What other memorable moments could be used in a Toyota ad?

Rory said:
Gavin Wanganeen's winning goal in the 2004 prelim final was pretty special.

One of the greatest goals ever kicked ...in what is arguably the highest standard of footy played in the modern era. Truly great game of footy.

Not sure if Ray Gabelich is still with us but "Gabbo's Run" would be high on the list of moments. 1964 Grand Final.
The ugliest 50m a bloke has ever run with the ball...funny as hell to watch a big ruckman with no running skills in the clear....three of the worst bounces that luckily came back to him...kicked the goal and the pies fans thought they'd won the flag...they got beaten by a few pts.

The #4 piggy on the SCG....Not sure how u'd re-do it tho...pretty sure it was Brad Seymour that eventually caught it.

The Riewoldt incident in Brissy will eventually be one.
1st game of the season, he was brownlow favorite, 22yo and first game as captain, saints favorite for the flag, his parents in the stand watching as Charman absolutely murders him with a front on hit in the 3rd qtr that breaks his collarbone. Plays on awhile then busts it good and proper going for a mark...then Michael and Scott come after him. Then he's seen sooking as his team got rolled in the last. Had everything...all the power and emotion u could ask for in footy. The 3rd qtr of that game is absolute GOLD (Scott's teeth being held on the boundary line...scoreboard swings...the perfect qtr of hard tough footy) Pure Emotion !

Lockett's point in the 96 prelim against Essendon...siren goes with the scores level.

Peter Hudson being knocked out cold by Cowboy Neal in the 71 Grand final when he was going for Bob Pratt's record of 150 in a season. He later had a clear run into goal to break the record and kicked the worst mongrel shank ever seen from 20m out in front. Then he had yet another gimme and kicked it into the guy on the mark !!

Bollox said:
The #4 piggy on the SCG....Not sure how u'd re-do it tho...pretty sure it was Brad Seymour that eventually caught it.

1st game of the season, he was brownlow favorite, 22yo and first game as captain, saints favorite for the flag, his parents in the stand watching as Charman absolutely murders him with a front on hit in the 3rd qtr that breaks his collarbone. Plays on awhile then busts it good and proper going for a mark...then Michael and Scott come after him. Then he's seen sooking as his team got rolled in the last. Had everything...all the power and emotion u could ask for in footy. The 3rd qtr of that game is absolute GOLD (Scott's teeth being held on the boundary line...scoreboard swings...the perfect qtr of hard tough footy) Emotion !

The piggy would be very funny (it was actually Darren '5 Straight Spoons' Holmes who caught it). Don't know how funny Tony Lockett found it, have heard conflicting reports that he got a laugh or he hated it.

The Riewoldt cry is obviously an infamous moment, but somehow I think Nick might be trying to live that one down rather than parody it. ;)

Maybe have big Mal and Scott tearing apart 1 of those Nick Riewoldt dollys I saw in the shops last week...what the hell is with that by the way? :D

If Leigh Matthews had a sense of humour the breaking of the goal post could be a ripsnorter

Black JuJu said:
The piggy would be very funny (it was actually Darren '5 Straight Spoons' Holmes who caught it). Don't know how funny Tony Lockett found it, have heard conflicting reports that he got a laugh or he hated it.

The Riewoldt cry is obviously an infamous moment, but somehow I think Nick might be trying to live that one down rather than parody it. ;)

Maybe have big Mal and Scott tearing apart 1 of those Nick Riewoldt dollys I saw in the shops last week...what the hell is with that by the way? :D

Holmes ?...thought it was Seymour for some reason...maybe Neil Brunton ?? havent seen a replay of it for donkeys yrs. Would make a good Trivia question tho. I remember Lockett kicked 11 then gave us the finger...between that and breaking Peter Cavens face he wasnt too popular up here....he was front page news as the face of sporting violence. If u cant beat them buy them :D

When they put YOUR jumper on its amazing how much u can forgive :D

I reckon that Riewoldt incident was a pure gem. Had everything...tough footy with emotions spilling over everywhere.

I never really blamed Riewoldt for the sook coz of the incredible expectations on him at the time..and the amazing letdown....he was living the moment ALL kids dream about.

Try to imagine it....You just came off one the greatest seasons we've seen from a CHF and you're a runaway favorite for the brwonlow....the media are all over you...you've just been given the captaincy at only 22 and its your very first game...first game of the season...your team is favorite for the flag...u get targetted for termination and the doctors say u might be out for the season with a shoulder reconstruction after just one half of footy....AND just to rub it in...you have to sit and watch as your team gets rolled and there's nothing u can do. He could have stayed in the rooms and had a sook but stayed out there.

I just reckon that incident (and that entire 3rd qtr) is the ultimate in emotion charged footy....but you're right ..u cant really reproduce it and he'd probably much rather forget all about it. :D

What about the Geelong v North Melbourne prelim final of 1994, Mick Martyn beats Gary Ablett all day. Leigh Tudour kicks a floater Mick caught in front of Ablett, ball lands in Gary's hands, with only 2 seconds to go on the clock, Gary goes back and slots through his only goal of the day ( i think) to put them in front and into the 94 grand final, the look on Micks and also Glenn Archer is priceless...
heck it still hurts to watch.

Bollox said:
..between that and breaking Peter Cavens face he wasnt too popular up here....he was front page news as the face of sporting violence. If u cant beat them buy them :D

The media went into a frenzy over that hit, which was a shocker obviously but they went after Lockett big time.

I remember Caven getting frowned upon for appearing on 'Denton' and beating the crap out of an effigy of Lockett with a baseball bat.

It was pretty funny, he still had the bandages all over his face, looked like something out of a horror movie laying into that dummy.

Bollox said:
One of the greatest goals ever kicked ...in what is arguably the highest standard of footy played in the modern era. Truly great game of footy.

I agree. Port Adelaide vs. St. Kilda, 2004 PF. Easily the best game of football I have ever seen. The standard was extreme and it knife-edge for most of the match.

Anyone new to AFL football should watch that match and see what footy is all about.
Greatest game of the millenium.

Micky McGuane's run or Matera's run would be great for the ad ...

You could have an adults only replay of the Helen Damico streak or perhaps that faithful meeting between Matthews and Bruns.

black_hart said:
Already been briefly mentioned but the Akermanis goal in the last five minutes to basically seal the 2002 GF. Most important goal Akermanis ever kicked at the Lions and most likely his entire career. Loved seeing the livid Collingwood supporter just after this,they knew it was over. Also wouldn't be too difficult getting Aker to do a commercial;)

Akermaaanis..LEFT FOOT SNAP!!! AKERMAANIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know it's not a grand final but the two impossible goals in a row against Geelong in the wet would be gold! Somebody could be the fat security guard in the background!

Albo's opinion said:
Lethal and the goal post

No doubt! that incident and the manassa run stand out! both would be sensational!

Barry Breen 1 point 1966 granny

Tim Watson jump over bruce doul 1981 night granny

Peter Daicos goal 1990 qualifying final from the boundary

Bruce Doul losing his head band against hawthorn

We should be getting commission!!!!

Bollox said:

Don't think so. Doesn't exactly make for positive viewing.

I'd like to see them do Rooey's mark from against the Swans in 04, only it wasn't a game-winning moment, and it would be a bit too dangerous to re-enact.

Surely will see one of Aka up at the Gabba against Geelong last year? Complete with cheering police officer hopefully.

Coin_Toss said:
McGuane's 7-bounce run. I have never heard a louder crowd than when he kicked that goal.
How about Mcguane trying to kick the ball after having a needle in his leg ?..was hilarious stuff :D

another good one would be Brad hardie pulling off his jumper and holding it up to Malthouse in the coaching box to see , and then tossing it on the ground

Black JuJu said:
ON TOPIC - They should get Peter Wilson to do the 'cork in the ocean' goal and offset his lack of 'name value' by having Dennis Cometti at the park doing the commentary.
Could be quite funny seeing him try to kick it over his head.

That said, I doubt they'd use that because he's not well remembered in Victoria.

Peter Wilson... isn't he that twat who commentates games in Perth with very little understanding of rules of the game? You mean he once played? I thought he was a local TV weatherman made good.

Bellablaise said:
Surely will see one of Aka up at the Gabba against Geelong last year? Complete with cheering police officer hopefully.

And the look of shock after, a true showman

Helen Damico (not sure on spelling) in the 1982 GF :p

Plugger's Point

Plugger's 1300th goal

Ross "Twiggy" Dunne's Goal in the 1977 GF to force a draw

Jeff Farmers Goal of the Year vs Hawthorn (think it was in 1997)

Ablett mark of the Century in 94
Pluggers point
a good one would a brawl like the hawthorn vs essendon one in the 80s will need alot of players but would be very good and different

What about one of those dives by Justin Madden towards the end of career (i remember it on Footy's Funniest Moments of the Millenium). The one where he lies down like he's dead would make a brilliant ad!

Matthews breaking the point post at Windy Hill - "talk about a heeeee-man"
Angry Anderson belting out "Bound fo Glory" from the tray of a Hilux....

What other memorable moments could be used in a Toyota ad?