Zantuck to Roos - Harding to Bluebaggers!

Broker

Oct 8, 2001
Inner melbourne
Roos
As reported on SEN, it appears a five way deal is eventuating....it goes like this.......

Lose - Pick 12
Gain - Moloney (from Geelong)

Lose - Ottens and Zantuck
Gain - Pick 9 (From Carlton) Pick 16 (from Geelong)

Lose - Moloney and Pick 16
Gain - Ottens

Kangaroos
Lose - Harding
Gain - Zantuck

Lose - Pick 9
Gain - Harding and Pick 12 (From Melbourne)

Will miss the unpredictable Harding, but hope Zantuck can become an Archer under Glen's watchful eye.
Comments???????? :)

Re: Zantuck to Roos

Broker said:
Will miss the unpredictable Harding, but hope Zantuck can become an Archer under Glenn's watchful eye.
Comments???????? :)

Ty is 188cm while Archie plays tall 182cm...same weight 88-91kg... Ty is 23 next season while Arch...well, 31 doesn't sound too old, but we know how much he's aching.. Much faster version than Teague (if some ppl here thought Teague was in Archie's League) The tempo that JYD will set will trigger Ty to be either a GUN recruit or a time bomb...

For those willing to recall Shane Zantuck's number at North..was it 30 ?

Some are stating that #18 should be given to a defender...well, Ty is perhaps the man... ??

I say #34 seems the right choice...

Re: Zantuck to Roos

Woodson said:
Ty is 188cm while Archie plays tall 182cm...same weight 88-91kg... Ty is 23 next season while Arch...well, 31 doesn't sound too old, but we know how much he's aching.. Much faster version than Teague (if some ppl here thought Teague was in Archie's League) The tempo that JYD will set will trigger Ty to be either a GUN recruit or a time bomb...

For those willing to recall Shane Zantuck's number at North..was it 30 ?

Some are stating that #18 should be given to a defender...well, Ty is perhaps the man... ??

I say #34 seems the right choice...

I would be very happy with that if it eventuates.

Whilst I like Harding, he is/was always going to be on the peripheral so far as selection goes.

I really like Zantuck sans off field issues. Richmond often had him taking the tallest/biggest forward which hopefully would become 3rd biggest at North and allow him to run and create. He is deceptively big also.

I'll be filthy if Leigh straightens his kicking up but i agree with the Roos and not taking another gamble on him. Happy to have Zantuck at Arden St.

Very happy with this. If we were to lose Turtle I was fearful it'd be for someone like Picciaone. Ty has the angry pills in abundance (how was his last game flip out for the Tigers against the Hawks..........very angry young man), has height, won't have to be THE man in defence for us and will therefore be much better with solid support around him. He'll have the added incentive of it being one step closer to footy oblivion if he doesn't really get his act into gear, and he has a strong family connection with the club. Arnie will ensure he keeps on track, with family discussions, and our coaching staff and player unit will also ensure he gets the best out of his undoubted potential.

Pretty good deal IMO.

T'toes

Shinboners said:
HB: Zantuck - Brown - Urch

Make it happen North.
yeh baby - at last a back line to strike fear in the hearts of forwards - go Laids get Zantuck on board he has the royal blue and white pedigree!

Shinboners said:

Make it happen North.

With Arch hovering around and lending support sounds good. Don't suppose Port will give us Choppy back to play in a pocket? ;) Now that would be a dangerous backline. :D

Shinboners said:

Make it happen North.
I don't disagree with that, but are your plans for Sinclair? Is it time for him to go back to a wing? He's one of the better kicks in the team. If we're not going to fully utilise his main strength, then I don't understand his role. If we use him ala Lappin at Brissie giving him a lot of easy kicks to set up our forwards, he would be an asset.

It amazes me that Jeremy Clayton's name comes up in a discussion about Ty Zantuck :confused: .

Anyway, good on Dean and the boys for bolstering our somewhat embarrassing (at times) backline before Arch and Colby kill themselves playing in a manner that can only be described as reckless, even for those two great players. If only Shannon Watt had a little bit of their bravery and desperation.

By "bolstering" the backline I mean Brown playing permanent CHB, with Colby and Watt sharing the other talls and Zantuck and Arch mopping up. Sounds good to me, especially when you add in names like Urch, JW Smith, Makey and Sinclair.

John Baird where are you??

Getting Zantuck seems like a sensible idea, however I year on and one of the reasons we didn't pick up Davey is now being traded.

Hope Harding doesn't do a Teague and play his pants off for the Blues.

Just on SEN the Harding/Zantuck part of the deal seems to be off. Looking at it as a separate deal now it seems. Another twist in the saga.

Shagga#6 said:
Getting Zantuck seems like a sensible idea, however I year on and one of the reasons we didn't pick up Davey is now being traded.

Hope Harding doesn't do a Teague and play his pants off for the Blues.

Shagga, not drafting Davey is probably one of the worst recruiting mistakes the club has ever made. Not only is he an excitement machine, but he's a great mate of Wellsy and Motters. But we must move on and do our best to build the best possible team (without Davey for now).

As far as Harding is concerned I hope he does really well, except against us.

Dr Who said:
Just on SEN the Harding/Zantuck part of the deal seems to be off. Looking at it as a separate deal now it seems. Another twist in the saga.

So maybe a seperate deal between Richmond and Kangas??

Or: Trotter Brown JW. Smith

Cal will have slot onto a wing.

Dammit........... ;)

Zantuck to Roos - Harding to Bluebaggers!