• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

WRFL Division 2

From looking through the last few posts im gonna have a crack at this mystery full forward. It could very well be Damian Grainger from Sunshine, quality forward or back and would be more than handy in div 2. Tough, big, strong and moves around reasonably. Would be a loss if he left us.

Would be a very tough oppenant in div 2. Not to sure there would be many backs in div 2 who would look forward to lining up against him. He played down back with you last year cabs. What was tghe reason behind that.

Everyone in Div 1 seems to think that as soon as a player drops back to Div 2 they will dominate... doesnt really happen that way. The good players are still good but they dont become champs by going back to Div 2.

any agree with that?

We were pretty capable up forward with Stenna and a few others. He also was a good match up for an opposition tall, because we had a small backline for most of the year. Kicked goals most times he went forward so handy at both ends. hopefully we keep him though.

Hey boys I was a little busy today and didnt get on to post.

Replies to Q's

Chicky.....I think on the field a lot of blokes see him a great leader, sometimes maybe I think he needs that responsiblity taken away only for the fact it may step his game up another peg and help the club go further. But saying that i think he makes a great captain. Off field has made me feel very much at the club and loves a chat and beer. Very funny bloke too.
Innella....... Moving along very well and disagree with the overweight comments. Looks to be moving very well at training but taking it easy due to hard grounds and those knees. I think you may see a different Innella this season in attitude and disipline. I'm counting on Laney and Dave to combine about 170 goals this season which will make us unstoppable.
Bobby (FATGUTS) Evans..... I agree sleeps with way too many fat chicks. Claims to only be 5kgs over his St Albans days playing weight but i reckon thats a load of crap. Showed glimpses of "SPECIAL" things in the practice match against Bunniyong and I doubt he will be able to be matched up on this season.

Hey boys I was a little busy today and didnt get on to post.

Replies to Q's

Chicky.....I think on the field a lot of blokes see him a great leader, sometimes maybe I think he needs that responsiblity taken away only for the fact it may step his game up another peg and help the club go further. But saying that i think he makes a great captain. Off field has made me feel very much at the club and loves a chat and beer. Very funny bloke too.
Innella....... Moving along very well and disagree with the overweight comments. Looks to be moving very well at training but taking it easy due to hard grounds and those knees. I think you may see a different Innella this season in attitude and disipline. I'm counting on Laney and Dave to combine about 170 goals this season which will make us unstoppable.
Bobby (FATGUTS) Evans..... I agree sleeps with way too many fat chicks. Claims to only be 5kgs over his St Albans days playing weight but i reckon thats a load of crap. Showed glimpses of "SPECIAL" things in the practice match against Bunniyong and I doubt he will be able to be matched up on this season.

Unstoppable yeah right. Better hope Dave can score heavily against Heights because Laney can't get a kick against us let alone a goal. That is of course if Dave hasn't retaliated in an earler game and copped another week thus de registering him. How will he be a different player is he finally at home after five clubs in five years and cares about the club for once and not his back pocket.

Add in Bobby and get Barna back and you could be the fattest, oldest forward line of all time.

Stop with the new to the club line because we all know thats a little false.

Everyone in Div 1 seems to think that as soon as a player drops back to Div 2 they will dominate... doesnt really happen that way. The good players are still good but they dont become champs by going back to Div 2.

any agree with that?

i agree with you GBF50, it happens with players coming from stronger comps then coming to lesser grades of footy and sometimes struggle, i believe it happens coz these players believe themselves that they will dominate and probably don't apply themselves as they should

typewriter i havent heard to much from the falcons as they probably have got computers or internet down there way yet lol:) . yeah ur probably safe saying ull be in the top 5 yet again but u guys really need to come thru 4 a change instead of being around the mark ever year it must get a bit frustrating:mad: r u guys on ur ground at present or training elsewhere do u have a game this weekend

Unstoppable yeah right. Better hope Dave can score heavily against Heights because Laney can't get a kick against us let alone a goal. That is of course if Dave hasn't retaliated in an earler game and copped another week thus de registering him. How will he be a different player is he finally at home after five clubs in five years and cares about the club for once and not his back pocket.

Add in Bobby and get Barna back and you could be the fattest, oldest forward line of all time.

Stop with the new to the club line because we all know thats a little false.

Hey TD I think you may be thinking I'm someone else. My clearance was only approved a couple of weeks ago.

hey blue boy wondering your thoughts on west's preseason have you plated in the wrfl div 2 before from what i can gather from posts and gos around the place you guys have heavily recruited, i know experience is important but are the guys that you have picked up seem to be on there last legs

No Al i am yet to play in the WRFL. I have played in the RDFL for the last 9 or so years and looking forward to the change. I know a bit about West because my mate is one of the assistant coaches there. Pre-season has been difficult with numbers and ground access but all teams in that boat most pre-seasons. I dont think the guys we have recruited are on their last legs but they are experienced and know how to play. If these older guys are managed thru the start of the season with the ground hardness and modified training you will find they will peak at the rite times.

thanks for that blue boy, how do you think heights will go this year td seems pretty sure that they can stop your forwards so they must have something or maybe just over rating themselves

No chance of stopping Blueboy16. hahaha. I doubt TD recruited that well to handle the depth and talent of West. Might stop Laney, but then Dave, Chickey, Bobby & Ziggy pop up to take the weight. No chance in my opinion.

Thats a pretty strong forward line but hard to fit them all in there... a good small forward would be handy... any of those at West?

I don't think any team has enough quality backs to cover all those talls but IMO Heights mid field will have it over wests... limiting supply..... could be a shoot out when the Dragons take on Wests and with the dragons forwards getting more supply they will get over the top

Just seen a copy of the revised draw. Those who think West get an easy run will be in for a bit of a shock, although it looks as though the league has tried to even out the draw.

Of the finals contenders

West play GP, Braybrook, Wyndamvale, DP, NF, and NS twice.
SH play Wyndamvale, BP,GP,CD, Braybrook, DP
NF play CD, GP, BP, Wyndamvale, West, Albanvale
DP play WM, Wyndamvale, Braybrook, West, Albanvale, SH
NS play Braybrook, CD, WM, BP, Wyndamvale, West
Albanvale play BP, WM, CD, Braybrook, DP, NF
Wyndamvale play SH, DP, West, NF, NS, WM
Braybrook play NS, West, DP, Albanvale, SH, GP
CD play NF, NS, Albanvale, SH, GP, BP

Can't see WM, BP, or GP challenging.

Thats a pretty strong forward line but hard to fit them all in there... a good small forward would be handy... any of those at West?

I don't think any team has enough quality backs to cover all those talls but IMO Heights mid field will have it over wests... limiting supply..... could be a shoot out when the Dragons take on Wests and with the dragons forwards getting more supply they will get over the top

GBF50 I think you may be underestimating Wests midfield. Webbie, Cam Saliba etc will get their hands on the ball more than enough times to supply the forwards.....

Hey TD I think you may be thinking I'm someone else. My clearance was only approved a couple of weeks ago.
Boys - All I am I am reading about is "has beens". Bobby Evans, Inella and the best of all - BARNA!!!! hahahaha - that is laughable. Surely there has gotta be some new talent in Div 2...didnt West Footscray have some decent kids coming through the ranks the last couple of years? I say do what clubs like Sunshine Kangaroos did. Blood some good talented kids by mixing them with some current talent like Trevaskis etc.

GBF50 I think you may be underestimating Wests midfield. Webbie, Cam Saliba etc will get their hands on the ball more than enough times to supply the forwards.....

Fair enough... they are good players ... but my opinion (and I have seen all players from both teams play)... is that they won't match it with Mallia, Greto, Weston Nicolaides and the Caruanas

Just seen a copy of the revised draw. Those who think West get an easy run will be in for a bit of a shock, although it looks as though the league has tried to even out the draw.

Of the finals contenders

When was this released?

If this is corrcet Heights draw has improved heaps.

Of the finals contenders

Yeah real hard run on last years results. Deer Park were good, Wyndhamvale fell into the finals and none of the other 4 made the finals. However it is slightly harder than you have had in the past as you usually get 3 out of the bottom 4 to double up against.

And Blueboy you have Webster and Saliba, one good tagging job leaves you with one gun on baller. As goes bang says you will need to stop Greto, Mallia, Caruana's, Nicholaides, Weston who are all guns, another difference besides the amount of gun midfielders is that the majority of our players actually go in and get the ball.