What to do with picks 16 + 20

Remove this Banner Ad

mike91

Brownlow Medallist
Mar 13, 2011
Melbourne
AFL Club
Fremantle
With #16 do we go after a KPF or the best availble player? I think we should without a doubt go for a KPF. We haven't got any kids developing in that role because Houghton has been delisted, so we are in desperate need of one. (Especially given Pav's age)

#20, do we use that on the best availble player, small defender, inside midfielder or maybe a KPD given Grover and McPharlins age.
Will be interesting to see what we do in the draft, but one thing for certain is that we need to draft a forward, most likely with one of those picks!

The closer we get to the draft, the happier I am that things panned out the way they did at trade week.

I'd like at least one KPP but there doesnt seem to be a lot of KPP talent going around this yr especially in that top 20 bracket. I'm no expert but from what I've seen if Kersten, McInnes, Boseley and Elton are all gone by 16 then I'd probly hold off on the KPP's cos there will be a lot of good midfield talent around so I'd be happy if they decided to grab midfielders with 16 and 20. Then go with KPP's from there onwards.

A couple of the mock drafts have brissy taking Todd Elton.
Either way if we go best available with picks 16 & 20 and both players are mids, our midfield is pretty much built IMO.
Gun midfields are pretty hard to stop.

At 197cm Todd could give the Leuenberger a chop out in the ruck when needed. And with the loss of Clark I reckon the Lions would probably pick him if he was available. For pick 16 we should draft best available then 20 aim for a KPF. But it all depends on who slides on the day.

(Log in to remove this ad.)

It's a shame we cashed in our compensation pick for this years draft, got to hate how Mitch Clark decided to waste our whole trade week and cash it in.