When have you unexpectedly run into a "rock" whatever star?

thedevilsowne

Apr 29, 2010
San Antonio Spurs
Used to work setting up gigs for bands so met many but more after unexpected encounters. :)
Was at a BDO years ago waiting for Metallica set, but after being at the front most of the day, an only sipping on wild turkey outta a flask, in the burning sun I couldn't stay up right any longer, 2 guys helped me up, an I crowd surfed backward's for about 50 meters.
Before landing on my back. Only to get up, clear my vision. An found
myself staring directly at Burton from the Fear Factory with his arms
around two groupie's.

I kinda stood there staring at him for a bit thinking perhaps I was
hallucinating. But it was him. He took his arm off one of the girls and
put his hand out. I shook his hand an he said "that was ****in awesome
man". Then I stumbled off in search of water.

Also another time I was really drunk in brunswick st. I crashed down between two guys started chatting to one of them a long haired fellow, who I said hey u look like cram from spiderbait. He said I get that a lot. Long story short I ended up hanging out with him an the lead singer from jet who happened to be on the other side. Also had an amusing one as Daniel Johns an Paul Mac run past me round a corner in the city one night. Followed about 20seconds later by about 20 chicks was pretty funny!

Your stories............

Used to work setting up gigs for bands so met many but more after unexpected encounters. :)
Was at a BDO years ago waiting for Metallica set, but after being at the front most of the day, an only sipping on wild turkey outta a flask, in the burning sun I couldn't stay up right any longer, 2 guys helped me up, an I crowd surfed backward's for about 50 meters.
Before landing on my back. Only to get up, clear my vision. An found
myself staring directly at Burton from the Fear Factory with his arms
around two groupie's.

I kinda stood there staring at him for a bit thinking perhaps I was
hallucinating. But it was him. He took his arm off one of the girls and
put his hand out. I shook his hand an he said "that was ****in awesome
man". Then I stumbled off in search of water.

Your stories............
I've heard this before, are you sure its your story?

Edit: Sorry, just saw that you posted it in the Metallica thread, that's where I remember it from haha. :D

I worked on Spencer Street station for a couple of years when I first left school. One day this woman came up to me asking me a question about a train. I was thinking to myself, "Gee, you look familiar". About 5 minutes after she left I realised it was Grace Knight of the Eurogliders.

Used to see Tim Rogers at the Town Hall Hotel in Nth. Melbourne a bit. I've seen him by himself at the footy (he's a Nth Melbourne supporter) more than once as well.

Had a squeezy lift ride with Ella Hooper from Killing Heidi and a pallet load of frozen chips at a music festival at Docklands Stadium a few years back.

I went to see Yothu Yindi in San Francisco at the invitation of Bob Weir (through a mutual friend) guitarist for the Grateful Dead, in 1993. Sat and drank beers with him all night - good guy.

Most random story - I was at the Espy in the early 90's playing pool in the back room (don't know if it is still there). My pool partner and I had been on the piss all day, so were fairly well gone. My partner all disappeared all of a sudden half way through a game, so I was left waiting uncomfortably. A tall guy with longish hair stepped up and said 'I'll step in', and proceeded to clean up. It took me 5 minutes or more to realise it was Tex Perkins. We won quite a few games in a row - he's a handy pool player.

Ran into Motley Crue's Nikki Sixx in a Supermarket in LA about 12 years ago. Someone had had told his son off...and he (Nikki) was going berserk at the people who told his son off (well thats what we could make of it all anyway).

Also went out to dinner with Dave Mustaine of Megadeth (note, I was just tagging along with the people who were looking after him who I knew). He tried to pick my mate's wife up at the dinner table - while my mate was there. Incredible tool.

Bob Geldof walked past me when I was wandering around Chelsea in London. He was deep in conversation with some hot looking chick so I didn't bother trying to say hello or anything, not that I probably would've anyway.

Also saw the lead singer from The Choirboys in a kebab shop in Scarborough here in Perth. I think they'd just finished a gig nearby. Again I didn't bother speaking to him.

Many years ago there was a concert down here, headlined by Silverchair, Powderfinger, Grinspoon, and Alex Lloyd (wtf?). Might have had someone else, but they were who I remember (now) anyway.

My (ex) high school band had won a competition to perform in the local section, so I was there about 10am to setup. (They performed in front of maybe 10 people). After it was all packed up, most headed off to the "wet" area. Being underage I wasn't allowed in, so headed back up to the stage area, and chatted to a security guy.

A few minutes later a tennis ball came over the fence, and some bloke with a funny moustache called out to me from behind the fence. I went over, picked it up and threw it back. Ten minutes later it came over again - this time I could see they were playing cricket. Same guy comes over, asks me if I wanted to have a game.

Went passed the security guy, around the fence (now realising it's backstage) and the funny moustache guy introduced me to Phil, Joe (Grinspoon), Chris, Ben and Daniel (Silverchair), Darren, Ian, John, and I'm Bernard.

I reckonised the Grinspoon/Silverchair guys (had a drink with Phil the year before at a pub gig), but had no idea who Powderfinger where - I thought they were just roadies or something. We played cricket for about an hour or so, before they had to go, heading back into one of the tents. I tried to follow, but security wouldn't let me through, though Phil saw me and pulled me through. Basically just a big tent where all the gear was stored. The others had cleared off so I sat with Phil, Joe, Pat and some others whilst they chatted about microphones and drank. and drank. and drank.

Some woman in a 'suit' came in with a clipboard, took one look at me and asked wtf I was doing there. No excuses came forward so I got sent back out (this time out a side entrance onto the street, not back to the sidestage area), so I had to walk all the way around.

Met up with my mates about 4pm before the first act we wanted to see (by which time they were allready off their faces) and proceeded to have a great concert experience - even with the WTH moment when Fanning started performing.

was at crown casino years ago with my then gf ran into one of my fave bands mxpx just before the vans warped tour..........gf`s step dad was owner of beat magazine so we had backstage media passes and was chatting to the guys from mxpx as they had remembered running into me.

i payed for a mate to fly to adelaide to see motion city soundtrack the night after we saw them in melbourne.......after the show me and my mate went to the casino and they came and sat down gambling with us talkin shit they were pretty good guys..........i was so drunk i ended up getting the table shut down for spilling a drink on it then i got booted out

an ex boss of mine.....his daughter was in the other car than had the head on smash on the great ocean road that nearly killed chris cheney of the living end

I was an audience contestant on RockWiz earlier this year. I was on John Paul Young's team (not sure if he qualifies as a "star" :). Adalita was the other guest muso. Had a bit of a chat with both of them, they were both pretty cool. But geez, I never knew JPY was so short.

Edit: I suppose that doesn't count as "unexpected". Whatever.

I was an audience contestant on RockWiz earlier this year. I was on John Paul Young's team (not sure if he qualifies as a "star" :). Adalita was the other guest muso. Had a bit of a chat with both of them, they were both pretty cool. But geez, I never knew JPY was so short.

Edit: I suppose that doesn't count as "unexpected". Whatever.

that's so awesome that you were on rockwiz

I cant remmeber the exact year but it was around 02 and i had seen The Offspring in the city. Ended up in Scarborough (the good old Lookout) and was at one of the bars getting a drink when Dexter Holland and Noodles came and stood beside me. (for those who dont know they are the lead singer and guitarist)

that's so awesome that you were on rockwiz

I wasn't recorded though :mad: so I didn't make it on TV. It was part of the national tour earlier this year, playing theatres. Lots of fun, even if our team did lose.

For the record, the first album I bought with my own money was Iron Maiden Number of the Beast and my first concert was...

Drum-roll please

Highlight to reveal ----> Cliff Richard! <----

Julia paid out on me for that. I deserved it too.

Met Chris Cheney the other night when they played a secret gig in Geelong. Nice guy. Was just standing at the back having a beer watching the other bands play.

Driving home from Pyramid last year and car ahead of us has a 'Kram' numberplate. Pull alongside, the man was in the back of the car with a chick driving.

Other than that have talked to people like Jimmy Barnes, Jon Toogood, Charlie Parr for work in my time.

Another Tim Rodgers one.

Was at a bar in Johnston St Fitzroy late on a Sunday night after footy club vote count. After getting chucked out at closing we wandered to the bottle shop across the road. Was a guy busking there with some mates watching, to which a mate says "He looks familiar". "Yep thats coz its Tim Rodgers". We were all about tapped after buying grog so we slung him some UDLs instead for attending his impromptu gig.

I have stalked and met a few over the years.

Eddie Vedder, Ben Harper, Shihad (Karl the bass player is a legend), The Angels, Brewster Brothers, but most of all Dave Gleeson from the Screaming Jets.

Gleeso is an absolute champ. I have drank beer, had photos and generally annoyed the living sh!t out of him. He can never do enough to please you.
Thorough gentleman!!

A mate of mine who is a drummer also does work as a drum tech for some touring bands when they come to australia. One time Vinnie Colaiuta (session drummer and has also worked for Sting amongst many others) who is widely considered one of the best drummers in the world, was out here with a jazz group and my mate was his drum tech. A group of us were meeting for dinner before one of their Adelaide shows and Vinnie came along.

Such a down to earth bloke, his first words to me were "Hey buddy, Vinnie" as he shook my hand. And then we proceeded to hear a million funny stories from him about the people he has played with for the rest of the dinner. Top bloke.

Also through the same mate, I met Ben Folds. My mate worked at a music shop in town and a few weeks prior, Folds had walked in and asked to buy the best drum kit they could get in. He was learning the drums for his Rockin the Suburbs album.

So my mate told a few of us when Ben was picking his kit up and we just happened to be there. Really nice guy.

When have you unexpectedly run into a "rock" whatever star?