Who are "your boys"?

Jul 27, 2009
South Adelaide Panthers
You know, those young guys drafted to the club who you have an immediate connection with? Those young draftees who you almost vicariously take under your wing and who you secretly barrack for more than any other player? Those young guys that you've claimed "my boy/s", which their every success hinges on your ability to claim that you called it first and that your eye for talent is better than anyone elses.

Well I'm sure it doesn't go that serious, but you get my drift...

Anyway, the two guys who I have claimed as "my boys" and who I've taken more interest than anyone else are George Horlin-Smith and Billie Smedts.

I have reasons, some illogical and stupid, others not so. I made a bet with a Port Adelaide mate that Billie Smedts will become a better player than Chad Wingard after 6 seasons in the AFL. Billie is tracking along nicely, but young Wingard is looking almost AA at the moment, so I might end up losing that one. :oops:

As for Hyphen, well I've said it many times before but I'll say it one more time in this thread, I used to work with a bloke whose son went to school with Hyphen and was a mate of his. This bloke knew Hyphen through football and cricket involvement and had met a few times as well. He couldn't have spoken any higher about someone if he tried. He absolutely adored the kid and said how smart, hard working and respectul he was. He had really hoped that the Crows drafted him, but wishes him every success at Geelong. That's good enough for me.

It always makes it more fun when you have your boys to follow. They're almost like your children. I do try to not be biased towards "my boys" though. So who are your boys, and why?

Probably Lincoln McCarthy for me. Remember last year rocking up to a VFL game after work. When I got there it was about 10 minutes into the 2nd quarter, and from then until half time, Lincoln had taken a speccy, ran someone down, ironed someone else out with a hip and shoulder, kicked a goal himself and set up two others. I was just thinking "Who the hell is this kid?"

Just hope we can get him back out on the park, as I'm sure the kid will be a gun.

Only stated on this Forum - Duncan. And he has not let me down - even though he has a few quiet patches. Still really like him and he is now doing some of the smaller things that make you an all round footy player of class.

I just do not like calling players early as I just detest how many people think make statements like player X is a champion - as rarely does a team have more than 2 at any time. The term is used so often hat you would think there were 40-50 champions playing in he AFL right now. Same goes for up and coming stars - too many calls for my liking.

But if you said Motlop, Bundy, THunt, Smedts, GHS, Guthrie, Murdoch and Caddy - you have done ok ! All these players have shown a bit given their relative AFL experience.

Only those who picked Kersten could be a bit disappointed but that is really only thru injury problems. I think he could also be a player.

I must say I really like the look of Thurlow and if I could claim him after 2 senior games and half a season of VFL - then I would take him as 'my boy'.

I can see this becoming a sh!t-fight over who called who "my boy" first. :eek:

Probably Lincoln McCarthy for me. Remember last year rocking up to a VFL game after work. When I got there it was about 10 minutes into the 2nd quarter, and from then until half time, Lincoln had taken a speccy, ran someone down, ironed someone else out with a hip and shoulder, kicked a goal himself and set up two others. I was just thinking "Who the hell is this kid?"

Just hope we can get him back out on the park, as I'm sure the kid will be a gun.

Hey Winty, Lincoln McCarthy is my boy.

Get your own.

Bundy, Murder and The Blitz.

Bundy first won me when he said that playing for Geelong meant more to him than scoring a Rising Sun nomination; Murder is yet another Cat from Glenelg (the SANFL club I grew up supporting); & I knew both of Blicav's parents back in the 80s through basketball.

(But I'm happy to share.) :rolleyes:

Stokes- have loved him since he first got to the club. Then bundy. And now Hartman. Partly cos they like me are indigenous. But more cos I just love the way bundy and stokes go about it, and I reckon Hartman will be a bit like Dawson. Most supporters will hate on him for 2 and a half years and then all of a sudden they'll love him like a long lost brother.

Round 5, 2002 - Geelong V Fremantle

I told a few mates to look out for a kid wearing #3.

Bartel had 28 touches and landed 3 Brownlow votes.

Went on to be reasonably handy and has been my favourite since he walked into the Cattery.

Another guy who I really like was questioned early on by a fellow co-worker who was also a Geelong fan. I think I told that bloke that "Enright will be a player".

Was he what, Enright actually became even better than I dared hope.

There will also be a few posters around this board that can confirm I'm a big Duncan fan as well and was on him reasonably early.

Joel Selwood, Horlin-Smith & Caddy.

Joel - I just knew there was something about him when we drafted him and the way he went about it in his first few games, wow. Also, my last name is somewhat similar to Selwood so he was an instant favourite.

Horlin-Smith - As quite a lot of us do I get quite into the draft in the lead up weeks, reading any phantom draft I can find and any article I can get my hands on about the next potential superstar. I remember reading that the Pies had seen him play, and he had shown plenty, and there was a rumour that they told him to keep quiet for the rest of the year so they could get him with their first pick, in the thirties. But as we know we got there first and being the under 16 Aus cricket captain his leadership abilities spoke for themselves. He has been solid so far but I'm expecting him to explode in the coming years and be a vital cog in our future midfield.

Caddy - Again, coming up to that draft I read an article saying that Wells was keeping a close eye on Caddy in the combine and really liked what he saw. As we know he got taken by the Suns and we got Smedts, which I am very happy with also. Then when we got the trade sorted last year I was over the moon because I knew that Wells had him in his sights at the beginning so he must have some great potential, which we are now starting to see!

Malarkey, Ablett snr, Riccardi, Chapman and Menzel.

My son is 6 and has Daniel Menzel on his cats jumper and all his mates at auskick ask him who number 10 is. He always answers its Daniel Menzel but he never plays because he has bad knees. Sad.

Guthrie and Poodle Hunt...and it's not because I have a thing for blonde guys. Okay, well maybe a little.

Guthrie's my favourite for a few reasons, but I will never forget his efforts in the most recent Hawthorn game. He's done well so far in continuing that form. He...
*Showed commitment to the contest...never gave up
*Went in hard when things looked tough...I couldn't count how many certain Hawks goals he stopped from happening
*Went under the radar post-game. (If someone like Lake did what Guthrie did that night, he would be hailed as the best defender in the competition).
*Demolished Hawthorn.

In other words, he symbolized everything this club stands for in only his 30th game. He will be one of the best defenders our club has seen, and that's a huge honour. I can feel it.

None of them are 'my boys' they are are grown men who don't even know me (or most of you), nor I know them. I support them because they play for the club I barrack for, but I'm not personally invested in people whom I don't even know. :rolleyes:

The fun police will be at your door any moment now.

A picture of CF as he typed the above

Cheer up grumpy gus,you're turning into The Partridge

:D

Who are "your boys"?