Young Eagle Brad Sheppard stakes midfield claim

Another player who wants to be in the midfield ! The way things are going we'll have fifteen of our eighteen players on the field at any one time jostling for midfield positions:) Frankly i'd rather see Sheppard played where it appears he is most needed, as a small defender, at least to begin with. Let him show that he is good enough to play for the Eagles in the position that he has most experience in before he volunteers (or is considered) for the midfield !

Its not like Sheppard is going to play in the midfield this year. (Maybe in the NAB Cup) but possibly down the track. Didn't we draft him as a replacement for Wirra.

Another player who wants to be in the midfield ! The way things are going we'll have fifteen of our eighteen players on the field at any one time jostling for midfield positions:) Frankly i'd rather see Sheppard played where it appears he is most needed, as a small defender, at least to begin with. Let him show that he is good enough to play for the Eagles in the position that he has most experience in before he volunteers (or is considered) for the midfield !

You're quite fond of small defenders aren't you. Won't be a small defender as his strengths are counter attacks and intercepts at half/back, from what I have seen anyway. Don't see a need for a permanent shut down small defender anyway, who has them anymore?

Can just pull a Selwood or Mcginnity to defence if need be.

The WC midfield is pretty ordinary now. We have some kids who have shown promise and one gun who hasnt played more than half a season since 2007.

The point remains, that if he is good enough he will play... which you agree with in the last line.

Sheppard has improved at an incredible rate in only a couple of years. As was demonstrated by Judd & by Kerr, talent trumps physical "readiness". If he has the talent and has shown the coaches something, then he is a chance and vaguely held notions of "protecting" him are flawed.

I do agree that if he's good enough he'll play. I just disagree about him being played in the centre square for the time being.

If he's a revelation in the midfield like Judd and Kerr, by all means play him there. I don't think that's the case though.
WC aren't in the same predicament they were in back in 2001/02, where our depth of young talent coming through, compared to today, was rather limited. That being the case, Judd and Kerr were likely going to be played asap. The situation pretty much demanded it, considering that at that time, we had a team of aging legends and mature age players we traded for and the Eagles were struggling down the bottom end of the ladder, with a worse future outlook than at present. Youthful vim and vigor were required desperately at that time.
Now though, in 2010, the situation is very different. WC are turning Sheppard into a midfielder despite not needing to due to the depth of young midfield talent we already have coming through.
Playing in the midfield is a handy extra string for his bow to have, but not necessary. And with it not being necessary, there's no need to rush him into a role which is unnatural for him.
Sheppard has time on his side having just started his career, why would anyone throw him to the lions by playing him as a CSP, unnecessarily, by playing him at his physically undeveloped stage?

My apparently vaguely held notions are not vague. I made my point clearly. If it's vague in your eyes, I can't help that.
I didn't say protect him, I implied that he's underdeveloped physically and that we should spare him from the unnecessary smashing he'll cop from the oppositions bigger bodies that he'll undoubtedly receive as a CSP. He'll receive his fair share playing in a different role, why subject a 1st year player to a role which is the harshest physically when unnecessary? I've already stated that we have other youngsters who are better developed physically, who're more natural midfielders to do the job that Sheppard is being asked to do.

Sheppard will develop as he develops. So it's up too him to prove he can play in these positions at every level.

No way will Ebert, Stevens and Priddis all be rotated through the middle at the same time, let alone with Shuey, Masten and Swift. I feel we will try to get Kerr out of the Square quite a bit in 2010 and i hope we can prolong his career by a near permenant move outside the square. At least Sheppard will provide something different if and when he is moved into the square.

Well if he is capable of running through the centre of 10 minutes in the second half then he will be an asset.

Either way it's important we dont shoe box any player and strunt there development, if the coaching staff feel he is ready for some game time in the middle then im sure they will test him out there, especially someone who over the last 2 years has improved as much if not more than any other junior in the country.

If he must? irrelivent of where he plays most of his career centre square experience will improve him as a player.

The concept of a wingman is pretty much void in the modern era, they are just extra midfielders who simply start outside the square. So while he might play on the wing he has the characteristics of becoming a centre.

We usually draft strong contested footballers, i dont see anything suggesting he is going to be a hard ball winning mid. Rather the oposite, currently it's his speed, skill, poise and quick thinking that has been used will in the midfield simulations where he is effective at getting the ball cleared away from a contest, Currently he is too narrow through the hips but he still needs exposure to the centre square it's a matter of how much and when.

Sheppard will be managed like every other draftee we get.
I agree, Sheppard will develop as he develops. That's not a point of contention with me. I only offered my opinion on where I'd prefer for him to play.

Why don't you believe Ebert, Priddis and Stevens will be rotated together through the midfield? Do you think that they're too vanilla to play in th CS together? I personally don't have a problem with it. They're all decent to good ball winners. That's exactly the type required there imo. Looking flashy and extracting the ball in style don't mean a thing to me, as long as they win the ball, I don't see a problem using them.
I agree with you about wanting Kerr to play outside the centre square.

It's an asset. It's an extra string to Sheppard's bow. I was saying that it wasn't necessary. Hurn and LeCras too can play roles in the midfield, that doesn't mean it's a good idea.

I don't think it's shoeboxing him. I wouldn't want a team full of utilities who are jacks of all trades but masters of none. I'd prefer him to settle into a role and establish himself in the best 22 before we Stakerize him.
I have no problem testing him out as a midfielder, though I wouldn't experiment during a home and away game, in this instance, unless he's shown himself to be at a level required.

Do you think it's required of all youngster to have to play them in the centre square because of the supposed benefits of it. I don't believe that.

I still think there's a difference between midfielders and wingers. At the bounce the CSP are at the immediate scene trying to win the ball in traffic, with lot's of opposition pressure. A winger is usually a receiver and a runner. Given that, I believe Sheppard displays the attributes to be a better receiver and runner, than ball winner.

I agree. I don't see Sheppard becoming a hard ball winning mid either. That's exactly the reason why I'd want the team to take advantage of the attributes you described by being an outside player.
I don't think Embley is a hard ball winning mid. He's become capable over many years, but I see him as a receiver.
With regards to Sheppard being to narrow through the hips; I think he needs more meat all over him before we test him against mature bodies. It is a mater of how much and when, I'm all for easing him into an outside role before being tasked with becoming a ball winner in the centre square.

just because he trains with the mids doesnt mean he develops into one and thats all he can do. thats just ridiculous. training with them only means he knows the game plans for the mids, the ruck knocks etc. it doesnt change how his football itself develops

Lol. I hardly think its ridiculous to expect Sheppard to become a mid when hes training with them. If anything, what more proof would you need. I've said it before and I'll say it again, this thread is full of stupid assumptions based of **** all evidence. IMO the way I'm reading the situation is if hes training with the midfield then hes a real shot at playing with them. That must mean he has an excellent fitness base. The only real question with Brad at the moment is his frame which good young players seem to get around e.g Stephen Hill.

i wasnt suggesting that it doesnt mean he will play as one. i was trying to say that the way he develops as a footballer will not depend on who he trains with. the fact is he is still training and developing no matter where he trains and that is what counts. training with mids would suggest he is learning there game plans and hence may be looked at for playing there. however next yr it could b different. basically he isnt going to b pigeon holed for his whole career just because he trains with the mids in his first pre season.

In today's Herald Sun,

"Dynamic Draftee: Club insiders consider Brad Sheppard a chance to win this year's NAB Rising Star. Has been "simply sensational" behind closed doors and is poised for regular midfield game time. Have a nibble on him at odds."

In today's Herald Sun,

"Dynamic Draftee: Club insiders consider Brad Sheppard a chance to win this year's NAB Rising Star. Has been "simply sensational" behind closed doors and is poised for regular midfield game time. Have a nibble on him at odds."

http://http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/summer-sizzlers/story-e6frf9jf-1225825077437

Dynamic draftee: Club insiders consider Brad Sheppard a chance to win this year's NAB Rising Star. Has been "simply sensational" behind closed doors and is poised for regular midfield game time. Have a nibble on him at odds.

Changing position: The club is warming to the prospect of shifting gun key big man Mitch Brown into attack. Some think his talent is a little wasted down back.

The last paragraph is equally interesting!!

The WC midfield is pretty ordinary now. We have some kids who have shown promise and one gun who hasnt played more than half a season since 2007.

The point remains, that if he is good enough he will play... which you agree with in the last line.

Sheppard has improved at an incredible rate in only a couple of years. As was demonstrated by Judd & by Kerr, talent trumps physical "readiness". If he has the talent and has shown the coaches something, then he is a chance and vaguely held notions of "protecting" him are flawed.

Ordinary?

Sorry mate but thats simply not correct, and if you feel that they are ordinary how so?

Sure we don't have a midfield with Geelongs experience but you need to mark them taking into consideration of their age and level of development.

The club has used some very low draft picks in the last 3 years with 3 picks inside the top 25 each year.

OK, we are ordinary when compared to 2 Brownlow medalists and a core of 8 players all with 150+ games but the question really is how does our young group compare to players their own age. And yes how does Cox. Kerr, Pridis, A Selwood and Embely compare to other senior players?

Well it's a load of shit.

A bullshit article by a muppet. Mitch wont play forward this year on a regular basis, his knee is still a tad suspect and he has recurring soreness.

He has been/was told after his op that the majority of his footy would be played as a back for the forseeable future.

Less lateral movement apparently, better to have him on train tracks at this stage.

Hopefully shep become a Goddard type player who sits at half back but also has stints through the midfield and even goes forward to kick goals. I would say GODdard trains with the mids even though he is a "backmen"

Ordinary?

Sorry mate but thats simply not correct, and if you feel that they are ordinary how so?

Sure we don't have a midfield with Geelongs experience but you need to mark them taking into consideration of their age and level of development.

The club has used some very low draft picks in the last 3 years with 3 picks inside the top 25 each year.

OK, we are ordinary when compared to 2 Brownlow medalists and a core of 8 players all with 150+ games but the question really is how does our young group compare to players their own age. And yes how does Cox. Kerr, Pridis, A Selwood and Embely compare to other senior players?

Based on actual performance in AFL games, the current group is ordinary, average, or whatever other word you want to use.

As I said it has some promising kids and it has one genuine gun (Kerr), while I am happy to add Cox, its pretty clear that the line of discussion was sans ruckman.

We have Kerr, some role players and some promising kids - we do have hope and I, for one, am very hopeful but at present its ordinary, based on performance.

I was responding to a statement that we shouldnt throw Shepherd into the midfield based on the depth we already have there - we don't have depth and the midfield needs to find a couple of guns for us to climb above ordinary. It has 1 mid who has shown himself to be elite.

Cox is a strawman in this debate as Shepherd is not competing for time with him. Clearly, Kerr is elite. Selwood a good solid AFL player. Embley a good, at times very good, outside player or flanker either forward or back - nice rotation player. Priddis a bog ordinary, slow stat whiz - who can probably play a role.

All that said, our side lacks elite and it lacks class in midfield. We are hopeful on Swift, Ebert, Masten, Shuey and one or two others but until they deliver then its just hope and if a couple of them dont make elite then we remain just a standard AFL midfield at best ....

Pretty simple really....

Well it's a load of shit.

A bullshit article by a muppet. Mitch wont play forward this year on a regular basis, his knee is still a tad suspect and he has recurring soreness.

He has been/was told after his op that the majority of his footy would be played as a back for the forseeable future.

Less lateral movement apparently, better to have him on train tracks at this stage.

ahahaahahaha. all lies. nice one

In other words, none of our young guns have established themselves as midfield superstars as yet so there's no harm in playing Sheppard through there to see if he could be a superstar.

Haha ironic given your signature but anyway yeah I agree with that, no harm in trying

Based on actual performance in AFL games, the current group is ordinary, average, or whatever other word you want to use.

As I said it has some promising kids and it has one genuine gun (Kerr), while I am happy to add Cox, its pretty clear that the line of discussion was sans ruckman.

We have Kerr, some role players and some promising kids - we do have hope and I, for one, am very hopeful but at present its ordinary, based on performance.

I was responding to a statement that we shouldnt throw Shepherd into the midfield based on the depth we already have there - we don't have depth and the midfield needs to find a couple of guns for us to climb above ordinary. It has 1 mid who has shown himself to be elite.

Cox is a strawman in this debate as Shepherd is not competing for time with him. Clearly, Kerr is elite. Selwood a good solid AFL player. Embley a good, at times very good, outside player or flanker either forward or back - nice rotation player. Priddis a bog ordinary, slow stat whiz - who can probably play a role.

All that said, our side lacks elite and it lacks class in midfield. We are hopeful on Swift, Ebert, Masten, Shuey and one or two others but until they deliver then its just hope and if a couple of them dont make elite then we remain just a standard AFL midfield at best ....

Pretty simple really....

i understand your point.

but you can only base judgement on masten, shuey, swift, ebert, scott etc on how they have played so far compared to their experience.

of course neither of them is elite yet.
i dont think either would have gone past 30 games yet.
but i do think that each are tracking along very very nicely

You're quite fond of small defenders aren't you. Won't be a small defender as his strengths are counter attacks and intercepts at half/back, from what I have seen anyway. Don't see a need for a permanent shut down small defender anyway, who has them anymore?

Can just pull a Selwood or Mcginnity to defence if need be.
I'm fond of small defenders because the Eagles seem to lack exactly that type of player at the moment. On several occasions I have watched the team get burnt by a class small attacking player in opposition teams and I have been hoping that we could develop a couple of good small defenders to counter them. As yet we don't seem to have done this.

I see Sheppard , at least initially, playing as a rebounding half back, alternating with Hurn in that role (and perhaps Nicoski). This gives Hurn a chance to develop as a midfielder or half forward and perhaps gives Nicoski an opportunity to play down forward on occasions as well. I'm not suggesting that Sheppard WON'T develop into a midfielder in time , but I would rather he started out playing the sort of role that he played in junior football. Let him get used to the bigtime in a position in which he is already familiar before we try to develop him in a different position !

Ordinary?

And yes how does Cox. Kerr, Pridis, A Selwood and Embely compare to other senior players?

WC's midfield is pretty average at the moment - It is definitely our weakest link IMO.

If we do make the 8 this year it will be overwhelmingly because our midfield has stepped up a notch. If they manage to do that it will be pretty awesome because, given their age and experience, the odds are against them.

There is heaps of potential there, absolutely. But potential doesn't win premierships.

Young Eagle Brad Sheppard stakes midfield claim