Prediction Your Draft Selections

Hate to reply like this but getting Hayes and Garner would be a Bonar for me.

Twomey has hayes at 19 in his talent ranking and Garner not top 30 fwiw.

Garner is like a left footed Bartel, iiirc. Very good true footballer. If he is less athletically talented than some, so be it, but football wise, he is v good. Was ER captain, and hard as. Hayes at 19 won't come our way unless your predictions about needs favour us.

Did anyone pick us getting Parfitt last year? I'm not even going to try guessing our picks, my money is on someone not mentioned.

To be fair, last year's draft really evened out after pick 20. I think it will be someone a little more obvious at our 22 & 24 picks this year. In Wells' GFC interview the other day he noted that it looked like some of the higher rated tall were sliding, which makes me think we might go tall early.

Just looking at possible outcomes for the draft by the time our first comes around. I think, with a number of different permutations that the top 14 players are pretty well settled from what I've read. I can't see these guys slipping too far or more to the point, be available by pick 22.

1. Brisbane Lions - Cameron Rayner
2. Fremantle - Luke Davies-Uniacke
3. Carlton - Adam Cerra
4. North Melbourne - Paddy Dow
5. Fremantle - Jarrod Brander
6. Collingwood - Andrew Brayshaw
7. St Kilda - Darcy Fogarty
8. St Kilda - Jaidyn Stephenson
9. Western Bulldogs - Nick Coffield
10. Carlton - Hunter Clark
11. Greater Western Sydney - Aaron Naughton
12. Adelaide - Jack Higgins
13. West Coast - Oscar Allen
14. Sydney - Aiden Bonar

15. Brisbane Lions -
16. Western Bulldogs -
17. Richmond -
18. Brisbane Lions -
19. Gold Coast -

20. Richmond -
21. West Coast -

22. Geelong -

It's this group of 7 selections before our first where the indecision lies. Players still to be taken include Ed Richards, Oscar Allen, Patrick Murphy, Sam Hayes, L.Fogarty, L.O'Brien, N.Balta, Zac Bailey, Matthew Ling, Sam Taylor, Joel Garner, Charlie Constable, Jordan Houlahan, Connor Ballenden and Patrick Naish. That's 15 players with only 7 spots before our first. I reckon you could almost put a line through Richards, Murphy and Allen too - most commentary suggests they will be taken in the top 20 now. So assuming that then there is 12 players now available for 4 spots.

The purpose of this is to demonstrate that we really should have access to some decent players when our first two picks come around. My worst case scenario is that the last 4 spots are taken by Fogarty, Bailey, Taylor and O'Brien. That would leave Hayes, Ling, Constable, Houlahan and Garner. Not terrible as a Constable/Houlahan combination would be ok but not really address a need to inject speed with only Ling with footspeed amongst this group. I think though that this is unlikely. I think at least one of the Fogarty/Bailey/Taylor/O'Brien will fall. It's the Tigers that really determine what we have access to. Do they go tall with Hayes and/or Balta as has been suggested by many? You'd think they'd take at least one tall from their first couple of picks knowing they have Naish locked away.

What is Kellys background... has just been missed in the system or late starter?
Indigenous kid from Geraldton. Come down a little later. It's tough for those kids - many have primary school level literacy, haven't had an amazing upbringing re disciple being modelled at home. So they really are coming from so far back in comparison to a kid who has gone through scotch college for example. That said, talent wise, the kids A freak. And if he can be placed With Brandon Parfitt and Q and get his head around afl life, he'll be anything. I don't know that the Eagles or dockers have a track record of doing enough to help indigenous kids fllourish in the last several years.

.. as long as we understand that background and put max effort into getting Kelly to socialise and settled then he would seem a reasonable risk. ..although hard to gauge what pick id use on him. I like your idea of putting someone like him with Parfitt etc. I have not seen any combine numbers for him.... hard to judge speed etc
The ind. player that I like the look off is Gordon Narrier...do you know anything about him. He seem to have a lovely relaxed style that just appeals to me.

The WA clubs comment seems strange , one would think they would go out of their way to help them as a part of their community role.

Champion Data ranked their top 30 draft prospects and had Garner at 22 and Sam Taylor at 24. Would be rapt if we got both.

Some really interesting results there. I was shocked to see Stefan Giro at #25. I remember him having some huge games at SANFL reserves level last year (40+ possession games). I always thought the knock on him was that he doesn't work hard defensively, but the Champion Data write-up says he runs both ways. Kicks goals too! Lots of Brad Hill about him.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...r/news-story/00e7a1da3c307f7d5fb52d2f59177342

Just looking at possible outcomes for the draft by the time our first comes around. I think, with a number of different permutations that the top 14 players are pretty well settled from what I've read. I can't see these guys slipping too far or more to the point, be available by pick 22.

1. Brisbane Lions - Cameron Rayner
2. Fremantle - Luke Davies-Uniacke
3. Carlton - Adam Cerra
4. North Melbourne - Paddy Dow
5. Fremantle - Jarrod Brander
6. Collingwood - Andrew Brayshaw
7. St Kilda - Darcy Fogarty
8. St Kilda - Jaidyn Stephenson
9. Western Bulldogs - Nick Coffield
10. Carlton - Hunter Clark
11. Greater Western Sydney - Aaron Naughton
12. Adelaide - Jack Higgins
13. West Coast - Oscar Allen
14. Sydney - Aiden Bonar

15. Brisbane Lions -
16. Western Bulldogs -
17. Richmond -
18. Brisbane Lions -
19. Gold Coast -

20. Richmond -
21. West Coast -

22. Geelong -

It's this group of 7 selections before our first where the indecision lies. Players still to be taken include Ed Richards, Oscar Allen, Patrick Murphy, Sam Hayes, L.Fogarty, L.O'Brien, N.Balta, Zac Bailey, Matthew Ling, Sam Taylor, Joel Garner, Charlie Constable, Jordan Houlahan, Connor Ballenden and Patrick Naish. That's 15 players with only 7 spots before our first. I reckon you could almost put a line through Richards, Murphy and Allen too - most commentary suggests they will be taken in the top 20 now. So assuming that then there is 12 players now available for 4 spots.

The purpose of this is to demonstrate that we really should have access to some decent players when our first two picks come around. My worst case scenario is that the last 4 spots are taken by Fogarty, Bailey, Taylor and O'Brien. That would leave Hayes, Ling, Constable, Houlahan and Garner. Not terrible as a Constable/Houlahan combination would be ok but not really address a need to inject speed with only Ling with footspeed amongst this group. I think though that this is unlikely. I think at least one of the Fogarty/Bailey/Taylor/O'Brien will fall. It's the Tigers that really determine what we have access to. Do they go tall with Hayes and/or Balta as has been suggested by many? You'd think they'd take at least one tall from their first couple of picks knowing they have Naish locked away.

I dont think Adel will take Higgins not a need they will take a kpd probably naughton/brander or a mid. GWS possible for Higgins i think. Agree with the rest.

I thought Wells comments on our website about he thinks some highly rated talls may slide-i doubt he means mccartin as he is a bolter so maybe he thinks hayes/brander or balta will slide.

Garner is like a left footed Bartel, iiirc. Very good true footballer. If he is less athletically talented than some, so be it, but football wise, he is v good. Was ER captain, and hard as. Hayes at 19 won't come our way unless your predictions about needs favour us.

Wells made an interesting comment in his interview about he thinks some highly rated talls will slide-it wouldn't surprise if he meant hayes as ruck/fwds can be very needs based picks for clubs.

What are your thoughts on Constable if he drops?

Smart player, gets around a lack of speed with good footy brain but i am not sure an inside mid is a big need for us. We would really have to commit to playing say danger forward or duncan wing or guthrie back otherwise no spot for Constable as an inside mid. I would prefer a winger which we need but then again he would be real value in the 20s.

Edit: hadn't seen the 20m time Constable ran today, that may slide him down the order a little.

Wells made an interesting comment in his interview about he thinks some highly rated talls will slide-it wouldn't surprise if he meant hayes as ruck/fwds can be very needs based picks for clubs.

I thought along the same lines. Both Hayes and CCJ would have been potential top 10s at the start of the year. CCJ in particular had a great carnival so I can't see why he's slid in calculations.

I dont think Adel will take Higgins not a need they will take a kpd probably naughton/brander or a mid. GWS possible for Higgins i think. Agree with the rest.

I thought Wells comments on our website about he thinks some highly rated talls may slide-i doubt he means mccartin as he is a bolter so maybe he thinks hayes/brander or balta will slide.

Yeh, the players in the top 14 weremore just to rule them out, not necessarily to link them with a particular team. As I said in the post there would be a number of permentations with that group.

I’m hoping that Wells is liking what he sees of Taylor. Of the talls he’s the one that looks the most solid to me.

Yeh, the players in the top 14 weremore just to rule them out, not necessarily to link them with a particular team. As I said in the post there would be a number of permentations with that group.

I’m hoping that Wells is liking what he sees of Taylor. Of the talls he’s the one that looks the most solid to me.

I like Taylor a lot too. Also, interesting to read in the Champion Data article that Petty had the best winning percentage in a contest. He only lost something like 13% of contests at the champs. I rate him highly.

If we go small with our first two I reckon Petty would be a great get with 35 if available. Like him too.

Hey Boris, old Geelong boy moved to Adelaide a year ago, and liking your comments. I picked Petty for pick 24 for us, as once I saw him play, I thought he was next in line for the backline. I feel he is the value pick here.

Hope you're enjoying SA mate. Yes, I agree that Petty has a lot of value. Criminally underrated I believe.

SA is the place for me - family move over at Xmas and young fella will be running around with either Henley or West Lakes juniors I think - can't wait. I see it was mentioned somewhere today that the Cats had an interest in Lincoln McCarthy's little brother who is at Glenelg. Have you seen him play, or do you know anything about him?

Ok I'll take a stab at it:

22 Future Multi-premiership Captain

24 Future Multi-Carji Winner

35 Future Leigh Matthews Trophy Winner

58 Future Brownlow Recipient

72 2018 Rising Star Winner

The winner!!

Prediction Your Draft Selections