MRP / Trib. Whitecross offered a week - But justice, nay commonsense, actually sanity prevails.

Re: Whitecross offered a week

It doesn't matter what he should or shouldn't have done, the bottom line is he chose to do what he did and it ended up with his shoulder in Selwood's face. What Whitecross did is different to just standing there completely still and motionless while Selwood runs into his shoulder, which is what you all seem to be arguing.

This is the most intelligent and succinct summation I have read. Logic and reason well applied!

Why do you flogs come to our board to argue your one-eyed logic? You know SFA about footy evidently, and are arguing to defend your ducking captain headbutting our player, and getting him suspended for the privilege.

Go have a 'we heart Selwood' circle jerk on the Geelong board. If you wanna post here, you'd better have something more substantial than '<my fellow supporter said something that in my opinion is quite intelligent>'.

Yep, classic Geelong tactic, they also like to argue with the umps over a free kick and gain as much time for their players to get back. Same old same old indeed...that they are allowed to get away with it is puzzling.

Well, yes, the Cats are assertive on the field and demonstrate good leadership skills by standing their ground with the umpires over puzzling, albeit ambiguous decisions. This means that we don't have to vent our spleens on such forums as this one. Oh yes, they're great at time management too!

It was just an accident, pure and simple. The umpire picked this up as did the players (no one from GFC remonstrated with WhiteX). These are the guys on the spot that can sense anything sinister. Unfortunately Selwood was hurt from the accidental head high contact and so the MRP in their wisdom felt it was politically correct to ping WhiteX. Judging by responses on BF, most viewers agree it was an accident.

Well, yes, the Cats are assertive on the field and demonstrate good leadership skills by standing their ground with the umpires over puzzling, albeit ambiguous decisions. This means that we don't have to vent our spleens on such forums as this one. Oh yes, they're great at time management too!

vader_kitchen.jpg

Here's where the system is shit.

By arguing down the contact from medium to light, you also forfeit your early plea discount.

So, the points reduction from medium to light contact is negated by the fact that you don't get your early plea discount.

You still get a week :eek:

What a ****ing fantastic system.

I give up. Not only did the Cats headf**k us yesterday, the MRP come do the same 24 hours later.

I wish a mass protest could be organised so the cronies at the Kremlin would listen to what the people want. Hawthorn should challenge and if they fail, supporters of all clubs who believe whitecross should not have been suspended boycott(tv aswell) their respective club's games until he's available to play again. Until something of this magnitude is organised the AFL will always have the attitude of stuff em.

Yes its far fetched and unachievable but if you ever want to be heard this is the only way they will listen, otherwise vent on BF and let the status quo continue.

Agreed .. it's just their supporters are such w***ers.

Is it possible to call the umpire that stated several times that it was an accident.He was right on the spot where it happened..Mmmmmmmm..I guess you can't expect an umpire to support us.I guess that would be wishful thinking. And oh boy, will we miss him this week..:( I mean Whitecross

He literally stood up and raised his arm which Joel Selwood ran into.
Surely we'll challenge it, right?

That's exactly what happened.

Challenge IMO. F*** the AFL. Over the agenda. We ALWAYS are the team that gets penalised for what others get away with. If Pav isn't cited and Waite wasn't cited, how is this cited?

NB. Not saying those players should have been. Just using them for comparison.

I really don't understand the sentiments in this thread, accidental or not, Whitecross braced himself for contact with Selwood and it was his intention to make the contact with his shoulder.

I'm sure he didn't mean to get him high, but he got him in the face in the end. You can't prepare to make deliberate contact with someone - regardless of who had the momentum - and then knock them out and except to get off because it was 'accidental'.

He braced for contact as you say. The contact was made by Selwood on him. He literally got up and got cannoned into to.

Shirley you can't be serious?:rolleyes:

If I didn't love this club so much, I'd tell the AFL to go stick their game up their arse. What a ****ing joke.

you guys are remarkable.....how on earth can you say Whitecross was stiff?

So if Scarlett were to hit Ballantyne and a second later quickly apologize then he a class act in your eyes?

Selwood didn't even duck, he was trying to run away and the whistle was blown and he had the option to completely stop or go for the hips and tackle, he decided to drive the shoulder in and it made head high contact.
Very lucky to only get a week imo and if you challenge it, he's sure to lose the appeal.

Most Geelong fans are intelligent in their assessment of the game IMHO. You fall outside of that assessment.

I'll just preface this by saying that I have a general dislike for hawthorn. However! The MRP have now set a new low for shocking decisions. How the hell is what he did negligent?? It's a disgrace. In saying that you'd have to be fairly confident that he'll get off..

I just looked at the replay again, nothing in it.

Selwood clearly wasn't aware of whitecross, you can see him look away to his right before the collision, meanwhile Whitecross wasn't even balanced.

They can hardly penalise him for bracing his upper body from an imminent hit with 1/2 a second to assess the situation.

If he get's a week, f**k the AFL is getting soft.

I'll just preface this by saying that I have a general dislike for hawthorn. However! The MRP have now set a new low for shocking decisions. How the hell is what he did negligent?? It's a disgrace. In saying that you'd have to be fairly confident that he'll get off..

Quite the opposite actually. THE MRP is a joke and I have absolutely zero confidence in the entire process, from the initial reviews to the appeal system and all the discouragements of further penalties should appeals fail.

Look on the bright side, at least Buddy didn't get cited for facebutting Lonergan's fist!

Quite the opposite actually. THE MRP is a joke and I have absolutely zero confidence in the entire process, from the initial reviews to the appeal system and all the discouragements of further penalties should appeals fail.

Absolutely.

There is no consistency.

Look at the appeal for Jordan Lewis.

We lose the appeal, MRP refused to speak to Monfries yet it seems clear that the interpretation has changed ever since, so they obviously agreed that they should take the club doctors opinion into account when determining whether the force is sufficient or not.

Why waste time appealing. Give Whitey a week off and be fresh for the West Coast game.

Absolutely.

There is no consistency.

Look at the appeal for Jordan Lewis.

We lose the appeal, MRP refused to speak to Monfries yet it seems clear that the interpretation has changed ever since, so they obviously agreed that they should take the club doctors opinion into account when determining whether the force is sufficient or not.

Why waste time appealing. Give Whitey a week off and be fresh for the West Coast game.

Only prob with this is that he is in ripper form and I don't want anything effecting that. This is nothing short of a complete joke.

MRP / Trib. Whitecross offered a week - But justice, nay commonsense, actually sanity prevails.