Prediction Who will be our highest rated Rising Star in 2025?

Who will be our highest rated Rising Star in 2025? Multiple choices allowed

• Jagga Smith

Votes: 62 76.5%
  • Harry O’Farrell

Votes: 1 1.2%
  • Ben Camporeale

Votes: 4 4.9%
  • Lucas Camporeale

• Harry Charleson

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Cooper Lord

Votes: 23 28.4%
  • Jaxon Binns

Votes: 2 2.5%
  • Ashton Moir

Votes: 18 22.2%
  • Harry Lemmey

• Hudson O’Keeffe

Votes: 3 3.7%
  • Rob Monahan

• Billy Wilson

Votes: 2 2.5%
  • (Matt Carroll - currently train on)

• Matt Duffy

I had to join the Jagga Smith party. And given we have drafted him to bring something different to our midfield, the club should be very happy if he is our highest rated rising star.

That said, my preferred rising star outcome is for Ben Camporeale to come runner up to some second rate key position forward who has been hiding on someone’s list for a season or two and who wins the award based on potential rather than performance. None of it will matter if Ben is on the dais on grand final day.

Im expecting Jagga to be top 5 for the award so the club should be VERY happy if he isn't our highest rated player!!! ......
Jagga is class, but I rate Lord, Moir and even the Campos and maybe Binns as chances for a nom. (At least)

We have quickly, quietly and affordable added some real talented youngsters to our group. I have plenty of faith in O’Farrell, Wilson, Charleson and the big boys HOK and now Lem, after the penny has dropped as well.

If Smith is playing regular midfield minutes, he’ll win it.

Walsh was incredible in his first year, stepping in as our second best midfielder. Smith will come in with at least Cripps, Cez and Walsh ahead of him. A fit and in-form Hewett probably ranks above, too.

As long as he’s capable of holding up defensively in the stoppage set-up, can’t see him as not anything less than part of our second-rotation.

Reckon the Campos will develop as wing/half-back in the VFL for a bit.

Moir might make us wait a bit longer before he’s ready for consistent games - reckon he’s the long term replacement for Williams.

Cowan, although not eligible, is the one I reckon will take off this year.

Wilson will have the opportunity to take Saad’s spot over the next few years.

Jagga is class, but I rate Lord, Moir and even the Campos and maybe Binns as chances for a nom. (At least)

We have quickly, quietly and affordable added some real talented youngsters to our group. I have plenty of faith in O’Farrell, Wilson, Charleson and the big boys HOK and now Lem, after the penny has dropped as well.
Queue the howls of how unfair the F/S system is when the Campos start carving up.

Fingers crossed Harry Dean and the NGA boys can continue at next draft before Cody Walker takes it up a level or three.
There is another Walker a couple of years later and plenty of possibles, including a Kouta before names like Judd may enter the mix.

The future of our father - sons is likely very bright. NGA hopefully a few more and here is hoping the Irish investment brings benefits. A team “in the window” can extend it dramatically with some left field additions.

Fingers crossed Harry Dean and the NGA boys can continue at next draft before Cody Walker takes it up a level or three.
There is another Walker a couple of years later and plenty of possibles, including a Kouta before names like Judd may enter the mix.

The future of our father - sons is likely very bright. NGA hopefully a few more and here is hoping the Irish investment brings benefits. A team “in the window” can extend it dramatically with some left field additions.
Totally unrelated - are you exPat Tasmanian?

Absolutely. Born in Burnie, grew up in George Town. Played U16 with North Launceston Robins back in the day before (reluctantly) moving to Qld in late teens (‘80). Took me more decades away before considering myself a Queenslander in any way.

Waiting to see if my allegiances become split in a couple of years (doubt it, but who knows? Almost 60 years following a team hard to break though!)

One of many founding Devils Members.

Absolutely. Born in Burnie, grew up in George Town. Played U16 with North Launceston Robins back in the day before (reluctantly) moving to Qld in late teens (‘80). Took me more decades away before considering myself a Queenslander in any way.

Waiting to see if my allegiances become split in a couple of years (doubt it, but who knows? Almost 60 years following a team hard to break though!)

It’s a tough one, Coona. I turn 50 next year. I’ve barracked for Carlton since I was 6 years old. I was born in Hobart and grew up there. I’ve lived in Brisbane since 2006, but still consider myself a Tasmanian. Both Carlton and Tassie are in my heart. I suspect I will stick with the Blues. But I can’t say for certain until I see the two teams facing off against each other.

Nice. The Tassie Loyalties run deep.
I was born in Vic, moved to Tas in my early Teens, Spent 30+ years there (Wynyard, Burnie, Hobart), before moving back to Vic for family reason around 7 years ago. Consider myself More Tasmanian than Victorian. Absolutely love & miss the place.

Ashton Moir is about to go BANG!!!!

Shooting Bang Bang GIF by GritTV

I was going to wait until i got to a few preseason match sims & intaclub sessions in the new year in giving an early opinion, but here’s a pre Xmas forecast…

Jagger Smith, atm an obvious choice only by our preseason limited observation so far, as well as his overall standout ability and class as a preforming top aged performer against the best in his class, including his VFL performances had him in first pole position…

Ashton Moir, very small sample as sub for a couple of games late in the season, his hip injury concerns during his draft year probably caused doubts without the full knowledge overall, was a factor in assessing his true potential football skills & IQ, if they were going to be a long term problem for a very talented player, outstanding underage year, initial injury mis diagnosis has landed us a extremely talented player, class act…

Cooper Lord, as a mid season recruit from left field couldn’t have been more impressive, instantly became one of our best reserves players as a midfielder in a fairly poor and struggling team due to injuries, obviously his ball winning ability along with his pressure tackling and appetite for the contest stood out, great endurance, clean hands & decent decision making ability in contests are his best attributes, improving his spread and running game will round out his game…

Binns, for me he seemed to be a little unlucky during the season to not have been given a few more games which were definitely well deserved, i like the way he is developing, for me atm he can play wing/forward when playing AFL, his body is starting to strengthen, decision making is getting better and his kicking has improved, when playing reserves he should be part of the rotation through the midfield, nice upside…

Billy Wilson, few injury type setbacks in his first season, last preseason he looked good as an attacking defender, wonderful run and pace, creative, his execution by foot was very impressive as well, hard to gauge exactly where he sits amongst the young crop atm because of the interruption of his first year, exciting traits needs a strong preseason…

Harry Lemmey, a bit of a unicorn, like Moir his bottom year was very impressive and promising, draft year he slid back a fair bit when once was considered a possible top 10 prospect, the most noticeable thing that stands out, like many on here have mentioned is not his overall football ability, he has a great combination of skill and athleticism for a player of his size 200 plus cm, it’s the lack of application of aggressive nature in his overall game, which seems to be the standout feature which could impact him becoming the footballer he could be…

O’Keffee, a very good promising young footballer, ruckman who has good speed & athleticism, who moves really well, his greatest trait that stands out is his commitment and competitiveness across all aspects of his role and what the game requires, contesting ruck, competing, chasing, tackling, pressuring… Needs to improve his contested marking, it’s his biggest deficiency…

Let the Campo’s develop, O’Farrell will be a ripper in a few years, Charleston has the traits of a good rebounding defender…

Jagga Smith will impress the most amongst our youngsters in 2025 and will just evolve to an excellent midfielder, evasive nimble and accurate kick with better than average footy IQ.
So excited to see Jagga in the circle, he’s great addition to the team. Other exciting prospects Moir and Lord.
I reckon Harry Charleson too will surprise later into the second half of the season, looks a likely type, mature , well ground and hard at it , with soild skills.

Prediction Who will be our highest rated Rising Star in 2025?