Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

There’s a difference between a one time only draft that players are aware of from the time that AFL becomes a realistic career path for them, versus the possibility of being traded away from the club and city a player built a life in at any point in their career.

I also think that trading players without their consent would be bad for player retention and thus make it a lot harder for clubs at the bottom of the ladder to rebuild.

If you take away the security that a long term deal offers players in regards to buying a house, having a long term relationship, starting a family, setting up business interests etc. players will be more likely to move around and chase short term cash/opportunity/success. It will have negative ramifications for the AFL’s equalisation system IMO.
I'm not sure player retention can get any worse than what it is now. Clubs are losing players before they are even drafted.

I don't think it's that simple. If you halve the amount of jobs in AFL, you aren't necessarily keeping the best half of the talent. With a tougher pathway onto a list, other sports or career options become more appealing, and the best players now weren't necessarily the best draftees. Halve the league and who's to say Lachie Neale isn't now making his coin as a physiotherapist?

so maybe my unpopular opinion is: expanding the league has improved the top end of the talent pool
Yeah good counter mate love that theory.

How much further do you realisticaly think the league can expand to, as in, how many more teams could the AFL sustain?

Yeah good counter mate love that theory.

How much further do you realisticaly think the league can expand to, as in, how many more teams could the AFL sustain?

Who knows, we might already be there, but I'd guess two more would be fine. It's probably more about whether you think boosting the talent pool means raising the floor or the ceiling. Even the NBA with first pick of the talent churns through relatively average players at the end of rosters that wouldn't necessarily light up the NBL

Unpopular opinion - a rival Aussie Rules Football league.

The SANFL and WAFL should join together and form a rival league. Call it the "Austalian National Football League" or the ANFL /ænfəl/.

All the ANFL teams retain their history, colours, songs, etc, with special guernseys designed for clashes between clubs with similar jumpers e.g. Perth v West Adelaide.

All teams would start at 0 premierships in the first year, to make it a truly neutral and fresh competition. The state leagues would still exist, but they would essentially become the 2nd tier feeder comps for the ANFL.

ANFLW would also be formed.

And then, to top it all off, there would be an annual best-of-three State of Origin series between the West Australian Black Swans and the South Australian Croweaters.

The Grand Final's location is either Optus Stadium or Adelaide Oval. If two WA teams are in the GF then it will be held in WA and vice versa. In an SA team v WA team GF, the location will be the home team's state.

Not sure if unpopular with fans or just with the AFL administration- but we should have a lottery for draft order 1-4.
18th place gets 4 balls in a bowl so has a 40% chance of getting pick 1.
17th gets 3.
16th gets 2.
15th gets 1 ball.

Not sure if unpopular with fans or just with the AFL administration- but we should have a lottery for draft order 1-4.
17th gets 3.
16th gets 2.
15th gets 1 ball.

Agree with the lottery whole heartedly but would prefer something more similar to the NBA.

Finishing last is quite an incentive in our league

Agree with the lottery whole heartedly but would prefer something more similar to the NBA.

Finishing last is quite an incentive in our league

It doesn't stop tanking in the NBA and the #1 pick in the AFL draft usually guarantees you nothing more than a 10 year, 200 game type talent. I remember when Matt Rowell was going to be the best player in the AFL and win five Brownlows... feels like I haven't even heard his name mentioned for two years. Is Cadman the next Jeremy Cameron or the next Josh Schache? Who really knows?

So the lottery could be doing wooden spooners a favour then? Would certainly save them from a lot more media/fan scrutiny.

I reckon it's a great idea, but I'd probably do it for the bottom 10. 9th = 1 ball (1.8% chance of Pick 1), 10th = 2 balls .... 18th = 10 balls (18.2% chance of Pick 1). Then reverse ladder order for 8th-1st place.

Rowell only destroys us twice a year then lives off that

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

So the lottery could be doing wooden spooners a favour then? Would certainly save them from a lot more media/fan scrutiny.

I reckon it's a great idea, but I'd probably do it for the bottom 10. 9th = 1 ball (1.8% chance of Pick 1), 10th = 2 balls .... 18th = 10 balls (18.2% chance of Pick 1). Then reverse ladder order for 8th-1st place.
Have thought up of similar ideas with a lottery.

Would have 7th v 10th and 8th v 9th during the finals break we have now to face off against 5th and 6th week after.

Bottom 8 clubs accumulate lottery points. 15th-18th gain 4 points, 14th and 13th gain 3 points, 12th 2 points and 11th 1 point.
Points are totalled from this years and last years placement in the Bottom 8 (Finishing bottom 4 twice in a row you get 8 points. Finishing 12th then 14th you get 5 points). Last years points would be scrapped if you made finals this year. (So Collingwood and Fremantle is an example of finishing lower to have points from last year but they'd be voided because they made finals)

Apologies to poster who said this turned into people implementing their own fixes. Sorry mate

17th gets 3.
16th gets 2.
15th gets 1 ball.
Why do you hate the Gold Coast so much? This would be awful in a competition that doesn't have an issue with tanking.

17th gets 3.
16th gets 2.
15th gets 1 ball.
I'd leave it how it is but award a spoon to the team who finishes last in a ceremony and make the coach answer questions about it. All players who played in the side for the year get mini versions.

Make the stigma of finishing last be enough incentive that you'd rather get pick 2 than pick 1 in the draft. The player usual turns out better anyway as they don't have the same pressure applied to them but are as talented.

also 1 player on an nba team makes a much bigger difference than 1 player on a footy team.
1/5 vs 1/18
plus in American sports the draftees have been in college, so there is more data for longer on them.

I'd leave it how it is but award a spoon to the team who finishes last in a ceremony and make the coach answer questions about it. All players who played in the side for the year get mini versions.

Make the stigma of finishing last be enough incentive that you'd rather get pick 2 than pick 1 in the draft. The player usual turns out better anyway as they don't have the same pressure applied to them but are as talented.
Perhaps we could make each player do a lap of dishonour on grand final day riding backwards on a donkey also?

Pretty clear to me that number 1 picks are not that club changing that we need to put in place lotteries etc.

There's as many so so players as there are club turning ones.

Riewoldt (but no flags), Hodge probably the main 2.

Cooney won a Brownlow but not much else. Deledio spent his entire career in average Tigers sides and missed the flags. Goddard was a star but wasn't the difference for a flag.

Carlton did nothing with Kreuzer, Murphy, Gibbs all in the one team. GWS with Patton, Boyd (turned into a club captain and B&F player), Whitfield the same. Scully and Watts..

North have cut their losses with JHF, realising that they weren't going to get the best out of him and his maximum value that he'd have at North is right now. Rayner, McGrath, Rowell aren't tracking to be side changing picks.

I really wouldn't bother tanking for it. I'd be obviously interested in seeing what the sides youth can do, seeing which players have a future, which may lead to more losses, but I'd be coaching them to try win.

Best clubs were clubs that had a young core come through together. Not 1 player, but 3 or 4 players from multiple drafts within a couple years of each other. You don't even need 100% success rate in each draft, but get 4 or so and they make a huge difference. You also aren't going to get 100% with first picks so you need late picks and rookie picks to make it work, so you can't piss them away unnecessarily.

Geelong 1999 - Corey, Chapman, Ling, Enright
2001 - Bartel, Kelly, Johnson, Ablett Jnr

Hawks 2001 - Hodge, Mitchell, Brown
2004 - Lewis, Franklin, Roughead

Richmond 2009 - Dusty, Grimes, Astbury
Broke the mould a bit but they still had 2010 draftees Lynch, Caddy and Prestia for a chunk of their flags.

That the bounce should not have been gotten rid of. Look back at any game from the 70s or before - the bounces are going all over the place because that was the point. To restart the game with something random and unpredictable. That's why teams traditionally had a ruckman and a "ruck-rover".

Then we got all obsessed with the perfect bounce etc etc. I can think of only one person besides me who has this opinion. :)

"The NBA does it" is essentially the only argument for having a lottery.

If teams want to tank for 1st that's the wrong decision and it'll show in the long run.
This. Melbourne basically destroyed their club for more than a decade by building a losing culture.

Apologies if this has been said before by others (and if it has, I will delete this)...

AFLW. I can't stand it and I can't believe the publicity and attention it receives in the media. The standard of football is pathetic, and it simply does not interest me. There! I got it out of my system.

17th gets 3.
16th gets 2.
15th gets 1 ball.
I've never understood how the lottery discourages teams from finishing last anyway. If you're going to tank for pick 1, you're going to tank for more chance at pick 1 all the same.

Apologies if this has been said before by others (and if it has, I will delete this)...

AFLW. I can't stand it and I can't believe the publicity and attention it receives in the media. The standard of football is pathetic, and it simply does not interest me. There! I got it out of my system.
Just don't watch it and skip past the media posts about it.

That the bounce should not have been gotten rid of. Look back at any game from the 70s or before - the bounces are going all over the place because that was the point. To restart the game with something random and unpredictable. That's why teams traditionally had a ruckman and a "ruck-rover".

Then we got all obsessed with the perfect bounce etc etc. I can think of only one person besides me who has this opinion. :)
I think you I'll find that it was due to ruckmen getting injured from skewed bounces. A poor bounce generally opened one of the rucks up.

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2