Speculation Harley Reid [OOC 2026]

Why would allen go to bombers over brissy, hawks or pies? Unless you are paying over a million dollars a year which I doubt we would
Essendon have been pretty competitive while fielding one of the youngest best 22s in the competition,
I honestly could not care less, whatever happens, happens. If he stays, great. If not, we will get fair compensation, move on.

I just always find the humour in the contradictions of people demanding sources for one claim, then on the other hand spread further rumours without any solid sources.

At the end of the day, we haven't heard anything out of the Harley Reid camp. All this innuendo and speculation based on nothing except "well he's from Victoria soooo....."
Around this time last season barass said he was staying. So you will unlikely hear from the Reid camp until he’s requesting out or resigning on.

This is our 4th year of being shit

If the AFL wants to give priority picks to Richmond(they do) then theyll have to give the Eagles something big, in order to hide the favouritism for their big Vic club when they hand out the first 4 picks of the draft to Richmond next year
Richmond also wont get anything

At this point money is the only thing Essendon has to offer.

They have 2.5 M to spend. 6/7.5M is a pretty appealing amount of money
Fair enough, if he wants to go full mercenary I wouldn’t blame him, he’s got that degenerative knee and money talks

Essendon have been pretty competitive while fielding one of the youngest best 22s in the competition,

Around this time last season barass said he was staying. So you will unlikely hear from the Reid camp until he’s requesting out or resigning on.
Not entirely true, Barrass left the door open saying something like "unless the rug is pulled out from under me" which he obviously foresaw on the horizon.

If the AFL wants to give priority picks to Richmond(they do) then theyll have to give the Eagles something big, in order to hide the favouritism for their big Vic club when they hand out the first 4 picks of the draft to Richmond next year

Why do you think Richmond will get anything? There is no chance, and we wouldn't even ask. We will have picks 1 and 4 or something like that this year anyway, then another top 3 pick next year. That's more than enough before the Tassie drafts.

Just an assumption.
The AFL for a not for profit organisation loves to make money more than anything else(its not close), and having the big vic clubs going well is great for making money
They wont want Richmond to stay down the ladder for too long, Tassy coming in soon sucking up so many picks might force the AFLs hand.

All it would take is a couple of Richmonds picks last year to not work out and the rebuild extends another year or 2, could easily happen(id argue its likely)

Just an assumption.
The AFL for a not for profit organisation loves to make money more than anything else(its not close), and having the big vic clubs going well is great for making money
They wont want Richmond to stay down the ladder for too long, Tassy coming in soon sucking up so many picks might force the AFLs hand.

All it would take is a couple of Richmonds picks last year to not work out and the rebuild extends another year or 2, could easily happen(id argue its likely)
I would be happy to bet you anything you like Richmond wont get any PP picks in the next 4 years
We wont ask for 1 either

I would be happy to bet you anything you like Richmond wont get any PP picks in the next 4 years
We wont ask for 1 either
Why do you always jump to bets?
Who tf in their right mind is betting some random about something we all have no idea about?

I never claimed it was going to happen...

Why do you always jump to bets?
Who tf in their right mind is betting some random about something we all have no idea about?

I never claimed it was going to happen...

Because im happy to back my opinion with skin in the game and not just blurt rubbish with no ramifications like some here

" If the AFL wants to give ??

The only time the AFL wants to give anything is when its an expansion club not Richmond mate
We lost Brandon Ellis on a 5 year $600k FA deal whilst other teams were getting band 2 we get pick 40 or something as useless as that.

Because im happy to back my opinion with skin in the game and not just blurt rubbish with no ramifications like some here
??
This is a forum full of nuffies, including yourself, and you want to bet on these takes?
You blurt out plenty of rubbish yourself champ

Geez getting close to putting you back on the ignore list

??
This is a forum full of nuffies, including yourself, and you want to bet on these takes?
You blurt out plenty of rubbish yourself champ

Geez getting close to putting you back on the ignore list
Please do as the rubbish you post will always get quoted
Just need to look back at your claims during trade period where i constantly posted you were deluded as you are with your 4 1st rounders for Reid.

Fair enough, if he wants to go full mercenary I wouldn’t blame him, he’s got that degenerative knee and money talks

Honestly I hope it’s not history repeating itself with the Saad/Stringer off-season but if Essendon could get 1 good Free Agent this offseason they’d then have a good amount of trade assets to bring in 2 more star level guys

I could see how Essendons list management team could think that adding 3 stars to the group would make things easier for everyone else and raise the teams ceiling hopefully into that of a finals win.

Especially if these players are younger and can be part of a 5-10 year window

You will be lucky to get a pick in the 1st 30.

Who says Harley wants to leave the Eagles?

I've heard those rumours but I've not heard any concrete evidence from a reliable source that Harley has ever said he wants to move back to Victoria.
He is not going to publicly say he wants a trade at round 2.
all this would be going through his manager & there is enough chatter to say that they are talking to Victorian clubs.

I was sure the Bolton to Fremantle rumors were BS last year when news broke mid-year but it seemed his management & Fremantle were talking all year. we only knew for real he was leaving when Richmond released a statement after his exit interview requesting a trade.

but the talk was he wanted out like the talk is now about Reid wanting to go home it might not be true but I would be reading between the lines at this stage.

Another reason players/managers would be talking to clubs right now is they have to know they can get the deal done.
Harley Reid for instance is not going nominate Collingwood because don't have anything.

Essendon, Hawthorn would be the favorites in my opinion, Do Geelong have draft picks? no idea, I don't know what every club have, if they do have the draft picks to get the deal done then for sure they would be an option.

Then we have my club Richmond, I am not even sure we should be targeting a player like Reid but he is young enough where he 100% would be part of the next push, we haven't really been mentioned in the media as being linked to Harley Reid that doesn't mean that we might not have been talking to Reid's management, I believe if Reid wanted to come to Richmond & we wanted him we could definitely get the deal done, we have our first round pick + norths first as a starting point. a lot will depend on how we go this season.

Nobody believed Barrass though, as he'd shopped himself to Sydney twice in the previous 2 seasons already.

Another reason players/managers would be talking to clubs right now is they have to know they can get the deal done.
Harley Reid for instance is not going nominate Collingwood because don't have anything.

Essendon, Hawthorn would be the favorites in my opinion, Do Geelong have draft picks? no idea, I don't know what every club have, if they do have the draft picks to get the deal done then for sure they would be an option.
You mention that the Pies cant get it done, how exactly do the Hawks get it done? lol
Theyd need the Blues to finish bottom 2 or something to even start a conversation

Then we have my club Richmond, I am not even sure we should be targeting a player like Reid but he is young enough where he 100% would be part of the next push, we haven't really been mentioned in the media as being linked to Harley Reid that doesn't mean that we might not have been talking to Reid's management, I believe if Reid wanted to come to Richmond & we wanted him we could definitely get the deal done, we have our first round pick + norths first as a starting point. a lot will depend on how we go this season.

Nobody believed Barrass though, as he'd shopped himself to Sydney twice in the previous 2 seasons already.

Barrass is 30 this year and was playing in a bottom 3 side. He was contracted until the end of 2027 and reportedly wanted an extension beyond that which WC were no longer prepared to offer. Don't begrudge him going nor the club trading away a top 10 player for some future assets given how shit we are. If we previously said we would extend his deal and didn't that is poor form but also would have been a poor list management decision if we did.

Reid is turning 20 in a couple of weeks and is just starting year two of his first contract. As a highly sought after pick 1 from Victoria 10 clubs will be lining up to try and lure him across at the first opportunity. He's made no commitments to WC and nor is he required to after 20 games. We picked him, he didn't pick us. There was the same narrative about Chris Judd except we were better sooner when he was at the club and the footy media wasn't quite as bad as it is now in the early 2000s. Judd only ever signed 2 x 2 year extensions with WC from memory. LeBron James level commitment.

I just hope there are some voices of reason at the club telling him to ignore all the bullshit and focus on footy. There is absolutely nothing wrong with Reid waiting until the end of this season or next to re-sign with WC, and if he wants to request a trade that obviously can't happen mid season. Likewise there is no requirement to sign some 10 year $20m contract at 19 years old. If he wants to sign a 2 or 3 year extension or 5 years to run through to free agency then great.

If its going to cost them 3 first rounders no way should they take him. Maybe next year if they finish last they can walk him to the PSD.
If the two firsts they hold this year are low enough it'll probably be enough. Top 5 pick (Essendon) and top 10 (Melbourne).

Speculation Harley Reid [OOC 2026]

Write your reply...