Who will be our new coach next year?

1. Yze
2. Leppa
3. Gia
4. Clarko (he is the man to sell hope, bring members back, fixtures, trade targets, and withstand the media heat) but his coaching for the latter stages of his career wasn't great if his win loss is looked at

Whoever the coach is, his first point of business is replacing the current leadership group with some new blood.

Jack and Kayne should be gone and hopefully the new coach has the stones to appoint the Captain and vice himself.

Whoever the coach is, his first point of business is replacing the current leadership group with some new blood.

Jack and Kayne should be gone and hopefully the new coach has the stones to appoint the Captain and vice himself.
There are 2 criticisms I think can be directed to Noble that can't be blamed on what he inherited.

First was the leadership situation you mention. I was vocal regarding the 2021 offseason being the time to have the conviction to give some new leaders a try. Retaining Ziebell for the 2021 season made sense as there had been too much change post 2020.

But 2022 was time to take a punt on someone else and then switch it around if it didn't work. But it was time. I'm not sure we gained any stability keeping Ziebell in the role.

The other criticism fwiw I think Noble has to wear was the 2022 list composition. While the list structure isn't totally his responsibility he either passively allowed the list managers to structure AFL/VFL teams that were totally imbalanced or wasn't able to exert enough influence to make it otherwise. Either way it was year 2 and he wears some of the blame for the 2022 list.

There are 2 criticisms I think can be directed to Noble that can't be blamed on what he inherited.

First was the leadership situation you mention. I was vocal regarding the 2021 offseason being the time to have the conviction to give some new leaders a try. Retaining Ziebell for the 2021 season made sense as there had been too much change post 2020.

But 2022 was time to take a punt on someone else and then switch it around if it didn't work. But it was time. I'm not sure we gained any stability keeping Ziebell in the role.

The other criticism fwiw I think Noble has to wear was the 2022 list composition. While the list structure isn't totally his responsibility he either passively allowed the list managers to structure AFL/VFL teams that were totally imbalanced or wasn't able to exert enough influence to make it otherwise. Either way it was year 2 and he wears some of the blame for the 2022 list.
Well said.

If anything he probably over-estimated in the list management teams capabilities'.

You could put that down to a lack of experience in the position being a Head Coach at the highest of high levels and maybe that showed in a little self doubt.

I was once watching this doco about a Baseball player, and he had an accident that broke his arm. Then all of the sudden because of the broken arm he could pitch really fast. Think it was called Moneyball.
Anyway, imagine there was someone who got hit the head, and then all of the sudden they become really good at footy coaching. That would be perfect for us right now I reckon. Would change our club straight away. Anyone here know if Sonja has anyone with contacts at the hospitals in case that happens. Would hope so.
Anyway, Wayne Carey was a good player for us in the 90’s, I reckon he would be a good coach if we asked him.

Well said.

If anything he probably over-estimated in the list management teams capabilities'.

You could put that down to a lack of experience in the position being a Head Coach at the highest of high levels and maybe that showed in a little self doubt.

Agree. Unfortunately it's still on him to an extent. Lots of rookie coaches have had to impose themselves quickly to get their way. Remember Clarkson overruling his recruiters to Dew for instance. I'm sure Beveridge was exerting himself pretty quickly.

Sidenote - I used to laugh when AFL players at say 22yo spoke about the "kids" coming into the club. Come on now, you're 22!

But then I realised based on a 10-12 year AFL career (if they're very lucky) in normal working years that 22yo is equivalent to someone in their late 30s.

Using the same logic if you look at a standard coaching span as about 4-5 years - where they haven't ballsed it up earlier than that or happen to be very good or very lucky (we all know who I'm talking about) to stretch it past that - basically the senior coach doesn't have a rookie period. If they take over circa October they maybe have the grace of one trade/draft period and preseason before shaping the team.

By preseason 2 they're already well into the period they need to be stamping some kind of imprimatur on the group and enforcing their own philosophies. So as per your example - unfortunately no coach has the time to look on aimlessly and hope the list managers are giving them a fair hand to work with.

An extra strong coach would be forcing their demands on to the list managers and recruiters straight away. But at worst if they're not doing it by year 2 then they're completely at the mercy of what's served up to them based on the fact that even with a tailwind they've probably got 4 years max to show their stuff.

Chris just imagined that every team gets to absorb another team's list and get heaps of list and cap concessions so it doesn't really matter what plonker actually coaches them.
I read the first line of that and stopped reading.

I'd be happy with Leppitsch or Pyke.

And Clako, of course, but my gut feel is that he won't be available.
Leppitsch has stated that he's not interested in a senior coaching role and is only doing the assistant coaching job at Colliingwood because of his friendship with McRae who asked him..
If Clarko says no then Williams or Pyke might be the only other options...Either 1 would be ok by me..

Isnt Pyke the coach who led the problems at Adelaide with all of the indigenous guys? If that is the case, with our very strong past and current indigenous player group, I dont want him. If not, happy to entertain the idea, but think others might be better. I think he was the instigator of a lot of poor decisions, much like Hird was at *. If it happens under their watch, they should be held responsible. Buckley is the same with the Lumumba things at Pies.

I just refreshed on the power stance stuff.

Who cares?

This is seriously some people's reluctance about Don Pyke?

d86406cfdddea0570c1dc2680b187bf2

Who will be our new coach next year?