Wimmera League 2010

Drove past City oval today to see the Rats spanking the Diggers. My God if that wasn't the worst crowd i have ever seen. Being generous id say l could see 30 people there. A sad sign for the club with sweet stuff all supporter base and a terrrible side on the field.

Good win by the Rats. It must give a young team like thiers a huge boost after kicking so many goals. I think we are going to see a fair bottle neck for fifth position towards the end of the season, i reckon percentage will have a fair impact. Dimboola was very disappointing on saturday, the Demons had a side in that could easily have been beaten. Dimboola lacks a forward line, Prizibilla does well at full forward but gets mauled by 2 to 3 players each time it is kicked to him. I think the roos really need the return of Elliot Braithwaute to provide those extra forwardline posessions and goals. Without him thier forward line is hardly a threat to any team. Jake lloyd played well for the dees. Lachie exell reported for tripping. Johns sent off. Farr sent off. Durack sent off. Dimboola had a fair few injuries in the end by the look at thier bench. Anyone know what happened to Hamish Exell and Oliver Braithwaite? i saw them on the bench after half time and didn't return to the field. If they lose those two for the next couple then there goes any finals chances. How about horshams injuries, when are those blokes returning? it looked as though Parish may have broken his nose also..?

Drove past City oval today to see the Rats spanking the Diggers. My God if that wasn't the worst crowd i have ever seen. Being generous id say l could see 30 people there. A sad sign for the club with sweet stuff all supporter base and a terrrible side on the field.

pussies shouldnt throw stones when u live in a glass house. Diggers had more at training this week than u blokes!!!!
Can u also fill us in on the saints "crisis" meeting that was held amongst the playing group. Major problems blokes not happy with all the $$$ being spent and teammates not getting on. MAJOR DISHARMONY!!!!!

pussies shouldnt throw stones when u live in a glass house. Diggers had more at training this week than u blokes!!!!
Can u also fill us in on the saints "crisis" meeting that was held amongst the playing group. Major problems blokes not happy with all the $$$ being spent and teammates not getting on. MAJOR DISHARMONY!!!!!

No glasshouse here doobleboy. I must put my hand up though, l have a general dislike for the Horsham United Football Club and enjoy watching them get there pants pulled down each week. Please fill us in on the Saints issues. I have been able to get to 2 Wimmera League games for the year and have no idea whats going on behind the scenes at the Saints.

Have done some asking around and this is what I have been told.

The crisis meeting was held after the game against Minyip-Murtoa. Broadbent was very very unhappy with the lack of effort. Several players are unhappy with how things are panning out in 2010. There seems to be a bit of negativity towards Broadbent but nobody has been able to tell me exactly what the grumblings are about. Supposedly there is a core group of players that no longer want Gavin Kelm in the side or at the club. There are a few payed players not going to training which will be addressed. Must admit, not sure I got this from a reliable source. There must be someone out there that can give us the real story????

I was told after the Burra game by one of the saints players that they had to have the crisis meeting back at thier change rooms sat night for two reasons. Firstly they only had 6 on the track on the Tuesday leading up to the game and secondly they were supposed to have beaten the burras by more than what they did. They were lucky to win in the end, no respect for the opposition.

Also when Kelm kicked his only goal for the game he carried on trying to high 5 everyone, no one from the saints gave him any recognition.

Talk of the "crisis" meeting is absolute crap.. i have played in every game bar one for the saints this year so i can verify exactly what the meeting was all about.
The meeting was scheduled before the game no matter what the result was going to be and it was very casual with all the boys just getting together to have a beer and more discuss how we would like to attack the second half of the year.. No grumblings with broadbent whatsoever as most of the playing group get out to his house on sundays for recovery..
The main topics of the meeting was lack of numbers on the track in recent times, injury prevention and recovery..
And i'd say minyip/murtoa were more lucky to be so close at the end than we were to win given the scoring shots

Just going to put it out there, after seeing the way the saints boys had body language towards gav kelm, he will be back at taylors next yr. Good call bad call?

Talk of the "crisis" meeting is absolute crap.. i have played in every game bar one for the saints this year so i can verify exactly what the meeting was all about.
The meeting was scheduled before the game no matter what the result was going to be and it was very casual with all the boys just getting together to have a beer and more discuss how we would like to attack the second half of the year.. No grumblings with broadbent whatsoever as most of the playing group get out to his house on sundays for recovery..
The main topics of the meeting was lack of numbers on the track in recent times, injury prevention and recovery..
And i'd say minyip/murtoa were more lucky to be so close at the end than we were to win given the scoring shots

Lucky?! You don’t get much more arrogant then that. We dominated the clearances and probably laid twice as many tackles.

That’s one of their fatal flaws. Weather it’s bad kicking, lack of endeavour, no pressure, yellow cards etc etc luck rarely has anything to do with it. Making excuses like that is a fair indication of why the Horsham Saints have lost 6 grand finals since being in the Wimmera League. You never hear players from other clubs blame their performances on luck, even Farry is the first to give credit where credit is due.

Spot on fancy and that is what happens when egos outweighs ability. Even though the diggers haven`t got the list but the saints could do with their work ethic and they dig deep when the chips are down! They certainly point the finger to much.

Gavin Kelm has a fair bit of respect within our football club no matter what the outside point of view.. and the only reason the word "luck" was used was because ploughman used it in saying how we won.. i never said burras didnt apply great pressure during the game.. and it was indicative of the low scores in the end.. but we also were given no credit for the way the team battled it out to the end given a number of first gamers on the day and a couple off ressies blokes having to step up and fill a spot

Not would not suprise me about cheney, always a bit dirty in juniors a few yrs back

Tips
Burras def Eagles 26pts
United def Dim 15 pts
Horsham def Stawell 67 pts
Ararat def Saints 9 pts

From where I'm sitting it looks like the five might be settled.

Way too early to call that one Fancy. Warrack have beaten Horsham, Diggers have beaten Saints, upsets? and the rest of the rounds will be very hard to tip. I'd say it's still wide open in regards to who sneaks into the 5. I think the Wimmera league is quite even this year, unfortunately however pretty bloody weak lacking depth across the board. Horsham arn't that flash at all the fact is the rest of the teams that make up the comp are shite. Thats why we keeep hearing of how good district league is. Time to get the best players in the region all playing wimmera league instead of shit kicking around in the district league, i'm sick of spoilt brats getting kicks in that below par league spruiking about how fantastic footballers they are. It;s time they stopped pissing in each others pockets and lined up in WFL so we have a quality league where the spectators can pay money to see a high quality game where teams field 22 senior players on the park instead of the 10 to 15 we are seeing in most WFL clubs at the moment .

Too Harsh?

As a spectator im already praying for a better showing in 2011.

Deccan 18, i don't think that is harsh at all, in fact i'd say your 100% spot on horsham are not the great side they were but are now merely a good team ripe for the picking! The other sides must realise this and lift their games, but for all the matches i have seen i'm not sure they can? Depth is definately an issue and this is where we can try and get the best district league players to fill the gaps, then we would really see how good some players are, maybe not standing out they like they would in a dominant or poor side! As for the 5 i reckon Dimboola and Stawell will come home with a wet sail, so the teams sitting in the 5 now would want to keep winning to secure a spot. My tips for this round are: Dimboola in an upset over the rats by 12pts Stawell by 20 pts over a tough m/murt Horsham/Nhill is a tough one to predict but i'll stick with the demons by 30 And Warrack over United by 40 pts :)

Way too early to call that one Fancy. Warrack have beaten Horsham, Diggers have beaten Saints, upsets? and the rest of the rounds will be very hard to tip. I'd say it's still wide open in regards to who sneaks into the 5. I think the Wimmera league is quite even this year, unfortunately however pretty bloody weak lacking depth across the board. Horsham arn't that flash at all the fact is the rest of the teams that make up the comp are shite. Thats why we keeep hearing of how good district league is. Time to get the best players in the region all playing wimmera league instead of shit kicking around in the district league, i'm sick of spoilt brats getting kicks in that below par league spruiking about how fantastic footballers they are. It;s time they stopped pissing in each others pockets and lined up in WFL so we have a quality league where the spectators can pay money to see a high quality game where teams field 22 senior players on the park instead of the 10 to 15 we are seeing in most WFL clubs at the moment .

What a load of shit. No one plays wimmera league because its just not that good. The difference in the two leagues use to be massive and the wimmera league was a streak above the D League but over the last few years the D League has become alot stronger with some quaility players joining clubs. Money is a reason but who isnt spending big dollars these days to attract the big names. Look at warrack eagles. How much did they falk out to get mark grieg for a couple of years a very large amount, how much is stawell paying tuckey! So you cannot say that the only reason the players are going to the district league for money. Its about loyalty and only few people have this. Steve and grant shultz could of named a price and did get offered some very very very big money but took a much much much lower cheq to stay at kalkee because they love it out there and are loyal. Footy is about the social side aswell. HONESTLY who the hell would want to play football with united, and horsham saints. United are luckily to get 50 people there watching. I think its a load of shit that u blokes just think the wimmera league is an out standing league because its not! STOP LIVING IN THE PAST AND LIVE IN THE HERE AND NOW! Because the wimmera league is struggling and everyone knows it!

Let me have it haha

From where I'm sitting it looks like the five might be settled.

3rd Spot is up for the takings for the Eagles if things goes their way no1 to Beat the Saints and Stawell to bead Ararat the % between Eagles and Ararat not alot Ararat 36 105.47 Warrack 32 102.94
as for the top 5 settled 3,4,5, spots are still open Stawell's 1 game out if Nhill or Warrack have big losses stawell can get in

round 15 predictions:

Stawell by 18 pts over rats
Nhill by 43 pts over united
Horsham way too good for min/mur 68 pts
Saints to defeat warrack by 28 pts

very interesting round couple of games could go either way and make the 5 very interesting as finals fast approaching.

Close enough not good enough for the Burras but a very interesting result. Good to see a team just off the bottom nearly snag it against the Demons.

Brimackabeal are just about done for, you would have to say an underachieving year after making the grand final last year?

at least they done what no other club could do and Beat Horsham who will win their 8th Straight Premiership

Hi forum, interesting reading on here. I heard a whisper this week that Steve and Grant Schultz look to be headed for the Dimboola Roos next season....Has anyone else heard the same thing? Big news if it turns out to be true!

Wimmera League 2010