Most Embarassing Drought Going into 2025 - Premiership (St Kilda, 1966), Finals Win (Essendon, 2004) or Finals Appearance (Gold Coast, Never)?

St Kilda have been unlucky but it's sorta part of their cultural schtick. Essendon have been embarrassing (and proper sycophants/victims) hard not to enjoy. GCFC, well who really cares apart from their fans?

What doesn’t Freo have to do with this thread?
Why not?

People bag out Essendon not winning finals for 20 seasons.

Well I will ask you this.... How many finals did South Melbourne or Sydney swans won between 1946 to 1995?

I was shocked to see the answer.

Give you a clue, it's the same amount of finals hawks won between 1925 to 1954.

I don't think Gold Coast should be on the list because a drought implies that there was rain before. They haven't built it yet so the building can't be considered crumbled.

Saints have had a few cracks and it's definitely embarrassing but they were a great team for a while and that was more recent than anything Essendon is rocking up with.

For me it's Essendon. To win a final you only have to be in the top 3rd of the comp.

But all things come to an end and so will the dons drought

Why not?

People bag out Essendon not winning finals for 20 seasons.

Well I will ask you this.... How many finals did South Melbourne or Sydney swans won between 1946 to 1995?

I was shocked to see the answer.

Give you a clue, it's the same amount of finals hawks won between 1925 to 1954.
That you would even mention the set up of clubs in the 1920s in comparison to Freo who joined in the AFL era is actually amazing.

Well you hawks fans always talk about winning at least one flag per decade since the 1960s. That is nice to hear.

Not all teams can do that.

So did the hawks won one flag in each decade in the 1920s, 1930s , 1940s and 1950s?

Well you hawks fans always talk about winning at least one flag per decade since the 1960s. That is nice to hear.

Not all teams can do that.

So did the hawks won one flag in each decade in the 1920s, 1930s , 1940s and 1950s?
Nice try at deflecting.

Fremantle have been in the comp for almost 30 years, at a time when the AFL were all in on making flags attainable to all clubs in the comp.

Nice try at deflecting.

Fremantle have been in the comp for almost 30 years, at a time when the AFL were all in on making flags attainable to all clubs in the comp.
Not trying to deflect. I am calling it as it is.

It doesn't mean squat if you don't have good luck and if the club is poorly run.

When did you follow hawthorn? Was it before their 1st flag in 1961?

Not trying to deflect. I am calling it as it is.

It doesn't mean squat if you don't have good luck and if the club is poorly run.

When did you follow hawthorn? Was it before their 1st flag in 1961?
Jennifer Lawrence Reaction GIF

So when the hawks, dogs and North came into comp in 1925, what were their concessions?

North Melbourne got screwed. Now I know why they hated Essendon.

North Melbourne had a semi decent recruiting zone. North wanted to join the VFL in 1925, but had to give up their recruiting zone to Essendon of all teams.

Essendon won back to back flags in 1923 and 1924.

Slightly off topic but when I was a kid in the 80s the big one was Collingwood (ultimately 32 years, from 1958-1990).

Now I wouldn’t say it was an embarrassing drought, it was actually a storied one with multiple GF losses including especially famous ones in 1966, 1970, 1977 and 1979 and 4 in 5 years between 77 and 81. It led to the famous ‘Collywobbles’ moniker, iconic moments and to be honest a pretty strong respect (alongside a healthy pre-existing hate) for the mob from Victoria Park.

Says a Carlton fan whose club is slowly climbing out of decades of mediocrity after being caught flagrantly cheating the salary cap (dobbed in by their own player no less), and who are racking up spoons at a rate of knots, lol...
Don't you worry the Saints proud record of having more spoons than any other club, will be safe for a good while yet i reckon!:laughv1:

Not all teams can do that
In Freo’s case, they can’t even win one flag every 3 decades!

Carlton are way more embarrassing than the Saints. For almost my entire lifetime watching football they've been absolute dogshit despite the huge advantages of being a big club.

Haven't done anything aside from 95 when they were clearly cheating the salary cap. The only thing they have is ancient history, which counts for nothing.
Meh the ramblings of a Melbourne fan bitter about us poaching Barassi from you in 1964, not to mention that 2023 semi final as well.:D

Fair enough you won the flag in 2021 but there is a certain irony about a Melbourne fan claiming that all a club has is ancient history.:laughv1:

So when the hawks, dogs and North came into comp in 1925, what were their concessions?

North Melbourne got screwed. Now I know why they hated Essendon.

North Melbourne had a semi decent recruiting zone. North wanted to join the VFL in 1925, but had to give up their recruiting zone to Essendon of all teams.

Essendon won back to back flags in 1923 and 1924.
What the hell does any of this have to do with Freo?

Correct. In contrast to Carlton supporters, you'll find that most Saints and Freo supporters are good people. We appreciate that there are aspects of supporting your team that matter just as much as winning.
Some people would say that your clubs lack of success since 1966 is a more than appropriate and fitting punishment from the gods.:laughv1:

Bombers lead the way for sure. It's not even funny anymore, hurry up and win one lol.

Saints..... everyone would love to see them win but doubt many believe they ever will. Those fans really shouldnt of ran on the field in 2004!

Freo. They let WA down first & then the league. Any neautral that decides to cheer for them gets dissapointed (but not surprised) every time too.

Carlton. Surely your gonna have a crack at it this year yea? Glad they got rid of Fev (cas they shouldnt of, that bloke was heart & soul) because it ment Juddy won nothing with them.

Gold Coast dont count.

Cheering for a Power v Freo GF this year, traditional football states, no vic teams. Odds are slim.

I take the point but it's easy to have a bad fortnight, and very hard to have a great season.

I feel the 2018 Tigers were the strongest Dimma line-up, but some diarrhoea scotched the dream and we got a 2v4 GF (and you could make the case WCE were more like 4th and we were 5th in terms of quality).

Not common but it happens.

Dan26 took it too far in 1999 with his McLellamd rant, but it was based on a fair notion. Doesn't diminish Carlton's PF win to say they got up and knocked off a far better side, it's still glorious.
I dont see how West Coast were more like 4th that year my friend. Won 10 in a row after round 1, had a 3 game down patch with the forward line pillars out, lost Naitanui who was smashing it on return not long after. Put Richmond on their arse that year too.

I think Natanui out made you worse? Also a bunch of injuries at the end also hurt you surely.

I think the Tigers were way better than both of us and I felt the next 4 were roughly equal but we got some nice luck to finish as high as we did.

I think Natanui out made you worse? Also a bunch of injuries at the end also hurt you surely.

I think the Tigers were way better than both of us and I felt the next 4 were roughly equal but we got some nice luck to finish as high as we did.
Tigers only won one away game, v Suns, & copped a hiding from West Coast. Lost to Adelaide, Port, GWS away too.

I wrote this in another thread. Naitanui in the side in 2017, 18 & 19, Eagles easily hold their own v the Tigers, MCG included.

No one can truely down play the Eagles in 2018. That years footy folklaw for a long time.

What the hell does any of this have to do with Freo?
Well what the hell does Freo have to do with this thread?

It's about saints, Essendon and suns!

Again , what was the hawks concessions when they entered the VFL in 1925? What was the Centrelink benefits did the hawks get to be competitive?

Most Embarassing Drought Going into 2025 - Premiership (St Kilda, 1966), Finals Win (Essendon, 2004) or Finals Appearance (Gold Coast, Never)?

Write your reply...