jonty12

May 23, 2002
Chelsea FC
I have never watched an VFL/AFL game at Kardinia Park/Shell Stadium/Skilled Stadium but my friend and I are making a weekend of it this weekend coming up. Going to hit the Bellarine Peninsula Sat night and then rock up to the game Sunday arvo. An extra incentive to get there early is to see the Port Melb boys in their first game.

Which is the best place to view the game at Geelong? I am an AFL member with Kangaroos Club Support?

AC

R:E

I actually live in Geelong and will be going. I have actually got some seats in the Geelong Social Club don't ask why. So hopefully me and my mates will be making all the noise and it will be the Geelong fans going early. So being in Geelong they are the team i love to beat most and in the unlikely event we lose i won't be showing my face for a month.

100% going.

Last year we all stood in the outer behind the goals (opposite end to the Reg Hickey Stand) and it was terrific. Could stand there andhave a beer and a smoke and it was cool throw back to the old days. Was pretty rowdy with lots of banter being exchanged between the inbreds and the North supporters, but was all in good fun.

Dont mind Cat Park. (The fact that we have recently owned it helps!!)

I just hope that it does not rain this weekend at Geelong like 2 years ago, where I got stuck in werribee after the game because the freeway was flooded and no one could go anywhere. Gez that was a good win that day and the worst football conditions I had ever seen.

Originally posted by My North
I just hope that it does not rain this weekend at Geelong like 2 years ago, where I got stuck in werribee after the game because the freeway was flooded and no one could go anywhere. Gez that was a good win that day and the worst football conditions I had ever seen.

But you must admit, it was a bloody good game...

David King's pick and goal in those conditions was outstanding...

Originally posted by My North

I went with Shinners and a mate of his- geez I reckon anyone who went that day must have remembered it... absolute shocker! Car park under a couple of inches water, so even if you had bought an undercover seat (which we did), your shoes were full of water by the time you got there. It was a bloody dry area too... not farken happy!!!

Hopefully the weather will be good this time, and we'll be able to get a good spot in the outer, where you can drink and swear and fart to your heart's content. The only "outer" standing area I saw when I went in 2001, was in the pocket/flank adjacent to the Hickey Stand. The outer where I used to stand on previous excursions to KP (early 90s) is now covered in seating.

Re: Re: Whose going to Geelong next Sunday?

Originally posted by Redd
From the lounge chair on Foxtel with a cold slab in the fridge!:cool:

I've never been to Kardinia Park, and the couch and TV option sounds far better than getting stuck in traffic on the way home. Especially if the weather is bad. (Yes I'm getting soft).

Do North Melbourne members with the 15 game option get in for free? I'm not sure what our priviledges are regarding getting access to a stand or seat.

Fusion,

I think your 15 game membership will getr you in but you will need to buy a seat unless you want to stand at the northern terrace or eastern terrace

did you go to the VP's function on the weekend ?

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
can't think of a better way to spend the anniversary :rolleyes:
Like i said to my better half as she told me she had stuff planned for her and me for our anniversary the night we played Melbourne in the the Wiz Cup and that i wouldnt be going, "Why cant you just support the club?!?!" :p

Just before she slapped me!! :eek: :(

Originally posted by Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
How well do you think a beer ban on the day will go down :p
have you no concern for the economy?
why can't you just support the C.U.B?

Originally posted by shintemaster
I'm going... Heading down for my first viewing at the Nazi Park... Think I may have gone as a kid, but don't remember it. Should be interesting...
"the nazi park" ??? what's going on with that?

Originally posted by kmartkid
Fusion,

I think your 15 game membership will getr you in but you will need to buy a seat unless you want to stand at the northern terrace or eastern terrace

did you go to the VP's function on the weekend ?

No I'm a Pennant Coterie member, not a Vice Pres. Actually I'm going to go to the game, with the dark side of the family (the half that follows Geelong).

Originally posted by shintemaster
Nothing against Geelong, but the code in all the fixtures I've seen is "SS"... just something to think about...:rolleyes:
it all becomes clear.

Vlad (another regular on this forum) and I have just bought two reserved seats at Hickley stand (right behind the goals), row H. See you all there.
By the way, 15-game membership gives you free access but if you want a seat you will have to reserve one. The prices for North members range from 15 to 24 bucks.

Whose going to Geelong next Sunday?