80​
-​
-​
78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​

Last edited by a moderator:
My main thought is tempo tempo tempo. I find that counting to 3 during the swing helps, start taking the club back on one, pause at top for 2, 3 starts downswing. This helps me notice things like my shoulder and hip positioning too, figuring out if I'm releasing any parts of the swing early/ late or out of order

I am a utter hack and so take this comment with a mountain of salt. Then throw away the salt... and the comment.

But I've really enjoyed how much this idea has worked for me. After years of bad slices and failing to improve I took some time off and then came back with just a couple of things I wanted to try.

Keep the right elbow in, stand closer because I feel like maybe I always stood a little too far away and 'threw' the club at the ball. I like the quote "it is possible to stand too close to the ball, but no one ever does".

But the last one was just focusing on the idea of a pendulum swing, I've tried swinging fast or slow but I think when I've tried to slow down I would pause awkwardly or more often speed up on the downswing. Lately I've literally been saying 'one and two' in my head as I've swung the club and from a very small sample it's been really encouraging how much of a difference its been making. Its probably not good golf and I've lost a few metres but then that was never my problem. I'm not good enough to always be trying to hit a shot out of the rough, under a tree or whatever, a little shorter and on the fairway (the right fairway) will do me for now.

Not endangering nearby traffic off the tee has also been nice.

I am a utter hack and so take this comment with a mountain of salt. Then throw away the salt... and the comment.

But I've really enjoyed how much this idea has worked for me. After years of bad slices and failing to improve I took some time off and then came back with just a couple of things I wanted to try.

Keep the right elbow in, stand closer because I feel like maybe I always stood a little too far away and 'threw' the club at the ball. I like the quote "it is possible to stand too close to the ball, but no one ever does".

But the last one was just focusing on the idea of a pendulum swing, I've tried swinging fast or slow but I think when I've tried to slow down I would pause awkwardly or more often speed up on the downswing. Lately I've literally been saying 'one and two' in my head as I've swung the club and from a very small sample it's been really encouraging how much of a difference its been making. Its probably not good golf and I've lost a few metres but then that was never my problem. I'm not good enough to always be trying to hit a shot out of the rough, under a tree or whatever, a little shorter and on the fairway (the right fairway) will do me for now.

Not endangering nearby traffic off the tee has also been nice.
I love the feeling of the little pause at the top. I have been trying to shallow the club out....If I pause I can do it...If I don't pause, it does not happen. It is such a better feeling when I execute that move.

I've been watching a few videos from the guys at TXG in Canada (great rabbit hole for people interested in golf equipment) and noticed that both Ian and Matt have rather slow backswings with a pause at the top. Might give it a go

Played off the back markers too. All previous scores have been on the social ones.

figure I need to get used to playing where the comps will be played

Played riverside today, first time at the course.

shot 59 on the back 9. Sadly that came after 75 on the front. Was awful at the start but relaxed as the day went on. Reasonably happy I didn’t completely drop my bundle.

Great course though.

We had a group behind us that we felt were pushing us a fair bit and I rushed things. Let them through after the ninth because they’d finally gotten close enough.

Only for them to seemingly play slow as hell, which didn’t seem to the the case when they were behind us. They were also awful off the tee, which made me feel a lot better and resulted in me really getting a hold of a few. The technical issues I spoke about in the other thread weren’t as apparent as I thought they were once I’d got things going smoothly, Reckon a pro would still help me massively on that front

29 points today, no wipes which means a lot of 1s and 2s and not many good holes, but it was consistent.

5 or 6 puts that either stopped on the lip or missed by the tiniest of margins so could of easily been in the mid 30s if things went my way.

Played with a fella who is off scratch, was impressive to watch him in action! Best player I had previously played with was off 8, the gap between them is much larger than I thought it would be!

It's exponential. A guy off 10 might be twice as good as a guy off of 20, but a guy off scratch is about 10x better than the guy off 10.
I agree, watching good players is great fun.

As a player off 7, getting down to scratch seems like an absolute Herculean task compared to getting to 7 from 17.

It’s amazing the difference in scratch players still. I have a mate off scratch that bombs it (seen him hit 330) Amazing skill, But is also susceptible to duffs. He will have equal birdies and bogies. Another mate who just hits it down the middle maybe 250. 4-6 irons in each time, effortless. Doesn’t miss a shot. Mostly pars.

As a player off 7, getting down to scratch seems like an absolute Herculean task compared to getting to 7 from 17.
I'm off the same. I dream of one par round in my life. Best score of 76. 72 feels a million miles away even though it's only 4 shots.

I can see a time where I can shave 10 or so shots off my handicap and be around the 9-10 mark but after watching old mate off scratch I don’t think I’ll ever be getting anywhere near the low single digits!

I'm off the same. I dream of one par round in my life. Best score of 76. 72 feels a million miles away even though it's only 4 shots.
I'd have to get fit again to dream of shooting low 70s

Neither are happening 🤣

Ok so been a while since I posted in here - I think last time I did, i was getting ready for my first ever comp round.
I've played 3 times competitively since, shot 23 points I think the first round, 31 in the second, 27 in the third. So I'm finding my feet, handicap has gone out to 24 but I've learned a heap as literally every playing partner I've had has been off single figures so I'm noticing changes for the better in my game already and my putting has improved out of sight.

In between all that some c*** nicked my clubs. I took them out of the ute and left them in the carport for a few hours while I did some shopping. Sure enough they were gone. I live in a closed off cul de sac, you are only in there if you live there or are visiting someone in there. So I made a flyer and delivered it to every neighbour and begged for my gear back. It is the only real relief I get from a lot of personal issues lately and my one genuine pleasure is taking my youngest out for a hit.

I played one round with a mate's clubs then lo and behold one morning I went to the car and there was my clubs.

They took two brand new gloves and a bottle of pepsi, the d*cks, but at least I've got them back.

Ok so been a while since I posted in here - I think last time I did, i was getting ready for my first ever comp round.
I've played 3 times competitively since, shot 23 points I think the first round, 31 in the second, 27 in the third. So I'm finding my feet, handicap has gone out to 24 but I've learned a heap as literally every playing partner I've had has been off single figures so I'm noticing changes for the better in my game already and my putting has improved out of sight.

In between all that some c*** nicked my clubs. I took them out of the ute and left them in the carport for a few hours while I did some shopping. Sure enough they were gone. I live in a closed off cul de sac, you are only in there if you live there or are visiting someone in there. So I made a flyer and delivered it to every neighbour and begged for my gear back. It is the only real relief I get from a lot of personal issues lately and my one genuine pleasure is taking my youngest out for a hit.

I played one round with a mate's clubs then lo and behold one morning I went to the car and there was my clubs.

They took two brand new gloves and a bottle of pepsi, the d*cks, but at least I've got them back.

Wow so the notes to the neighbours did the trick! Great to hear you got them back mate. Maybe he/she/they just wanted to use them for a round.

Hahahaha being in a one club town, they wouldn’t have been able to risk using them because the guy next to them at the range or club might own them, and likewise they couldn’t sell them on a buy swap and sell page because they’d be caught straight away so they didn’t have much to gain!

i used them on Sunday for a social 9 holes and had 18 points - they felt better than they previously did purely because of the familiarity factor after using a random set of Ping irons borrowed from a mate while I was missing my own.

I hope the opening hole is a par 4
Yep. Best drive i have ever done on the 1st

Although on Sunday i hit driver then 9 iron over the back of a par 5. Had a massive gale behind me though. The previous hole on a par 3 of a 145m i hit a PW over the back of the green when i would normally hit a 7 iron in to it

Yep. Best drive i have ever done on the 1st

Although on Sunday i hit driver then 9 iron over the back of a par 5. Had a massive gale behind me though. The previous hole on a par 3 of a 145m i hit a PW over the back of the green when i would normally hit a 7 iron in to it
What happened from 60 out??!?

Pin near the back but landed it 5 metres too long so went down the hill over the back into the rough, could only chip to the fringe, then overcooked the downhill putt for par and clipped the edge of the hole for the one coming back.
Such an dumb mistake, should have been an easy 4

Golf Your latest Round?