• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum

Both going pretty well Doona especially Fisher who is a good player. Think that both these guys are a fair chance to be playing off for a premiership come season's end. With the return of Lucas Smith pending the Boners are looking pretty good, depth may be their biggest problem and could cause problems if a spate of injuries arise.

I would think Belgrave may be Thornton's biggest threat, especially after being relegated from division 1 and probably hungry to return again as soon as possible especially with all the changes that club underwent during the pre season.

Stephen Nichol back for the Rebels is a big bonus IMO. What about Marcus Hill, tried to get the bugger to Broadford hows he been going for Alex?

From the YVMDFL Website. Looks like a pretty fair squad especially with the inclusion of the Silvan (ex Essendon) players. They should be hard to beat.

Interleague Update

It has been confirmed that the YVMDFL will be taking only senior football and netball sides to Geelong to compete in this year's WorkSafe Country Championships on 2 June. Despite the wishes of the League, no other league was prepared to field U18s or underage netball this year. Training for football and netball squads commences next week. Football invitees have been notified via mail and their clubs, while netball nominations will be asked for from each club.

The football squad is from -
Alexandra: Tom McKinley, Steve McKeon, Neil Oakley.
Belgrave: David Bilston.
Gembrook Cockatoo: Craig Clarke, Andrew Shipp, Ricky Francis, Todd Pye, Shannon Richardson.
Healesville: Luke Barclay, Peter Monk, Jye Conrau, Brendan Murphy, Mark Reilly.
Monbulk: Michael Hughson, Tim Wragg, Vin Dunstan, Jim Cleven, Ryan Creed, Billie Hicken.
Mt Evelyn: Mark Holly Jon Dalton, Chris Haworth.
Olinda FC: Nick Broomhall, Steve Willoughby
Silvan: Travis Cox, Dave Bissells, Chris Goodlet, Ben Haynes, Gary Moorcroft, Aaron Henneman, Marc Bullen, David Gillespie, Kit Dale, Rhett Newell.
Thornton Eildon: Brad Boote, Ryan Hall.
Upwey Tecoma: David Van Hoorn, Tom Hedge, Ryan Van Hoorn, Steve Dawson, Joel Godbee-Lingard, Eamonn Keogh, Blair Shepard.
Wandin: Matt Mitchell, Adam Bonsak, Sam Hills, Jye Myers, Daniel King.
Warb-Mill: James Iacono, Daniel Hewitt.
Woori Yallock: Paddy Sharp, Matt Stolarczyk, Tim Williamson, Daniel Ryan, Michael McGrath, Dallas Spencer, Danny Ryan.
Yarra Junction: Dale Tormey, Tyson Wheeler.

Stephen Nichol back for the Rebels is a big bonus IMO. What about Marcus Hill, tried to get the bugger to Broadford hows he been going for Alex?

Nichol has only just resumed playing as apparently has been injured. Is a good player and had experience down Hamilton way last year which should benefit his footy and team mates.

Hill is going well Doona, playing really consistent footy. IMO their best players are Oakley and McKeon as they are always getting a lot of the footy and difficult to stop having any influence on the game.

Always a great review from the Monbulk FC website www.monbulkfc.vcfl.com.au, they certainly are professional both on and off field and are the benchmark that most clubs aspire to.

Halfway Hawks?

Monbulk turned on yet another withering second half to eclipse Warburton-Millgrove by 78 points as the Hawks stepped up their campaign to regain some equilibrium after an indifferent start to the season.

In near perfect conditions, both sides matched goal for goal in a furious and high-quality opening. Creed continued his scintillating form, bursting through packs to post three early goals for the Hawks and he received great support from Vin Dunstan and Billie Hicken. Monbulk had opportunities up forward but lacked finishing skills until the diminutive Jay Colee moved into a pocket, cutting a swathe through the Burra's defence with three quick goals. The Burras were not short of contributors, with Terry Walker, veteran DeGraf, Pasco and Iacono combining to keep the Hawks honest in the first half.

The Hawks held narrow leads at the first two breaks, but Warburton looked poised to capitalise if the Hawks slipped. Slip they did - but unfortunately for the Burras - it was into a higher gear! Monbulk launched a powerful 13 goal bombardment in the second half that completely overwhelmed the Burras.

Wragg's return to a key defence role had put the finishing touch on the merciless work of Fraser, Hicken and Taylor, but after the long break, suddenly the Hawks were alight everywhere, swamping Warburton at every contest to run out winners by an impressive 78 points.

Monbulk 5.2 8.6 14.10 21.14 (140)

W-Millgrove 4.2 6.5 7.8 9.8 (62)

Best: Creed, Hicken, Dunstan, Wragg, Taylor, Van Seters.

Goals: Colee 6, Creed 5, Mullinder 3, Langworthy 2, Cleven, Taylor, Van Seters, Dunstan, Gray.

Reserves
A classic match was anticipated when Monbulk and Warburton met to determine just who was the top side. Paradoxically, Warburton won the points in a barn-storming finish, but it was Monbulk who had dominated play all day.

Despite leading well all day and having almost twice as many scoring shots, ultimately the Hawks fell victim to their own inaccuracy going down by two points in the dying minutes.

Monbulk 2.6 5.14 5.18 6.22 (58)

W-Millgrove 0.2 2.2 3.4 9.6 (60)

Best: Liebe, S. Arnott, Klepp, Utting.

Goals: Lonergan 2, Ymer, Coen, Frase, Lucas.

Under 18
The Hawks continued their steady progress with a solid win over the Burras, built mainly in the first half of the game where Dean Cleven and Chris Waldron took control of the air. Justin Creed proved dangerous up forward with 4 goals while Mike Coen and Jarrod Drew added great support.

Despite a spirited fightback from Warburton in the second half, the Hawks stood firm and held their composure to move into third spot on the ladder.

Monbulk: 2.4 5.12 7.13 10.15 (75)

W-Millgrove 0.1 2.2 5.2 7.4 (46)

Best: Dean Cleven, Chris Waldron, Justin Creed, Mike Coen.

Goals: Creed 4, Waldron 3, Drew, Coen, Cleven.

Netball
A Grade.
This was very much a danger game for the Hawks with the Burras keen to add another prized scalp to their belts after rolling Upwey, but the Hawkettes withstood the challenge then slammed through 17 goals to 11 in the second half to run the game out strongly.

Interleague rep. Amy Belton was queen of the ring with 19 goals, while the "Steady Eddies" in Bec McCormack, Dory and Mel Whitworth kept the Burras in check across the court.

Monbulk 32 def Warburton-Millgrove 24

Goals: Amy Belton 19, Jamie Sands 8, Michelle Dawson 5.

Best: Bec McCormack, Mel Whitworth, Amy Belton, Michelle Dawson.

B Grade
In a battle between the top two sides, Warburton snuck home by the narrowest margin despite the best efforts of the Hawkettes.

It was a tight game of furious challenges, with both sides deserving of the win, but the Burras prevailed, inflicting the season's first loss to the Hawks, 31 to 32.

Best: Jo Rutherford, Beth Stubbs, Kim White

Goals: Emma Mullinder 19, Jo Rutherford 12

From the Olinda FC website - www.ofcfc.vcfl.com.au regarding premiership reunions. Maybe someone can assist?

Can you Help?

As you maybe aware the club is having a premiership reunion for the 65 66 67 78 88 and 2005 premiership teams.Andy Greenall, Tim and Mick Scott have been spending many hours researching all the members, coaches, staff and committee people from these years and within the next few weeks will be sending invitations out.

We are unable to locate the following people.
From the sixties - Barry McCarthy,Graeme Orr,Barry Vernon,Greg Fanning and David Brown.
And from the 78 group Geoff Roberts and Dave Brick.

If anyone has contact details for them or anyone else they think were associated with the club during these years please call Tim Scott on 0408 104 202 or email tb.scott@bigpond.net.au

Does Silvan have a salary cap? They must be paying out heaps!!!
How can a team have a salary cap when they have those sort of players running around. I did hear, the only one that really getting money from the football is Henneman while the others were given very cosy jobs witha very good salary.

hey just looking at your rep side....what's the go at silvan they seem to have 3 ex afl players.....i'm guessing that there other players aren't to bad either and would cost a few coin.....how do they do it???? up my way in the ovens and murray league we can't get 1 ex afl player let alone 3......we have to get them from wafl and the sanfl........just wondering last i heard gary moorcroft was living in reservoir...just wondering he still is and how far that is from silvan!!!!! also how's slugga go as a coach??????????????

Hi,
Could someone give me the run down on how Seville's season's going??
Seville are struggling a bit at the moment. only won 1 game so far. Still some good footballers running around up there but just not getting it together on the field. A couple of key injuries isnt helping, but we werent winning with them playing anyway so its no excuse

hey just looking at your rep side....what's the go at silvan they seem to have 3 ex afl players.....i'm guessing that there other players aren't to bad either and would cost a few coin.....how do they do it???? up my way in the ovens and murray league we can't get 1 ex afl player let alone 3......we have to get them from wafl and the sanfl........just wondering last i heard gary moorcroft was living in reservoir...just wondering he still is and how far that is from silvan!!!!! also how's slugga go as a coach??????????????

I have no idea how silvan got 4 ex afl players, obviously some very good contacts, and im not a coach, just moving the magnets in the 2's while im not playing and the coach is on the field.

Seville are struggling a bit at the moment. only won 1 game so far. Still some good footballers running around up there but just not getting it together on the field. A couple of key injuries isnt helping, but we werent winning with them playing anyway so its no excuse

I used to play up there, and I reackon it's the best club i've ever played for, win, lose or draw. I hope for their sake it turns around eventually.

Yeah the results are there but you have to click the blue box next to the club names. Don't know why first divvy is different some weeks all results are like this. There was and article in the local paper this week with Powelltown president Doug Cole saying the mood around the club was good despite some massive losses. Yesterday they failed to kick a goal scoring just 3 behinds, this would have to be demoralising no matter what they say. Most would want them to remain in the competition but I can't really see them continuing beyond this year. With so much work involved in running a club this must make people ask whether it is worthwhile.

Yeah, if I was playing I certainly wouldn't be thrilled to turn up each week and get a hiding. What do you reckon will happen? The club sounds like it's all positive but surely it's not good for anyone (the club the competition)to get beaten like that.. Is it possible they won't continue next season?

My understanding is they have plenty of money and i assume that they will throw it around a bit next season, now that they have a platform to build from, they will only get stronger

From the YVMDFL Website. Looks like a pretty fair squad especially with the inclusion of the Silvan (ex Essendon) players. They should be hard to beat.

Interleague Update

It has been confirmed that the YVMDFL will be taking only senior football and netball sides to Geelong to compete in this year's WorkSafe Country Championships on 2 June. Despite the wishes of the League, no other league was prepared to field U18s or underage netball this year. Training for football and netball squads commences next week. Football invitees have been notified via mail and their clubs, while netball nominations will be asked for from each club.

The football squad is from -
Alexandra: Tom McKinley, Steve McKeon, Neil Oakley.
Belgrave: David Bilston.
Gembrook Cockatoo: Craig Clarke, Andrew Shipp, Ricky Francis, Todd Pye, Shannon Richardson.
Healesville: Luke Barclay, Peter Monk, Jye Conrau, Brendan Murphy, Mark Reilly.
Monbulk: Michael Hughson, Tim Wragg, Vin Dunstan, Jim Cleven, Ryan Creed, Billie Hicken.
Mt Evelyn: Mark Holly Jon Dalton, Chris Haworth.
Olinda FC: Nick Broomhall, Steve Willoughby
Silvan: Travis Cox, Dave Bissells, Chris Goodlet, Ben Haynes, Gary Moorcroft, Aaron Henneman, Marc Bullen, David Gillespie, Kit Dale, Rhett Newell.
Thornton Eildon: Brad Boote, Ryan Hall.
Upwey Tecoma: David Van Hoorn, Tom Hedge, Ryan Van Hoorn, Steve Dawson, Joel Godbee-Lingard, Eamonn Keogh, Blair Shepard.
Wandin: Matt Mitchell, Adam Bonsak, Sam Hills, Jye Myers, Daniel King.
Warb-Mill: James Iacono, Daniel Hewitt.
Woori Yallock: Paddy Sharp, Matt Stolarczyk, Tim Williamson, Daniel Ryan, Michael McGrath, Dallas Spencer, Danny Ryan.
Yarra Junction: Dale Tormey, Tyson Wheeler.

Will be interesting to see what happens if both Matt Stolarczyk and Jye Conrau are both selected to play. Might have two teammates punching on. Would be quite funny

Great to see Steve Willoughby playing again in this league and to be selected in the squad. As a junior I played with and against the likes of Troy Simmonds (Rich) and David Wirrpanda (WCE) and I rated this guy higher in ability than these two. Never seen somebody kick a football on both sides of his body to the standard he can. Had pace to burn and ability to weave through traffic. Just too small and lacked the dedication to go further. In about U/14's I think he was playing on the ball against my team (we were crap) he kicked something like 21 goals for the game and he was genuine rover size.

Does Silvan have a salary cap? They must be paying out heaps!!!

I use to play there, you will find the players of note have very nice jobs with compass and drive company cars around, hence they way below the salary cap figure.
You will also note they struggle for numbers in the two's and unders, why is that? simple.... what chance do you really have of getting promoted to play senior football, very little unless you are a star.

I use to play there, you will find the players of note have very nice jobs with compass and drive company cars around, hence they way below the salary cap figure.
You will also note they struggle for numbers in the two's and unders, why is that? simple.... what chance do you really have of getting promoted to play senior football, very little unless you are a star.

o whats wrong?
couldn't get a game there? bit sour?

Valley Spy, I coached that day when Steve Willa kicked 24.6 against you boys, we just did Pagan's paddock and kicked it over his head and let him run onto it, fair old return.

In the same year, I spoke to the Healesville coach before our match up the hill and suggested we let Steve go head to head in the middle with Davey Wirrpanda.

10 goals each and Healesville winning 26 goals to 25 was the most amazing game of Under age footy I've seen, those 2 were easily the best kids I've seen at that age.

Back in 1993, Iwas asked as Interleague 18's captain what I thought of the idea of playing Dave Wirrpanda in our side, the issue being that he was still in Under 14 ranks, I just said if he's good enough then pick him.

I think most of us thought he would struggle, we played Sth West Gippy league at Woori in shocking conditions, we kicked 8 goals to 1 to win very easily, Wirra kicked 6 I think, unbelievable.

No-ones really surprised how well he's gone, Willa could easily have been in his position, its not for everyone though !!

Great to be on a footy forum again !!!!!

I think I remember watching that interleague game. Was it under lights? or that could have been a junior league game. Was destined for the big time from a very early age.

I gotta say that I thought the Interleague result on the weekend was pretty disapointing. With some the players that were available this year, I thought that on paper our side should have been able to come away with a win. Anybody heard any stories, Moorcroft apparently got injured.

hey doona,
Fish has been a great pick up for us this year and Bern missed the first 4 games and is a bit outta shape but running into form and we are really seeing what he can do. Both of them came up with their mat Kevin Brown who joined us last year.

hey doona,
Fish has been a great pick up for us this year and Bern missed the first 4 games and is a bit outta shape but running into form and we are really seeing what he can do. Both of them came up with their mat Kevin Brown who joined us last year.

KB won a B & F at Broady also, in fact Im pretty sure during my time at Yea he may have been at Mansfield for a season and we tried to get him to Tigerland, but he ended up at Broady with Adam Bruni and the boys.

Forget Bernies shape he has a big heart and will always give his all. Pretty smart tap ruckman. I think it was big Mottram that used to run around he still there, and what about John Elliott would make for a big strong Boners unit Id imagine?

Puppy Dog

You're as sad as I am mate, I only found out about this forum a few weeks ago, if you check on the Monbulk FC website, Wraggy's running a YV forum, its just not recognised by the YV and not many know about it !

Good luck for the rest mate, look in good shape to be there at the business end.

Hey TeeS, whats happened to your guys up the top of the mountain this season? Would have thought they would have been disappointed with their performance so far.

Perhaps the loss of key players has hurt greatly. Great to see Steve W. back playing this year though, one of the best players I saw in the league and certainly skilful to say the least.

Get your mates from the other forum to start posting on here!

Great article in The Age about former Gembrook bot Michael Firrito and his great season at North Melbourne this year.

Firrito chips away
Martin Blake | June 6, 2007

WE ARE in the age of the generic footballer. Take Michael Firrito. At 190 centimetres or thereabouts, he is just one centimetre taller than Chris Judd, who is the competition's best on-ball player and best player — period. But Firrito is playing at full-back and centre half-back for the Kangaroos in 2007 and loving it.

His opponents have included Barry Hall, Jonathan Brown, Quinten Lynch and David Neitz, absolute powerhouses in a marking contest. They also have included the lightning quick Brendan Fevola and the elusive Brett Ebert, always dangerous on a lead. This weekend, it could be Fraser Gehrig, Nick Riewoldt or Justin Koschitzke, or all the above.

That's life for Firrito, who began his career as an on-ball tagger but has metamorphosed into a key defender in 2007. He is Dean Laidley's "Mr Fixit", filling a role previously occupied by Shannon Watt. Like the vertically challenged Campbell Brown at Hawthorn, Harry O'Brien at Collingwood and, perhaps, James Gwilt at St Kilda, he is flourishing against bigger opponents.

He kept Brown to a single goal, as well as Travis Cloke. But there have been travails, notably against Fevola (five goals) and Ebert (five goals). Nowadays, the league keeps statistics on goals conceded and Firrito was embarrassed to see his name published in the list recently, trailing well behind the likes of Darren Glass and Brett Rutten. He has conceded 32 goals in 10 games. "I might be leading the reverse Coleman (medal), I think," he said yesterday.

His biggest tasks were against Brown and Hall, by consensus among the best players in the code. Instructively, he was "excited" when coach Laidley asked him to take on the monolithic Brown. "It's a good challenge," he said. "With Brown and Hall, there aren't too many deficiencies in their game. They're good in all areas. You just hope there's pressure in the midfield because there's not much you can do sometimes."

Firrito's height is disputed in some circles, with suggestions he has exaggerated it. The Kangaroo was once listed in official media guides at only 186 centimetres, but he has an explanation. "When I first got to the club, I wasn't officially measured. I think they just guessed. Usually, I'm a few centimetres shorter (than opponents), but I don't think it makes that much difference.

"James Gwilt's played on some big blokes, and Harry O'Brien. It's not like it's 10 centimetres difference. It's three or four centimetres and that doesn't make a difference."

Firrito has two factors that balance out his lack of height for a key position player. One is his strength, for he is 95 kilograms.

"He's the same height as me, but twice as strong," says Roos captain Adam Simpson.

"The other is his competitiveness, reflected in his in-your-face attitude."

"I don't like to get beaten, I guess," Firrito said yesterday. "I feel comfortable when it's one-on-one. That's a strength of my game."

The Roos' back six is tight, and functional. Simpson says their success has allowed the team to play its new attacking brand in 2007 without penalty. "Our back six has been a real starting point for our team," he said. "They're very reliable one-on-one and we don't have to drop players back to help them out. We back them to win the contest. If they can do that, it flows on from there."

Firrito is of Sicilian extraction, though he does not speak Italian. His mother was born in Australia and his father emigrated when he was 17, and the family still runs a potato farm at Gembrook. Not surprisingly in the straightforward world of football, he quickly picked up the nickname Spud, and it has stuck. "I don't think I'm going to lose that one," he mused this week.

Never a star junior footballer, he made it to Eastern Ranges in the state under-18 competition, playing at the MCG on grand final day in 2000, only to be beaten by a Geelong Falcons team led by the likes of Luke Hodge and Jimmy Bartel.

But when he became eligible in 2002, he was not drafted, spending the year in the VFL with Box Hill and training with Hawthorn. Even the Hawks overlooked him at the end of that year, and it has driven him. "You never take it for granted, that's for sure. You have to take your opportunities."

Round Opponent Hgt difference Wgt difference

1 T Cloke (Coll) -5cm +6kg

2 B Ebert (P Adel) +11 +9

3 M Williams (Haw) +10 +10

4 J Brown (BL) -5 -7

5 C Mooney (Geel) -5 -4

6 B Hall (Syd) -4 -5

7 J Hird (Ess) +2 +5

8 B Fevola (Carl) -1 -3

9 D Neitz (Melb) -1 -5

10 Q Lynch (WC) -4 -8

* Firrito is 190 centimetres and 95 kilograms.