Preview 2025 AFL Season - Round 3: St Kilda v Richmond (Saturday March 29, 4.15pm - Marvel Stadium)

Ideal set up would be 7 forwards,7 Backs, 9 mids of those mids 1 must be able to play back & 1 forward for coverage.

Unless King can ruck we need Keeler to keep playing with King,Keeler,Sharman & Owens as our tallish players & Higgo,Butler & maybe Collard as the smalls not to top heavy as Sharman & Owens are mobile mid talls.

We went in last week with four genuine talls (Wilkie, Caminti, Keeler, Marshall), with Owens, Wood and Nas moving up to play as tall at times.

I think that is obviously one too few. On Saturday for periods we had either Keeler or Marshall on the bench for their rest and no real get out target forward. And it cost us a little as Henry took intercept mark after intercept mark. So we need to add a tall at least so there is always at least one forward (ideally I would have two but I understand we are undermanned).

It’s weird. It’s a fairly even comp this year where just about anyone can win on the day yet we seem to be getting more floggings than usual on a weekly basis. The weird thing is those teams that have been flogged can turn around and win the following week.

I’m curious on what people think our best forward structure is with our current game plan?

I love Keeler and Sharman, but I can see a world where king and Owans as the talls with wood resting forward is the best structure. 4 smalls applying pressure.

For those at the game, was wood playing as a genuine tall, or hhf?
FF: Higgins Sharman Butler
HF: Owens King Henry

With Hill, Wood, Wilson, Phillipou types rotating throughout the game

I’ll raise a glass for Maddie on Saturday night. Maddies game had good momentum early in the piece but was always gonna fizzle out when Nick and Jack finished up.
Maybe we should reserve the purple strip for future one off special games?

It’s weird. It’s a fairly even comp this year where just about anyone can win on the day yet we seem to be getting more floggings than usual on a weekly basis. The weird thing is those teams that have been flogged can turn around and win the following week.
Early season can be like that. New players, new coaches, new systems. Rustiness.

But I think the talent will be spread even more thinly when Tassie come in, with teams depending more on rookies, and barely-there types. They'll probably stuff up one week, fix those things the next week, then forget to do them again etc. With injuries, we're probably seeing a bit of that now.

Add to that players getting rubbed out week to week for making contact with opposition players, or getting concussed themselves. It might be getting pretty hard to field a consistent team.

I’ll raise a glass for Maddie on Saturday night. Maddies game had good momentum early in the piece but was always gonna fizzle out when Nick and Jack finished up.
Maybe we should reserve the purple strip for future one off special games?

I think COVID and Nick not only retiring but leaving the country for a while didn't help, but it also hamstrings the AFL on fixture (a St Kilda home game v Richmond). I think the club wants to make Spud's Game the one off special game now, which can be against any big Melbourne club at the MCG.

Am I the only one who actually thinks Brynes is pretty good?

His kicking is very underrated, for one. It might’ve been lacking earlier in his career, and yeah, he doesn't have much penetration — but he seems to make smart well executed decisions with those 45-degree kicks out of defence, into the forward 50, or on the wing before bringing it back into the corridor.

I know his numbers are usually pretty low, but his execution is underrated. Plus, you just know he’s doing all the team things, getting up and back and helping his mates out.

EDIT: Interesting stat Brynes holds the 3rd highest recorded distance covered in a single match of all time. 17.8kms
I agree
I definitely think he provides something to the team that's worthwhile and his kicking is actually decent, just has a ugly style.

He occasionally can scrub a kick but so do most players.

For example Darcy Wilson went at 48% de on the weekend and Byrnes went at 70%.

I just think hes an easy target

On Pixel 8 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I agree
I definitely think he provides something to the team that's worthwhile and his kicking is actually decent, just has a ugly style.

He occasionally can scrub a kick but so do most players.

For example Darcy Wilson went at 48% de on the weekend and Byrnes went at 70%.

I just think hes an easy target

Byrnes did ok, he got beaten in a couple of contests when the Cats were on a roll, but jeez he and the backline put in an amazing effort to save us in those last few minutes.

Just looking at the draw, if we can Jag a win somehow against port or gws we are a big shout for finals.
The next 7-8 rounds are either at Marvel against teams in a similar spot to us (we play Marvel better than most) or against struggling teams.
Add in some of our players coming back, we could be in a very good position come round 14.
Please make it happen saints!

Just looking at the draw, if we can Jag a win somehow against port or gws we are a big shout for finals.
The next 7-8 rounds are either at Marvel against teams in a similar spot to us (we play Marvel better than most) or against struggling teams.
Add in some of our players coming back, we could be in a very good position come round 14.

Need to get this one done first. The Tigers showed they can turn it on against Carlton, I don't see this being an easy win.

Great challenge for Hammer playing on Lynch, can't wait to see how he goes

Hopefully players that were gassed at the end of the cats game can find the fitness to run out the whole game soon.

Interesting to see who comes out of the side.

I was saying this on the weekend after we beat Geelong. If we can do what we should against Richmond (with all due respect to them) then we go to Adelaide and if we can get a split there, we are 3-2 with arguably the toughest part of the schedule done.

Arie off the track and up the race early.
Lots on bikes in the gym.
Rehab, Butts, Stocker, King, Doogs. Butler in black training gear, others in red tops. Reckon he is ready to go.
Coops in full training, Butler in full training.
No Sandy Boys on track, played Sunday.
Mids forwards drills to a leading Coops.
Getting the horn over the new Roo, not doing anything special, he just glides and his marking is just great.
Tauru should join Geelong with his blond hair and band.
Saving Chito in the fluro hat for drills.
Nice crisp ball work, Hall, Higgo and NAZ working nicely.
No Clark, can probably scratch him.
Great stuff, Tauru smothers a Keeler hand ball, Keeler recovers and shoots out a perfect handball to the outside.
Tauru taller than Wood and Macrae.
Lance has grown into his shorts.
Light match sim, Bolton taking it, Coops forward of course. Non contact, in season training very different to pre season, as it should be. This is a recovery session.
Hammer playing back, no Wilkie or Steele. None of these absences are a worry, recovery is the key.
Would say Butler and Coops in, maybe a mid for Clark, neither Boxshall, Carroll or Henry on the track as played on Sunday so can't tell.
Mids forwards and backs break up in there groups for some light drills.

Finished up with watching the backs practice blocking.
Reports on Thursday will give a better idea of ins, but from today, Coops and Butts are fit to go.
Adios Amigo's

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Rehab, Butts, Stocker, King, Doogs. Butler in black training gear, others in red tops. Reckon he is ready to go.
Getting the horn over the new Roo, not doing anything special, he just glides and his marking is just great.
Great stuff, Tauru smothers a Keeler hand ball, Keeler recovers and shoots out a perfect handball to the outside.
Light match sim, Bolton taking it, Coops forward of course. Non contact, in season training very different to pre season, as it should be. This is a recovery session.
Hammer playing back, no Wilkie or Steele. None of these absences are a worry, recovery is the key.
Would say Butler and Coops in, maybe a mid for Clark, neither Boxshall, Carroll or Henry on the track as played on Sunday so can't tell.

Reports on Thursday will give a better idea of ins, but from today, Coops and Butts are fit to go.
Adios Amigo's

Wilkie came down hard on his back and arse during the game late. Wouldn't be surprised if he had some bad bruising.

Adios Amigo's

Thanks mate.

Was King running ? How is he looking ?

Adios Amigo's

What time did training start?
Appreciate all your reports Joff

Didn’t do enough for Sandy on sun . At least another week in the seconds.
I don't want to get ahead of myself, but if we were going to rest him/ give him another week, this is the game to do it. I'd much rather a fully fit Henry coming back in against the Power, with us also bringing a bit of form into the game. If we get over the line this week, next week becomes a huge game IMO.