Who is the worst captain in the AFL?

Pretty simple really. Who, in your opinion is the worst captain in the AFL leading in to 2011?

Is it the captain who cries at the drop of a hat? Or who leads their team in clangers? Is it the mercenary ninja, or perhaps the aging plodder?

Bay 13 decides..........

Whats that got to do with your $882,130 operating loss?

monkeydrummert.gif

About as much as this

MAN: Peter Burgoyne did?
JANE: Yes, Peter Burgoyne took me out and the other two followed. I sort of thought, you know, "What are they doing?" and "Where are we going?"
TICKY FULLERTON: According to Jane, in an isolated spot, the two followers, Adam Heuskes and Michael O'Loughlin, caught up. She says her clothes were ripped off, her bag thrown away. She was forced to the ground, tossed around like a rag doll and r*ped.
MAN: Were you r*ped?
JANE: Yes.
TICKY FULLERTON: On the same tape, Jane's lawyer describes all three players being involved in sexual abuse.
MAN: You were absolutely positive it was Adam Heuskes, Peter Burgoyne and Michael O'Loughlin?

How is it that nearly half the Captains of AFL clubs arent even their teams best player??
Adelaide- Might have got it right with Van Berlo. Best player is Scott Thompson.
Brisbane have it right with Brown.
Carlton have it right with Judd.
Collingwoods should be Swan. He might get it with GWS.
Essendon have it right with Watson.
Fremantle have it right with Pavlich.
Gold Coast will obviously give it to Ablett.
Geelong should have given it to Selwood but chose Ling which is strange since his time is due soon. Dont think Joel would learn much more while Lingy keeps the seat warm.
Hawthorn have it right with Hodge. Buddy isnt the leader type and Rioli isnt consistent enough.
Melbourne doesn yet have that out and out star which is why Davey or Green will keep it warm for Scully or Trengove.
North have it right with Boomer but Swallow or Ziebell might make a claim soon.
Ports with Cassisi imo is holding it off for Boak who is or will be a gun
Richmond will hand it to Martin in due course
Saints have it right with Riewoldt.
Swans have it right with Goodes.
West Coast after having many of the greats of the game are in absolute strife. Im looking at your youngsters Eagles. If Le Cras pushes into the midfield hes someone to build around. But AE Cox and Kerr aswell as Glass are all nearing 30 and in a young team that means nothing. I know as a North bloke that carrying blokes with a young side is only done to protect them in their younger years. But your senior players have really fallen away the past couple years. Reason why yous have had the poor finishes.
Bulldogs should appoint Cooney captain and leave it at that.

i reckon Judd (much like Buckley) started as a self-centred star who was a bad captain, but has grown into a very good captain.
of the weaker ones:
Ling (nickname Brad Pitt) is almost finished as a player & his character seems questionable (sorry, my bugbear comes from seeing him hit first year players off the ball)
Harvey is a brilliant, superb player who just doesn't (in my opinion) have good leadership skills. (this is just an opinion from a distance)
Newman is not a star, but leads well. ditto Cassissi.
Glass was a Godsend for WC (love that they are known as the WC), when he was appointed as he was probably the best citizen at the club & he was also an elite full back. I get the impression that he is almost done as a player from his recent performances, but he gets extra points for what he did to rescue his club when their culture was revealed to the general public.
of the others:
Riewoldt is a very good leader & a great player.
same with Hodge. (i think)
Pav is fantastic & it is a credit to him that he has stuck with us during the hard times.
who knows about Van Berlo? good luck to him. will Dangerfield be a deputy?
Jon Brown - classic. just battle weary & not long to go (as a player)
Maxwell gets 10000% out of himself & is a Worsfold / Voss type in that not the best player in the team by a long shot, but the best leader by a mile.
Watson is a great warrior & needs some support. I feeel that the Bombers will improve next year & he may well garner more support. At this stage I don't think he is a great captain, but he could very well become one.
Goodes is a bit in the Judd, Harvey, do as I do mould, rather than the out there Maxwell, Riewoldt type & seems ok 2 me.
the player who is not a captain currently, but is definiately captain material IMO is Lenny Hayes.

Definitely Cassisi. To elect one of the 22 WORST Grand Final players in AFL/VFL history (see 119) as your captain is just stupid and crazy.

How is it that nearly half the Captains of AFL clubs arent even their teams best player??

It isn't the 80s anymore mate. The era of having your best player as captain died out around the time footy became professional. Now you choose your best leader as captain, on the proviso they're comfortably in your best 22.

If your best player is also your best leader, you're in luck :thumbsu: But that's very rare.

Lol at the saints flogs selecting Maxwell.

Insecure much? :D

Seriously mate, why would you care or even be surprised?

Oh sorry . . . forgot, you're a Collingwood f/wit.

Of course you're insecure.

Insecure much? :D

Seriously mate, why would you care or even be surprised?

Oh sorry . . . forgot, you're a Collingwood f/wit.

Of course you're insecure.
Bloody hell Jeffykums 10 posts tonight and all about Collingwood what a surprise.

Not really insecure, was more making an observation. Must really hurt being beaten by the "worst captain in the afl"

You're really not worth the bandwidth Jeff. But in the mean time chomp of a few of these champ.

247312-collingwood-celebrates.jpg

852833-mick-malthouse.jpg

roo_shaw_smother_toyota.jpg

Not really insecure,
You're that insecure you even doubt yourself. :D

Must really hurt being beaten by the "worst captain in the afl"
If you insist.

Frankly I wouldn't be so tough on him but you'd know more about your scum than me.

lolz at KA voting for Watson. What did the Big Bad Bomber fan do to you as a child man??

Who is the worst captain in the AFL?