• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum

In all fairness Doona Macca was offered considerabily more as he had played decent footy in the VFL, O+M and GVFL. They wanted to see what the other boys had before bumping up their offer which was fair enough, did bruise a couple of egos though.

Always does, you just gotta laugh sometimes in the recruiting stakes. Can't say I recall the guys you're referring to, musta been whilst I was at Yea.

Over the past two years we have spoken to many a young bloke, some with just a handful of senior games at a better level, in the thought of getting them a full season against senior footballers, yet some put prices of between 150-200 (and upward) on their heads.

As soon as I say "how much senior footy you played" the conversations wind up pretty quick . . . . . this is what ya up against these days, even the spuds or those with limited senior footy under their belts want coin ;)

Always does, you just gotta laugh sometimes in the recruiting stakes. Can't say I recall the guys you're referring to, musta been whilst I was at Yea.

Over the past two years we have spoken to many a young bloke, some with just a handful of senior games at a better level, in the thought of getting them a full season against senior footballers, yet some put prices of between 150-200 (and upward) on their heads.

As soon as I say "how much senior footy you played" the conversations wind up pretty quick . . . . . this is what ya up against these days, even the spuds or those with limited senior footy under their belts want coin ;)

Was about 4 years ago from memory, around the time the club had a few dramas which put the boys off.

Was talking to a mates little bro last week, he hasnt played a senior game of footy yet but because he was in the Eastern Rangers squad he is getting offers of up to $250 a game. Makes you wonder where a lot of the smaller clubs in the Yarra Valley get their coin from.

just reading the clearances on yvmdfl.com and three big losses for three teams that really needed to improve this year. Ross Cavill from alex to myrtleford as i predicted, ben hughes from belgrave to coralyn as BB predicted and shaun dishington from emerald to hampton park. all three probably in the top five at their clubs.
also we made a big signing last night yet to be registered and are close to another one that was at training last night. very happy with the adjustments we have made to our team with our only loss Luke Sharp at this stage and thats still not set in concrete.

only couple months till the season starts which team is going to be the side to look out for in div 2? lakers are flying at training at moment and cant wait to get amongst it come round 1

also we made a big signing last night yet to be registered and are close to another one that was at training last night.

That info is a tease Pup. We need a meeting so I can find out all the goss.:D

I've seen Mr E out training a bit lately and wondered if he's planning a comeback to take on his bruvva. :eek:

dont think old rob would squeeze in to our line up. Can confirm now that we signed a mate of mine from gembrook Brett Andrews who will be great for our onball unit and half back line. was runner up at gembrook last year. Still workin on Jimmy. also having timmy phelps fit and committed is like a new recruit. still a possibility scottie currie will be back too. looking good at the moment.

Still dont know who the ruckman is that alex say they have got and does anyone know if oakley, davis and heard are going to healsville.

I sussed out a bit of info this arvo from someone who works with the Alex players. He wasn't aware of a new ruckman, although he hasn't attended training himself this year yet to know for sure, and he said Oakley has definitely gone to Healesville due to work committments.

Apparently Alex have been training since November, had a break over Christmas and are in to it 3 times a week now. It will be interesting to see how that kind of schedule benefits them come seasons end.

here is a bit of a run down on comings and goings from the rumour mill so far.
THORNTON: Out~ None as yet In~ Brett Andrews (Gem)Possibly Heath Fisher (NFL) James Herridge (Mansfield),Scott Currie (QFL), None definate yet
BELGRAVE: Out~ Ben Hughes (Coralyn), Andrew McArthur (??), Marcus Stow (Ret), Dave Bilston (Travel), Damien Arminson (MWav), Ben Duperouzel (MWav), Sean Millane (MWav), Peter Knott (MWav), Banana Breath (MWav. In~ Darren Sidebottom(Cran)
ALEXANDRA: Out~ Adam Macdonald (FTG), Luke Heard (Box Hill), George Steiner (Ret), Steve Nichol (Ret), Jeremy Heyes (??) Neil Oakley (heals) Kane Davis (Heals) Ross Cavill (myrtleford.) In~ Robert Grech (Yea) grant Sceney (broadbeach QLD)
YARRA JUNCTION: Out~ Jason Long (??), Tyson Wheeler (Silv). In~ ?
YARRA GLEN: Out~ Andy Goodwin (Ret) In~ ?
SEVILLE: Out~ Daisy Williams (Silv), Paul Lister (Silv), Ben Costigan (Mitcham), Paddy Spendlove (Mitch) Scott Hunter (Bays) In~ ?
EMERALD: Out~ Shaun Dishington (H.Park) In~Haydn Robbiins (Beacy)
POWELLTOWN: Out~ ? In~ ?
YEA: Out~ ? In~ ?
KINGLAKE: Out~ ? In~ Mick Knott (DCreek)

Maybe everyone else can add to it as we roll towards the start of the 2008 season.

a few new additions

So your good mates with Belly boys...

Also does anyone know what is happenin at Seville. Always thought they had some good players but just needed a little something to be decent.

So far by the clearances they have picked up Beau Hawkins from Junction but lost John Eldridge FF, Jarred Loughman 2's Coach C, Paul Lister BP, Daniel Williams W and i know that their coach from last year Scott Hunter CHF gone to Bayswater and Ben Costigan RR and Paddy Spendlove FB have gone to Mitcham. Doesnt look good this year.

Has anyone heard any goss about a couple of players from the LaTrobe Uni footy team being paid to play for Alex?

Yeh ads told me at trainin friday that there is three of them. 2 are probably borderline seniors and one is aparently about 6'5" and pretty handy. might be the ruckman they were talking about. word is they are being given a job at elders.

Also oakley and kane davis are stayin at alex after flirting with healsville to get more $$$. If oakley gets his usual stats against us he will be gettin paid $100 a kick. Choco owns him.

Have heard yea are struggling.

Apparently contacted kinglake to warn them for round 1 that they have under 18's but only have scraped together a senior side and dont have reserves.

Anyone else know any details??

Apparently contacted kinglake to warn them for round 1 that they have under 18's but only have scraped together a senior side and dont have reserves.

Anyone else know any details??

If numbers on the track are anything to go by they will be in strife. Called through there with work last week and only saw about 8 young guys running around.

Where do you think your competition will come from this year Pup? Seems like most sides are on the slide in Div 2 this year at this stage. Yarra Glen or Alex might be the only ones to get close.

Early days yet, i'm confident Yea will regroup especially once cricket is out of the way. Yea will have a lot more to play for now with all the Murrindindi Shire Teams in one competition hopefully it might resemble the old Waranga North East Football League of previous years.

i think the statement about cricket may be true cos our numbers are down a bit too but not that bad.

i think the main opposition will be alex have lost a few but rumoured to have picked up a few too. probably glen, junction, emerald and belgrave a fair way back after that.

Well i'm in the Know at LaTrobe being a seniour player there for 10 years and we have lost 10 of our senior side mostly ALEX (names av.) Their going to be one hell of a force!

This is 5 of the better players

Wombat- nugget at 6ft soild
Chissel- Handy back pocket but very unfit
Cone Head- A midfielder with pace and size
Silver Back- Just Solid
Hendry- Massive unit 7ft and 120kg (elders rep)

From the Sunshine F.C & wondering whether anyone is after a Practice match on the 29th of March. PM me to organise details.

Lakers on fire!!!!!!!!!!! Plenty of numbers at training last night. Great skills on show. Could go really well this year

i think the statement about cricket may be true cos our numbers are down a bit too but not that bad.

i think the main opposition will be alex have lost a few but rumoured to have picked up a few too. probably glen, junction, emerald and belgrave a fair way back after that.

Wouldn't get that excited about either Belgrave or Emerald. Reports are they are leaving Belly in droves and Emerald are putting ads in local papers as they are desperate and might struggle to even get a 2's side.

Early days yet, i'm confident Yea will regroup especially once cricket is out of the way. Yea will have a lot more to play for now with all the Murrindindi Shire Teams in one competition hopefully it might resemble the old Waranga North East Football League of previous years.

I have been so looking forward to taking my young kids (B'ford) over to Yea on March 29 for a hitout, some great friends and fond memories of my time at Tigerland - so I hope this talk of numbers is just rumour

We are too looking forward to the hitout, we will have enough numbers for the game, whether its 1 or 2 sides I couldnt say. Will be good fun and i personally cant wait to play some football again!

Interesting to hear the current struggle of Yea and their lack of numbers. Considering ther poor performance and struggles last year I guess they were starting off at a poor base - hopefully things will improve.

Have heard really good things about both Yarra Glen and Kinglake with things looking good for both. I think the Glen may be there abouts this season.

In 1st Division news standby for a number of quality recruits to pop up in the clearances soon, especially at Wandin and Mount Evelyn.

Can anyone tell me about a David Lewis who has just been granted a clearance to play with Tatyoon in the Mininera & DFL from Upwey-Tecoma in this league.

Wouldn't get that excited about either Belgrave or Emerald. Reports are they are leaving Belly in droves and Emerald are putting ads in local papers as they are desperate and might struggle to even get a 2's side.

Who else is leaving Belly Moin. All of last years recruits have cleared out as well as stowie retiring and Dave Bilston being O/S, have you heard of any more???

Any chance you might find the time for one of your amusing pre season prediction posts. Has been a while since we have heard much from you.