Opinion Who is the worst person you've met in footy?

May be an unpopular one... my missus has met Tom Hafey and described him as a 'sexist, rude arseh*le'
He was speaking at a work meeting or leadership thing her work had and was apparently a rude prick to the women in the office making them go and get him drinks and being a prick if they weren't up to his standard etc etc
I knew Tommy and he was nothing but a superstar. Loved him.

Cameron Mooney. A flog of the highest order. Also met Luke Darcy, who was more condescending than Basil Zempilas.

When my boys were younger we used to do the school holiday clinics.
Stokesy was the standout-completely engaged with the kids and the parents.

I met Austin McCrabb in the Lord of the Isles. Spent hours chatting mostly his shout. He's a little eccentric but a really nice bloke. Didn't talk footy at all. I work with homeless youth and he was really interested in my work.
So glad to hear that Stokes is a good guy, he's my favourite player by a whisker :).

You've reminded me of another terrific ex-player by mentioning your line of work. I used to do some work looking after mentally ill homeless folk, and one guy just adored West from the Bulldogs. He wrote West a letter saying how much he'd love to meet him, and asked me to post it to the club. I posted it, but didn't think anything would come of it.

We couldn't believe it when West wrote back, and said he'd be happy to come say hello to this guy at a community centre I worked from. He was so personable, treated this guy so respectfully and absolutely made his day (come to think of it, probably made his life to that point :(). Was a great experience.

What a ****ing champion. Restores your faith in people, stories like this.

On Mooney, my mate (who introduced me to the Cats) was out with his kids at a shop near Point Cook and saw Mooney. His daughter adores Moons and ran up to him. Mooney stood there and chatted to my mate, took photos with both kids and asked if they wanted anything signed.

May be an unpopular one... my missus has met Tom Hafey and described him as a 'sexist, rude arseh*le'
He was speaking at a work meeting or leadership thing her work had and was apparently a rude prick to the women in the office making them go and get him drinks and being a prick if they weren't up to his standard etc etc
Read that as Tom Harley. :oops:

For those of us who like to dislike Sam Mitchell, I thought I'd relate a tale I heard yesterday. A mate (who is a Hawks supporter, though not a sports nut) relayed a story from his Aunt, who is a massive Hawks fan. She works as a nurse and was assisting in the delivery of Mitchell's child. Apparently her skin colour was not up to scratch for the golden boy, as he complained and insisted that they have a white nurse instead. Persisted with the request, too. It apparently really galled him to have an indian woman helping to deliver his baby.

On the flipside, Jarryd Roughead has been amazing this year in helping out members of my extended family whose young daughter has leukemia. He's bought them bikes and visited with them and him (and the Hawks) have given them tickets for multiple games, as the family are Hawthorn supporters. Really nice stuff and makes me like Hawthorn, even if I hate them!

In summation: Sam Mitchell = Racist Pig. Jarryd Roughead = Top Bloke.

When my boys were younger we used to do the school holiday clinics.
Stokesy was the standout-completely engaged with the kids and the parents.

I met Austin McCrabb in the Lord of the Isles. Spent hours chatting mostly his shout. He's a little eccentric but a really nice bloke. Didn't talk footy at all. I work with homeless youth and he was really interested in my work.
Regarding Stokesy- so short he probably identified with the kids more than with his mates?

Seriously? I hope when you sober up you read your post and understand how ignorant it was.
No alcohol at all. I can't use that as an excuse.
Stokes has often been described as child-like in stature.
Sorry that my "ignorant" attempt at humour is offensive. But seriously, no malice intended.
I accept that dry = poor taste in this case.
And I know he is very popular with not just the kids, great communicator with all.

Hawthorn supporters have been like that for at least 20 years. It's nothing new.

Their win has just given their shit mob license to go on. Respect their players and their team but their **** me their fans can be dogs.

Go Catters

Not a sports star but saw Geoffrey Rush once in Camberwell. Said Hi and he was nice enough to say Hi back and have a real short convo (30 odd seconds)
When I was younger and worked in security I meet quite a few footballers. Dipper is a gun, Fev - good bloke, Dougie Hawkins was alright. Will Minson surprised me as a good bloke. And Courtney Johns who used to be at Essendon seems a decent fella as well.
The worst that stood out and I always remembered: Eddie Betts, Jarrad Waite, Kepler Bradley, John Barnes

No alcohol at all. I can't use that as an excuse.
Stokes has often been described as child-like in stature.
Sorry that my "ignorant" attempt at humour is offensive. But seriously, no malice intended.
I accept that dry = poor taste in this case.
And I know he is very popular with not just the kids, great communicator with all.
I thought it was funny mate. Some people just need to have sex. When they dont, they get wound up and shitty. Carry on like a flog. Then they come on Bigfooty and post shit bagging people for no really decent reason. Thats whats happened here, im fairly certain. Keep up your good work Vdubs. And ill cross my fingers that the posters who are offended get laid soon.

Their win has just given their shit mob license to go on. Respect their players and their team but their **** me their fans can be dogs.

Go Catters
a bigger collection of entitled cocksmokers you wont come across. Im certain that a lot of them seriously think that theyve had some tangible part in their clubs success - its actually deluded.

Hawthorn Supporters- a horrible experience at the qualifying final game. Something similar to the person writing the article in The Age, personal, nasty, arrogant, smug and aggressive.

I stopped going to Hawthorn games years ago to stop myself assaulting one of their fans.

Scumbags they are

Friend of mine used to work at the club. A few insights we got over the years

- Josh Hunt is a great bloke, would help setup and packup after events at the club for supporters etc...
- GAJ (at least early on) was only into the fan days or appearances if he was getting paid for it
- Nathan Ablett - fruit loop. Used to have CCTV of him in the swimming pool at midnight seeing how long he could hold his breath, used to eat other peoples lunch out of the fridge quite openly...in a doofus kind of way
- Scarlo is a massive jerk. One of the best was when he went into the packed fish and chip shop and pulled the do you know who I am card to get free and not having to wait in line. Which he was told no.

I used to see GAS around my mums work years ago and he was always lovely.

My mates who were big cricketers used to say at the clinics Dean Jones was a massive toolbox and arrogant.

Friend of mine used to work at the club. A few insights we got over the years

- Josh Hunt is a great bloke, would help setup and packup after events at the club for supporters etc...
- GAJ (at least early on) was only into the fan days or appearances if he was getting paid for it
- Nathan Ablett - fruit loop. Used to have CCTV of him in the swimming pool at midnight seeing how long he could hold his breath, used to eat other peoples lunch out of the fridge quite openly...in a doofus kind of way
- Scarlo is a massive jerk. One of the best was when he went into the packed fish and chip shop and pulled the do you know who I am card to get free and not having to wait in line. Which he was told no.

I used to see GAS around my mums work years ago and he was always lovely.

My mates who were big cricketers used to say at the clinics Dean Jones was a massive toolbox and arrogant.

Spoke to Hunt at two separate Best and Fairest nights. Seemed very affable and always happy to have a chat.

On Dean Jones, me and a mate happened to be in a pub where the Victorian players were when the West Indies were out here in 1992/93. Played pool with Jones, he actually was fine. Lehmann was by far the bigger tosser. Believe it or not, at least then, Warne wasn't arrogant at all. At least with us.

Opinion Who is the worst person you've met in footy?