• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

WRFL Div 1 Discussion 2023

Werribee Districts vs Point Cook
Altona vs Yarraville

Who is winning and why?

My tips are :

Point Cook - just because of my bias
Yarraville- to get 7 goals in front of Werribee Districts you have to be doing something right and home final will help.

Both PC and YSE have recruited some great players who have been great for the comp but don’t underestimate how instrumental their juniors coming into senior football have been.

Wd by 20 , Werribee look at full strength have only dropped one game for a reason . Hopefully PC can prove me wrong with their talls back !
Yse by 15, in form team coming into finals should get the job done against Altona

Wd by 20 , Werribee look at full strength have only dropped one game for a reason . Hopefully PC can prove me wrong with their talls back !
Yse by 15, in form team coming into finals should get the job done against Altona
I think yarraville will send a real message and beat Altona by 15 goals.

Point cook by 12 points

I think yarraville will send a real message and beat Altona by 15 goals.

Point cook by 12 points
15 goals? Wow.

I think YSE will win, but tipping 25 points.

Am going to Yarraville tomorrow, 1st WRFL for a few years, looking forward to it.

Think WD by about the same margin today, not quite at their best lately, a loss and near loss in the last month, but probably just biding their time for September.

Districts were pretty good today.

Got two hands on the cup already I reckon.

But they have been known to have slippery fingers on grand final day!

Altona very good for 3 quarters but then a breeze sprung up going YSE's way and the game changed.

Up by 40 at 3QT, game looked over but YSE got within 16 with only 18 minutes gone in the last. Kicked 3.8 to zilch last quarter, a few rushed but several kickable goals missed.

The YSE Sudanese ruckman was excellent, gave his team 1st use and they would have won the centre clearances and those around the ground. YSE fell down going inside 50 all day and allowed Altona to use a spare defender in the first half.

Altona controlled the game but lost theirs skills and composure in the last and had to dig deep to hang on. At 3QT, I would have picked them to beat PC next week, but now not so sure.

Shout out to YSE, plenty of food and drink, well run, good crowd, sun was out, great day for footy.

Altona very good for 3 quarters but then a breeze sprung up going YSE's way and the game changed.

Up by 40 at 3QT, game looked over but YSE got within 16 with only 18 minutes gone in the last. Kicked 3.8 to zilch last quarter, a few rushed but several kickable goals missed.

The YSE Sudanese ruckman was excellent, gave his team 1st use and they would have won the centre clearances and those around the ground. YSE fell down going inside 50 all day and allowed Altona to use a spare defender in the first half.

Altona controlled the game but lost theirs skills and composure in the last and had to dig deep to hang on. At 3QT, I would have picked them to beat PC next week, but now not so sure.

Shout out to YSE, plenty of food and drink, well run, good crowd, sun was out, great day for footy.
Only seen the first half but agree with everything you said. And yarraville is a fantastic venue for finals, best venue in Melbourne for local footy finals. I think for finals it’s much better than EDFL and NFL anyway. Fantastic atmosphere and would be great to see the grand final there instead of Avalon oval.

Agree, good ground for spectators but disagree about best venue for ‘playing’ finals.
Ground small, arc not true 50m, boundary to close (dangerous) to fence for senior footy, unable to see bottom right pocket when looking out timekeepers box which could be an issue in tight game and finals games should be neutral. Just my thoughts

Agree, good ground for spectators but disagree about best venue for ‘playing’ finals.
Ground small, arc not true 50m, boundary to close (dangerous) to fence for senior footy, unable to see bottom right pocket when looking out timekeepers box which could be an issue in tight game and finals games should be neutral. Just my thoughts
Fair enough mate, should have said spectators experience.

I have to disagree with some of what you’ve said. I don’t think at any stage Altona looked threatened in the last, they were entitled to slow down in the last quarter due to their relentless pressure they applied on yarraville for three quarters. Altona also kicked 2.9 with the wind in the 3rd.

If they bring the same pressure , I’d expect them to beat PC next week.

I have to disagree with some of what you’ve said. I don’t think at any stage Altona looked threatened in the last, they were entitled to slow down in the last quarter due to their relentless pressure they applied on yarraville for three quarters. Altona also kicked 2.9 with the wind in the 3rd.

If they bring the same pressure , I’d expect them to beat PC next week.
If Point Cook play the same pitiful way they played on the weekend, Altona could win with a leg in the air.

WRFL Div 1 Discussion 2023