Would Michael Jordan dominate the AFL?

Lot of bulltish in this thread, i had a 75cm vertical leap and I've got nothing on the best AFL players, Jarred Brennan topped 100cm at the AFL draft camp as one example.

if anybody thinks Jordan is a supreme athlete watch him chase the little bloke in my avatar down the court. Jordan competed against people chosen first and foremost because they are in the top 5% of the population height wise, athletic ability ranking a long way behind. A lot of those 7 footers he competed against could not play any other sport, remember this is a sport that had Gheorge Muresan as a 10 year player, my mum could run faster.

I played basketball for 15 years and the athleticism thing is a furphy, I could play 2 games in the one night quite easily (40 minutes) but struggled to get through a half of footy, basketball is not an endurance sport.

Yes of course jordan could play, heck we have our own big stiffs, the Cain Ackland types Jordan would dominate but the Buddies of the world, there is not a mountain of difference.

You are a downright moron if you think basketball players were taken solely for their height. Jesus your ignorance is downright embarrassing.

And what exactly makes you qualified to make such a comment?

A marking contest in the AFL contains many variables and there are a lot of instances were a smaller opponent is contesting for the ball...I'm not a Basketball expert but I'd imagine the domain of the key is for the power forwards and centres who are usually 7ft +...Anyone that size can should be fairly comfortable with that kind of physicality.

You're singling out one specific area of the game - in AFL there is contact in almost every situation, and generally, if not always, much more brutal than Basketball.

Actually basically ever position will post up in a game. Infact one of Jordan's best moves was his ability to dominate the post and backdown the defender before scoring inside. You're just coming off as a knob who doesn't know what he's talking about :thumbsdown: Give it a rest mate

Do yourself a favour:

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-WmNHGA5jh8&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-WmNHGA5jh8&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/JKlvfx9ODM8&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/JKlvfx9ODM8&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

just fast foward to 2:20
[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/wqPRdzrjWpU&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/wqPRdzrjWpU&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

Would've loved to have seen him live. :(

Anyone think that an 18 year old Jordan would dominate the AFL? Look at the new AFL prototypes - they very much have the NBA basketball build.

Some interesting stats in comparison to Franklin :

both are 6'6
only 3 kg's difference with Franklin being slightly heavier
Jordan's wingspan is 5 cm's wider than Buddy (amazing)
Jordan's handgrip is 3cm's longer than Buddy's

Aerobic capacity would be in Jordan's favour slightly. He would be an impossible matchup for any team and you couple this with his insane drive to win.

I watched Jordan play live in 96 and I can tell you now that he made Franklin or Goodes look like school kids. A man that size doing things that you cannot imagine against 7 footers.

So do you think with the way the game is going that an athlete like Jordan would dominate? If he came to your club, where would you play him?
cheers for that.
great example for my essay on US cultural power. how many people in the US would have heard of buddy franklin?
you're a champ

Interesting size comparisons of some AFL and NBA players:

Yao Ming - 229cm, 141kg (Currently the tallest player in the NBA, wouldn't have the endurance for AFL at all. He breaks down with injury a fair bit playing basketball as it is)

Shaquille O'Neal - 216cm, 147kg (One of the greatest NBA big men of all time. Played at 137kg early in his NBA career)

Wilt Chamberlain - 216cm, 125kg (One of the most dominant big men of all time. Ran track and high jumped in high school and college, as well as playing basketball)

Hakeem Olajuwon - 213cm, 116kg (1-time NBA MVP, 2-time NBA Champion, Olympic Gold Medalist. Ran and jumped like players a foot shorter)

Aaron Sandilands - 211cm, 123kg (Currently the tallest player in the AFL)

Dwight Howard - 211cm, 120kg (Former NBA Slam Dunk Champion and Rookie of the Year, Olympic Gold Medalist. The best young big man in the game today)

Karl Malone - 206cm, 116kg (Former NBA MVP, Olympic Gold Medalist. The very definition of 'Power Forward', and one of the greatest of all time at that position)

Ben Wallace - 206cm, 109kg (4-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year, NBA Champion. Ran track and played American Football in high school and college, and has an outstanding vertical leap. Has a body chiseled from granite that would make Bruce McAvaney and Don Scott drool.)

Dean Cox - 204cm, 104kg (Premiership player. The premier Ruckman in the AFL)

Lebron James - 203cm, 113kg (Current NBA MVP, Olympic Gold Medalist)

Dennis Rodman - 203cm, 100kg (stated in his first biography that he had the speed to be competitive at 400m sprinting at Olympic level. Long-time rival Magic Johnson has backed up these claims about his athleticism as well. Has admitted that he loves physical pain, and was known to put his body on the line all the time, and had the strength, guts and determination to mix it up with and beat guys who were up to 8-10cm taller and 20-30kg heavier than him. He would have been interesting to see in the AFL for sure.)

Kurt Tippett - 201cm, 100kg (Basketball-to-football convert)

Gerald Wallace - 201cm, 98kg (Athletic freak, and one of the best two-way players in the NBA, meaning he can get it done on both offense and defense. Known for his kamikaze style of play, often putting his body on the line for the sake of his team)

Dean Brogan - 200cm, 101kg (Basketball-to-football convert)

Michael Jordan - 198cm, 98kg (Greatest basketball player of all time, countless achievements. Played at 90kg before first retirement)

Kobe Bryant - 198cm, 93kg (1-time NBA MVP, 3 time NBA Champion, Olympic Gold Medalist. Among the best of his generation)

Lance Franklin - 196cm, 101kg (Coleman Medalist, Premiership player. Athletic freak by AFL standards)

Jonathan Brown - 195cm, 102kg (3-time Premiership player. Arguably the most intimidating presence in AFL today)

Barry Hall - 194cm, 104kg (Premiership player. One of the most intimidating presences in AFL in recent years)

Steve Nash - 191cm, 81kg (2-time NBA MVP)

Scott Pendlebury - 190cm, 88kg (Arguably the best basketball-to-football convert of recent years)

Chris Judd - 189cm, 85kg (Brownlow Medallist)

Allen Iverson - 183cm, 82kg (1-time NBA MVP. Scorer extraordinaire. Mind-blowing speed at his peak. Played much of his earlier career at 75kg)

Chris Paul - 183cm, 79kg (Premier young Point Guard in the NBA. Amazing speed and quickness)

Gary Ablett Jr. - 182cm, 88kg (Arguably the best player in the AFL today)

Nate Robinson - 175cm, 82kg (2-time NBA Slam Dunk Champion, beat reigning champ Dwight Howard in this year's contest)

Brent Harvey - 172cm, 76kg (Currently the shortest player in the AFL)

AFL player's sizes come from 2009 AFL Prospectus, and NBA player's sizes from NBA.com

While each sport has players at all shapes and sizes, from a pure athlecism standpoint (that is, not taking into account the sports-specific skills), I'd take the NBA players every single time. They are amazing athletes, and in especially comparisons of each sports bigger athletes, the NBA players would blow most AFL players away in terms of quickness, agility and co-ordination. Guys like Lebron James and Dwight Howard would make Cox and Sandilands look absolutely laughable in the athleticism stakes. We think someone like Buddy Franklin is amazingly athletic for his size, but guys like size with that athleticism are a dime a dozen in the NBA, and in countless other professional levels of basketball around the world. He is pretty much stock standard in professional basketball terms, in both sizes and athleticism.

I've played and watched basketball since I was 6 years old (I'm 21 now), and it always amazes me the constant underestimation that the sport gets. Everyone is characterised as soft, skinny beanpoles who are afraid of contact, and that's hardly the case. Whilst not being the bigger player around (I'm 194cm and 103kg), I've played Centre (basketball's equivalent of Ruck, for people who don't know) for most of my basketball-playing time. I've played at decently high levels at various times in my life (not so much recently, moreso when I was a teenager), and there is definitely a lot of physicality, and definitely stamina (a lot of repeated sprints with jumping and changing direction in between, if you're working anywhere near decently hard), strength, guts and toughness required if you want to be anything more than an average joe, and definitely a ton of it required if you want to be decently successful in a state league in Australia (a level I've never played at, by the way). You can get by without those things, but you're also never going to be anything in basketball without them. I'm not saying that there is as much physicality as in football, but it's not just all soft pussy-footing around like a lot of people make it out to be.

In short, I think Jordan (as well as a number of other NBA players, past and present) would easily have the physical attributes to make themselves great AFL footballers.

Dennis Rodman - 203cm, 100kg (stated in his first biography that he had the speed to be competitive at 400m sprinting at Olympic level. Long-time rival Magic Johnson has backed up these claims about his athleticism as well. Has admitted that he loves physical pain, and was known to put his body on the line all the time, and had the strength, guts and determination to mix it up with and beat guys who were up to 8-10cm taller and 20-30kg heavier than him. He would have been interesting to see in the AFL for sure.).

You forgot to mention Double Team with Jean Claude van Damm

And this is the dumbest thread I've ever seen on BigFooty, and that takes some doing.

The NBA features the best 450 basketballers from a population of 7 billion.

The AFL features the best 450 footballers from a population of 21 million.

Obviously those figures don't accurately reflect the number of people playing the sport, but you get my point.

How did this topic run for 230 posts?

And this is the dumbest thread I've ever seen on BigFooty, and that takes some doing.

The NBA features the best 450 basketballers from a population of 7 billion.

The AFL features the best 450 footballers from a population of 21 million.

Obviously those figures don't accurately reflect the number of people playing the sport, but you get my point.

How did this topic run for 230 posts?

Yeah its really stupid. Shouldnt have used my keyboard.

Now let me explain this to you and others in the peanut gallery saying this thread is stupid. I asked for opinions on if players with the drive, skill and physical makeup of a Jordan would excel in our game. It will be quite humorous in years to come when an African American becomes a quality player (possibly for your team). All of a sudden it doesnt seem so stupid does it chief? This is not a comparison of population. We have a Brazilian playing for Collingwood...care to bring up their population too? What does that have to do with anything? Seriously.......:rolleyes:

Unfortunately, I think it will happen.

I say unfortunately, because the way the game is developing skills are becoming less important (they are still the most important factor, but other attributes - mostly speed and endurance - are becoming more noticeable).

With 90% of pessessions being uncontested, you only have to be able to run to a position - the kick can be 5-10 metres off target - doesn't matter. You also have time to fumble and pick the ball up. Take an uncontested mark. Chip it another 20 metres to the next unguarded team-mate. The opposition will just flood back.
If Jordan, you, or your granny had the fitness they could play this role. If the game keeps developing along these lines, sides will only need a few designated 'passers' to deliver the final pass into the forward 50. So you'll play your specialist kickers between wing and half-forward (maybe 2-3). 2 big marking forwards and 2 defenders to play on them. One ruckman. All the rest are just runners.

We know whats happening to physical contact and pressure in the game. So that's out.

Yep, I can see a role for someone like Michael Jordan - he'd make a good half-back flanker.

if marty clarke, tadhg kennely etc can adapt, how could jordan not?? if any half decent NBA player had a few years to learn our game, they would take the piss, guaranteed. but why would they want to lol.

You are a downright moron if you think basketball players were taken solely for their height. Jesus your ignorance is downright embarrassing.

Give me another reason Muresan played or Bradley was drafted no.1, Manute Bol etc Watch the Alan Iverson of old, Spud Webber, the guy in my avatar, they make the average 6'7"+ NBA player look like the stiffs they are.

This is just silly.

It's equivalent to saying "look at Brent Harvey make Sandilands look like a stiff...therefore AFL players were chosen for their height!". It just doesn't follow.

Allen Iverson, fwiw, would make absolutely anyone in any sport look like "stiffs", including Judd or Ablett or whoever. He was a genuine freak of nature.

This is just silly.

It's equivalent to saying "look at Brent Harvey make Sandilands look like a stiff...therefore AFL players were chosen for their height!". It just doesn't follow.

If you say so.

Harvey would make the average 6'7" + NBA player look like a stiff. How many of them could honestly catch Harvey on a football field with room to move.

So Muresan was chosen for his athleticism? Ball handling ability? Basketball nouse?

Fill me in

Fwiw, Muresan was hardly the least skilled player to play the game. But obviously centres are chosen for height, much like ruckmen are chosen for height in the AFL.

Here's a fun comparison; Brennan and Natunui hold the draft camp record for vertical leap at roughly 40". In the NBA pre-draft camp since 2000, there have been roughly 40-50 players who have eclipsed a 40" vertical. This is despite the players being taller on average.

AFL players would be superior endurance athletes, on average, but they'd get blown away in any other regard.

If you say so.

Harvey would make the average 6'7" + NBA player look like a stiff. How many of them could honestly catch Harvey on a football field with room to move.

Seriously? Over 30 metres, Lebron, Jordan etc...would absolutely murder Harvey in a footrace. It wouldn't be close.

30 metres maybe.

10 metres no
200 metres plus no
any circuit not in a straight line no.

They were drafted because they had upside. They ended out being total scrubs in the NBA, highlighting how they don't draft solely on height. Seriously spud webb & Iverson weren't even that good players...I don't see what your point is

Fwiw, Muresan was hardly the least skilled player to play the game. But obviously centres are chosen for height, much like ruckmen are chosen for height in the AFL.

Here's a fun comparison; Brennan and Natunui hold the draft camp record for vertical leap at roughly 40". In the NBA pre-draft camp since 2000, there have been roughly 40-50 players who have eclipsed a 40" vertical. This is despite the players being taller on average.

yes the NBA has some pretty specialised athletes

Despite being taller? what has that got to do with athleticism? that's my whole point, you don't get extra athletic points for being taller.

They were drafted because they had upside. They ended out being total scrubs in the NBA, highlighting how they don't draft solely on height. Seriously spud webb & Iverson weren't even that good players...I don't see what your point is

Upside based on what?

Iverson was no good?

Would Michael Jordan dominate the AFL?