• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley-Mountain District FL Discussion Forum 3

Did anyone see in the Herald Sun of that bloke in South Austrlian league that kicked 40 goals last weekend? :thumbsu:

I think it was a guy called Quinton Graham. He previously played in the SANFL with Central Districts - would have played in some premierships there , as they've won 8 of the last 10 Grannies over there - so he can play. I think he was playing for Gumeracha (in the Hills league) against Callington who've not won a game for a couple of years.

BIg Screen at the Div 1 grand final this year.. costing the league 6 grand.. is it worth it?
maybe if the league are smart they could get it paid for by the local hairdresser's, im thinking there will be a few hair cuts and tipping going on now before the game for the pretty boys. If Woori are lucky enough to make it sorry, Pat there's nothing you can do lol

BIg Screen at the Div 1 grand final this year.. costing the league 6 grand.. is it worth it?

Where does the league get its money from for that? Does it impact the fees of all clubs? As a one of to see how it goes it may be worth it. If it is something they are planning to do for each final in the future at $6,000 a game it may impact all clubs greatly.

Nominations for tool of the year:

1. Upwey under 18 coach (Damien Lane?) for his ring around around to complain about overage players.

2. Andy Goodwin. Spends more time talking/gesturing to opposition supporters than his own players.

LOL! Im guessing they are gonna have 1 amatuer cameraman on the back of a ute with a cable hooked up straight to the screen. Cringeworthy stuff, why bother.

I will answer broken bone and you lemon chicken. The cost of $6000 will be offset against advertising that we will sell for the big screen on the day. If there is a shortfall we will use some of the additional sponsorship that we have generated this year. There will be no cost to the clubs. Even if there was a shortfall to the clubs we believe the increased atmosphere that the big screen wiil produce is worth trying. As part of the $6000 we will get three camermen that will tape the game from 3 different poisitions which will feed back to a person beside the big screen who will mix the feeds for the instant replays . Hopefully a little better than the cameraman on the back of the ute,

What is really exciting is that from next year we will be video taping every 1st and 2nd division senior game which will be uploaded to the webpage for viewing by all interested parties. This is a way to continue to promote our league and will give us the ability too use the taping for coaching and improvement. Another first for our leaque.

Graeme Tuplin President

What is really exciting is that from next year we will be video taping every 1st and 2nd division senior game which will be uploaded to the webpage for viewing by all interested parties. This is a way to continue to promote our league and will give us the ability too use the taping for coaching and improvement. Another first for our leaque.

Graeme Tuplin President

Weather permitting I hope??? You'd be hard pressed to get anyone brave enough to do it on a day like at Kinglake yesty. Worst day weather wise Ive ever spent at the footy, never seen wind like it.

Woulda blown Christ off his cross for sure!!!

I will answer broken bone and you lemon chicken. The cost of $6000 will be offset against advertising that we will sell for the big screen on the day. If there is a shortfall we will use some of the additional sponsorship that we have generated this year. There will be no cost to the clubs. Even if there was a shortfall to the clubs we believe the increased atmosphere that the big screen wiil produce is worth trying. As part of the $6000 we will get three camermen that will tape the game from 3 different poisitions which will feed back to a person beside the big screen who will mix the feeds for the instant replays . Hopefully a little better than the cameraman on the back of the ute,

Graeme Tuplin President

Graeme congratulations to you and your board on making the YVMDFL one the most professionally appealing comps to be involved in. The big screen will be a huge hit and as for the video - wow. I am sure other comps will be trying to get in on the act. It is a great initiative and who ever come up with the idea needs to be congratulated. :thumbsu: My wife isn't very happy though as i may spend a lot more time on the computer watching other games.

I did hear that the posting of taped games will commence during the final series - can you confirm?

Graeme congratulations to you and your board on making the YVMDFL one the most professionally appealing comps to be involved in. The big screen will be a huge hit and as for the video - wow. I am sure other comps will be trying to get in on the act. It is a great initiative and who ever come up with the idea needs to be congratulated. :thumbsu: My wife isn't very happy though as i may spend a lot more time on the computer watching other games.

I did hear that the posting of taped games will commence during the final series - can you confirm?

RHT thanks for the thumbs up. Yes I can confirm that we will be using the taping during the final series as a way to work out any bugs before we turn it on full time next season.

Instead of the pr0n you're normally looking at? :D

Graeme Tuplin President

Great Work! Double Thumbs up for me:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Nominations for tool of the year:

1. Upwey under 18 coach (Damien Lane?) for his ring around around to complain about overage players.

2. Andy Goodwin. Spends more time talking/gesturing to opposition supporters than his own players.

1. no comment.

2. Plays for sheep stations every match he plays. You always know what you're going to get with Andy including "interaction" with supporters. Has been great for our league since returning. Filled a hole this year that Wandin couldn't fill. Has also played Senior footy with his son which is incredible when you think about it. I think he'll finish up for good this weekend, at home v Upwey. Wonder how he'll go out ??? :D:D:D

Well played young Andrew !!!!

graeme, are we going down the same track as AFL whith this, video, telecast, can be used in a tribunral case, umpires can review game and charges laid, will all clubs have acess to videos for diffence of players

Saw a pretty good game on the weekend.

Battle of the Tige's. It wasn't the most intense or hard game you'd ever seen. I suspect with nothing really riding on the result there may have been some things left hiding up the sleeves of each side. Woori looked awesome early, but Upwey seemed a bit fitter late in the game. Upwey had a chance to pinch it late when Monkey gave Hedge a free to put them in front, but a great goal from the boundary with about a minute left (Sharpey?? - was a bit dark ;-)) saw Woori win, which was prob the right result seeing as Woori had been in front all day.

First time I've seen Upwey all season, and they do look a fair bit different than last season. Always a good atmosphere at Upwey, good to see some extra parking there too, and the only negative being the tragic news that they had run out of hot chips early in the day!!!

With the Brookers and Mt Ev both on a good run in teh past month and Olinda having some big scalps this season, I'm looking forward to a pretty close and unpredictable finals series.

* which will be nice for a change I reckon (coming from a reasonably neutral follower).

Let's hope the weather picks up a tad as well!!

Why dont the league move YJ v Seville to Warby and move the Kinglake v Thornton to Junction. That would eliminalte any home ground advantage that Yarra Junction has and would allow all 3 Kinglake teams to be at the same venue.

Seville deserve to have their seniors and ressies play at the same venue before Kinglake get to have all three but maybe this should be at Warby????

The original finals venues list had the Qualifying Final at Warburton, so it looks like they've actually moved the Seville-Yarra Junction game TO Yarra Junction. Maybe thats so the Junction people working at the ground can see their own team play.

Hawks_2008;[B said:
18698354W]hy dont the league move YJ v Seville to Warby and move the Kinglake v Thornton to Junction[/B]. That would eliminalte any home ground advantage that Yarra Junction has and would allow all 3 Kinglake teams to be at the same venue.

what is wrong with the league?? they can not be serious. they named the seville game to be played at warby, and now its at junction?? how much is junction paying the league for this huge helping hand to get to the final?? pathetic!