• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Yarra Valley Mountain District FL Forum

coller will play in fact boners are at full strength the question is who will alex play with heard , mkeon and oakley all not playing on the weekend...... also one of the replacements jez heyes getting in the best might make for an interesting thursday night

Toxic

Hey Toxic,

Valley Bloods surprising most in this finals campaign. Brilliant performances so far.

Can you do me a favour ?

I need a moby number for Daniel Collins, can you email me privately with that if you can get it ?

Cheers mate

Tim Scott
OFCFNC

what is the world on coller for saturdays grand final
do people think he will play

yeh mate all good was close 90% last week and nearly played but with the boys doin the damage i was able to get it 100%. would have played prelim if we lost

really lookin forward to the granny should be a tough one and also our a and b grade girls both play alex in their grannies so hopefully we can bring home more than one cup this year.

yeh mate all good was close 90% last week and nearly played but with the boys doin the damage i was able to get it 100%. would have played prelim if we lost

really lookin forward to the granny should be a tough one and also our a and b grade girls both play alex in their grannies so hopefully we can bring home more than one cup this year.

Good luck to all your teams pupsta.

no i think you're the stroker. once a riverpig, always a riverpig.

I think by giving yourself the title of FOOTYSNUMBERONE gives you the edge in the stroker stakes! You are the type of person who stops the best people putting their hands up for the key jobs at the league as they have to put up with the crap that you and your kind spout off with.

i'll remember this post when your bagging them because a decision doesn't go your way..;)

What is your definition of doing well?
Avoiding relegation on the last day by losing by less then the team below them?
I don't think they will go down, but they won't be anywhere near the top 5.

Alex will do well in Div 1 - they have great depth

Agree with XIV. Warby had the goods to go up, and they have hardly been super competitive. I dont know a lot about the league, but there is hardly much incentive for any of the teams over the hill to go up

Warby have had an outstanding year as a club, pretty much locals great grp of u18s in gf this week & strong in netball. For over the hill teams, the incentive is huge, be the best you can be in the highest division in your league, should be every clubs goal, to be the best continually in the lowest division is not what competitive sport is about.

Moving to Bendigo in 2009?

Sandhurst Dragons, Bendigo Football League, looking for interested key position players.

Fantastic facilities, team of trainers and dedicated club doctor, good social club and best ground in central Vic - Bendigo Bombers (VFL) use it, so up to AFL standard.

Send any queries to my mailbox.

Tiger Topics

G'Day Footy Fans,
Well, Grand Final day at Gembrook started out reasonably fine but then deteriorated badly to the extent that a severe rainstorm with strong winds hit the area during the Under 18s Grand Final between Warburton and Silvan (thankfully won by Warburton. Hooray for them!) but then began to improve steadily after that so that, although there was still a bit of a breeze blowing all day - what else at Gembrook - conditions were not too bad for the two matches that mostly interested us, namely the Reserves' and Senior's Grand Finals. At the end of the day we had only achieved a 50% return for our endeavours with the Reserves taking out the premiership while the Senior team went down to Silvan following a terrific struggle.
The Seniors match was tight and tense at the opening, as was only to be expected in such a vital match, and although each team scored a couple of behinds early, it was not until almost ten minutes had passed that the opening goal of the match was posted - by Silvan. Upwey soon replied with a goal of their own and were playing great footy against the favourites as the team was continually streaming into attack with the result that Upwey had scored five goals to Silvan's three by quarter's end.
The second quarter saw something of a reversal of fortunes in the match as Silvan had added four goals by the midway point of the quarter before Upwey managed to stem the flow somewhat with two goals but still, Silvan lead at the half-time break by five points and it was still a match up for grabs.
Upwey scored the opening goal of the third quarter inside the first minute of play but Silvan replied just as quickly and from then it was pretty much goal for goal as each team strove mightily to achieve a significant breakthrough. There was nothing in the match until, with just a few minutes
of the term left, Silvan managed to score two goals in quick succession to end the third quarter with a most vital three goal break. As the final quarter got underway, it soon became apparent that Upwey's hard finals campaign was beginning to have its effect as the previously hard-running
players were finding it more and more difficult to cope. Silvan added three unanswered goals before Upwey finally responded with a couple of goals but by then the match was pretty much
decided and the final siren of the season sounded with the scoreline reading Upwey-Tecoma
13.10.88 - Silvan 19.12.126.
Although beaten, the team lost no friends by their performance in the Grand Final, nor indeed throughout what was a very tough four week finals campaign, often played under very difficult conditions. On Saturday at Gembrook no player left anything behind as they all did everything
possible in their endeavours to win the match and really, I thought, played as well as they have at any time this season. Losing a Grand Final is not much fun but at least when there is the knowledge that one's all has been given, there is surely some consolation - but maybe not until
the next day. I am reminded of the words of former Hawthorn coach John Kennedy when he spoke to his team at half-time of what turned out to be a losing grand final for his team. He urged his players to do something for the team, be it a shepherd, a block or some such so that, at the end of the match each player could at least say, "I did something." I reckon that each and every member of our terrific Senior team can say just that. Well done to you all and we, your loyal Footy Fans, are tremendously proud of you all.
Now I have just one final word of comment (certainly not a criticism) for the year on officialdom's
decisions. Surely, with the virtue of hindsight, it can be seen as an error to have scheduled the First Division Preliminary Final on the Sunday and instead play the Second Division Grand Final on the Saturday. This meant that the winner of the Preliminary Final would have only six days recovery time before the Grand Final. It would surely not have mattered one jot to the Second Division combatants if their Grand Final was played on Sunday while a Saturday First Division
Preliminary Final would have at least given the winner there a full seven days off. It may well be seen as a minor thing and I don't for a minute suggest that this was the reason for Upwey losing the Grand Final match but it is one of the small things which, combined with other factors,
eventually add up. It's a bit like that missed shot for goal in the opening five minutes of the match or perhaps the odd fumbled take or the dropped marking attempt in the second quarter. Each one of these incidents, taken in isolation, means very little but when they all combine to make the
whole, their combined effect can so often have a distinct deleterious effect on the total outcome,particularly if, like the scheduling, they are easily avoidable. Saturday matches mean Sunday recovery sessions while Sunday matches means off to work or school or such on Monday and thus no adequate recovery session at all and when you are up against a very good team that has
had 14 days between matches, such a thing can make a difference. And it showed as the final quarter of the Grand Final progressed. Witness also the second half of the Reserves match. Still, with all that, I don't have any real argument with the eventual result of the match and perhaps I could conclude by quietly stressing that I am so proud to be an Upwey person.
The Reserves team has had a somewhat topsy-turvy season. They displayed terrific form for the first half of the season, winning every one of the first nine matches with an average winning margin of 53 points but then the injury plague hit the Club and the main sufferer as a consequence was the Reserves team. Some in the Club even had doubts that the team would be
able to remain in the finals hunt. It was here that Reserves' Coach Greg Spence really showed us his mettle. Suddenly, leading his team on Saturday afternoons became the easy part of his job because the real work was carried out during the period between Thursday and the Saturday game-time when he worked the phones tirelessly to get a full, injury free team onto the ground.
Willing souls from the Vets and Under 18 teams readily helped out whenever called upon but even so Greg was often reduced to figuratively searching the highways and byways to make up
player numbers as he pleaded with recently retired Upwey players to help out. It was a tribute to the Clubness of everyone asked that none refused to help where they could. As a result, more than 70 players donned the jumper for the Reserves team during the year and had it not been for all who helped out, the consequences could well have been dire as far as the team's finals hopes were concerned. All of those 70 plus guys who answered the call can rightly claim ownership of a least a part of the premiership pennant and maybe deserved to be able to get a sip from the cup.
The team possibly hit rock-bottom in their Round 11 match against Monbulk when, with both the Senior and Reserves teams really struggling to field a full complement of team members, the Reserves failed to score at all in the first half of the match and finished up with a score of just
2-1-13, the team's lowest score for some 20 years. Things were still tough from then of course but slowly more and more players became available and the team's loss to the ladder-leaders
Healesville in Round 16 would be their last defeat for the season. Upwey had defeated Healesville, our opponent in the Grand Final, in the second Semi-Final by twenty points and so confidence of a repeat performance in this match were high, however that
confidence was obviously not shared by the tipping experts who were almost unanimous in naming Healesville as the winners. It would have been
interesting to learn on what information
those views were based. Healesville had first use of a somewhat fickle wind in the first quarter and the ball spent a fair bit of time in their half of the ground as Upwey seemed to be struggling a bit to really get into the match and the team had to be content with just one solitary behind for the quarter. Fortunately, Upwey's
defence was playing with great determination at the other end of the ground and restricted Healesville to just the one goal so that at the first break Healesville's score had been restricted to just 1-4 so that the margin was only eight points.
Upwey's play did not really improve as the second term got underway and the play in general was very scrappy indeed as the team's forward complement struggled to score anything at all as the quarter advanced and they had managed to score just one behind to double their score.
Fortunately the Upwey defence was still holding firm and then, with just four minutes of the quarter left, Upwey finally managed to kick their first goal of the match and followed up with a second just before the siren sounded to end the first half of the match. But importantly, Upwey had gained a lead of five points in a very low scoring match.
It was a much more turned-on Upwey team that took the field for the second half and, with the wind in their faces, began to show much more confidence. After a strong start Upwey scored a goal before the quarter was very old and soon enough followed that with another. Meanwhile,
Healesville's forwards were being starved out of the action by the miserly Upwey defence and could only score three behinds for the third quarter so that by the time that the quarter ended, Upwey had gained a lead of 16 points. Not a very big lead certainly, but in such a low scoring
match it could well be significant.
The final quarter was a repeat of its predecessor as Upwey continued to outplay their opponents and by midway through the final quarter had added a further two goals to gain a definite winning break. Healesville managed to score a goal, their first for the second half, just as the match-ending siren sounded with Upwey in front by four goals and deserved Premiers. This was the team's 14th premiership and surely no team had worked harder to gain that ultimate success.
The final scores were Upwey-Tecoma 6.7.43 - Healesville 2.7.19.
See Ya in 2009

Very well written.I did notice that Upwey were going to have a 6 day break although i think Alex may have been the same but not sure.Sounds like a great effort from both Silvan and Upwey on the weekend.
Now for everyones in formation..........

Last night at the clubs annual Presentation night Tim Scott received a life membership of the Olinda Ferny Creek Football Club.Tim played 192 senior games for the club and has won 6 Best and Fairests as well as numerous games for the Yvmdfl including 1 as captain.Tim has also been involved in many years as a coach including roles with both the seniors and juniors.In recent years Tim has undertaken the role as Life Members coordinator and also has spent many hours planning last years fabulous 1965 66 67 78 88 and 2005 premiership reunion night and this years 1978 and 1988 premiership day at the club.Tim was very pleased with his award and was also very proud to join his brothers as life Members of the Ofcfc.Older brother Mick is also a life Member of the Yvmdfl and his other brother Steve almost is.On behalf of everyone involved with our club we would like to congratulate Tim on his wonderful achievement.

WELL DONE

Last night at the clubs annual Presentation night Tim Scott received a life membership of the Olinda Ferny Creek Football Club.Tim played 192 senior games for the club and has won 6 Best and Fairests as well as numerous games for the Yvmdfl including 1 as captain.Tim has also been involved in many years as a coach including roles with both the seniors and juniors.In recent years Tim has undertaken the role as Life Members coordinator and also has spent many hours planning last years fabulous 1965 66 67 78 88 and 2005 premiership reunion night and this years 1978 and 1988 premiership day at the club.Tim was very pleased with his award and was also very proud to join his brothers as life Members of the Ofcfc.Older brother Mick is also a life Member of the Yvmdfl and his other brother Steve almost is.On behalf of everyone involved with our club we would like to congratulate Tim on his wonderful achievement.

WELL DONE

Concur, well done Tim :thumbsu: and thanks Sid for this write up.

i know its a bit early for next year, but i have heard by a good source that Pupsta is lookin to coach at gembrook and Brett Andrews is applying for thorntons job, Also heard that If Brett gets the job Craig Clarke fom gembrook will definatly be playing for thornton next year!! Could be very interesting!!

Craig is contracted to Gembrook for 2009.