Would Michael Jordan dominate the AFL?

So we are comparing franklin to the greatest ever now. This whole buddy thing is getting out of hand. I bet if jordan did play he wouldnt be stupid enough to try and kick every goal from the boundary 50m out.

What I said in the OP was about Franklin and the new modern protoype footballer being similar to Jordan. Goodes and Franklin are probably similar in size and build to MJ. Ofcourse I am not comparing the two.

yes..in your opinion just as I have mine and so does SportsCentury

SportsCentury: Top 100 North American Athletes of the 20th Century

* 1. Michael Jordan
* 2. Babe Ruth
* 3. Muhammad Ali
* 4. Jim Brown
* 5. Wayne Gretzky
* 6. Jesse Owens
* 7. Jim Thorpe
* 8. Willie Mays
* 9. Jack Nicklaus
* 10. Babe Didrikson
* 11. Joe Louis
* 12. Carl Lewis
* 13. Wilt Chamberlain
* 14. Hank Aaron
* 15. Jackie Robinson
* 16. Ted Williams
* 17. Magic Johnson
* 18. Bill Russell
* 19. Martina Navratilova
* 20. Ty Cobb

Jesse Owens and Jim Thorpe are two that are easily Jordan's superiors in history of North American sport. Second on that list is Babe Ruth one of the best batters in baseball history, but not exactly who you'd call athletic. These lists are opinions (which are influenced by sponsors) and should not be taken as fact.

Some incredibly ignorant comments in this thread (like basketball is not skillful).

If brought into AFL at a relatively young age then Jordan would have been an awesome AFL player. Super fit, incredibly skilled, tough, athletic, great leap. He'd have it all.

Some incredibly ignorant comments in this thread (like basketball is not skillful).

If brought into AFL at a relatively young age then Jordan would have been an awesome AFL player. Super fit, incredibly skilled, tough, athletic, great leap. He'd have it all.

There have been some equally ignorant comments on how 'kicking is easy'.

I don't think there is any doubt that if Jordan grew up in Australia playing footy then he would possess all the talents to become a freakazoid.

However, some people were/are insinuating that he could've packed up in the US come down here and after a year or two of training would've instantly dominated AFL - that is rubbish

I'm sick of some of the basketball fanboys on this thread

PMSL... He wouldnt survive the draft camp. Basketballers are awesome at what they do, but our game is so different. Sure he is basketballs buddy love, but he would get a flogging in our game.

Jordan would probably not have the foot skills required for the AFL and he certainly wouldnt have the stamina required.

Lol better aerobic capacity. I've seen Jordan. And i've seen the AFL. They don't compare my friend.

I bust a gut playing football. I can't even expend enough energy during a basketball game to make me tired at the end or make me come off. You've got to be kidding mate. I play both and football is by FAR the more aerobic. Sure Jordan is one of the best athletes of all time but he is not comparable with AFL just as Buddy isn't comparable with the NBA.

No. A young Jordan would have to spend a few years learning the game and increasing his aerobic ability. He would also have to adjust to playing a contact sport (or what contact is left in AFL anyway).

And of course we all remember how well this great athlete's baseball career went, don't we?

If I was a recruiter, I'd happily let another team draft him while I'd get a footballer.

These are ridiculous comments, especially the aerobic argument.

Anyone think that an 18 year old Jordan would dominate the AFL? Look at the new AFL prototypes - they very much have the NBA basketball build.

Some interesting stats in comparison to Franklin :

both are 6'6
only 3 kg's difference with Franklin being slightly heavier
Jordan's wingspan is 5 cm's wider than Buddy (amazing)
Jordan's handgrip is 3cm's longer than Buddy's

Aerobic capacity would be in Jordan's favour slightly. He would be an impossible matchup for any team and you couple this with his insane drive to win.

I watched Jordan play live in 96 and I can tell you now that he made Franklin or Goodes look like school kids. A man that size doing things that you cannot imagine against 7 footers.

So do you think with the way the game is going that an athlete like Jordan would dominate? If he came to your club, where would you play him?

Get serious, I can make the average 7 footer look unathletic, and nobody's going to call me an superb athlete any time soon.

Trent Croad has the highest Vertical leap in the AFL.. He's in 81cm.. Jordans is 101cm and the highest in the history of NBA is Spudd Webb with 120cm.. That is amazing because he is only 5ft 7in. He also won the nba slam dunk contest one yr.

Lot of bulltish in this thread, i had a 75cm vertical leap and I've got nothing on the best AFL players, Jarred Brennan topped 100cm at the AFL draft camp as one example.

if anybody thinks Jordan is a supreme athlete watch him chase the little bloke in my avatar down the court. Jordan competed against people chosen first and foremost because they are in the top 5% of the population height wise, athletic ability ranking a long way behind. A lot of those 7 footers he competed against could not play any other sport, remember this is a sport that had Gheorge Muresan as a 10 year player, my mum could run faster.

I played basketball for 15 years and the athleticism thing is a furphy, I could play 2 games in the one night quite easily (40 minutes) but struggled to get through a half of footy, basketball is not an endurance sport.

Yes of course jordan could play, heck we have our own big stiffs, the Cain Ackland types Jordan would dominate but the Buddies of the world, there is not a mountain of difference.

Jordan was a natural athlete and would have taken to AFL like a duck to water.

He could have been a professional golfer if he had of pusued it and he also could have been a professional baseballer if pusued from a younger age.

I wouldn't put anything past this man.

So you're saying you need to have more aerobic capacity to play BBall than footy? :rolleyes:
Typically stupid BF response. If I disagree with the assertion that "a basketballer would not have the stamina/aerobic capacity to play AFL", it doesn't mean I am making a counter-assertion that "a basketballer has more stamina/aerobic capacity than an AFL player". Yet, like so many BF members you have invented a conclusion and made your own strawman argument.

Get serious, I can make the average 7 footer look unathletic, and nobody's going to call me an superb athlete any time soon.

I am sure with your talented vertical leap you could easily dunk on a 7 footer. Or even get bumped by 300 pound plus men, while 360'ing, lay in for 2 points and get the foul. Get your hand off it

Typically stupid BF response. If I disagree with the assertion that "a basketballer would not have the stamina/aerobic capacity to play AFL", it doesn't mean I am making a counter-assertion that "a basketballer has more stamina/aerobic capacity than an AFL player". Yet, like so many BF members you have invented a conclusion and made your own strawman argument.

Don't beat around the bush - that is exactly what you were saying. You highlighted numerous posts which suggested Jordan would need to improve his aerobic capacity and then labelled them as "rubbish"

If you disagree with your said assertion then provide some examples as to why.

I think most people would agree that it would be a reasonable assumption to conclude that most basketballers would not have the aerobic capacity to run out an entire game at AFL level.

Don't beat around the bush - that is exactly what you were saying.
Are you really that stupid?
You highlighted numerous posts which suggested Jordan would need to improve his aerobic capacity and then labelled them as "rubbish"

I think most people would agree that it would be a reasonable assumption to conclude that most basketballers would not have the aerobic capacity to run out an entire game at AFL level.
My assertion is that most professional basketballers would have the aerobic capacity to play AFL.

And I disagree with these broad, extreme statements:
"he certainly wouldnt have the stamina required"
"football is by FAR the more aerobic"

The VUT concluded that the physiological requirements of men's basketball are high, placing considerable demands on the cardiovascular and metabolic capacities of players. Any extra top-up for endurance required to play as a midfielder would easily be gained during a pre-season.

Interesting hypothetical.

Having played both sports (ball since I was 4 and AFL since high school) I am of the opinion that basketball requires a greater combination of skill, athleticism and intelligence than AFL. A good basketball requires a high basketball IQ which isnt necessary true for football. Maybe also because basketball is by far a more complex sport than AFL in terms of tactics strategies and matchups.

Basketball players exhibit all the same athletic attributes as footballers (maybe with the exception of endurance, but endurance is the result of a good work ethic so anyone can obtain this).

Michael Jordan is widely regarded as one of the best sportsman ever. I don't say that lightly. His work ethic, competitiveness and will to win was unmatched in his era. Not only was he the best player, but also the best closer (clutch shot over Ehlo, clutch shot over Russell; list goes on and on) which is ultra important in basketball. He set the standard by which all current NBA stars try to match.

However, trying to learn how to kick for the first time at age 18 would make it tough for him to dominate at AFL level.

The Dwight Howard for ruckman argument would make more sense. He's an absolute beast and ruckmen don't necessary need to have good kicking skills.

Don't beat around the bush - that is exactly what you were saying. You highlighted numerous posts which suggested Jordan would need to improve his aerobic capacity and then labelled them as "rubbish"

A couple of points:

Firstly, the whole Jordan playing AFL was under the premise he grew up playing AFL. Dean Brogan plays FFS, he was a basketballer prior to playing AFL and he moves like a dinosaur in comparison to how Jordan moved.

Secondly, Aerobic capacity, to play what? midfield? Probably not, KP definately, if he had grown up playing AFL he would have developed his AC for AFL.
Jordan was just an example, you could use the same argument for many elite athletes with the right attributes the world over.

Jordan was a natural athlete and would have taken to AFL like a duck to water.

He could have been a professional golfer if he had of pusued it and he also could have been a professional baseballer if pusued from a younger age.

I wouldn't put anything past this man.
Didn't help him when he tried his hand at baseball did it ? He showed that he in fact COULDN'T have been a professional baseballer. Unles Jordan had been born in Australia and been brought up playing AFL he would fail at the game !

A couple of points:

Firstly, the whole Jordan playing AFL was under the premise he grew up playing AFL. Dean Brogan plays FFS, he was a basketballer prior to playing AFL and he moves like a dinosaur in comparison to how Jordan moved.

Secondly, Aerobic capacity, to play what? midfield? Probably not, KP definately, if he had grown up playing AFL he would have developed his AC for AFL.
Jordan was just an example, you could use the same argument for many elite athletes with the right attributes the world over.

I can guarantee you that Brogan played footy as a junior.

My argument is to the dills who think Jordan could've just packed up his NBA career in the US, come straight to AFL and dominate immediately - that is what I'm directing my comments to.

Just on the KP bit - name me one KP player who wouldn't clock up at least 7-8km per game (barring FB and FF)

Would Michael Jordan dominate the AFL?