Preview Carlton vs Richmond, Round 1, MCG, 17 March 2022

It’s been a while since Carlton beat Richmond, especially in round 1.

giphy.gif

But if you believe the hype, the Blues are still coming.

download.jpg

The below picture surprises me because there are no spelling mistakes.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1399033676.206988.jpg
For once, these two teams won't open the season.
Let's delve a little deeper into this round 1 bye...I mean clash.

PERSONELL
The Blues will miss Sam Walsh. He's an out and out star.
Good news for all footy fans is that Sam Docherty will play after a battle with testicular cancer. I think we all don't mind seeing him fit and healthy again.
Liam Stocker, Josh Honey and Caleb Marchbank are all nursing injuries in what looks like a pretty healthy list overall.

No 9 draft pick Josh Gibcus will debut.
Kane Lambert is likely to miss a large chunk, if not all, of the season while Jack Graham won't be fit for round 1.
Co-skipper Dylan Grimes is making a last ditch bid to be fit while Toby Nankervis has the spicy cough, but gets out of isolation the day before the game and is available.
Nick Vlastuin looks set to miss.

MATCH UPS
If Grimes doesn't come up, it puts a massive weight onto the shoulders of Gibcus who would have to stand one of McKay or Curnow. However, he is recovering quickly from a hand injury and is expected to line up.
Noah Balta has been playing up forward, but he may need to be ready to race back to the defensive 50 if need be.
Trent Cotchin looks like he has a new lease on footy life and Patrick Cripps finally looks to have shaken off all those niggles. Both midfielders could spend a fair chunk of time in each other's presence.

NEW FACES
Carlton has added another overpriced hack back flanker in George Hewett to compliment the other dud half backs in Adam Saad and Zac Williams.
Adam Cerra will slot nicely into the midfield because there is no room on the half back flank.
Michael Voss is the new face of the Carlton Football Club.

images.jpg

As noted earlier, Josh Gibcus will debut for Richmond as will Robbie Tarrant while mastercoach David Teague will debut as a Richmond assistant after leading Carlton to their most successful period in 15 years.

E9dFdprVEAEdkiU.jpg

WHAT THEY ARE SAYING
David King: "I think Richmond will make a statement on Thursday. Carlton turned the ball over 95 times against Melbourne, who are finding their way back into it. "If they turn it over 95 times against the Tigers, they'll lose by 15 goals. No one punishes like Richmond."

download (1).jpg

WHO WINS?
According to Carlton fans, the wait is finally over.
And to be fair, there is reason for at least some form optimism at Paper Bag Oval.
David King to be the prophet: Richmond by 90 points.

We may beat Carlton but I don’t see this make up going far. There’s not enough running power in the wings.

U do know McIntosh is injured right?

Burge said Ross has had huge preseason and improved his running massively so let’s see how he goes

Have options with Ralph-smith and Stack learning the wing too

Carlton fans saying their list is so much better on paper then last year.

Jones, Walsh both out. Ed Curnow also.

Players like Setterfield, Owies, Tom De Koning, Mcdonald, McGovern, Nic Newman. Lochie O Brien. Hewett couldn't get a game at Sydney, not a bad player but not sure he's a star mid. Cerra is a nice addition.

If we're losing to this mob we're not good enough this year.

It’s the eve of Round 1, and already a triple-Premiership player is being called very unfavourable names…I reckon a few on here need to calm the farm, and appreciate what this team has done for us over the past 5 years…With maybe more to come…I remember 1982-2016…Very well…

One thing I've noticed is that we have a lot of mid-forwards in our team now. In past years there would have been blokes like Aarts, Rioli, Baker being used solely as forwards, now we have Dusty, Bolton, Sheds, Baker, Graham and Aarts who will all have their turn in the middle. Castagna is the only true small forward left, and even he starts on the wing at times now.

Don't know what we see in Aarts seems we're trying to fit him in better choices with Hugo , RCD ,Dow , would have love to see Miller in the defence to.

Pleased to see Grimes, Graham and Pickett named.
Pickett replaces Kam on the wing.
Remember the spectacular, courageous leaping mark Marlion took in the VFL in 2019.
CCJ was complaining it was his ball.
CCJ came from an elite privileged background.
Marlion came from poverty.
Like Dimma said in his first club speech.
Transformation.
It's what makes our club special.
In many ways, Pickett has eclipsed RCD, they started in the same year.
Ross has eclipsed RCD too.
Ross has worked hard and I thought was very impressive and composed, deserving a position.

Carlton fans saying their list is so much better on paper then last year.

Jones, Walsh both out. Ed Curnow also.

Players like Setterfield, Owies, Tom De Koning, Mcdonald, McGovern, Nic Newman. Lochie O Brien. Hewett couldn't get a game at Sydney, not a bad player but not sure he's a star mid. Cerra is a nice addition.

If we're losing to this mob we're not good enough this year.
Those spuds selling by the kilo?

It’s the eve of Round 1, and already a triple-Premiership player is being called very unfavourable names…I reckon a few on here need to calm the farm, and appreciate what this team has done for us over the past 5 years…With maybe more to come…I remember 1982-2016…Very well…
Perhaps an account made in feb '22 is a troll, especially when speaking of our Premiership players in that way. They are the turd here

One thing I've noticed is that we have a lot of mid-forwards in our team now. In past years there would have been blokes like Aarts, Rioli, Baker being used solely as forwards, now we have Dusty, Bolton, Sheds, Baker, Graham and Aarts who will all have their turn in the middle. Castagna is the only true small forward left, and even he starts on the wing at times now.
Its the supercoach method , Dual position

My team looks similar

Just Imagine Soldo goes to FF and Lynch and jack line up further out

Wietering is thinking WTF who is going to take Lynch / Riewoldt

Ohh apparently McNuggets will give jack a bath

Thats McCheese to you mate!

Soldo can kick straight ......... he would be very dangerous in the FF position.
Soldo can jump and its gonna be like 10 pin bowling when soldo comes from 3 deep and crashes the pack and the carlton backs are crumbling to the ground. Just as well theres a fence round the boundry cause thats as far as the carlton backs can roll after being crashed.
Footys back and tiger town is alive.

Probably the first time that I’m really doubting whether we win this game or not. I’ve been fairly confident with the season openers for a while before this one.

TL;DR - If no Grimes, then Carlton to win IMO. If Grimes, then Richmond to win IMO.
tumblr_mejonlHdko1rqfhi2o1_500.gif

Who am I to question the MC but JGraham on the back of no minutes played in practice matches and Hugo not making the cut is not something I would’ve gone with.

We need to reward strong preseasons and Hugo absolutely deserves a run for mine
This 100%.
Not a great look when he’s had a great preseason and doesn’t get rewarded.