Jun 5, 2008
In amongst it all
Queensland State of Origin
When did you last go to the dentist?

I went in 2007 for the first time in 12 years and had to get 11 fillings.
Went back last week ( 3 years later) and needed another 6.
So much for brushing twice a day, I might have to start flossing now.

Anyone got any stories to tell:

Did you get ripped Off
Wisdom teeth
Root Canal
Teeth that took forever to pull out

Have been to the dentist a few times over the last month.
1st appt - Checkout as I was having a lot of soreness in the jaw, worked out that I had damaged my teeth and given myself a sore jaw due to grinding my teeth while asleep. Also found some areas I needed fillings :mad:
2nd appt: fitted for a splint ($550) :mad:
3rd appt: 4 fillings ($712) Also had to have many needles as the anesthetic (sp?) would not kick in :mad:

My previous checkout was around 18 months previous.

Overall a fair bit of money outlayed, but I guess I would rather that than need false teeth down the track :)

Have been to the dentist a few times over the last month.
1st appt - Checkout as I was having a lot of soreness in the jaw, worked out that I had damaged my teeth and given myself a sore jaw due to grinding my teeth while asleep. Also found some areas I needed fillings :mad:
)

Yeah I do the same thing. But lately have no pain, so assume I'm not doing it anymore, so dont wear the mouth guard I had fitted- which was at my last visit about a year ago + one filling + one teeth cleaning.

All up 3 visits for iirc $600 maybe a bit more.

****ing hate the dentist. And Orthodontists arent much better either. (had braces when I was younger). :thumbsdown:

Yeah I do the same thing. But lately have no pain, so assume I'm not doing it anymore, so dont wear the mouth guard I had fitted- which was at my last visit about a year ago + one filling + one teeth cleaning.

All up 3 visits for iirc $600 maybe a bit more.

****ing hate the dentist. And Orthodontists arent much better either. (had braces when I was younger). :thumbsdown:

My pain has improved and almost gone since I started wearing the splint so I guess it is a success so far. Is yours a full mouth guard or a small splint? Mine only covers my front 2 teeth, but stops me from being able to touch any of my bottom and top teeth together.

Oh that sounds alot better than what I got. Yeah a full mouthguard. (purple lol). Sif I'm going to wear that bloody thing at night.

2 weeks ago. I went in for a check up and turned out I needed a small filling, no anesthetic required which was good.

got a referral for an ortho re: my wisdom teeth and was also informed I'll probably need braces after getting them removed

I'm 22 and managed to go this far without needing braces. why now? but at the same time it's better than having braces as a kid and then finding out I'll need them again

Think I have written about this on here somewhere before but I've been a bit of a regular at the dentist over the last 3 years. Had a pretty bad fall at the end of 2007, knocked out one of my front teeth and snapped two others right at the top.

Never been in so much pain in my life than sitting in that dentist's chair the morning after..

I went about 2 months ago after not going for 10 years.

Needed 3 fillings but dentist otherwise said I had a pretty good mouth of teeth. I was shitting bricks leading up to the first appt though! I figured half of my teeth would have been rooted after not going for 10 years!

Think I have written about this on here somewhere before but I've been a bit of a regular at the dentist over the last 3 years. Had a pretty bad fall at the end of 2007, knocked out one of my front teeth and snapped two others right at the top.

Never been in so much pain in my life than sitting in that dentist's chair the morning after..
Tell us more about this "pretty bad fall"

Our end of exams party in year 11 was on a big property, the family owned a lot of trucks and other machinery. Was a massive turnout and everybody was just crashing there.

At around 1am for some reason I had tongi and look for a mate, I was pretty much ridden off at this stage. I called the guy and after he waved his phone i could see him in the distance. Walked towards him (then started running) and just before I got to him te ground disappeared.

What happened was, that there was an uncovered truck pit in this paddock and I pretty much dived 1.5 meters facefirst into the concrete floor.

I was pretty f'ed up at this stage and the pain wasn't that bad. Even posed for a few toothless photos.

I go annually for a checkup, usually costs about $90 and I get about half back on healthcare. Went a couple of weeks ago because I chipped a tooth playing rugby, was in and out in 20mins and the repair was $100.

I broke a couple of teeth a few years ago whilst skiing in Canada and got a repair job over there. The quality of the dental care was as good as over here. It cost a fortune since I was a furriner, but thankfully it was covered by travel insurance.

Thankfully in neither case did I damage the nerve so I just needed a patch-up job. Both the repairs are excellent - you can only tell if you look quite carefully and you know that they're there.

I've never had braces or anything, but wisdom teeth was the big killer. I have top-level health insurance and I still had to save up for about a year to get them out.

Orthodontist last year.. was ment to go back ages ago but cbf booking another appointment. Wow dentist, had to be in like 4 years ago?

Last time was about 6 months ago. Orthodontist told me to tell the dentist i needed my wisdom teeth out and to refer me to a specialist. Went to dentist who said i had no signs of them coming through yet so there was no need to get them out until they start causing trouble. I didn't really know who to believe but if i went with the ortho it meant i have to get an operation relativly soon so i chose the dentists opinion. But i just got my reminder letter in the mail so looks like another trip soon :(

Didn't go for about 5 years and needed a root canal and a crown, apart from that only have a single filling. You are best to go at least once a year because if something goes wrong it costs heaps.

I'm 22 and managed to go this far without needing braces. why now? but at the same time it's better than having braces as a kid and then finding out I'll need them again

You might be like me in that your teeth look quite fine cosmetically but the bite isn't lined up properly which makes the teeth to wear unevenly and can eventually cause problems. Wish I'd had them as a kid, I'd do it now but don't really feel like looking like a tool for 2-3 years at my age lol.

thats the basic jist I got from my dentists' quick explanation. my wisdom teeth coming in has caused my molars to move and now my bite doesn't line up properly.

I swear this is Karma getting me though. My little brother has had this problem from a young age but couldn't have anything done about it because his jaw hadn't stopped growing. I gave him shit about it for years (it's the only thing I could give him shit about). he only just had the operation a month ago, and after seeing what a bitch his recovery has been I'm told it looks like my teeth are doing a similar thing

a few years, kinda worried because i can see black (very small) on the insides of some of my teeth

should probably go in........ mums gunna crak it lol

I got my braces off a few years ago now, still have to get checkups every 4 months or so- it's literally, walk in, sit down, he puts the plate in, nods, takes the plate out, tells me to keep wearing it once a week. Biggest waste of time ever.

As for regular dentists, last time I went was at the start of the year. While my mum and brother had our regular dentist, I got the new girl and was her very first...patient? I was genuinely scared. Luckily there was nothing wrong.

I've never had braces or anything, but wisdom teeth was the big killer. I have top-level health insurance and I still had to save up for about a year to get them out.

What did it cost you? I've only got basic insurance.

Got to stop being a wimp and get this organised

I go every 6 months for a checkup. When I was 8 one of my upper front teeth pretty much twisted to a 90 degree angle and so the dentist not only pulled that tooth out but the other one too.

Apparently my eye teeth are too pointy and I had the option of getting braces to make them more 'normal' but nahh.:D

I go every 6 months for a checkup. When I was 8 one of my upper front teeth pretty much twisted to a 90 degree angle and so the dentist not only pulled that tooth out but the other one too.

I had to do that too! Also, I had one of my.. canine? one of the sharper ones grew over one that was originally there.. yep... vampire like, it was really sharp as well.

So I was walking around with holes where my front teeth should have been and a double tooth. I was too hawt to handle.

All good now... had braces for 2 years. Although you'd be suprised how quickly teeth move, after I got them off I had to wait a day for my plate to be moulded and one tooth shifted a tiny tiny bit. Bit annoying.

Health Your last trip to the dentist