Most Embarassing Drought Going into 2025 - Premiership (St Kilda, 1966), Finals Win (Essendon, 2004) or Finals Appearance (Gold Coast, Never)?

It has to be essendon because they are a big 4 club with all the resources that provides and the expectation from their fans.

this has not been helped when you compare them to the other big 4 clubs who have all turned around their fortunes especially richmond and carlton who were even worse than essendon have been but have now turned it around to either flags or deep finals runs in recent years.
To be fair with Essendon, I think they just have been unlucky with certain things such as drafting , trading, development of players.

You can't fault them in choosing coaches. Mark Bomber Thompson coached Essendon after 2 Flags as cats coach. Worsfold became Essendon coach after guiding the eagles to a flag in 2006.

Brad Scott didn't become a Premiership coach at North Melbourne. But he made full use of North Melbourne and their playing list.

He squeezed every drop out of that side when he coached them from 2010 until mid 2019.

Finals in 2012, then again in 2014-6. He got 4 finals wins as a North Melbourne coach. Not a bad effort with a side with small (financial) resources.

So Essendon can lure experienced coaches.

Had Essendon won that 2014 Elim final vs North, I think it would of lessen the blow a lot.

I hate to bring up the dockers again. I did savour that 2022 Elim finals win. That was massive lookin' back at it now. A massive win in a psychological way too.

Had Freo not won that 2022 Elim final, dockers would still be searching that last finals win from 2015. It's 2025 now.

I think the saints spoon count slowed down since 1990.
That four peat spoon dynasty they achieved in the 80's was very impressive.:D

You take the rough with the smooth that's what footy is all about, but a lot of Carlton fans have seen their team achieve the sort of success that St Kilda fans will most likely never experience in as much as another sixty years.

It's better to be a has-been than a never-been after all. One finals appearance since 2011 ain't that impressive either.

I'm not gonna say 'it's embarrassing' this and that but I do think it's pretty wild that we got almost 21 year old Essendon fans who've never seen their side win a final.

And for all the concessions Gold Coast got with everything over their formative years it's pretty bad they've never come anywhere even close to making the finals besides that one year they were steaming ahead and then Gaz busted his shoulder and they fell off a cliff.

....[snip]

Cheering for a Power v Freo GF this year, traditional football states, no vic teams. Odds are slim.
Be good for footy , but the league is stacked against small clubs and #VICBIAS is real.

Fair line up, all tge droughters have cultural issues except Freo, who are just too nice (maybe that's a cultural issue?).

Essendon wrecked by Bomber Thompson, Carlton wrecked by cheating, St Kilda mire interested in the after party.
Tigers only won one away game, v Suns, & copped a hiding from West Coast. Lost to Adelaide, Port, GWS away too.

I wrote this in another thread. Naitanui in the side in 2017, 18 & 19, Eagles easily hold their own v the Tigers, MCG included.

No one can truely down play the Eagles in 2018. That years footy folklaw for a long time.
NicNat in my trio of favourite Eagles along with McKenna and the Frenchman. I was there for the Docklands 12 goal game, took my nephew.

Young Natanui kept running from pack to pack flattening everyone, taking the ball easily, butchering it then flattening the next pack. Like a man among boys, it was ridiculous how physically superior he was.

It's a big if, "if Natanui stopped being injury prone".

I see your point, but whether you judge it from round 1 or round 22 Richmond was a level above the rest in 2018.

We copied their style and troubled you on GF day: frankly even with Natanui out you were as far above us as the Tigers were above you. I feel if we take the flu out of Richmond they beat you by 5 goals.

2018 was a fine flag for your mob. You have flags actually pinched off you: 91 you were awesome, Hawks turned back the clock and bashed you, and 05 was just disgraceful the way the league handed Sydney the win.

Anyway apologies, I'm way off topic.

Gold Coast never making finals is becoming a blight on the game, not just embarrassing. The franchise has been given everything to succeed but remains a failure on the sport.

Winning a flag isn't easy, no shame on the Saints who have come very close in the previous decades. Essendon drug saga a massive reason their finals drought has been prolonged, will win a final before 2030.

Some people would say that your clubs lack of success since 1966 is a more than appropriate and fitting punishment from the gods.:laughv1:

Before casting stones about our premiership drought, maybe address the chaos and disgrace that's been festering in your own backyard.

Are you even old enough to remember Carlton's last premiership?

Gold Coast never making finals is becoming a blight on the game, not just embarrassing. The franchise has been given everything to succeed but remains a failure on the sport.

Winning a flag isn't easy, no shame on the Saints who have come very close in the previous decades. Essendon drug saga a massive reason their finals drought has been prolonged, will win a final before 2030.

The period from 2004 to 2010 we should have won something given the talent we had on our list over that period.

Only Geelong won more games than us over those 6 years

Adelaide.. 1998
Blew it in 2005/06
shat the bed in 2017.

We should have at least 4 premierships. I worry that i will never see another one.
TRue.

Since 97 & 98 Adelaide have been ..... underwhelming. Sure, they made finals 12 of the next 19 seasons, finished top a couple of times, but only made 1 grand final. and since 2017, they've been downright awful.

As the biggest team in a 2-team town you'd expect them to be one of the premier teams in the comp.

Be good for footy , but the league is stacked against small clubs and #VICBIAS is real.

Fair line up, all tge droughters have cultural issues except Freo, who are just too nice (maybe that's a cultural issue?).

Essendon wrecked by Bomber Thompson, Carlton wrecked by cheating, St Kilda mire interested in the after party.

NicNat in my trio of favourite Eagles along with McKenna and the Frenchman. I was there for the Docklands 12 goal game, took my nephew.

Young Natanui kept running from pack to pack flattening everyone, taking the ball easily, butchering it then flattening the next pack. Like a man among boys, it was ridiculous how physically superior he was.

It's a big if, "if Natanui stopped being injury prone".

I see your point, but whether you judge it from round 1 or round 22 Richmond was a level above the rest in 2018.

We copied their style and troubled you on GF day: frankly even with Natanui out you were as far above us as the Tigers were above you. I feel if we take the flu out of Richmond they beat you by 5 goals.

2018 was a fine flag for your mob. You have flags actually pinched off you: 91 you were awesome, Hawks turned back the clock and bashed you, and 05 was just disgraceful the way the league handed Sydney the win.

Anyway apologies, I'm way off topic.
I just disagree with the opinion because in 2017 & 2019 the Tigers barely beat us at the MCG without Naitanui & in 2018 we put them on their arse.

2 games above on the ladder end of H & A with only winning 1 away game v GC without Ablett, just doesnt seem tha far ahead to me.

Tigers were a innovative side, changed the flow of football to a schoolyard running all over the place game. WC did pretty well to take it up to em so well with the traditional method without Naitanui

You take the rough with the smooth that's what footy is all about, but a lot of Carlton fans have seen their team achieve the sort of success that St Kilda fans will most likely never experience in as much as another sixty years.

It's better to be a has-been than a never-been after all. One finals appearance since 2011 ain't that impressive either.
I think 5 wooden spoons this century is a lot more impressive, since there are even more teams and the league has been designed to be more equal. Seems like you lot have struggled without being able to buy premierships.

It is 2 finals appearances actually. But yeah, a long way off Carlton's 3...

Based on talent, that Saints team during 2004-10 should have won at least one flag... two if I am being greedy.

The 2009 season was one of the most dominate seasons you will ever see from a team. A 19-game winning streak to start the year (gave out many thrashings), only to lose the first game of the year after missing a kick on the siren.

Just need to look at the stats. We should have created a nice margin in the second quarter against an all-time great Cats side. Dominated inside 50s and scoring opportunities, but wasted them in a wet, windy day. Dry day and we probably win.

While it's hard to talk about 'what ifs' as a Saints supporter, due to our history. However, since the professional era (AFL), the club has far from embarrassed itself. Has played off in four gfs*, multiple finals series and has only won two spoons.

In my opinion, powerhouse club, Carlton, winning five spoons in this current era is more embarrassing. Most of the Saints' 27 spoons either came during the early years or the 1980s.

Based on talent, that Saints team during 2004-10 should have won at least one flag... two if I am being greedy.

The 2009 season was one of the most dominate seasons you will ever see from a team. A 19-game winning streak to start the year (gave out many thrashings), only to lose the first game of the year after missing a kick on the siren.

Just need to look at the stats. We should have created a nice margin in the second quarter against an all-time great Cats side. Dominated inside 50s and scoring opportunities, but wasted them in a wet, windy day. Dry day and we probably win.

While it's hard to talk about 'what ifs' as a Saints supporter, due to our history. However, since the professional era (AFL), the club has far from embarrassed itself. Has played off in four gfs*, multiple finals series and has only won two spoons.

In my opinion, powerhouse club, Carlton, winning five spoons in this current era is more embarrassing. Most of the Saints' 27 spoons either came during the early years or the 1980s.
If only Cuzzy could of pulled his bizz together long enough for you guys to pick him up. He would of been the difference for the Sainters I believe.

To be fair with Essendon, I think they just have been unlucky with certain things such as drafting , trading, development of players.

You can't fault them in choosing coaches. Mark Bomber Thompson coached Essendon after 2 Flags as cats coach. Worsfold became Essendon coach after guiding the eagles to a flag in 2006.

Brad Scott didn't become a Premiership coach at North Melbourne. But he made full use of North Melbourne and their playing list.

He squeezed every drop out of that side when he coached them from 2010 until mid 2019.

Finals in 2012, then again in 2014-6. He got 4 finals wins as a North Melbourne coach. Not a bad effort with a side with small (financial) resources.

So Essendon can lure experienced coaches.

Had Essendon won that 2014 Elim final vs North, I think it would of lessen the blow a lot.

I hate to bring up the dockers again. I did savour that 2022 Elim finals win. That was massive lookin' back at it now. A massive win in a psychological way too.

Had Freo not won that 2022 Elim final, dockers would still be searching that last finals win from 2015. It's 2025 now.

there's being unlucky........

and then there's just being shit........

We consistently as a club make bad decisions and rarely make any good ones. For every step we take forward, we take 2 backwards.

Not trying to deflect. I am calling it as it is.

It doesn't mean squat if you don't have good luck and if the club is poorly run.

When did you follow hawthorn? Was it before their 1st flag in 1961?

In order to deflect, Hawthorn not winning a premiership so far this decade, is almost embarrassing, still 5 years left for us to get our 2020,a cup though…

Hawthorn players celebrating another premiership is more likely than Essendon winning a final, which would be pretty embarrassing.

Yeah because west coast was embarrassing in the 2022 and 2023 seasons.
What team hasn't had a purple patch like that? It's not unique to West Coast. The difference is, West Coast has 4 premiership and Freo have 0. Not even that I dislike Freo, it's just the reality their record isn't good. They could always have a Richmond style turn around with 3 quick premierships, but that remains to be seen.
Also your hatred of Ken Hinkley is cringe worthy. You must me a closet Port fan
I must be a closet Essendon fan, too, because I rate Brad Scott as bad as Ken Hinkley, both have almost equally underperformed.

Took Hawthorn 33 seasons to get their first finals appearance in a 12 team comp, they're the best team by a mile these past 60 plus years. St Kilda have had 128 seasons and only won 1 premiership by 1 point compared to The Gold Coast's 14 seasons...

of those mentioned it has to be Essendon’s twenty years winless in finals, given the fall from grace, a real gift to long suffering oppo supporters, a resentment that the Saints, Freo & Suns don’t contend with.

Melbourne & Richmond failing to appear in the same finals series in 1942-2017 was iconic. So many near misses and alternating spells in the wilderness. Embarrassing for both clubs.

The thing is, every league around the world has these stories in some capacity. We do like to make out that the Saints are some sort of outlier - and they are in an AFL sense - but relative to world sport they aren’t.

In the NFL there’s 12 teams that haven’t won a Super Bowl and it’s been going for what, nearly 60 years, and of those 12 teams I think there are only 2 that won titles before the Super Bowl existed. Yes NFL and its teams haven’t been around as long as the AFL/VFL but you get the idea.

There’s 10 teams that haven’t won an NBA title.

Still 5 MLB teams that haven’t won a World Series and 3 of them have been around for 50-ish or more years.

The Indians/Guardians have been around for 130 years and won twice, nothing for a 80 years nearly aside from one and a half decent movies

Obviously there’s a tonne of storied English soccer sides who’ve never won a top tier title though most have won some sort of trophy. I would assume the continental leagues are fairly similar.

The NRL had the Sharks as its running joke for half a century before they finally won and it wouldn’t surprise me if it was that long again.
yeah but how many of them have dwarf scandals

There's been bad luck, but it's almost invariably been a product of our own making. It's a worldwide phenomena in sports that teams take a very long time to get their shit together after getting rid of a very-long term coach. Sheedy was at the Bombers for nearly 30 years, then we couldn't even stay away from him for 10 years before he was back at the club in some capacity. Basically every decision the club has made since then has been either arrogant or shortsighted.
Then out of a desperation to be the best again we got the supplements saga. That alone was gonna take a generation to bounce back from.

And on Scott, honestly I think he's doing the same at the Bombers now. We've finished 11th two years in a row and imo that's overachieving with the list we've got. He's the right guy but he's got the toughest job in the country. The list is in a weird spot that will probably take another 5 years to rejig, and no doubt there will be a board spill and coach sacking without success in that period.

GC, North and STK will all go past Essendon in the next few years. We're more in line with Richmond and WCE, and probably even a worse off cos we haven't bottomed out or had the draft hands they've had.

What was the 4 peat spoon era of the saints? From 1983 to 1986?

Your English club Everton from 1983 to 87 in the old 1st division was good. Won the league twice In 1985 and 1987. Sad that they never had the chance to test themselves in Europe.

Fortunately for Saints fans, they haven't had a repeat of 4 years in a row of bottom 2.

North has had 5 years in a row of bottom 2 from 2020 to 2024.

Saints haven't been too crash hot after the 2010 grand final.

Elim final in 2011. Then a tough rebuild from 2012 to 2019. Sadly that isn't gonna be a one off.

With 8 finals spots and 18 teams, possibly 19 with Tassie coming in, it's gonna be common for teams to spend 5 or 6 years in a row of not making finals as a rebuild.

Saints made finals in 2020. Fortunately for them, they won that Elim final vs the dogs. Then a 2 year wait then finals in 2023.

I expect saints to contend for a finals spot again.

St. Kilda are clear winners in this area.

One premiership for their entire history which they secured by the smallest possible margin courtesy of a Barry Breen point thanks to a shite handball from Collingwood player Ted Potter.

The photos of their premiership captain Doc Baldock holding the cup has him wearing a Pies jumper.

The next closest they got to saluting was a draw in the 2010 GF but they got totally pantsed in the replay the week after.

When you add in some off-field scandals (dwarves, schoolgirls etc), they clearly are an embarrassment all round.
better than being cheats like your club.

Saints by far the worst. Club culcha is dogshit the president is an idiot and they are the biggest whingers in the comp despite their consistent club failings. Can't believe they thought Ross Lyon was going to bring them finals success in the mid-late 2020s lmao.

Ross DGAF and their list is toast, only flogs more embarrassing are Essendon because they don't have the deep levels of shame Saints fains do
Bassett founded seek you halfwit. Will enjoy watching your nursing home team fall apart as the cracks in your coaches fake nice guy facade widen.

Most Embarassing Drought Going into 2025 - Premiership (St Kilda, 1966), Finals Win (Essendon, 2004) or Finals Appearance (Gold Coast, Never)?

Write your reply...