Where are they now (delistings / retirements since 2005)

He never actually played for us, and this may have been posted elsewhere, but in case people missed it...

Dayle Garlett, back in jail for 3 years for serious assault
I still can't believe that he essentially blamed living in Melbourne as being the cause for his issues because he was isolated from friends and family.

Absolute loser of a bloke.

you're mostly a product of your environment tbh
The point being that he was a PoS in Perth - long before moving to Melbourne.

Blaming the move to Melbourne is just garbage his lawyer came up with, attempting to reduce his sentence.

I know there has been a number of posts re Dayle Garlett, here is some more history -

Former AFL prodigy Dayle Garlett jailed for brutal robbery of pensioner in her own home

Tim ClarkeThe West Australian
Mon, 29 April 2024 2:00PM

A one-time AFL prodigy — whose move to Melbourne to play for Hawthorn coincided with a descent into meth addiction — has been jailed for a brutal robbery of an elderly woman in her own home.
In 2012, Dayle Garlett was touted as a top-ten draft pick after stellar showings for the West Australian under-18 side.

But rumours about a party lifestyle, and social media posts showing him drinking and smoking, put every club in the AFL off.

A year later, experts still rated him as one of the brightest football talents in the country, alongside the likes of WA products Patrick Cripps, Dom Sheed, Rory Lobb and Charlie Cameron.

Hawthorn took a chance on Garlett with then coach Alastair Clarkson saying he deserved his opportunity.

That opportunity lasted just four months and within weeks of returning to Perth after quitting the club, Garlett was in custody on charges of burglary and receiving stolen goods.

It was in a sentencing hearing on those charges that the full extent of Garlett’s fall from grace was revealed.

In 2012, Dayle Garlett was touted as a top-ten draft pick after stellar showings for the West Australian under-18 side. Credit: unknown/Supplied

He told a psychiatrist that isolation from family and familiar surroundings following his move east had led him to socialise with criminals and begin taking drugs.

He developed a daily meth habit, which spiralled out of control and prompted him to walk away from the AFL. He then turned to crime when back in WA after spending every cent he earned from football on his habit.

He was filmed driving at 200km/h, and charged with a string of other offences, including stealing a pair of jeans to wear to court.

That court jailed him for more than four years.

On being released in 2019, Garlett claimed he had found God, but within months, he was again in trouble after admitting to more burglaries.

Hawthorn took a chance on Garlett with then coach Alastair Clarkson saying he deserved his opportunity. Credit: Robert Prezioso/Getty Images

Now, The West Australian can reveal Garlett has been convicted and jailed again — this time for more than three years — for his most violent crime yet.

At dawn on September 6, 2022, a 65 year-old woman was disturbed at her Beechboro home by noises in the backyard. When she opened her door to investigate, she saw Garlett — who approached and overpowered her, before hurling her to the floor.

He stole a handbag, containing cards and keys but left a jacket behind, which was later used by detectives to identify him.

He was arrested three weeks later, but could not be immediately interviewed, as he was rushed to hospital in the throes of a drug overdose.

Garlett has been in custody ever since, and earlier this month pleaded guilty to stealing and aggravated robbery at Perth’s District Court.

“It was fortunate that she did not suffer a more serious injury. Although there is no victim impact statement, I readily accept that the incident must have been terrifying for her,” Judge Genevieve Cleary said.

“I am told that at 16 you commenced drinking alcohol and took some other drugs. By 17 you were taking cocaine. And then by 17 or 18 you were taking methamphetamine, which is no doubt what occurred at the Hawthorn Football Club that ruined your career there.

“Putting all of that together, given your criminal history, your escalation in offending and your entrenched drug use, you are at a high risk of reoffending if you don’t tackle your drug use.”

Judge Cleary jailed Garlett for three years and five months, with eligibility for parole in September this year.

Former rookie listed player Ruory Kirkby. They forgot to mention in the article that he had a long and distinguished career in the SANFL with Glenelg.

Ruory Kirkby​

Victoria Country​

Rookied by Hawthorn. Became a special education teacher, including at the Monash Children's Hospital Child Neurodevelopmental Psychiatric Unit. Has established The Rollie Project to create community mentoring opportunities and programs for young people to develop a greater sense of self and belonging.

Kieran Lovell picked to play for Tassie against QLD

Former rookie listed player Ruory Kirkby. They forgot to mention in the article that he had a long and distinguished career in the SANFL with Glenelg.
He was a gun for my Bays in the SANFL. Great pair of hands and covered a lot of ground. "ROAR!"

Kieran Lovell picked to play for Tassie against QLD

Lovell named BOG in the state game

Kieran Lovell starred for The Map and was awarded the Lefroy Medal as his side’s best-on-ground.

Cornelius was particularly impressed with Lovell’s composure around the contest.

“I think he won an immense amount of clearances but his ability to either hit a target or bring others into the game around him,” Cornelius said.

“I thought his defensive pressure was quite good, there was a couple of times he lay good defensive tackles.”

Did he ever develop into an AFL-level player? IIRC at the time he was highly rated (with a concave chest that would never add muscle), but then when we drafted him, he didn't come over?
Probably just that tad too short and tad too slow/agile for AFL. Solid enough build.

Another article on Kieran Lovell

Kingborough star Kieran Lovell on goals of playing in Tasmania’s VFL side following star performance in 2024 state clash

One of the TSL’s best ever players says his ambitions of playing in Tasmania’s incoming VFL program have only been heightened following Saturday’s state clash.

@RosendaleRyan

2 min read

June 24, 2024 - 3:11PM

While he admits he’s in a race against time, Kingborough midfielder Kieran Lovell says getting the chance to once again represent Tasmania has only intensified his desire to be involved with the state’s incoming VFL team.

Lovell was at his damaging best in the 46-point win over Queensland on Saturday, with his ability to not only win his own ball but provide plenty of pressure on the defensive end earning both praise from coach Aaron Cornelius and the 2024 Lefroy medal as Tasmania’s best player.

It was another outstanding personal performance from the 27 year-old who has managed to put a tough injury run last year behind him to also claim a Darrel Baldock medal in the Tigers 2023 premiership triumph and an Anzac Day medal this season.

2024 Lefroy Medalist Kieran Lovell (right) with Tasmania coach Aaron Cornelius (left). Picture: Aaron Black.

The former Hawthorn player missed Tasmania’s win over Queensland at North Hobart last year through injury and said the chance to don ‘The Map’ for the first time since 2019 was something he didn’t take for granted.

“I remember sort of looking back on all my games previously for Tasmania as a 16 and 18-year-old, they’re some of the most fun times I’ve had as a footballer. So, it was really nice to reflect on that and go back and play for the state again,” Lovell said.

“It was a bit of a bummer to miss last year in front of the big crowd at North Hobart. So, coming into this one, I was super excited to go out there and have a good performance and lock myself into the next game up north as well.”

A player long regarded as one of the TSL’s premier on-ballers, Lovell has experienced plenty across the journey but the potential to play on a weekly basis for his home state is one thing he says is still a personal goal.

“It’s going to be a bit of a race against the clock whether it’s going to come in while I’m still playing good enough footy to be playing VFL but hopefully it’s sooner rather than later, because I’d love to play in that sort of side,” he said.

Lovell is the ultimate big game player having also been named best on ground in Kingborough’s 2023 premiership win.

“Playing for Tassie again has sort of brought me back to wanting to play at a high level again, so that’s definitely something I think about.

“I’m 27 now. Last year I felt like I was about 35 (with the injuries) and this year I’m feeling 27 again.

“I think I’ve still got good footy ahead of me. My body’s starting to feel good again and I’m starting to get my hands on the footy and playing sort of how I was playing at my best. I’m definitely positive as to where my footy could go.

Rayden Tallis -

image1_bPCkTfJ3ife.jpg

Rayden Tallis​

Hawthorn​

163 games for the Hawks. Tallis is now Manager of AFL SportsReady’s Next Goal Program which aims to help AFL players take a holistic approach to their off-field development in preparation for life after football.

Western Bulldogs defender Lachie Bramble opens up to Mark Robinson about his long footy journey​

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...y/news-story/6b7911ffa8ddf95ffc479733a47e00c9

When Sam Mitchell looked Lachie Bramble in the eye and told him he was no longer wanted, the former Hawk was lost. Enter Luke Beveridge and the Bulldogs. MARK ROBINSON uncovers the truth about the SSP success story.

One of the first questions Luke Beveridge asked Lachie Bramble at the end of the 2023 season was why he was no longer on Hawthorn’s list.

It’s a question the mild-mannered Bramble still asks himself.

An SSP selection for the Hawks when Alastair Clarkson was coach in 2021, Bramble’s shock elevation from Box Hill player to a Hawthorn list spot was, he hoped, the start of a late-starting AFL career.

He was 23 then. He’s now 26. And on Friday night, he plays his 50th AFL game.

His is a story of setbacks, perseverance, shattered hopes and finally a semblance of salvation at the Bulldogs.

He recently signed a one-year contract, which is not the monster six, seven or eight-year deal which has become commonplace. Yet for Bramble, it meant the world to him.

“I always hoped I’d play one game and when that happened, I didn’t think I’d get to 50,’’ he said. “It’s gone quick, but at the same time it’s also been a long time.”

Bramble is not destiny’s child. He was overlooked in the 2016 draft, played VFL at Williamstown through 2017 and 2018 under coach Andy Collins, returned to the Sunbury Lions in 2019 and in 2020, Covid wiped out the season.

“Andy helped me so much, to be honest I owe a lot to him. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be on a list,” he said.

Collins got him to Willy after his Calder Cannons season and he played a mix of senior and twos footy.

“Then I thought I’d have a year off VFL footy and I thought that was probably me done,” Bramble said.

“But looking back, it was probably the best thing I did. It freshened me up and made me pretty hungry to give VFL another crack because I was playing decent footy.”

At Sunbury, he won the club goalkicking as a midfielder, came third in the club B&F, made the league team of the year and represented Vic Country under coach Danny Frawley.

When Collins left Willy for Box Hill for the 2021 season, he made contact with Bramble again.

“He called me and said ‘mate, please don’t sign at Williamstown’. Andy was the only reason I was going to go back to Willy anyway, so that was an easy decision for me.’’

And the correct one. After completing half the pre-season training, Bramble was blown away when he was selected in the pre-season supplemental selection period, and save for a burst bursa in his arm, he was on track to be in Clarkson’s Round 1 team.

Other niggles meant he eventually made his Hawthorn debut in Round 14 against Essendon, and played every game for the rest of the season.

His 2022 season, now in a dashing halfback role under new Hawks coach Sam Mitchell, started with a stress fracture in his foot and ended with stress fracture in his back.

In between, he played in nine games. He played rounds 1 and 2 to start 2023, was sub in round 3 and was dumped for round 4. Cue the confusion.

“Still to this day, I’m not really sure what exactly happened,” Bramble said. “I was pretty flat once I got told I wasn’t going to be in the team after having a reasonable start.”

He played another eight games – for 30 all up at Hawthorn – before he was chopped for good.
When asked what happened, Bramble said: “It’s a good question. We had a really good relationship, him believing in me at the start and giving me the opportunity and then, yeah, during that year, after going out of the team … not a lot of contact.

“I felt a little bit of a gap between me and him. So, I’m not really sure what happened. Nothing bad happened, but I wasn’t playing to the potential he thought I was capable of. That was the reasoning I got.”

Trade week saw the hammer come down.

“I had a meeting with them (Hawthorn) and they told me if they get who they wanted in the trade period, you won’t have a list spot at this footy club,” Bramble said.

They got him. He was Massimo D’Ambrosio. And Bramble got a call to come into the club the next day.

“It was pretty hard to take to be honest,” he said. “I always thought my best footy was good enough, I didn’t really play poor footy, so to be thrown out of the side, and to be driving to the club where I’m so close to all the guys, to be told thankyou your time is up … It was a really strange feeling, it was something I’d never felt before, just knowing what I had to leave behind, and it happened so quickly. For Sam to look me in the eye and tell me I was no longer wanted at the footy club, it was really hard to take.

“I probably didn’t (say) what I wanted to say to him at that meeting, purely because of the raw emotion and being, sort of, frozen. I’m not a really confrontational person when it comes to that sort of stuff, so I was a bit lost, I pretty much just zoned out.

“There was no anger at that point in time, I was just upset and sad.”

He was 25, unemployed, had an arm in a sling because of shoulder reconstruction, and virtually zero on the horizon.

“I was thinking, what am I going to do,” Bramble said.

“I was really struggling to be honest. I was nowhere.’’

Then the Bulldogs list manager Sam Power called.

“The Dogs were awesome,” Bramble said. “The conversations were similar to what we’re having (now): why aren’t you on a list? And I had the same answer, I’m not really sure.”

He spoke to Beveridge.

“That first conversation was over soon and I was blown away with how he listened, he really wanted to know more on a deeper level,’’ Bramble said.

Beveridge and Power had set about changing the Bulldogs list.

Bramble, James Harmes and Nic Coffield were the recruits, and it was soon apparent Beveridge was keen to slot Bramble in at halfback.

Colleague Sam Landsberger broke the news that Bramble had been preferred to popular premiership halfback Caleb Daniel for round 1, and that Jack Macrae’s spot was also under threat. Bramble heard the critics of such a move.

“That kind of motivates me,” he said. “I’ve always had doubters ever since I could remember.

“There’s a lot of people out there that have knocked me and still to this day they know who they are, but it sits well with me that I’ve probably silenced them a little bit.’

Still, those early rounds were a little awkward for him, he said.

“Jacko (Macrae) and Caleb (Daniel) are popular players within the club, but they took it extremely well. They were very good to me.’’

Bramble is the dashing half-back flanker in Beveridge’s reworked back group which includes himself, Liam Jones, Rory Lobb, Taylor Duryea, Buku Khamis, Bailey Dale, Coffield and maybe James O’Donnell.

“Every week Bevo backs me in,’’ Bramble said.

He’s played every game this season.

The 50-game milestone is a million miles from Scott Pendlebury’s 400-game celebrations, but Bramble is just as chuffed.

“To get to 50 games, bloody hell, it just shows that anything can happen, it’s really a nice little milestone to hit.”

I thought Ollie was focusing on cricket??

Good to see Dave Mirra still involved - was a great story of perseverance

Former VFL star David Mirra, who played 11 games for Hawthorn after being picked up at the age of 27 following a brilliant career at Box Hill, is now Wesley's First XVIII coach after finishing his playing career for Collegians in the VAFA. Another ex-Hawk, Ollie Hanrahan, is coaching the forwards, while current Collingwood defender Dean, who was school captain and football captain in 2019, is looking after the backline.

Western Bulldogs defender Lachie Bramble opens up to Mark Robinson about his long footy journey​

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...y/news-story/6b7911ffa8ddf95ffc479733a47e00c9

When Sam Mitchell looked Lachie Bramble in the eye and told him he was no longer wanted, the former Hawk was lost. Enter Luke Beveridge and the Bulldogs. MARK ROBINSON uncovers the truth about the SSP success story.

One of the first questions Luke Beveridge asked Lachie Bramble at the end of the 2023 season was why he was no longer on Hawthorn’s list.

An SSP selection for the Hawks when Alastair Clarkson was coach in 2021, Bramble’s shock elevation from Box Hill player to a Hawthorn list spot was, he hoped, the start of a late-starting AFL career.

His is a story of setbacks, perseverance, shattered hopes and finally a semblance of salvation at the Bulldogs.

He recently signed a one-year contract, which is not the monster six, seven or eight-year deal which has become commonplace. Yet for Bramble, it meant the world to him.

“I always hoped I’d play one game and when that happened, I didn’t think I’d get to 50,’’ he said. “It’s gone quick, but at the same time it’s also been a long time.”

Bramble is not destiny’s child. He was overlooked in the 2016 draft, played VFL at Williamstown through 2017 and 2018 under coach Andy Collins, returned to the Sunbury Lions in 2019 and in 2020, Covid wiped out the season.

“Andy helped me so much, to be honest I owe a lot to him. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be on a list,” he said.

Collins got him to Willy after his Calder Cannons season and he played a mix of senior and twos footy.

“Then I thought I’d have a year off VFL footy and I thought that was probably me done,” Bramble said.

“But looking back, it was probably the best thing I did. It freshened me up and made me pretty hungry to give VFL another crack because I was playing decent footy.”

At Sunbury, he won the club goalkicking as a midfielder, came third in the club B&F, made the league team of the year and represented Vic Country under coach Danny Frawley.

When Collins left Willy for Box Hill for the 2021 season, he made contact with Bramble again.

“He called me and said ‘mate, please don’t sign at Williamstown’. Andy was the only reason I was going to go back to Willy anyway, so that was an easy decision for me.’’

And the correct one. After completing half the pre-season training, Bramble was blown away when he was selected in the pre-season supplemental selection period, and save for a burst bursa in his arm, he was on track to be in Clarkson’s Round 1 team.

Other niggles meant he eventually made his Hawthorn debut in Round 14 against Essendon, and played every game for the rest of the season.

His 2022 season, now in a dashing halfback role under new Hawks coach Sam Mitchell, started with a stress fracture in his foot and ended with stress fracture in his back.

In between, he played in nine games. He played rounds 1 and 2 to start 2023, was sub in round 3 and was dumped for round 4. Cue the confusion.

“Still to this day, I’m not really sure what exactly happened,” Bramble said. “I was pretty flat once I got told I wasn’t going to be in the team after having a reasonable start.”

He played another eight games – for 30 all up at Hawthorn – before he was chopped for good.
When asked what happened, Bramble said: “It’s a good question. We had a really good relationship, him believing in me at the start and giving me the opportunity and then, yeah, during that year, after going out of the team … not a lot of contact.

“I felt a little bit of a gap between me and him. So, I’m not really sure what happened. Nothing bad happened, but I wasn’t playing to the potential he thought I was capable of. That was the reasoning I got.”

“I had a meeting with them (Hawthorn) and they told me if they get who they wanted in the trade period, you won’t have a list spot at this footy club,” Bramble said.

They got him. He was Massimo D’Ambrosio. And Bramble got a call to come into the club the next day.

“It was pretty hard to take to be honest,” he said. “I always thought my best footy was good enough, I didn’t really play poor footy, so to be thrown out of the side, and to be driving to the club where I’m so close to all the guys, to be told thankyou your time is up … It was a really strange feeling, it was something I’d never felt before, just knowing what I had to leave behind, and it happened so quickly. For Sam to look me in the eye and tell me I was no longer wanted at the footy club, it was really hard to take.

“I probably didn’t (say) what I wanted to say to him at that meeting, purely because of the raw emotion and being, sort of, frozen. I’m not a really confrontational person when it comes to that sort of stuff, so I was a bit lost, I pretty much just zoned out.

He was 25, unemployed, had an arm in a sling because of shoulder reconstruction, and virtually zero on the horizon.

“The Dogs were awesome,” Bramble said. “The conversations were similar to what we’re having (now): why aren’t you on a list? And I had the same answer, I’m not really sure.”

He spoke to Beveridge.

“That first conversation was over soon and I was blown away with how he listened, he really wanted to know more on a deeper level,’’ Bramble said.

Bramble, James Harmes and Nic Coffield were the recruits, and it was soon apparent Beveridge was keen to slot Bramble in at halfback.

Colleague Sam Landsberger broke the news that Bramble had been preferred to popular premiership halfback Caleb Daniel for round 1, and that Jack Macrae’s spot was also under threat. Bramble heard the critics of such a move.

“That kind of motivates me,” he said. “I’ve always had doubters ever since I could remember.

“There’s a lot of people out there that have knocked me and still to this day they know who they are, but it sits well with me that I’ve probably silenced them a little bit.’

“Jacko (Macrae) and Caleb (Daniel) are popular players within the club, but they took it extremely well. They were very good to me.’’

Bramble is the dashing half-back flanker in Beveridge’s reworked back group which includes himself, Liam Jones, Rory Lobb, Taylor Duryea, Buku Khamis, Bailey Dale, Coffield and maybe James O’Donnell.

The 50-game milestone is a million miles from Scott Pendlebury’s 400-game celebrations, but Bramble is just as chuffed.

“To get to 50 games, bloody hell, it just shows that anything can happen, it’s really a nice little milestone to hit.”
Bramble thinking he was playing good footy when the St Kilda game exists. 13 touches and 8 turnovers ☠️ in a half

He spoke to Beveridge.

Bramble is deluded

Maybe if his dad wasn't piping up on every social media post might have helped as well

Bramble is deluded

Maybe if his dad wasn't piping up on every social media post might have helped as well

I get wanting to protect/defend your kid - but do these people realise you just do way more harm than good when they do this kind of thing.

Where are they now (delistings / retirements since 2005)