WRFL Division 1 - 2012

Heard from a good source that some altona players haven't been paid a cent all year

Miles: (not a direct quote) When people thought of WRFL they thought Spotswood, now they will think Altona.
If what you say is true, then he was on the money. Pun intended.
On a serious note, if the cash was a serious problem then the players who have been approached by other clubs would be accepting offers straight away. Doesn't seem to be happening.

Interesting.. I too have heard the same thing from a junior parent at the club who was a little over all the additional fundraising they had to do to pay for the senior players... Also at the Altona Luncheon that I attedned on the friday before the GF a committeeman comment to me that he was thankful that this was a success as money was falling a little short. And also the reason behind putting their major raffle draw date back a while,so that additional tickets could be sold, not sure if it was to cover the shortfall or to make more money!!

Big Footy should move on from the innuendo around Altona. Actually had a beer with the coach last Friday and must admit Eames was actually a good bloke unlike some perception amongst the footy community.

Rock - back in a colts uniform next season
Prepare for the Marby Park v Deer Park off season war

Deer Park - looking to spend plenty and if they land a couple???
Spotty - let's just say upping the ante$$$$$$$
Colts - getting older
Hoppers - quiet surprisingly for the October premiers
Sunshine - very quiet
Altona - 4 premiership players overseas next season & possibly best player to the Northern league
St Albans - losing more players on last year
Albion - not much to report
Devils - Barnes will want a bigger budget, no doubt will end up playing.
Yarraville - hedged their bets just getting up to "1st division".

One thing for sure; the gap between divvy 1 & divvy 2 getting wider. The team of the year in divvy 2 was very, very ordinary in my opinion with a few ex reserve players from 1st division

People love this stuff because it's all about promising what you'll struggle to deliver. The flag is great but the fallout from a lack of funds can be huge. Wouldn't mind knowing how many good clubs have fallen due to promising the world and not being able to deliver. 'Yeah mate, you're a legend at this club coz you delivered a flag, we luv ya. Oh and about that money we offered you, well ummmm, here's a meal voucher for Millers Inn. Go the Parma....heaps of chips. Mate, we're strapped, bloody carbon tax and stuff but HEY we won a flag!'
Yeah ridiculous example but don't know what the hell the club does if it falls short.
I'm not saying that this is an issue at Altona because I wouldn't know.
Those who win premierships need to manage well to ensure that the flag is not a flash in the pan. Colts and Spotty did it well in the last decade. Miles' comments were a touch premature considering that it was their first. You cut the bloke some slack because he would have been caught up in the moment. If the dollars are scarce, the issue won't be who they lose but who they replace them with. Some clubs are better than others at this.

Big Footy should move on from the innuendo around Altona. Actually had a beer with the coach last Friday and must admit Eames was actually a good bloke unlike some perception amongst the footy community.

gee you seem surprised, of course he's a good bloke he's got Spotty in him HAHAHAHA

People love this stuff because it's all about promising what you'll struggle to deliver. The flag is great but the fallout from a lack of funds can be huge. Wouldn't mind knowing how many good clubs have fallen due to promising the world and not being able to deliver. 'Yeah mate, you're a legend at this club coz you delivered a flag, we luv ya. Oh and about that money we offered you, well ummmm, here's a meal voucher for Millers Inn. Go the Parma....heaps of chips. Mate, we're strapped, bloody carbon tax and stuff but HEY we won a flag!'
Yeah ridiculous example but don't know what the hell the club does if it falls short.
I'm not saying that this is an issue at Altona because I wouldn't know.
Those who win premierships need to manage well to ensure that the flag is not a flash in the pan. Colts and Spotty did it well in the last decade. Miles' comments were a touch premature considering that it was their first. You cut the bloke some slack because he would have been caught up in the moment. If the dollars are scarce, the issue won't be who they lose but who they replace them with. Some clubs are better than others at this.

dont think there is any problem with coin at Altona, think people may be confused with what they're hearing, i believe that a fair number of the boys had waved a fee so that they could be part of something special

Colts point of view to the game , Spotty kicked pretty poorly but did that younger umpire try to keep them in the game.

Cloke farted or what ever and that younger umpire was blowing in his pants to give him a free, are the WRFL correct in giving more younger and whistle happy umpires when you have blokes like Dimma who can umpire without over ruling, running around doing the Seconds.

Strongbow you turd enjoy your loss haha .

Miss Vicki sorry baby hope Mr Vicki slipped you a big lenght to make your night more enjoyable.

Watch out next year big Raelene is looking at coaching at Nth Footscray or that's what my spies are telling me and he is very confident of taking quite a few of Spotty players with him.

Strongbow response ?????

Miss Vicki ?????.

ha ha your Brilliant

actually thought the umpiring was as good as 2008

Rumour has it...............C. O'Keefe has walked out on the woodsmen.........
Rumourman I would be worried about your side first,the magpies will take your spot next year,as for o,Keefe won the the b/f last night along with big Bobbie Ford divi 2 I'm sure the colts would like him back now Julian going

Julier going where ? Said he may retire. Bobbie Ford has found his level in Div 2 competition. Rarely got a kick in Div 1 and winning Div 2 medal does nothing to enhance his reputation as the standard of Div 2 football in the WRFL is deplorable. Laughable to suggest Ford could replace Julier.

Blo
Rumour has it that Altona have a major financial crisis and are hoping a very generous sponsor can bail them out.
Bloody hell, now people will definitely be thinking WRFL = ALTONA!
Perhaps they shouldn't have wasted money on the prank calls to Spotty. :D
Nah
Is the rumour coming from a reliable source or is it BS talk?

Very little talk on here after the comp b'n'f night, first off well done to c o'keefe, he's a super player in this comp and deserves the accolade, IMO he'd definately be spotty's most damaging player and nearly helped them to another flag this year with his second half in the GF.

Isackedsheppa, mate wouldn't be writing albion off as a side that will drop that far down the barrel that they'd be replaced in div 1, good young list at albion and with a big pre-season, can see them pushing for finals again and Parkside would actually need to win a GF in div 2 to come up.

All this talk about Altona running out of money and losing players, i wouldn't know and time will tell, but a lot of the player's they got back to the club that helped them win a flag, were altona boys before they went to VFL level, no doubt holding on to all those players will be difficult as they'll probably get some big offers, but i doubt those blokes will do the dirty on their club n just pack up n leave as they'll be a bit of loyalty there, time to relax, who are the 4 players heading overseas?

Heard from a good source that some altona players haven't been paid a cent all year

All were paid in full on the Sunday after the GF

All have signed on for next year so if they were unhappy and not paid i doubt they would be playing there next year?

All were paid in full on the Sunday after the GF

All have signed on for next year so if they were unhappy and not paid i doubt they would be playing there next year?

100% incorrect, don't embarrass yourself by writing such rubbish!

Anyone from spotswood want to officially confirm the signing of murry boyd? Heard pen was put to paper last week?

100% incorrect, don't embarrass yourself by writing such rubbish!

Anyone from spotswood want to officially confirm the signing of murry boyd? Heard pen was put to paper last week?

Would love to know where your getting your info from