Woodville - Team of the Century!

By the way I think Percy Fox was a long serving Woodville Council member who was integral in getting Woodville Oval used for league football - but may be wrong.[/QUOTE]

Believe you may well be right on that Leaping!! Also, methinks he was an integral member of the delegation formed requesting Woodville be admitted to the SANFL competition (whilst still playing in the Amateur League...) Percy Fox Green was made a Life Member of the Woodville F.C. in 1950 and was listed as Patron. From the Woody Bible these are the photos Percy is in they are: 1940, 1946 & 1947 all listed as President.

It mentions that Woodville Oval was our home ground in the Ammos from 1941. Maybe he could have been instrumental in taking the Peckers from their previous home to the magnificent Woodville Oval. Was the stand erected in the 1950s, cue McAlmanac....

and a few for non-Pecker supporters...

15. A black day for LL on 2/6/1974 - God is struck down by Satan on the turf of the SCG.:(
16. LL - where you there on 4/5/1974? - First match at Foody Park - Dogs vs Chooks. Being 11 at the time i was only allowed to venture to Prospect occassionally and even then only with mum. West Lakes may as well have been on the moon!
18. 6/7/1940 - who'd play fullback? - Ken Farmer's 23 goal game. The Torren's full back (whose name escapes me) played all day on Farmer as they didn't tend to swap positions mid match in those days - poor bugger.
19. Round 1 1925 - Glenelg's first win in football (??)
20. 15/6/1963 -
Along with 28/12/1836 THE most famous day in South Australian History:D

All correct. Farmers 23 (out of 26) is just phenomenal. Full marks to the WT Full Back for not going the knuckle (or feigning the hammy just to get out of there!).

LL - after the chooks 71,72 flags, and a GF in '73 - was their demise directly attributable to Robran's injury? I know he was bloody good, but surely 1 man isn't the difference between a successful team and mediocrity??

Fatty L. oh great Peckers Trainspotting Quizmaster, can I humbly submit my answers to the two questions above. Firstly may I pay tribute to my esteemed Pecker colleague - McAlmanac for his " late night " answers to your brilliant ( but not easy..) quiz.

Question 8- 24/3/73: Although a pre-season trial game the Mighty Peckers beat Port Adelaide for the very first time. Scores were: WOODVILLE 18-14 122 pulverised PORT ADELAIDE 14-5 89. Pretty sure I dug up the details of this classic trial game victory and posted it sometime back... The game was at Pecker Park and yours truly and my brother were perched in the Barry Jarman Stand enjoying every second of it!! Was a hot day from memory and the Peckers were on fire...

Question 13- 27/7/74....Woodville's first ever game at Football Park. Sadly we lost this game to Port Adelaide " by a little bit " Port Adel. 18-17 125 scraping in over Woodville 10-16 76. A pretty reasonable crowd of 8771 was in attendance. From memory I recall posting details of Woody firsts at Footy Pk. and reckon the great Eddie " Turbo " Holland had the first kick by a Woodville Player in League Footy at Football Pk. I reckon " Filthy " Phil Smith kicked the first goal by a Pecker at Footy Pk.

QUOTE]

Both :thumbsu:

Reckon these are left to answer correctly

3. A big couple of weeks in Woody history - 25/6/77 & 2/7/77. Significant for what?

7. Round 20, 1990 saw what?

17. Aug 23, 1975 ??

Reckon these are left to answer correctly

3. A big couple of weeks in Woody history - 25/6/77 & 2/7/77. Significant for what?

7. Round 20, 1990 saw what?

17. Aug 23, 1975 ??

Fatty L. I would have answered these questions earlier but have been disgracefully busy, but I am sure I'm not the only one...

Answer to Q.3-: 25/6/77 Jim Brenton game...Jimmy Brenton's finest " 120 minutes of League Footy " and along with new ruck cohort- Steve Jensen they magnificently covered the " walkout " of Colin MacVicar from the club and inspired the Peckers to a classic 5 point victory. Woodville were rated a 1000 to 1 chance to win this game in a " two horse race "..The very next week-: 2/7/77 the John Roberts game... " Robbo " was magnificent and kicked a Football Pk. individual goalkicking record of 16.3!! He marked everything that came his way and kicked some " impossible " goals from the Graham Campbell/ Tony Hall pocket at Footy Pk. this is the Sth. West Pocket!! A freakish performance that inspired the Peckers to a 74 point victory over the Bulldogs! Think he had 5 different opponents that day...

Answer to Q.7-: Rd. 20, 1990. Woodville's last league game which resulted in a belting of Torrens by 45 points! Ralphy Sewer's brilliant last game from a FP resulted in 1 Magarey Medal vote, could easily have been 3... His brilliant foot passing resulted in Allen " Wierd Al " Jakovich getting 13 Goals that day bringing his season tally to 101 Goals!! " Weird Al's " ton made him the fourth different Woodville player to kick 100 Goals or more in a season. The previous players were: Trevor Pierson, Malcolm Blight and Steve Nichols. Importantly, Ian " Detto/Skeeter " Dettmann played his 200th and final League Game in this historic encounter...

Answer to Q. 17-: Aug. 23, 1975. Glenelg kicked a record score of 49-23 317 to Centrals 11-13 79 at Glenelg Oval. Dare I say it, the game at Footy Pk. between Woodville and South attracted perhaps one of the smallest crowds to the venue of all time! A mere 1869 hardy souls attended! Sadly, the Panthers prevailed by 28 points in this encounter! Cheers, all TBW.

Well done TBW - I think you've cleaned up. Stay tuned for the Trev Etteridge quiz!!:eek:

BTW - did we have 3 games Vs Port in '74??? The draw, the we wuz robbed match & the Footy Park game?? Or was the draw in '75???? Too late, too many Friday night bevvies......

Well done TBW - I think you've cleaned up. Stay tuned for the Trev Etteridge quiz!!:eek:

BTW - did we have 3 games Vs Port in '74??? The draw, the we wuz robbed match & the Footy Park game?? Or was the draw in '75???? Too late, too many Friday night bevvies......

Ta very much, Fatty L. Look forward to the Trevor Ettridge quiz, any truth to the rumours circulating about a Trevor " Angry Man " Jacka quiz???

Well sometimes we even do some of our best thinking after a " few grogs "...LOL. We played Port three times in the actual season proper and also a pre-season trial match in 1974. The scores for all clashes were-: Trial Match- 30/3/74..Alberton Oval, PA 31-12 198 def. Wd 14-17 101. Rd. 8- 25/5/74 at Woodville Oval, Wd. 14-17 101 drew with PA 15-11 101 Crowd 7062. Rd. 17- 27/7/74 at Football Park, PA 18-17 125 def. Wd 10-16 76 Crowd 8771. Then the " we wuz robbed " infamous clash slightly less than a month after-: Rd. 21- 24/8/74 at Alberton Oval, PA 23-16 154 def. Wd. 20-13 133 Crowd 7592.

1974 was a bit shabby for The Powerful Pressurising Peckers having to face up to the Maggies four times....

2008 Woodville Heritage Game....IMPORTANT NOTIFICATION...

Big announcement I have to pass on...the 2008 Woodville Heritage game will be held on 23/8/08 which is the Rd. 21 clash at Woodville Oval ( Mecca..) between the Eagles and Glenelg. This game will honour the 1980s Warriors (broadly speaking it appears) as I believe it covers Woody champs from throughout the '80s!! Players like: Darryl Hewitt, Bart Darmody, Brian Close, Ian Dettmann, Steve Jacquier, Alex Lunn, Brett Mackereth, Trevor Pierson, Doug Koop are some of the names I have heard mentioned!!

When I hear anything more I will post it...There is a luncheon to be held at the club in honour of these legends! I also hear that this may be the last of these heritage games, hoping not....So fellow Peckers & Warriors insert this on your Social Calendar/ Travel Diary and let us attend in large numbers on 23/8,the magnificent Woodville Warriors guernseys worn between 1983-90 incl. will be worn on the day and I understand will be auctioned off on ebay after the game!

Big chance to catch up with some heroes of the W.F.C. and of course fellow Pecker Hill legends ( in our own minds?!?..)

This now only about 6 weeks away.....any eminent or even not so eminent Lol.. Pecker supporters in attendance on 23/8?? McAlmanac or Fatty Lumpkin etc. using any of their frequent flyer points!?! Will try to get more info. on past players etc. attending and give updates in the coming weeks.... Yours in Peckerdom, TBW.

hmmmmmm....was planning on coming down that w/e for a family gig. Was thinking about a wander back to my old ammo club, but this maybe an opportunity to good to miss.

Don't think I will be. I was actually at Alberton on Saturday. Top day out, apart from the fact the Eagles came up short. :(

Is Bryce Campbell Adelaide Crow & Norwood Footballer son of former " brief " Pecker- Russell Campbell??......

Whilst watching the most unexpected victory last night of Adelaide over Sydney...yeeha, Dwayne Russell mentioned on the telecast after Bryce Campbell's 1st quarter goal that " His dad Russell Campbell would be proudly watching that goal from Wagga where he runs the post office."

Recall the mighty Peckers recruited Russell Campbell from South Melbourne and he played at Oval Avenue during 1981-2 inclusive. He played 9 League Games in this time but according to the Woody Bible spent more time in the Ressies and on the injury list! Can recall hearing a deplorable Rod Olsson 3/4 time address where he specifically said to the chappie in question " Believe in yourself, Russ!!" Such great motivation, no doubt....

This begs the question is this the same Russell Campbell?!? Another AFL player with a Woodville connection....Adelaide's Bernie Vince is the son of former Pecker Ressies player: Tim Vince & Port's Danyle Pearce is the son of another Woodville Reserves " champ " : Joffre Pearce. Will follow up soon with some more chat on the Woody Heritage Game, which isn't too far away on 23/8!! Cheers one and all, TBW.

I would like to thank everyone for there pecker warriors stories. They have been great. I am a proud pecker and warriors man myself and was only told about this thread a few weeks ago. What a blast. I was in the woodville cheer squad from 1981-1990 and loved it, some of the best days of my life :thumbsu: I will post some of my pecker warrior stories soon, i have a few

Also the legends of woodville site was good find also. There are some great players there.

thanks again and please keep this thread alive.

Long live the Peckers and Warriors. :D

I would like to thank everyone for there pecker warriors stories. They have been great. I am a proud pecker and warriors man myself and was only told about this thread a few weeks ago. What a blast. I was in the woodville cheer squad from 1981-1990 and loved it, some of the best days of my life :thumbsu: I will post some of my pecker warrior stories soon, i have a few

Also the legends of woodville site was good find also. There are some great players there.

thanks again and please keep this thread alive.

Long live the Peckers and Warriors. :D

A big welcome aboard to you Woodwt!!! Glad you have discovered this thread that has been going for almost 3-1/2 years, a bit of inspirational reading to catch up on.....This thread covers all things Woodville F.C. from 1964-1990, so you will be " in your element "!! Have you seen the recent postings on this thread re the Woody cheer squad? You might even be in the 1981 picture...

We all look forward to hearing all your Pecker/Warrior memories matey!! Don't forget Woodville Heritage Day-Sat. 23/8/08 at Pecker Park...yeeha! This honours the Warrior era from 1983-90, players from that era and prior will be in attendance...be there or be square. We're the Warriors from Woodville, the Woodville Warriors we are...All the very best, The Big Warrior.

Has the messiah RSVP'd ?

Yes Fatty L. this is the question we all want the answer to....Hope to get " the inside story " on who is attending and should find out sometime in the coming week. Once I know, shall post the details here for yourself and all of our fellow Woody diehards.

Methinks there should be a gathering of Warriors and Peckers on that " sacred and holy " Pecker Hill turf on August 23. Lets fly the Woody flag.....Cheers all, TBW.

Yes Fatty L. this is the question we all want the answer to....Hope to get " the inside story " on who is attending and should find out sometime in the coming week. Once I know, shall post the details here for yourself and all of our fellow Woody diehards.

Methinks there should be a gathering of Warriors and Peckers on that " sacred and holy " Pecker Hill turf on August 23. Lets fly the Woody flag.....Cheers all, TBW.

Boys & girls I am still working hard on this and methinks should have all the info. by the end of this week, if not sooner...Must also mention that there is a lunch on the day: 23/8 in the upstairs function room, all the past players that are attending will be at the luncheon! The good woman and yours truly have booked for it! Bookings can be made with the club office on PH. (08) 8347 2444.

The cost of this function is $45 per head, which includes a 2 course meal and beer, wine and soft drinks. Importantly, the chance to "rub shoulders" with some Woody greats!

Anyone attending on 23/8 whether it be the game, lunch etc. please message me on this thread or send me a personal message if you wish ! Spread the message too as the more the merrier, we will have to have a drink " or three " in honour of those POWERFUL PRESSURISING PECKERS and WARRIORS!

Are you still headed over Fatty L. ??

Hope to get " the inside story " on who is attending and should find out sometime in the coming week.

/QUOTE] Got the "good oil " today on the players in attendance for the luncheon on August 23 for the Woody Heritage day. These are the Warriors who will be in attendance: Ian Dettmann, Darren Grant, Garry Haylock, Steve Jacquier, John Martin, Trevor Pierson, Des O'Dwyer, Peter Schwarz, Ralph Sewer, Haydn Stephens and Stuart Totham.

In past heritage days there have been players accepting invitations in the week leading up to the game, but these are the acceptances thus far! Whilst the day mainly honours those heroes from the 1988 Escort Cup Premiership Team several players from the late '70s and '80s were also invited. Positive that Stevie " Jack " and the by then retired Trevor " Snapper " Pierson were the only chappies who weren't part of the '88 Escort Cup premiership glory...

Can anyone yet say if they too will be there " decked out " in their Woody clobber to pay homage to those Warrior heroes ???....

It'd be great to get there, but I reckons me mum might disown me. She should check the Woody calender before she gets thrown a suprise 75th birthday!

Can't be in 2 places at once, Fatty.. ah, "thems the breaks"!! Hope your Mum has a great 75th birthday celebration, shall we try and organise Ralphie to pop out of her birthday cake...that would add to the surprise!! Cheers, TBW.

Whilst the day mainly honours those heroes from the 1988 Escort Cup Premiership Team several players from the late '70s and '80s were also invited. Positive that Stevie " Jack " and the by then retired Trevor " Snapper " Pierson were the only chappies who weren't part of the '88 Escort Cup premiership glory...

Can anyone yet say if they too will be there " decked out " in their Woody clobber to pay homage to those Warrior heroes ???....[/QUOTE]

Fellow Warriors does anyone know if they are heading to the sacred turf at Warrior/ Pecker Park tomorrow? We are heading to the luncheon but will join friends and family on Pecker Hill for the game and venturing back to the bar I would say for half-time revelry and beyond.....

Methinks there should be a gathering of Woodville devotees on Pecker Hill, chanting Woodville " catch cries " and singing of club song(s) etc. etc. " We're the Warriors from Woodville, the Woodville Warriors we are "...Many stories to be shared and told.. of the mighty green and gold!! Cheers everyone, TBW.

Managed to sneak away and tune into ABC for the Warrior clash on Sat arvo. Was good to see Oval Ave again. Actually - the ground looked a tad firm underfoot. The boys did the Warrior kit proud.:thumbsu: I kept looking for the shock of blonde hair that was Andrew Taylor!!

Even managed a nostalgic train trip over the w/e. The urge to get off at Woody Park & leg it to the Oval was almost over-powering.

Managed to sneak away and tune into ABC for the Warrior clash on Sat arvo. Was good to see Oval Ave again. Actually - the ground looked a tad firm underfoot. The boys did the Warrior kit proud.:thumbsu: I kept looking for the shock of blonde hair that was Andrew Taylor!!

Even managed a nostalgic train trip over the w/e. The urge to get off at Woody Park & leg it to the Oval was almost over-powering.

Andrew " Shark " Taylor and the GREAT Steve Nichols were sadly non-attendees on Heritage Day....These are the former greats that did come to the heritage day luncheon and " kicked on " into the night they are: Ian Dettmann, Darren Grant, Garry Haylock, Steve Jacquier, Johnny Martin, Des O'Dwyer, Trevor Pierson ( Had to leave in the arvo sadly..), The GREAT MAN: Ralphy Sewer, Haydn Stephens and Stewie Totham.

Sounds like a McAlmanac story here, but there was a sighting of John Roberts on Pecker Hill ! As McAl. has previously reported, has " Robbo " found the fountain of youth?? Methinks he might purchase " the odd bottle " of Grecian 2000 or Just for men, to enhance the hair colour....

Have been extremely busy of late, but will post some more details of Heritage Day etc. sooner than later!! All the best, TBW.

Hi people, does anybody know if Stuart Totham was named in the Woodville Team of the Century? Also how many games did he play in the SANFL? Just wondering cause he's a family friend of ours.

Cheers!

Hi people, does anybody know if Stuart Totham was named in the Woodville Team of the Century? Also how many games did he play in the SANFL? Just wondering cause he's a family friend of ours.

Cheers!
A no to the Team of the Century, but I do know that he has just been named General Manager for the NT side to play in the AFLQ in 2009.

What are supporter's recollections of Bruce Tonkin, and has anyone heard from
him since he returned to Victoria ?