Why are Port more hated than the Crows?

Taper

Jun 9, 2023
Recent survey from Twitter aka X.
Interesting to see Port above the Crows when it comes to being hated by opposition fans.

Supporters of 7/17 clubs (Adelaide, Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, North, Richmond and West Coast) have Port in their top 5 most hated clubs.
Apart from Port no other club has the Crows in their top 5 most hated clubs.

Adelaide have had more success (2 flags > 1 flag), have been around longer (1991 > 1997) and have a bigger supporter base, so why do opposition supporters hate Port more?

They're just very dislikable. They're all the things people hate about North, but with the added aspect of being from South Australia which is a crap place.

Growing up in SA, everyone had a SANFL club.
Port were the Collingwood of the SANFL. Massive, arrogant bogan club, and you either loved them or hated them.
Their arrogant bogan attitude has carried over to the Power.
Even for non SA people, they're not a likeable club.
True this.
Even their mantra "We exist to win premierships"
I agree that feels like they haven't existed for 20 years but does it really need to be broadcasted.

Crows are an inoffensive club created to prevent Port from leaving the SANFL.
Port has a history of pushing their agenda, whether it be applying to join the AFL, pushing for the move from AAMI to Adelaide Oval, wearing the prison bars etc. and it clearly has rubbed people the wrong way over the journey who think we ought to know our place and stay quiet. Even their own supporters are starting to hate them now with these Muppets in Koch and Hinkley in charge tearing out that very fabric of what made us so successful and hated back in the day.

True this.
Even their mantra "We exist to win premierships"
I agree that feels like they haven't existed for 20 years but does it really need to be broadcasted.
Koch altered this so that it now includes "and make the community proud"
I'm not sure why because several of Port's people are in a greyhound syndicate.

Port Adelaide are the new employee that starts at your job, prancing around to be above and better than anybody else because of achievements they made in irrelevant and lesser jobs in their past.

I've also never met a Port Adelaide supporter who was measured and genuinely understood what they were talking about, and when you see their supporters on TV they have a high ratio of middle aged men wearing guernseys to the footy.

Then there's them never really having a super likable player in their history, maybe Travis Boak, but I'm talking Nat Fyfe, Nick Riewoldt, Jonathan Brown type of universally liked, their guernsey situation which nobody outside of Alberton gives a shit about and then just David Koch.

They're just very dislikable. They're all the things people hate about North, but with the added aspect of being from South Australia which is a crap place.
I went to a high school full of port fans. And yes Lindsay Thomas was in my year level. LoL

Port Adelaide are the new employee that starts at your job, prancing around to be above and better than anybody else because of achievements they made in irrelevant and lesser jobs in their past.

I've also never met a Port Adelaide supporter who was measured and genuinely understood what they were talking about, and when you see their supporters on TV they have a high ratio of middle aged men wearing guernseys to the footy.

Then there's them never really having a super likable player in their history, maybe Travis Boak, but I'm talking Nat Fyfe, Nick Riewoldt, Jonathan Brown type of universally liked, their guernsey situation which nobody outside of Alberton gives a shit about and then just David Koch.
Yeah, that's just a Port thing.....

1000006420.jpg

1000006421.jpg

1000006425.jpg

The funniest thing about the rabble that is Power, is that stupid song "never tear us apart"

What a joke, that is all their supporter base try to do.
It will be a disappointing day for AFL followers when Ken leaves, as they will have no excuses and the rest of us, wont have anything to brighten our day.
The whole idea of it and the actual song is pretty cool i reckon. Its just we all associate with Port now so think its shit

Although I don't personally have an issue with SA, in fact I quite like Adelaide the city, I think this is true.

Now the parallels between Hinkley and B Scott are becoming so stark, I've been finding it hard to maintain the JHF rage, after they joined the exclusive club of Essendon and Sydney in my most hated teams. I see the rage of their supporters, which all seems to amount to nothing with the Port board, and it kinda touches my heart.

Why are Port more hated than the Crows?