WRFL Division 3 2018

I'm playing down at Tarneit Titans (first year at tarneit) and I can tell you it's a great group of blokes down there. We are division three after all so if you're just looking to get the legs rolling over and have a kick with some good blokes then come down. (scumbag free).

*Almost-scumbag free; there's one bloke down there under the moniker 'Maggy' who's a real scummo - and I heard he doesn't even lift ;)

Does anyone know of a club looking to play a Practice match mid February? EDFL Div 1 team Hillside Sharks looking for a game.

I'm trying to work out how you both looked up the mel ways and came to Albanvale is between Docklands and Geelong. Bit out of the way if Doggies is pushing for time to get to training due to work commitments.
Love the passion for your club though boys..

I'm trying to work out how you both looked up the mel ways and came to Albanvale is between Docklands and Geelong. Bit out of the way if Doggies is pushing for time to get to training due to work commitments.
Jason Karim is not exactly a Rhodes Scholar so if that helps answer the above question....
Some really good and loyal blokes at Albanvale though hence the many that have played 300+ games (The Borgs are ripper blokes).
Why did you leave to CS Jason?

the dockland dog should come to the brookers if he wants to win a guarranteed flag, if he wants to lose and get crunched by the braybrook ruck sweet as i'll kick 10 goals on the dog

Jason Karim is not exactly a Rhodes Scholar so if that helps answer the above question....
Some really good and loyal blokes at Albanvale though hence the many that have played 300+ games (The Borgs are ripper blokes).
Why did you leave to CS Jason?

Left to keep playing 1ns footy as I was slowly being pushed out the senior side buy the kids and then coach mr DC.
I was always coming back

Mate it's inbetween, few turn offs and gets to go past the smelly factory what more can he want

Left to keep playing 1ns footy as I was slowly being pushed out the senior side buy the kids and then coach mr DC.
I was always coming back
Not a fan of DC? Was he a good or bad thing for Albanvale? My memory says you are a proud club that made finals 15 years in a row (top 4) in div 2 but never a flag and upon his departure have missed finals every year since 3-4 years and now sit in 3rd division... (P.S. Please don't anyone try and have a crack at me for discounting making Div 3 finals last year - it didn't count. The winner of Div 3 last season finished 9th in Div 2 - 2015 is a new year and whilst the premier will be a worthy Div 3 winner, ultimately it will be 9th best Div 2 team).

DC is a good coach I rate him, the influx of better players and a quick game plan pushed the fat slow blokes like me out lol i should have work harder on my fitness and I didn't but probably took the easy option out and went Cs where at the time was pretty much guaranteed a senior game.
I'm glad I'm back and will be trying my c unt out to play 1ns, hopefully be part of club history and take out our first senior silver wear.. A lot of hardworki to be done but everyone on board so exciting times ahead.. I've been waiting 18 years for a flag hopefully go out with on a high
Cobras#15

DC is a good coach I rate him, the influx of better players and a quick game plan pushed the fat slow blokes like me out lol i should have work harder on my fitness and I didn't but probably took the easy option out and went Cs where at the time was pretty much guaranteed a senior game.
I'm glad I'm back and will be trying my c unt out to play 1ns, hopefully be part of club history and take out our first senior silver wear.. A lot of hardworki to be done but everyone on board so exciting times ahead.. I've been waiting 18 years for a flag hopefully go out with on a high
Cobras#15

Pretty good answer and summary but was he a good or bad thing for the club? Just seems that any club that looks for the quick fix of someone who brings in players and the requirement of increased funds beyond the means goes into decline and then no better off longer-term...

I thought he was good for the club unfortunately the year we looked like winning the flag deer park went on a spending spree and we're miles above the rest.. Obviously losing the players that came with him hurts and not having the funds to attract new players kills you.. Lucky we have a loyal core group of players who stick by the club.

Grassbag stop liking my posts!!! Some people on here think that you are me and whilst I may be 'satisfied' by my own posts, I would hate people to think I am 'liking' my own posts and/or have a split personality! Haha

I thought he was good for the club unfortunately the year we looked like winning the flag deer park went on a spending spree and we're miles above the rest.. Obviously losing the players that came with him hurts and not having the funds to attract new players kills you.. Lucky we have a loyal core group of players who stick by the club.
And therein lies my issue with many clubs that don't think or look bigger picture and with a bigger vision and that is sustainable. When appointing a coach in my opinion you want to go and get the best coach available and the one that will grow you club on and off-field and with a vision of growth beyond their time at the club. If they bring 1-5 players with them then fine but if they bring a 'team' with them, as if they will not pack their bags and go when the coach goes? Think about it, they have just got up and left their precious club and then moved as soon as the coach moved from that club... Use DC as an example... Came to Albanvale with players, left to YS, how many then went and followed him to Westmeadows... Where do you think they will go when he leaves Westmeadows? It's a travelling circus. Great for him that he has the loyalty and or the $ that buys that loyalty but it doesn't help the club that took him on long-term...
Too many clubs (like individuals in life) want results yesterday... Equate it to business and rarely if ever does a business just excel from the first year, you need to carefully plan, grow and build it to excel in the years ahead... More diligence needs to be taken by club committees but sadly (and dare I say it - it's worse in the WRFL than other leagues) many clubs have too many involved with their own agendas and not enough helpers and less able business minded people.

And therein lies my issue with many clubs that don't think or look bigger picture and with a bigger vision and that is sustainable. When appointing a coach in my opinion you want to go and get the best coach available and the one that will grow you club on and off-field and with a vision of growth beyond their time at the club. If they bring 1-5 players with them then fine but if they bring a 'team' with them, as if they will not pack their bags and go when the coach goes? Think about it, they have just got up and left their precious club and then moved as soon as the coach moved from that club... Use DC as an example... Came to Albanvale with players, left to YS, how many then went and followed him to Westmeadows... Where do you think they will go when he leaves Westmeadows? It's a travelling circus. Great for him that he has the loyalty and or the $ that buys that loyalty but it doesn't help the club that took him on long-term...
Too many clubs (like individuals in life) want results yesterday... Equate it to business and rarely if ever does a business just excel from the first year, you need to carefully plan, grow and build it to excel in the years ahead... More diligence needs to be taken by club committees but sadly (and dare I say it - it's worse in the WRFL than other leagues) many clubs have too many involved with their own agendas and not enough helpers and less able business minded people.

Now this forum is becoming to smart. The Laverton Magpie is going somewhere. No one will understand this sense.. What happened to the shadow boxing?? Where's the Braybrook ruck hero, or Dockland Dog gone.

On a serious note i pay credit to all div3 clubs as it must be a hard task to recruit players and coaches as there wouldn't be a lot of $$ in this div. a half decent coach will want $$ unless they are helping a mate out for a year. Pretty demanding job even maybe harder in the lower division as you need to attract players as sometimes a lot if no 18s.

Ok Justin since you continue to question weather I am good or bad for club and want to shit can me to some of my friends (it does get back to me) let's clear a few facts up!

When I went to Albanvale I was lucky enough to have players want to come with me. The budget increased from 22k to 25k. We lost the pre lim. The year after a new president came in replacing a president that had been there for 10 years. The budget increased to about 28k and the club struggled to get the house in order after losing a long serving president. Money was tight, we lost the GF and if u want facts I coached for nothing that year cause I loved the place and boys. Great now that they have there shit in order off field and they now have the right people in place. Players did leave when I left to Yarraville and only 2 followed me who were my best mates and assistant coaches.

Yarraville , we won the flag undefeated on a budget half the size of 3 other teams in the Comp that year and the following year won 4 games in div 1 on limited funds.

Why did I leave , Albanvale - fantastic club and I love the boys there and will always appreciate them giving me an opening into coaching. I left because I wanted to improve myself and my coaching and didn't feel that I could do it there.

Yarraville - young club, and we prob achieved to much to quick and they weren't ready for the jump.

FYI - I have signed at westmeadows for 4 years and live around the corner. I went there because I always wanted to go back to EDFL and it was close to home and I can spend more time with my young family.

I would say I was good for both clubs. Didn't get the ultimate success we all wanted at Albanvale and some of those loyal boys deserved , but me leaving was not why they are where they are. In my time there we were always a very low spending club regardless of what others on the outside thought. And the football landscape over the last 5 years has caught up with them. Simple as that.

Yarraville - well we are the 2012 premiers so I'm tipping everyone would say it was a good move.

So before jumping on here and questioning me, maybe look at your own coaching record and weather YOU were good for your club ? My record stands for itself ! How does yours stand up ?