What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?

The behaviour of everyone hasn't changed and wasn't better than what it is now, it's hypocritical if you think so.

The only difference I can see now is it seems to go unpunished more because certain punishments used 20 years ago are frowned upon in todays society.
Maybe.

I think there has always been and always will be jerks, perhaps the way they show it changes.

People used to litter heaps more for example

Maybe.

I think there has always been and always will be jerks, perhaps the way they show it changes.

with smart phones (cameras), it gives strength to people to say and do things. Unsociable behaviour is recorded and moreso reactions of the public who try to push back against such actions.

Certainly the internet has provided platforms for everyone to express opinion. Which goes in hand with "im just saying what everyones thinking"

good point about litter.

I wouldn't say heaps more, but people were becoming more conscious of the environment from the 60s and 70s. Clean Up Australia started in 1989, but even before that people were a lot better about littering. When we went to Europe in the early 80s we were disgusted at the roadsides in France and Spain which were just carpeted in litter.

The behaviour of everyone hasn't changed and wasn't better than what it is now, it's hypocritical if you think so.

The only difference I can see now is it seems to go unpunished more because certain punishments used 20 years ago are frowned upon in todays society.
But isnt this the point?

Anybody who stuck their head up or ''tried it on'' was shut down so sticking your head up had consequences

in the mid 90s in my late teens on a Saturday night

Free entry before 8pm
Cover charge after was $5 or $10 at a pub with a band or nightclub
Most pubs had $2 beers $4 spirits
We'd park our cars at a local park or footy oval and walk to wherever our venue of choice was (depended really what the band was)
Leave at 4am or 5am
Head to Maccas for breakfast and unlimited coffee (once you bought a cup)
Head to the car and have a snooze for 4-6 hours (it was legal back then)
Drive home at lunchtime

Ok maybe not

So, if you're feeling way too drunk to drive in your car and just want to collapse in your driver's seat for snooze, you can still potentially find yourself in strife. You may think you're safe, but simply being in possession of the car keys could be enough to hold you liable.10 May 2019

Well what if you get in the car, then put the key outside the car on the ground.

Yeah delayed Friday night games in WA sucked, by the time they started showing the replay here the game was over in the Eastern States.

You had to try and avoid hearing or seeing the scores so that the replay wasn't spoiled, it was only when we got digital channels like 7mate that they showed the Friday night games live here

Saw some kids having kick to kick in the street yesterday and it's the first time in years I've seen it.

Growing up in the 90s every night was kick to kick in the street from after school until the street lights came on and in summer street cricket.

So good.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Saw some kids having kick to kick in the street yesterday and it's the first time in years I've seen it.

Growing up in the 90s every night was kick to kick in the street from after school until the street lights came on and in summer street cricket.

So good.

Driveways were goals

we just tried to not be the one to drop it.

Had bloody long, fun nights trying to kick scrubbers hoping the other would drop it

We used to play a game up the street to see who made the most ground. So you'd try and force the other person further up the street to a certain point. That one was more a distance game.

Or the old try and knock the lamp shade thing off the street light 'PIIING!!! YOU BEAUTY!!"

Yeah delayed Friday night games in WA sucked, by the time they started showing the replay here the game was over in the Eastern States.

You had to try and avoid hearing or seeing the scores so that the replay wasn't spoiled, it was only when we got digital channels like 7mate that they showed the Friday night games live here

The delayed Friday night games were still happening in Victoria 15 odd years ago.

Not sure what prompted the change to show it live but I remember many Friday nights being ruined by someone spoiling the result.

Up until the really groundbreaking 9/10/Foxtel deal of the early 00s we got Friday night delayed, and only the 2nd half of Saturday arvo footy, also delayed - and that was in Tassie, so it's not like we were up against the live gate!

Channels 10 & 9 broadcasting the AFL was pretty 2000s especially Channel 10 having the AFL Grand Final 8 times from 2002-2011. For some reason now they only get the sports Channels 7 & 9 really don't want to pay for.

An interesting thing is that Ch10 had the Grand Finals in odd years. Geelong won all its ch10 Grand Finals in 2007, 2009, 2011 and lost the one ch7 Grand Final it made in that time in 2008. We also lost the ch7 'Covid Cup' in 2020.

In 2022 we finally broke the ch7 curse!

Up until the really groundbreaking 9/10/Foxtel deal of the early 00s we got Friday night delayed, and only the 2nd half of Saturday arvo footy, also delayed - and that was in Tassie, so it's not like we were up against the live gate!

In 2000/01, Seven brought forward Friday night footy in SA to 7:30pm (so generally only a 30 minute delay instead of 90 minutes). The exception was when a SA team was involved as the away team - then the game was live.

Then when 9 got Friday night footy in 2002 it went back to an 8:30pm start.

The delayed Friday night games were still happening in Victoria 15 odd years ago.

Not sure what prompted the change to show it live but I remember many Friday nights being ruined by someone spoiling the result.
Technology prompted the change, it was all very well to delay a telecast when all you had to do was avoid the radio but times have changed and it's insulting that they still do it sometimes.

Cricket in the host city was delayed or not even shown unless the game was a sellout.

Gough may know when that stopped being a thing ?

Cricket in the host city was delayed or not even shown unless the game was a sellout.

Gough may know when that stopped being a thing ?

They'd only show the first hour or so of an ODI or the last session of a test day in the host city if it wasn't a sellout.

I think this happened well into the 00's.

Channels 10 & 9 broadcasting the AFL was pretty 2000s especially Channel 10 having the AFL Grand Final 8 times from 2002-2011. For some reason now they only get the sports Channels 7 & 9 really don't want to pay for.

Long live the channel 10 5-minute warning noise, that was ten times louder than the broadcast and scared the **** out of you if you werent paying attention

What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?