What's your story?

My parents weren't avid footy followers. Mum did follow Collingwood though and Dad didn't even support a particular VFL team - although I do recall him being a Sandringham (VFA) supporter.

I have a feeling I was "heavily influenced" as an impressionable kid by the '68 flag, as I was an avid Carlton supporter by the following season. :)

I distinctly remember being devastated at losing the '69 Grand Final, as Dad worked that day and he came home to watch the 6.30 replay "live" (ie not knowing who had won).

Here I was as an absolutely shattered nine year old trying not to give away the fact that the Blues had lost - and I have a feeling that I didn't do that particularly well. :D

So I have followed them ever since (not that far off 40 years now :eek: ), the highlight I would have to say was being able to go to the '79 Grand Final. :thumbsu:

bluegal1983 said:
My dad's faimly are all Navy Blue through and through so I didn't really have a choice. My mum's family are Carlton as well, except they are not as keen.

When I was younger my dad used to play footy himself and it wasn't until he tore his ACL that he started going to watch Carlton again. He always told me my first two words were, "Go Blues!" so it was inevitable that, when I was old enough, I was going to the footy with him.

I went to my first game when I was 5 years old and I haven't missed one since, except the occassional interstater but try to get to at least 2 a year.

No chance hey BG?

ha funny replies "i'm a wog...enough said" and "it was either the blues or a foster home"
despite being forced to wear hawthorn and melbourne jumpers until the age of 3 (mum's 2 teams, firstly why have 2? and secondly why those ones?? anyway..) my young uncle (8 years older than me), who i idolised supported them and dressed me up in the gear one day and i must have thought if my dad,uncle and granddad go for them it must be the team to go for. never looked back, can't stand people that swap teams every season (unless they stick with the blues)

I was about 5(in the 1970's) and was at my grannys house , all my family are bumbers supporters.

My uncle had thousands of old football cards from the 60's and 70' but he'd never let me touch them.

This one Christmas he was sorting them out and said i could pick one card out and i could keep it.

I dunno why because at that stage i didnt support anyone. but i picked out a Mark McLure card, and that was how i came to follow Carlton.

A simple football card, still got it to.

Promise not to laugh.............
I was 6 years old, and a Roys fan (I was given a deck of the old VFL player cards with the Roys on them).
After the 1981 VFL premiership year Esso service stations had coins of the VFL clubs at the time. They were all brown/bronze, except one, the silver coin with the premiers on it - The Mighty Blues.......

My brothers and I were collecting the coins, and this silver one was the prize get.........and I got it. Instant Blues fan - best coin, best club.
Life is so simple when you're 6 y.o. but it worked a treat........I could have followed family lines (2 Hawks, 1 Cat, 1 Tiger) - yey for Esso and their coins. :thumbsu:

(zzzzzzz)............and I was wearing an onion on my belt..(zzzz).....which was the style at the time..........(zzzzzz)

Coincidentally, the first Carlton flag I vividly remember (1970) is on ABC 2 tonight as I type this.

Jesaulenko has just kicked a goal late in the final quarter, putting us 11 points up with not long to go.

I think we can win this. :D

I was about 7 years old (1979) when I discovered footy. My mum and dad aren't big sports people.

My uncles followed Richmond, Essendon and the Pies. They all tried to brainwash me into following their clubs. Especially my uncle who followed the Pies.

People ask me why I ended up following the Blues. And the thing that I tell them is

"You do not decide to follow the Blues, rather you are born a Blues supporter"

And yes, in 1979 a seven year old boy made a 22 year old man cry like a baby on the last day in September. Thank-you Sheldon and Harmes. :D

I was born into a bombers family.
When I was about 5, my uncle (a Blues supporter) was babysitting me and asked if I had a footy jumper - I didn't.

Next thing you know it was down to the local sports store and soon I had a Blues guernsey with Mike Fitzpatrick's number 3 for on the back - and the rest is history...

There are some ripper stories on here!

1987 GF did it...I remember watching it with dad and an uncle (carlton) and mum (hawks)...after we won the folks bought me my first footy jumper..which was way too big!

I remember wearing it to my first game...v Collingwood at Waverley. We went with my uncle who was a pies fan, and he chose to sit right in the middle of the bloody collingwood cheer squad.

Here I am all proud of my new jumper, sitting with a bunch of ferals bagging the crap out of my beloved team!!

I sat quiet for 3 qtrs....then couldn't take it anymore...I exploded in my high pitched 7 yr old voice, and started cheering for the boys...needless to say dad rushed me out of the area for the rest of the game!

We lost...I've still got the jumper (now sleeveless) and I still hate the pies!

First gen aussie... so no one in my family followed footy...

At the age of 6 when it came time to pick a footy team (schoolyard pressure) and I didn't know much about footy then or even the success of the Blues at that time and their history.

I selected Carlton for 2 reasons. 1. I was born in Carlton and 2. My fave colour was Blue :)

The logic of a 6 year old mind.... and I've never regretted that decision :) became a mad Carlton nut from 11 onwards!

I'm part of the 0.5% too. Seems to be a lot of us ;)

Being from Adelaide I only ever followed the local footy during the 80's. I was, and am, a passionate Glenelg tigers man. My favourite player, you ask? Sticks Kernahan. I was at Footy Park in '85 when he tore North Adelaide a new one in the GF. Next season he goes to Carlton... I go to Carlton. As an impressionable 13 year old who worshipped the ground he walked on - ever since I got his autograph and he shook my hand in '84 - it was as easy as that.

A few of my mates did the same thing but jumped ship when Adelaide came in - but not me. I'm blue through and through and I'm well on the way to making my 11 month old son the same way!

My Dad and Nan moved to Perth in 1949 when he was 2 and they originally started following West Perth in the WAFL and then started following carlton when he was about 10 or 11 and has followed them since along with his brother and even drove across from perth for the 79,80,81 & 82 GFs

I am the middle child out of 3 boys and my old man had me following them from the day I was born. My younger brother followed North melbourne because my mum followed then as she was a east perth supporter and Ross Glendenning was playing for north at that stage. My older brother followed hawthron for some unkown reason

My old man had to go to melbourne for work conferneces in the late 70's early 80's and bought back us all a training jumper. I had the carlton one with AVCO on the front, my little brother had the north one with Qantas across the front and my older brother the hawks with HFC Insurance across the front.

My mum and older brother changed to the eagles when they came into the comp but my dad, younger brother and myself stayed true to our team.

We get asked all the time living in perth why dont you go for the eagles, i cant believe you follow a victorian team etc etc. But there a lot of carlton supporters in perth, even at my footy club there are at least a dozen.

My greatest carlton moment was going to the 95 Gf with my old man as a 16 year old and then heading back to princes park and walking down lygon street after the game for the celebrations. I cant wait until the good times start again.

Hawks supporter until i was 8 or 9. My old man was chummy with D Parkin, and i started to go to the footy with his son Anthony. Remeber sitting in the social club when Buzza took that mark. Remember going into the rooms and sitting on Mike Fitzpatrick's knee for a photo (Hope i wasn't too much older than 9) Its all a little fuzzy now!
Go Blues!

My story is pretty simple, no one in my immediate family followed footy but some cousins/family friends went for North Melbourne at the time while other friends were Essendon supporters.

One day I turned on the t.v. and saw the 1993 Grand Final where a team was getting belted. Then one man by the name of Kernahan stood up and started to single-handedly bring the team back into the game. I was mesmerised. I started cheering on the under dogs and desperately wanting for them to win - unfortunately they didn't get up; but that just made me an avid Blues fan and probably the reason why Essendon is my most hated team :)

wires on fire. said:
you didn't have to post, i already covered the reason for supporting carlton for 99.5% of blues fans.

get a life - you are a sad sort aren't you? Trolling this of all threads.

What an awesome thread is all I have to say - I have just spent the last 15 minutes reading these and I have really enjoyed it. Thanks guys and gals - I have to edit my attack above - seems a bit out of place now.

3rd generation both sides of family - but my parents weren't the most passionate of the family. My mum's 6 brothers (Irish Catholic say no more) indoctrinated me from an early age and my dad's mother was Carlton mad too. My Grandfather (mum's dad) who came out from Ireland because of the ****e life there with the 'troubles' - always loved to stir my uncles and us as little kids - by saying that he followed Collingwood! I remember heading out to Waverley to my first game on my own (as a kid with a mate) to see Carlton bury Collingwood - it was absolutely freezing out there at Arctic Park - and from that moment I was absolutely hooked! SOS was and still is my hero - the '99 prelim final almost lost me my first love - because I wouldn't answer her phone calls. My long time GF is a crazy Carlton supporter now too - even though she hated it when I took her to her first game in 2003. Its crazy to think about a sporting team in such a way - but my relationship (and that is what it is) with Carlton has been integral to my life. Ironically, the more we have struggled over these past years, the more passionate I think I have become, if that is possible. And to borrow some words, my kids (when the time comes) will have the choice of Carlton or a foster home!:p

wires on fire. said:
'well....my name ended in -opolous, -ski, -iedies, or -ich, so i was pretty much obliged'

kouta!!! go kouta!!! christOOOOOOOOOOOO! hahaha. nah in all seriousness my nonou made me go for em one greek easter when we were cracking eggs.
Go and burn your crosses somewhere else.

My great grandparents, along with their children, arrived in Australia from Northern Ireland in the 1930's. They settled in Carlton and decided to start following the local football side. It was a decision that would have a life time effect from generation to generation.
I am the fourth generation of Blues supporters and the fifth generation, which is headed by my 13 year old nephew, is just as strong.
My grandfather who is now in his late 80's is the still the strongest Blues man I have ever known. He wears his heart on his sleeve and reckons he is not dying until he sees Carlton win another premiership. At the rate Carlton are travelling he will be 110 years old!
Carlton may be having a tough time of it at the moment but the memories and stories that can be (and quite often are) told through my family are wonderful. I am most grateful that dear old grandpa and nan decided to settle in Carlton otherwise I may well have ended up a Collingwood supporter! Arrrrrgghh!:eek:

I was pretty much given the support Carlton or foster home shpiel like many others here. My grandfather grew up in Carlton and he gave the shpiel to my dad who gave the same shpiel to me. I think it's fair to say that any child of mine will be getting the exact same treatment. It's harsh, but I'd say it's pretty damn fair. More than half of my friends also barrack for Carlton which makes going to the footy more enjoyable and school a little more endurable considering we are the majority.

I'm personally ****ing sick of losing. When the time comes where once again we are holding up the premiership cup, I think the feeling that comes with it will be better than anything else I will ever experience.

When I was young,my older sisters friends and boyfriend were mad footy people. Her boyfriend was also captain of one of the local teams.One Saturday afternoon all the friends were over our place enjoying a game of footy on the telly,at this stage I hadnt really pledged my loyalty to any club.The way the boys were cheering made me think that this club must be a bit alright.The defining moment was when the stripper ran out wearing nothing but BLUES scarf.

What's your story?