WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond

I never questioned that Libba wanted that. My point was regarding the amount thrown around about what coaches actually get, not what they want. Anyway, lets get off this. We will never know and it has been flogged to death.

Who have lost/picked up players so far?

suposedly b/p will /have picked up a few president spruiking in the local rag..........dunno havnt herd anything as of yet.............

Robbo is back with a few from Doutta's (Reserve Players), a few from Albion are on the go but no names released and then some young guys who went to willy under 18's are apparently coming back.

Ladder Predictor Season 2009
I know its a bit early and all the recruiting and other crap hasnt gone on yet but il give it a go

NORTH FOOTSCRAY
ALBANVALE
PARKSIDE
WESTERN MAGPIES
DEER PARK
-----------
BRAYBROOK
COBURG
YARRAVILLE/SEDDON
NTH SUNSHINE
WYNDHAMVALE

Thoughts??

Ladder Predictor Season 2009
I know its a bit early and all the recruiting and other crap hasnt gone on yet but il give it a go

NORTH FOOTSCRAY
ALBANVALE
PARKSIDE
WESTERN MAGPIES
DEER PARK
-----------
BRAYBROOK
COBURG
YARRAVILLE/SEDDON
NTH SUNSHINE
WYNDHAMVALE

Thoughts??

Not a bad effort Unit. Looks pretty good to me

NORTH FOOTSCRAY
ALBANVALE
PARKSIDE
DEER PARK
COBURG
-----------
YARRAVILLE/SEDDON
WESTERN MAGPIES
BRAYBROOK
NTH SUNSHINE
WYNDHAMVALE

The teams bolded will be very even and not much will split them come the end of the season.
The top 3 will be miles above the rest and well the bottom 2......you get the idea

NORTH FOOTSCRAY
ALBANVALE
PARKSIDE
DEER PARK
COBURG
-----------
YARRAVILLE/SEDDON
WESTERN MAGPIES
BRAYBROOK
NTH SUNSHINE
WYNDHAMVALE

The teams bolded will be very even and not much will split them come the end of the season.
The top 3 will be miles above the rest and well the bottom 2......you get the idea

i wouldnt be so sure about deer park making up the number this year i reckon theyr gona do really well and push back up to the top 3.
madigan now knows wot to expect in div 2 and wot it takes push for a flag and will buy accordingly.

NORTH FOOTSCRAY
ALBANVALE
PARKSIDE
DEER PARK
COBURG
-----------
YARRAVILLE/SEDDON
WESTERN MAGPIES
BRAYBROOK
NTH SUNSHINE
WYNDHAMVALE

North Footscray will probably go through the entire season undefeated next year, i know its a big call but i cant see anyone coming close to them as of yet. Albanvale will be the other dominant side and expect Parkside to push really hard after under estimating the quality of division 2 in there first year. The season will be competitive like 2008 was and really anything could happen.

good stuff............i wouldnt expect albanvale up that high...........just my opinion:thumbsu:

Without personally knowing all the players I think that you would find that there would have been about 5-6 players from Nth Footscray's GF team that was over 25yo otherwise the rest are quite young. I think stage fright may have played a part as well as being outclassed and outcoached.

Do you think Yarra will retain most of there players? Are you going around again?

But they did have old man Devlin out there. (good bloke stu)

Yarra are working to retain their players, and heard that a few want to come back. With any footy club, it is very rare that you don't have some players move on from each year, or are unable to play for various reasons.
Got some good kids coming up, I think 15 or so out of the Under 18s of which 6 or 7 tasted senior footy last year.
As for me, who knows, depends how many icecreams I eat over summer! might just have to stick myself in the goal square, in the magoos.

Without personally knowing all the players I think that you would find that there would have been about 5-6 players from Nth Footscray's GF team that was over 25yo otherwise the rest are quite young. I think stage fright may have played a part as well as being outclassed and outcoached.

Do you think Yarra will retain most of there players? Are you going around again?

Ha ha. Make your mind up. Which was it? Either way Devils were woeful on GF day. Three guys over 30 years of age played.

Too early to say how teams will fare, but I do know the Devils will be stronger (on paper) than last year. Doesn't mean much in October but am confident there will be improvement.

If I had to speculate I think the Cobras might struggle. Not much in the magoos and probably overachieved last year finishing 3rd.

Reckon the comp. will be more even with Deer Park, Parkside and Laverton improving. YS will be strong as they have a bit of $$$ and now that they have been relegated players will come back. Not sure about Coburg Districts. Perhaps Cole Reserve can chip in with some input?

If I had to speculate I think the Cobras might struggle. Not much in the magoos and probably overachieved last year finishing 3rd.

Reckon the comp. will be more even with Deer Park, Parkside and Laverton improving. YS will be strong as they have a bit of $$$ and now that they have been relegated players will come back. Not sure about Coburg Districts. Perhaps Cole Reserve can chip in with some input?[/quote]

Early days yet - but Coburg Districts have appointed new coaches both Seniors & Reserves for this season and our first of 4 pre-christmas runs is Wednesday 19 November with a "Meet he Coach" theme and BBQ , training at 6pm BBQ at conclusion 7:30 - all welcome.

Talking to a few players and would expect to announce significant signings in due course, all in all your normal preseasom activity - plenty of talking and chasing of players - when the dust settles sometime after xmas commitments will become clear for all

It appears that Parkside have already started training. Speaking to one of the coaches, he tells me that all 2008 players have committed to hang around, 45 training at their first session and players to be recruited from EDFL sides, Albion and country towns..... approx 15 players ready to sign. They will be a very strong side if this is the case!!

Ha ha. Make your mind up. Which was it? Either way Devils were woeful on GF day. Three guys over 30 years of age played.

Too early to say how teams will fare, but I do know the Devils will be stronger (on paper) than last year. Doesn't mean much in October but am confident there will be improvement.

Reckon the comp. will be more even with Deer Park, Parkside and Laverton improving. YS will be strong as they have a bit of $$$ and now that they have been relegated players will come back. Not sure about Coburg Districts. Perhaps Cole Reserve can chip in with some input?

How did the Cobras over acheive you flog. Finshed 3rd, Beat Parkside (4th ) twice by 13 goals and 17 goals and beat the premiers twice. ????

Average age is about 21, lots of good kids coming through and with a few Recruits in the wings will improve on this year. :thumbsu:

It appears that Parkside have already started training. Speaking to one of the coaches, he tells me that all 2008 players have committed to hang around, 45 training at their first session and players to be recruited from EDFL sides, Albion and country towns..... approx 15 players ready to sign. They will be a very strong side if this is the case!!

Which coach were you speaking to?They had meet the coach night
last friday if thats what you call starting training well and good.
:thumbsdown:

How did the Cobras over acheive you flog. Finshed 3rd, Beat Parkside (4th ) twice by 13 goals and 17 goals and beat the premiers twice. ????

Average age is about 21, lots of good kids coming through and with a few Recruits in the wings will improve on this year. :thumbsu:

You might have some good kids coming through the juniors, but in you ain't got much at open age level - don't care what the average age is. Hopefully you do recruit and blood some more kids as you have been a decent club for a number of years. Just was disappointed to hear your coach on radio so last year that the young forward Brooks wouldn't be around at that level much longer. Demonstrates a lack of ambition in my opinion. Why can't he go to Div.1 with the Cobras?

Parkside were ordinary last year so that doesn't count, but as you point out you did beat Heights twice which is a fair enough call.

worst post iv seen for a while? i think so... overachieved? please explain, were the 3rd best side in the comp no doubts.. after beating the premiers twice in the same year id say we almost underachieved...
will be a better side next year dontu worry about that..:thumbsu:the only question is r the boys ready to take the next step...

You might have some good kids coming through the juniors, but in you ain't got much at open age level - don't care what the average age is. Hopefully you do recruit and blood some more kids as you have been a decent club for a number of years. Just was disappointed to hear your coach on radio so last year that the young forward Brooks wouldn't be around at that level much longer. Demonstrates a lack of ambition in my opinion. Why can't he go to Div.1 with the Cobras?

Parkside were ordinary last year so that doesn't count, but as you point out you did beat Heights twice which is a fair enough call.

i think what he was saying is, that he is a very good player probly to good for div2 football thats all.. knowing brooksy the kid will b at the cobras for a long time, with kids like that we should b knocking on the door of div1

i wouldnt think he is good enough for div 1..........now he is known he will definately get more attention next year.........

Seriously Weapons what would you know. The kid was 17 this year played half a year in the 18s and finshed 7th in the comp and played the other half in the seniors kicked 30 and polled 12 votes to finsh 5th in the comp.

I think what the coach was saying is that if he put his head down bum up he could be playing a higher level than WRFL. Mybe have a crack at VFL footy.

And Parkside were ordinary but did finish 4th mate so i we flogged them and finish 3rd i'd say thats about where we should have been. Abit behind the top 2 but alot better than the rest. Not under achievers!!!

As for the kids there were 2 under 18 playing this year, and about 6 from the last 2 years. So if half your side is under 20 you can only look up.

Recruit some older finals hardend players and things look very bright. The club is also the most financial it has been for a very long time so the future is bright.

Now it's just up to the playing group to take the next step, like Nth Footscray everyone from this year is on board. :thumbsu:

Laverton had there first training session last night and im not kidding 40 -50 blokes showed up, no exaggeration either.

Had a few Glenorden players show up such as Craig Wells and a few mates of his from Glenorden which will be mentioned shortly.

As for Jamie Brook ...

Smart player and smart bloke too. Did the right thing by going upto Seniors because he wasnt gona get anywhere in the 18c's anyway. Will be a good player for many years and his brother is a good player as well.

No need to make my mind up it clearly showed on GF day they choked, there big name players didn't perform and were allowed to continue to be unaccountable (Bad coaching) and alot of the younger players didn't look interested in the game maybe they played there GF the game before. Or was it because the devils haven't beaten Heights for last few games that it played on alot of the players mind, as footy is played 90% above the shoulders.

As for saying the Cobras getting worse next season considering they finished third and there reserves have made the last few GF's there must be some depth there just need some luck with injuries from what I heard.