, love or anything else was logical?

P.S. Both my best mates are Cats supporters. Courtesy of where I was brought up. I respect the club but ****en hate them all the same ;)

Richmond, because of my Dad, who grew up in the suburb and went to school with many of their players. And Geelong, because they are a great club (excluding Scarlett,:mad::thumbsdown:).

As a west australian, I like to see the Dockers and Eagles do well, and currently, I wanna see GWS and Gold Coast make something of their potential.

Port Adelaide for sure. Great club with a great history and they are very similar as a club to us.

I don't mind Gold Coast and Fremantle but apart from them I hate everyone else especially the Victorian teams. I really don't know how anyone can like a Victorian team at least with these interstate teams they don't have many fans here to worry about.

This is a bit of a convoluted story for me. My Grandfather (Dads old man) was a Carlton supporter.

No Quicky, don't do it! :eek:

But his sons collectively barracked for Collingwood, ...

Phew, catastrophe averted!

... Essendon, Richmond and Vi$y United.

Huh, where is this going? :confused:

My Nanna (My mums Mother), the best person who I have ever met in this world, ...

Bless! :hearts:

...was a diehard Tigers supporter.

We're united with the Tigers fans this sad day :(

My Pop, her husband and a man of much character (who I never met :( ), was Collingwood through and through ...

And a man of impeccable taste and style too! :thumbsu:

... but didn't tell Nan til after they were married because he was a smartarse.

Gee, how do you keep that a secret? :eek:

My old man went for the Magpies, ...

Quicky Snr also had impeccable taste!

... instead of Carlton, ...

Of course, why would he do that? :confused:

...because his best mate was a Pies supporter ...

Aha, he chose his company wisely! :thumbsu:

...and because he was the rebellious oldest son.

The sensible oldest son, obviously :rolleyes:

He got along well with Pop because they were both Pies supporters and punters to boot. So we have a lot of allegiances in my family which makes for some interesting and heated footy debates at family dinners.

Dinner at the Quickys sounds like a hoot!

Anyway add to this, all the junior teams me or anyone on my Nans side of the family ever played footy for were all Tigers (the reason she barracked for them) whether they were her old man, brothers, sons, or grandsons (me).

You were seen wearing a yellow sash? Please tell me by "Tigers" you're talking about the North Launceston Tasmanian Tigers or somethin' ?

Considering all the areas of Victoria and Australia we played footy for this is actually pretty amazing. We are all over the joint.

OK.

Onto Essendon...

Do we really have to? :p

My little brother decided to buck the Collingwood trend in our family and barrack for Essendon following the result of the 93' grand final. Little shit he is.

Hmmmm...

My favourite uncle is also an Essendon supporter. He is pretty damn awesome besides this sad fact.

Yeah, cool cat uncles who have poor taste in footy teams ... Every family has one!

So back to my 2nd favourite AFL clubs, well I have a soft spot for Essendon because of my brother and uncle and I like to see them happy (just don't tell them I told you that because it would take all the venom and fun out of my shit stirring) ...

No worries. Just direct them on here and we won't tell them ... Promise! :p

...and I like the Tigers also because I have played for them at a local level (as all of my family has) and because my Nan was the best person there ever was and she was passionate about the Tiges.

Two teams by right I shouldn't have a soft spot for but hey, who said sport, love or anything else was logical?

Well, thankfully Carlton wasn't involved!

P.S. Both my best mates are Cats supporters. Courtesy of where I was brought up. I respect the club but ****en hate them all the same ;)

Yeah, they're a strange mob!

What is your 2nd Favourite AFL club?