WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond Part 4

i played a couple of games as a 15 yo for hoppers.(got cleaned up by big merv hughes in my first game against parkside)

listen up i could not play higher any more to slow and enjoy coachin too much.
i have played div1 edfl, mpfl grand final and gdfl finals.

i think mates and commitment level tend to hold players back from div 1 and those same reasons appeal to div 1 players comming back to old clubs in div 2. that is why i always came back to vales, too many mates and the enjoyment levels of my footy are always great here even when we have a loss.
way to much money though in all forms of footy ultimetly the $$$ end up destroying the club and most players get older and regret somewhere along the line taking $$$ and not playin with their mates. just my view.

Would agree with that post mate. I admire people who stay and play with there mates and in hind sight those probally enjoy there football a hell of a lot more playing with there mates, than those that chase $$ or to play at a higher level.

I know coming into some clubs outsiders are sometimes treated unfairly and i can assure you that its not much fun playing with blokes who you dont like and for two they dont like you.

I experance that at a couple of clubs and in that situation you really would rather be back playing with your mates on less money having a laugh and good times, with good people.

There are many players in Div 2 that would get a game in the top 4 teams in Div 1. I have no doubt about that.

There would proablly be at least one from every club even Nth Sunshine in Stone. So dont cut down Div 2 too much(even tho there is a big gap between Div 1 and Div 2) i think there would be quite a few that would get games in Div 1 teams quite easily.

I think that would also be obvious, the bulk of the parkside players have their best footy behind them, the players you refer to could have their best years ahead of them, hence my point.

I'm not critical of anyone in particular but your comment on "would be if he could be" is a little saying if your aunt had balls, she would be your uncle. Being a consistent Div 1 player means that being "free running" is probably not an option in any of the better teams these days.

Yep, Davis, Sir and Taleb are all Div1 players with their best footy behind them. Interesting tho they are top players and are in the best most weeks. I would also say Trent Tryell, Nathan Jueagan and Kon Kara would be in the 26-28 age and are playing top footy now. All have played in Div1 finals for Parkside are playing in Div 2 committed to get the club back to Div1

I also woud agree with other posters that every club in Div2 would have someone or a handful of players who would get a game in Div 1 teams. Perhaps not the top teams but would easily fit into the bottom 4 or 5 Div1 teams.

Footy is footy, regardless of the so called level. You will find quality players running around in many a minor league that could mix it in Div 1 or major leagues or even VFL.
What stops most players going up divisions or dropping back is time commitments and effort required in preparation.
If a player, regardless of how you rate them in div 2 has played regular senior footy in a competitive side in a div 1 standard league, then they are a capable div 1 player. Playing and dominating are very different things. Teams need more good honest players rather than the in and out dominating players, who come in for the quick coin and then go on to their next cash cow.

Some of what you say is correct, although I'm yet to see any budding VFL players running around in second Div, the discussion was in relation to names mentioned, some of which I know quite well and I can tell you desire is one of the underlining reason's many of them don't have a crack higher.

AS for effort and attitude, West Footscray is a classic example of players playing at one level and dominating and not going on to compete at the next level

Any example's to the contrary, would be appreciated other than that the above is a pretty generic statement which on the surface many will agree with.[/quote]

I was referring to minor leagues in general, a good example would be Mumford for Geelong, came from a minor league via VFL. There is also a difference between being a competitive side in Div 1 and making up the numbers. But that can come down to commitment, coaches and dollars.
When talking to the GM or Werribee about the invites to preseason training, they only really want to know if they are committed to trying out, and have played some decent footy.
North Ballarat VFL recruit a large number of players from minor leagues around Ballarat because the players are generally playing senior footy from 16 or 17 years old and are fairly well developed by the time they are 20/21.
I haven't spent enough time with in the WRFL to know specific players by name, but I would not be surprised if a couple of the Falcons players were doing pre season next year at Werribee or Williamstown.

Hey lets not get too carried away with the so few that could maybe scrape into an A1 side if they had 10 injuries.

There are many players playing A2 that could play A1's, the standard although a lot better is not an elite level as it seems to be made out. Granted to crack a game in one of the top teams cuts those numbers back a bit but be serious there are probaby 50 (which equates to about 5 a side with the lower sides having less and the higher sides more) players playing A2's that could play A1''s at a decent level Karim included.

The reasons they are playing A2's are many and varied.

On the debate about if there was many players in div 2 that could play div 1.
I have not seen any div 2 footy over the last 7 years, but i have no doubt there would be plenty that could play div 1, especially players that have a good footy brain, courageous and fit.
I have seen many very ordinary players play div 1 footy and some even at the top clubs.
In local footy it is very difficult to have 22 quality div 1 players in your squad.
Robbie Gretto for an example would be a very good div 1 player in the top sides and does ok without alot of quality players around him.
As i said many could step up but there would be very few that would get amongst the best players but however play their part.
If any players are wanting to step up to div 1 but their club is not looking to make it come down to the colts and i will give you the chance other wise you can sit back and wonder what mite have been...
Have a go at div 1 i say and challenge yourself no matter what club you go to

There are plenty of Div 2 players that could get games for all div one clubs. They may not star in Div 1 but would be handy players.

Young Neville from North Footscray is a good example. He is not widely regarded as being a gun in Div 2 but I have no doubt that if he went to Spotty that he would play seniors. My personal opinion is that he would be as good as if not better than Orchard (playing a similar role) and barring injury would kick 25 - 40 goals.

Robbie Gretto for an example would be a very good div 1 player in the top sides and does ok without alot of quality players around him.
As i said many could step up but there would be very few that would get amongst the best players but however play their part.
If any players are wanting to step up to div 1 but their club is not looking to make it come down to the colts and i will give you the chance other wise you can sit back and wonder what mite have been...

Robbie Greto is a player at his best which is most weeks is one that it's easy to go to the footy to watch, poetry in motion and a superb leader and even though in a lower side this year i believe will be a big chance to make team of the year in the starting 18 if the selectors are serious.

The other highlighted part 'what might have been' is one that surprises me that many are happy to play a whole career and not give a higher level a go. I know loyalty and mates comes into it but to never know if you could have played higher even for a year or two doesn't quite add up.

[/b]

Robbie Greto is a player at his best which is most weeks is one that it's easy to go to the footy to watch, poetry in motion and a superb leader and even though in a lower side this year i believe will be a big chance to make team of the year in the starting 18 if the selectors are serious.

The other highlighted part 'what might have been' is one that surprises me that many are happy to play a whole career and not give a higher level a go. I know loyalty and mates comes into it but to never know if you could have played higher even for a year or two doesn't quite add up.

Who are the selectors of the team of the year ?

[/b]

I think Kevin Hillier is one of the selectors.

On Robbie Greto it would be a big call playing in a lower side to be named captain in the team of the year but there is no better captain in the league. There may be an equal leader but not greater, Robbie's leadership on and off the field is superb and easily the best I have seen in 31 years of football. The top sides tend to have the captain in the team of the year just as the coach normally comes from the top teams but what is there to say he is not the best leader bc he plays in a lower side. Food for thought.

I think Kevin Hillier is one of the selectors.

On Robbie Greto it would be a big call playing in a lower side to be named captain in the team of the year but there is no better captain in the league. There may be an equal leader but not greater, Robbie's leadership on and off the field is superb and easily the best I have seen in 31 years of football. The top sides tend to have the captain in the team of the year just as the coach normally comes from the top teams but what is there to say he is not the best leader bc he plays in a lower side. Food for thought.

I'm not doubting his ability as a leader but you have no idea how the other leaders of div1 are, you were involved at divvy2 with rob so your obviously not exactly sure how he is coping as a leader in divy1.
It takes many things to be a great leader the way you conduct yourself on and off ground the way you interact with all team mates, opposition, umpires, and obviously how you lead your team when going into battle in every type of game. Also your abilty on the ground is also a factor.
I'm biased but i think he is a fair bit away from Brett Jacobs, he is easily the best leader i have seen at the colts and probably the league( although obviously i don't see other most weeks).
Colts have had some great leader also, notably jack love, mark spence, brad peirce, and bretto was better than all of them.....again just my opinion.

I'm not doubting his ability as a leader but you have no idea how the other leaders of div1 are, you were involved at divvy2 with rob so your obviously not exactly sure how he is coping as a leader in divy1.
It takes many things to be a great leader the way you conduct yourself on and off ground the way you interact with all team mates, opposition, umpires, and obviously how you lead your team when going into battle in every type of game. Also your abilty on the ground is also a factor.
I'm biased but i think he is a fair bit away from Brett Jacobs, he is easily the best leader i have seen at the colts and probably the league( although obviously i don't see other most weeks).
Colts have had some great leader also, notably jack love, mark spence, brad peirce, and bretto was better than all of them.....again just my opinion.

Yeah fair points, mine merely was that Robbie was superb in every sense and has improved and developed in the role to the point that he couldn't be faulted last year. In that i don't think there could be a greater leader maybe equal. He is revered by all at the club and the points you listed to be a great leader he has them all covered. I have seen him this year also and speak regularly to GB50 and others and by all accounts nothing has changed. Jacobs also sounds like a terrific leader.

Rd 9 tips
  1. Braybrook 10 Pts
  2. Albanvale 2goals
  3. Nth Footscray 10 goals
  4. Wyndhamvale
  5. Parkside 5goals

Tips

Laverton by 5 goals but i hope Braybrook can do a job for Yarraville. Go Brookers!
Albanvale by 10 goals.
Yarraville by 10 points.
Parkside 7 goals but a danger match for Parkside .
Vales by 8 goals Nth Sunshine.

Look forward to watching Nth Footscray this week and i am hopefull off actually playing this week. I have not trained all week and i am only a 50/50 to play due to flu thats going around.

It will be a good test for Yarra and it will show us exactly where we sit in the pecking order.

Hope Braybrook can get over Lavo for us and even tho Parkside are the best team i think they will lose at least one match for the year and Deer Park may just be the team to do so.

Good luck to all. :thumbsu:

There are plenty of Div 2 players that could get games for all div one clubs. They may not star in Div 1 but would be handy players.

Young Neville from North Footscray is a good example. He is not widely regarded as being a gun in Div 2 but I have no doubt that if he went to Spotty that he would play seniors. My personal opinion is that he would be as good as if not better than Orchard (playing a similar role) and barring injury would kick 25 - 40 goals.

yeh both having very similar seasons
neville 18 goals from 6 games
orchard 13 goals from 5 games
havent seen young neville play so cant compare them

bye the way how many times you seen orchard play?

]Rd 9 tips

[*]Laverton 4 Goals
[*]Albanvale 2goals
[*]Nth Footscray 10 goals +
[*]Wyndhamvale
[*]Parkside 10 goals +

great to see stew devlin back training last night and hopefully chris lock playing his first game with North Footscray since the GF loss this week pending the clearance from Rockbank.

Good luck to everyone this week :thumbsu:

yeh both having very similar seasons
neville 18 goals from 6 games
orchard 13 goals from 5 games
havent seen young neville play so cant compare them

bye the way how many times you seen orchard play?

I' ve watched David Orchard play many times,with West Footscray and Parkside with no disrepect his best football is behind him.Hayden Phillips i've seen him play on 6 occasions is very quick and reads the play well,would be in the best 12 players in 2 Div.

I' ve watch David Orchard play many times,with West Footscray and Parkside with no disrepect his best football is behind him.Hayden Phillips i've seen him play on 6 occasions is very quick and reads the play well,would be in the best 12 players in 2 Div.

The previous posts were referring to Orchard from Spotty.

Michael Nicolaides and Nick Mallia are another two from heights that
would easily slot into the top sides.

Went saw Parkside vs Deer Park today. Good game. Parkside kicked badly and could have kicked more goals but think Deer Park played well wiht few guys off injured. Parkside looked very skillful and fit and will be tough to beat this year but it was almost embarrassing when a few times Deer Park got the ball into their forward line and had 3 on 1 to Parkside as their backman all ran forward to get a kick and would push back. Was very obvious and must be a point that other teams will focus on. Parkside were very good but in finals they will need to run both ways or they might get hurt. Was good to see the WRFL play a Match of they Day in B grade.
Best were juegan for Parkside and robertson and rizzo for Deer Park. Davis kicked a few but was undisciplined and sent off at one stage. Again cant do that come finals.

Anyone see any other games?? comments???

Went saw Parkside vs Deer Park today. Good game. Parkside kicked badly and could have kicked more goals but think Deer Park played well wiht few guys off injured. Parkside looked very skillful and fit and will be tough to beat this year but it was almost embarrassing when a few times Deer Park got the ball into their forward line and had 3 on 1 to Parkside as their backman all ran forward to get a kick and would push back. Was very obvious and must be a point that other teams will focus on. Parkside were very good but in finals they will need to run both ways or they might get hurt. Was good to see the WRFL play a Match of they Day in B grade.
Best were juegan for Parkside and robertson and rizzo for Deer Park. Davis kicked a few but was undisciplined and sent off at one stage. Again cant do that come finals.

yes outsider i was there also and i though deer park were the better team on the day.outside the result.deer park on todays effort with the players out are a top 3 team without doubt.

my observation was that deer park got killed in the stoppages(and won the tap outs) work that 1 out deer park won in the lose ball gets as parkside in windy conditions tried too much to faness with the ball in hand instead of getting it long to sir/davis.they have a good midfield and a good fwd line their defence is a little shabby when under pressure and thier rucks are just tall players lucky their onballers are good at reading the opposition ruckman other wise they(parkside) would be sh1thouse.

went to 1/4time huddle as well as 3 1/4 time huddles for parkside i wasnt impressed as their coach just muddled on about the same things over and over.i almost started laughing.he got the last laugh by sending young 44 i think it was and asked for a big 1/4 and got it from him in the last as well as putting taleb in the fwd pocket good moves by the cockroach.as for him(juegan) being in the best yeah he played alright when parkside had the footy but got found wanting when deer park had the footy and were running.he sits in the middle and to my opinion was a sort of link up man when parkside were going forward.deer park were missing 5 or 6 of its best team and were decimated with injuries through out the day.i look at things a little bit different 12 was best for parkside as well as 6 and no 4 playing out of his weight/height division in defence.sir and davis(probably 12 shots on goal if only he could kick)were well beaten sir got the first couple goals in the last term but other than that those 2 were too worried about the vegie patch me included giving them a spray.for deer park rizzo the standout as acting captian.robbo is a definant 1st division player as all the talk was this week who could play 1st division he could and he would kill it.butergieg-clarke and micevski(goal of the year) were servicable up fwd for the parkers.

all credit to parkside they looked the sharper team on the day but certianly challenged today and got the chockies.

spoke to lots of ex-current players as i always do after a match go in and support the home team i just cant wait till the coward from parkside who has turned this forum upside down with all his names/inuendoes of how parkside are going gets found out.let me tell you they are onto you.

the umpiring was fantastic

cheers HOUND DOG

Nth Footscray beat Yarraville by 3 goals in diffucult conditions at Nth Footscray. Dissapionting loss for Yarr who where in front all day until the 10 minute mark of the last quater. Nth are a good team but there no chance of contending for the flag this year.

We take a heap out of the match as if Nth are one the best teams then we are certainly on the right track for the second half of the year and we are every bit as good a team as Nth Footscray.

If we kicked straigh in the first quater the game would of been over and i was the biggest culprit kicking 1.4. We had 4 or 5 suffering from the flu too so we can take a heap out of the match.

Never the less very disspionted to loose a match we quite simply should of won but we are on the right track and heading in the right direction and will be a team that is hard to beat the second time around.

Nth Footscray beat Yarraville by 3 goals in diffucult conditions at Nth Footscray. Dissapionting loss for Yarr who where in front all day until the 10 minute mark of the last quater. Nth are a good team but there no chance of contending for the flag this year.

We take a heap out of the match as if Nth are one the best teams then we are certainly on the right track for the second half of the year and we are every bit as good a team as Nth Footscray.

If we kicked straigh in the first quater the game would of been over and i was the biggest culprit kicking 1.4. We had 4 or 5 suffering from the flu too so we can take a heap out of the match.

Never the less very disspionted to loose a match we quite simply should of won but we are on the right track and heading in the right direction and will be a team that is hard to beat the second time around.

Cain, as stated by yourself you got your hands on the pill early but then couldn't really get near it after quarter time, in your opinion what turned the game in North's favour after being 5 goals down early and who did you think were there better players?

You guys played well but without sounding arrogant you never had control of the game. we had majority of possession, clearances and inside 50's its just we didnt have a great day in converting these into goals. we gave away 3 goals to stupid 50's one of which i was too blame.. 2 were in the first quarter..

that was no where near what we are capable of but we decided to try some different things yesterday some of which worked some of which which will take some time but at the end of the day you guys blew a 5 goal lead and lost by 3-4 goals.. you are right on one thing tho.. you didnt touch the ball after 1/4 time. :eek:

umpiring was terrible on both parts.. good ol normy.. when will that man give it away!!!

Cain, as stated by yourself you got your hands on the pill early but then couldn't really get near it after quarter time, in your opinion what turned the game in North's favour after being 5 goals down early and who did you think were there better players?

Not making any exscuse for myself as if you take the field your %100 but i should not have played yesterday as i was crook as a dog a didnt train all last week and in hindsight should not have played. I didnt even make it to our Mid Season ball last night as i went straight home to bed after the game.

In saying that had a good first half performance(2.4) but couldnt get near it in the second half.

Credit to Nth footscray i think they run harder than us in the second half and used the ball a little better and i think they have a better fitness base and that showed in the last quater.

Had we kicked straight first quater and kicked 10.2 goals instead of 6.6. the game would of been over. We need to learn to make more of our oppurtunities.

BOG was clearly number 20 for Nth, tho i thought both teams got good service by most players through out the match and bare number 20 for Nth there was no real standout in my opinion from each team. Nth where well coached and played 2 loose in defence which made it difficult for the forwards in the 3rd quater.

Nth are probally just a bit better than an Average side in our comp. I would rate Parkside, Albanvale, Deer Park better sides than Nth and with Laverton, Yarraville on par with Nth.