Which player inspired you to support a team?

brenjay

Oct 14, 2007
Brisbane Lions
My first time starting a thread, but was interested to know whether there was any one player that made you follow or stop following a team?

I know me and some other mates started following the lions because of Vossy! a number have quit supporting after his departure

My first time starting a thread, but was interested to know whether there was any one player that made you follow or stop following a team?

I know me and some other mates started following the lions because of Vossy! a number have quit supporting after his departure

Brace yourself for the inevitable "if they follow a player and not a team then tehy're not real supporters" comments.

And for me, no. I support the team first and foremost. I'm predicting most in here will be the same.

it doenst matter how you start - its if you stayed or not that really counts

everyone has a starting point, a reason why.......mine or yours are no more important or better than anyone elses

I moved to Brisbane, got ticked off with Super League, somebody gave me a freebie, went to a few games - thats how it started. Kinda like Heroin really - first one is free, pay the rest of your life.

Like Vidman for me it was 'Location, Location, Location!' ABlett actually was the player I liked when I was young and it was him if anyone that got me interested in the game but I lived in Brissie so...

Can't really speak for those that got behind the mighty Lions a bit later but Lynch was a pretty big signing IIRC and Vossy (winning the Brownlow so early in his career and all) must have captured a few hearts. No doubts Aker got some of the younger kiddies following the Lions more recently.

Welcome aboard brenjay.

Vossy is a legend. Keep up the great support!

No single player inspired me to follow brisbane, I'm a queenslander & I like Aussie Rules so naturally I would follow my local team.

No player, in 1998, when I was 5-6 I went for the most unpopular team in my school to be different from the rest of the Kangaroos and Collingwood supporters. :)

i went for the lions because my neighbour used to drive leppa to school and he told me to go for the lions =] best decision of my life

Well I was born a Lion - have a photo with me in the Roys jumper before if I knew whether I was coming or going.

But, the first player that I idolised and wanted to be was none other than the Tank, Mickey Conlan - a couple of Brissie Lions might not remember him, you may remember the great footage of him kicking the winning goal to beat Essendon in the 85 elimination final. And he was No 12, beginning a long line of some of my favourites, Doc Wheildon (may be over some people's head) and Aka - he would have inspired a fe to become Lions no doubt.

It depends how old you are when you first start supporting a team and if it is your local team or not. Growing up in NQ before the Broncos I started supporting Parramatta because of Mick Cronin and stopped supporting them because of Brian Smith.

On the Lions I only really started supporting the Lions when they moved to Brisbane and got involved with following the young guys, particularly Vossy, coming through.

Brereton and Ablett were the players that grabbed my attention as a little kid.

Did I tell you about the time I ran into Dermie at Adelaide airport last year? He was so chuffed I called him a legend. A really pleasant bloke. He didn't even mind me wearing a Lions jumper.

I didnt really follow a team, and decided i needed to choose one...

This was near the end of the last bears season, and i think they made the 8 just IIRC...

After the merger i jumped on board the new Lions, but went through as we all did some rough times...

It irritates me when people just assume you barrack for the lions cos of the 3 peat.. I have been a Brisbane Lion right from day one! :eek:

No player, in 1998, when I was 5-6 I went for the most unpopular team in my school to be different from the rest of the Kangaroos and Collingwood supporters. :)

LOL, same here. Except it was 93 and the school was mainly filled with Pie, Blues and Hawks supproters. After my first game though, Roos was my fav because of the chant he would get every touch of the ball.

I didnt really follow a team, and decided i needed to choose one...

This was near the end of the last bears season, and i think they made the 8 just IIRC...

After the merger i jumped on board the new Lions, but went through as we all did some rough times...

It irritates me when people just assume you barrack for the lions cos of the 3 peat.. I have been a Brisbane Lion right from day one! :eek:
I either get that or an automatic assumption Im from Queensland!

Some people just dont know anything about sport!

Wasn't a player for me.

As a young kid I decided to follow Fitzroy because they were the Lions and from my brilliant analysis had to be a better/tougher team than those than with lesser animals like the hawks, magpies, cats etc. :D :D

As an 8 year old in the 80's It was the Wiz Warwick Capper that first got me watching VFL. Then Gary Ablett really got me watching in 89.

But from 88 onwards it has always been the Bears/Lions!!!!

As an 8 year old in the 80's It was the Wiz Warwick Capper that first got me watching VFL. Then Gary Ablett really got me watching in 89.

But from 88 onwards it has always been the Bears/Lions!!!!

born and bred a norwood (sanfl) supporter but started following fitzroy as, on an assocation footy to melb we had tickets to an essendon v fitzroy final at waverly (1981 I reckon). Most other thought they'd barrack for essendon, i decided fitzroy to be contrary and bernie quinlan sealed the deal by dobbing a few very long goals. fitzroy were underdogs but got up making the coach ride back to the inner west an enjoyable one.

Warwick Capper playing for the good old Bears :eek:

I was an 7 year old Melbournian barracking for an Interstate club in a family full of Carlton/Essendon supporters who bagged me throughout my childhood as the Bears barely won more than 6 games a season :(

Who had the last laugh ;):D:):thumbsu:

I started as a Carlton supporter because of Stephan Kernahan being from Glenelg and myself being a Glenelg supporter and when in Adelaide was based around Glenelg (lived in Whyalla about 5 hours north west). I then met the Glenelg team back in 1990 (Cornes, Mcdermott, McGuiness, Liptak) and a few of the boys went on to become Crows the next year. They were all really nice blokes so it was a natural progression as I only followed Carlton for one player.

No player for me, was born in Brisbane and lived in Queensland my whole life so far, thats a good enough reason for me. Probably started barracking for them in 1996-1997 when i was just 5 or 6... Dad was a big influence of course.

Which player inspired you to support a team?