Who walked out?

As if 'A. Rock' wasn't bad enough. :thumbsdown:

Mate, just wait 'til we hit 'K'.

kidrock.jpg

I enjoyed "C" that's for sure

0,,6802928,00.jpg

Wow. Never realised he spat so much when he talked.

In this age of Bacon Flu and what not, I can see why the club had their reservations. :thumbsdown:

Wow. Never realised he spat so much when he talked.

In this age of Bacon Flu and what not, I can see why the club had their reservations. :thumbsdown:

Yep, poor Liam, copping a right old "spray" for missing a target just prior to halftime. A spray and a headlock! Crocks = tough task master!

lol damn Q bro you gave me a heartattack dude

wellsy leaving would be my worst nightmare

hopefully its jones or conor meredith or somethin

Poor call on The Meredifference. :thumbsdown:

Hasn't Warren's good form shown us the benefits of developing pale skinned players ??

I had a picture of Sinead O'Connor tearing up a picture of The Pope that I was all ready to tear up in protest.

This could be a blessing in disguise. I never rated him too much as a player, too one dimensional.

I think I will miss his penetrating right foot bombs most of all. :thumbsdown:

The Hawks kids are shit. Wasn this year proof enough for that. Isn them goin after Gibson proof enough. The draft is shallow. I cant see us doing anything with Hawks tbh. Our best option is pick 9 or a player swap. Young Ellis Ladson Osborne we should target. And if the deal DOES NOT SUIT US, well to hell with them and Gibson.

I have bitten my tounge on Gibson and some of his offield antics i have heard of over the years, his treatment of North supporters.

If we trade with the Hawks i think Gibson + our 3rd round pick to Hawks pick 9 to us.

North Gain pick 9

Hawks gain Gibson + 3rd rd pick.

As an outsider looking in, I find this thread distasteful. It seems as though:

He may struggle to fit into North's structure next season and beyond.
He may have been told as much.
Hawthorn can play him where he actually likes to play.
Hawthorn have offered him some good coin and, at the end of the day, it is a professional sport.

Why the hatred?

God im sick of your "as an outsider looking in" line, find something less annoying.

Yeah he may not be in our future top 22, but the way he has treated the club by effectively "walking" is disrespectful and betrayed the trust of alot of supporters who gave him their backing through the times when he was on the out.

Great way to pay back your club in your opinion as an outsider looking in i take it?

I have bitten my tounge on Gibson and some of his offield antics i have heard of over the years, his treatment of North supporters.

If we trade with the Hawks i think Gibson + our 3rd round pick to Hawks pick 9 to us.

North Gain pick 9

Hawks gain Gibson + 3rd rd pick.

That's sounds like a really good deal. North will definately get pick 9 for him if you read between the lines of what hawthorn are saying there should be no issue. 2 quality midfielders in the top 10 - perfect.

I remember walking to work on a shitty morning in the city. It was pouring with rain and the sky wasn't going to bright up my day any time soon. As I walked near the lights to cross the road, I hear music. It's a familiar sound and as I look at this hotted up purple ute which is blasting this magnificent sound for the world to hear, I see it's Gibbo driving this beast.

He stops at the red light (not gangster) and I give him one of those gangsta headnods, he gives me one back.

I will never forget this moment.

I instantly became cool.

As an insider of sorts, isthisavailable? is quality. Shocked that people don't appreciate him/her.

Oh I appreciate him/her. Im just sick of hearing "as an outsider looking in" I dont know why but as soon as i read that all I see is white noise following.
We value your opinions, you dont have to try and distance yourself mate.

God im sick of your "as an outsider looking in" line, find something less annoying.
Yep. Something like blue text works for me.

Yeah he may not be in our future top 22, but the way he has treated the club by effectively "walking" is disrespectful and betrayed the trust of alot of supporters who gave him their backing through the times when he was on the out.

Great way to pay back your club...
In the days of amateur footy, one could argue the whole loyalty thing. Unfortunately, the AFL is a business and loyalty is often but one, sometimes small, part of the equation. If you think of it as 'employment', then what you're suggesting is that Gibson has no right to seek employment elsewhere. He can only play for us. Ridiculous stuff. (Unless of course we decide to get rid of him.)

Which opens up the fact that we often see clubs (or club supporters) applying double standards on the loyalty issue. In other words, players must be loyal to the club (unless we think they're shit in which case we don't care) but the club isn't seen to have the same obligation to the player. Clubs can delist a player at any time when they are out of contract without regard to previous loyalty, but heaven forbid that a player should take the same approach.

It sucks. Suck it up folks, and let's hope we get a fair and reasonable trade out of this situation which may, in the long run, work to our advantage.

Which opens up the fact that we often see clubs (or club supporters) applying double standards on the loyalty issue. In other words, players must be loyal to the club (unless we think they're shit in which case we don't care) but the club isn't seen to have the same obligation to the player. Clubs can delist a player at any time when they are out of contract without regard to previous loyalty, but heaven forbid that a player should take the same approach.

I think that trading him is fine don't care if he wants it then let him what I don't think is right is the way that this has been apparently done.

Calling from the US to say I want to be traded, means that this was orchastrated by him some time ago, which just reads as poor form on his behalf. Kinda like last year saying that HMac was up for trade, Unless he asked for it I really don't think its right for the club to go fishing with players just to see what they can get.

But the way things are and how I see them are clearly different. If we think trading at this point in time is bad wait until free agency comes in. Right now we would not be talking about what will we get for Gibson we would be talking about how he just left because the Hawks would give him more money/opportunity whatever.

I reckon this talk of letting him go for nothing is ridiculous, we have to get something out of it, pick 25 at the very least. I'd rather get a young kid than nothing, who should develop into a reasonable player at pick 25. I know the draft is shallow, but top 25 would have to be reasonable. If we could get a player as well from the hawks, that would probably be fair.

Josh should've handled it better, privately with the club, but maybe his manager is fishing for more offers from other clubs.

Josh has been good for us, regardless of his indiscretions, we should get him to where he wants to go. I only hope its a win-win deal.

Josh should've handled it better, privately with the club, but maybe his manager is fishing for more offers from other clubs.

Agree with most of what you said, but this:

if he's trying to use this as free media attention to get offers from other clubs, he's going about it the wrong way. Any club worth their salt will be instantly turned off at the thought of taking a player who (now) has a history of walking. If the dawks dont pick him up he's probably done more damage to his playing career than good.

to be honest i think the best person from our list who is young and upcoming is Beau Dowler. i think a straight swap for someone you could develop into your main KPF for the future would be a good straight swap. in the last part of last season he stepped up a lot, he may be held back when injured players of ours come back so a move could be good for him and north as well....

thoughts....

he was also a first round pick who has developed physically

Hahaha, Dowler is rubbish.

One good game doesn't make a player.

Hahaha, Dowler is rubbish.

One good game doesn't make a player.

Dunno if he's rubbish at all.

Been smashed by a car accident breaking his pelvis and has had ****ed up knees as well I think.

Falls in the Tarrant box having ability, but an injury nightmare. He may be good, as he's only a third year player and apparently Big Men Take Time.

Having said that, after initially thinking he could be good, he's too big a risk I think and we've already got too many blokes with plenty of ability who can't get on the park.

Dunno if he's rubbish at all.

Been smashed by a car accident breaking his pelvis and has had ****ed up knees as well I think.

Falls in the Tarrant box having ability, but an injury nightmare. He may be good, as he's only a third year player and apparently Big Men Take Time.

Having said that, after initially thinking he could be good, he's too big a risk I think and we've already got too many blokes with plenty of ability who can't get on the park.

He is a poor mans Corey Jones.

Also as you mention he has a history of being injury prone, we have enough players on our list that fall in that category.

Could it be possible that since JYD stated that Gibson told him he wanted out 3 weeks ago that Gibsons trip overseas was meant to coincide with his departure and that he has been thinking about this for quite a while now. He wants to go. Okay. Atleast have the balls to be here and talk to the club. Gee Gibsons hate factor is gonna get rediculous.

Who walked out?