Worst Coach your club has ever had?

Royce Hart
Pretty good call. Despite being my favourite Tiges player of all time, he was a pretty ordinary coach.

A few Richmond friends have told me that apparently he had a lot of trouble relating the run of the mill players and couldn't understand why they couldn't just naturally be great footballers like he was.

Possibly Hird and Figgy have similar problems. Naturally talented players don't always make great coaches.

Most coaches are generally as good as their list. Never seen a bad premiership coach and also never seen a good coach come last. There is always better coaches than others but you will never convince me that if Mark Neeld had Hawthorns list that he would not of been successful.

Depends on the how you define successful. Had Neeld coached Hawthorn reckon there’s every chance they wouldn’t have won a flag.

Great coaches are obviously just that.

I reckon an okay coach can be boosted by a great list.

I reckon a genuinely bad coach can really, really hold back a great list.

Worse than Damien Drum Kram?
Probably. Tbh I can't even remember that much on Drum even though I was about 19-20 at the time.

That Harvey interview is the worst I've ever seen from a coach. The what does Freo stand for? thing was a bit of a pointlessly vague question but answering with "Whatever it wants to" lol.

And stuff like playing Pav in the midfield heaps trying to shorten his career and letting Peter Bell commute from Geraldton, I mean really?

Walls was our biggest disaster. Replacing one of our best coaches in Northey with a guy who barely seemed to have his heart in it probably set us back a decade at least.

Spud was also pretty clueless, unsurprisingly, but in his defence he did get us to a Prelim.

Sheedy was great. He did exactly what was asked of him as the inaugural coach of a start up. It stupid to underestimate the challenge, and ours was probably the most challenging ever from a coaching point of view. The decision to stay with the young talent more than anyone expected meant an expanded list of youngsters to develop with few experienced heads to help and influence.

He necessarily functioned like a director of coaching, and pretty much anyone who looked like they could coach could get work with us in that period. It was his job to add cohesion and pull it all together, and he did a brilliant job.

Leon's taken the team from one of potential to successive top 4 finishes in a short period. What's not to like.

I think plenty in the know would credit Sheedy with what GWS became compared to GC.

If nothing else he sets standards for young kids coming into the game.

Sheedy never, ever tolerated meekness or softness in the slightest. Everything else aside, he’s always get that right.

He along with the shrewd recruiting of the likes of Cornes, McDonald, Brogan, Ward and the like was exactly what a brand new club of kids needed.

Peter Schwab, Judge and Knights weren't great, all having <50% win:loss ratios.

We didn't really have the cattle between 1994 and 2004 though.
schwab got us to a prelim (grr goldspink), judge presided over our rebuild before that; for me it was knights although forgiven because i think he did it for basically no money.

Malthouse is the perfect example of players not playing for the coach. Disconnected with the playing group and applied an outdated strategy. Worst coach of the last 5 years. His exit would be amongst the most embarrassing thing to have happened to the club. Absolute sook.
#stillmad

Worst Coach your club has ever had?