Review It’s The Hope That Gets Ya - Rd 10 Review VS Collingwood

100%. Absolutely agree. It was Micochek and occasionally Cameron. It was small forward line for Collingwood. Walker would’ve been okay on Henry, Elliott etc.
Pearce is just so clumsy, so clunky. That’s in the dry. In the wet he is horrid. Logue Cox and Ryan is adequate.
Collingwood went with Moore, Quaynor and Howe. Plus a spare defender.
Which begs the question, why don’t we have a spare defender? Why? This so the second team in a row that has done this and our defence are so prideful on one on ones. There’s no structure, no zoning like Collingwood and Gold Coast. Soundly beaten due to 50/50 in one on ones which spills out to their smalls over the back. These games are when you just throw the gameplan and have a spare at all times.
This is mind boggling
How on earth can you guys be having a go at our defence when our forward line and midfield pressure was almost non existent ?
If the ball is just constantly entering even the best defence is going to crumple .

Do you think Hughes is worth a look?
He’s have been a fighter in the wet slog tonight.
Too many good players ahead of him in defence though
Think too many players are pigeonholed. Wouldn’t mind seeing Walker, Chapman take the wing spot. Probably after a pre season or two. Too good to be around defence.
Hughes is just another Logue.

This is mind boggling
How on earth can you guys be having a go at our defence when our forward line and midfield pressure was almost non existent ?
If the ball is just constantly entering even the best defence is going to crumple .
The problem with our defence wasn't so much their defence but more so their complete lack of offence. Marking the ball and waiting 30 seconds every single time while the fans behind you are practically screaming at you to f ucking move it forward just to decide on some 15m sideways/backwards kick

We've kicked a grand total of 10 goals from over 100 forward 50 entries across 2 games... that's so bad it's almost impressive.

It's not exclusively the forwards' fault. Today was a complete system breakdown and worryingly at times it looked like we just didn't have the stomach for a fight. We didn't play the conditions well but I think even in dry weather we'd have struggled.

It's probably still too small of a sample size to comment on definitively but there are arguably signs that opposition sides are starting to work us out and smother our transition from defence to attack. It's going to be an interesting next month of football but we could realistically hit the bye at 7-6 if Hawthorn turn up. That then puts finals in real jeopardy.

I hope they can turn it around but the inherent realist Freo supporter in me thinks we've regressed to the mean.
Well said
I was trying to work out what the lack of intensity may have been due to ? Do they just not like getting wet ?

One positive I did have was that Freo were doing well and trying hard to hold their feet

That’s all I’ve got though unfortunately

The problem with our defence wasn't so much their defence but more so their complete lack of offence. Marking the ball and waiting 30 seconds every single time while the fans behind you are practically screaming at you to f ucking move it forward just to decide on some 15m sideways/backwards kick
Rory Lobb in the corridor when Acres had good separation at half forward and he just stops and waits for the ****ing earth to stop spinning rather than move it on quick and put it out to advantage for Acres to run it inside 50. 🤦‍♂️

Why do the players stop and kick sideways when running into an open 50? Isn’t the point in wet weather to gain territory? The Banfield one was the weirdest, just have a bounce mate who cares

It was a wet day, the ball isn’t going to be coming in clean so it shits me blind when Rory Lobb turns around and gives an almighty spray to his teammate for not kicking the ball exactly how he likes it. Gtfo out with that shit.

The forwards were diabolical today. When it did get in there it just came straight back out. Banfield and Frederick need to be dropped asap because they offer nothing. It’s very telling that most of our goals came from the mids.

Chapman and Pearce were terrible. Logue is an ok mark of the footy and has a big body but is a liability after he marks it. Really poor decision-making. That moment on the wing with him and Aish was so deflating.

Our fringe best 22 players that were playing amazingly like Acres and Colyer have gone back to business as usual.

Got a serious case of the blues over this one. Post St Kilda game vibes. Hope we can turn it around. 😞

Seriously man. He is screaming WAFL right now.

Reckon he's still carrying that ankle from the North game, looked really bad at the time.

He's one I'm happy to give a pass to, but I get ya, he's been well down.

Jlo seems to be of the opinion players should play when injured. You would have thought he learnt his lesson with his own career.

Pearce looks like an elephant on roller skates because he is getting a jab in his ankle every game. Ryan has no lateral movement because his ankle is injured.

Stop playing guys injured ffs.

Jlo seems to be of the opinion players should play when injured. You would have thought he learnt his lesson with his own career.

Pearce looks like an elephant on roller skates because he is getting a jab in his ankle every game. Ryan has no lateral movement because his ankle is injured.

Stop playing guys injured ffs.

Agree, if he’s injured then don’t play him ffs. He’s a net negative at this point.

The other thing about these two games is I worry about what it does to the players mindset. Confidence being low whilst coming up against an undefeated Melbourne team is not ideal.

It was a wet day, the ball isn’t going to be coming in clean so it shits me blind when Rory Lobb turns around and gives an almighty spray to his teammate for not kicking the ball exactly how he likes it. Gtfo out with that shit.

I can't stand it. If you're gonna act like a typical KPF at least play like one.

Treacy would have been handy in today. His dirty mongrel and hunger to halve the contest was something we missed. I don’t care if he misses a week for putting his knee through Howe, just get it to ground. Put some fear into them back there. Love tabs but between he and Lobb they’re not worrying anyone going back with the flight… hate that !
I’d agree with this.
Treacy took a lot of stick last week but man, Tabs and Lobb were putrid last night.
They are 28 & 29 years old remember with over 100 games each, experienced players that are not meant to turn in crap like that.
At least Treacy would have crashed some packs hard and maybe helped lock the ball in a bit better on the forward half with a few run down tackles.
Darcy Cameron looked 10 times the player Rory Lobb is last night. Wasn’t even close.
Lobb set the tone early with a simple miss from 25m out in a very kickable area. In the conditions, that was a 12 pointer. He’s paid the big bucks to kick those and it was unforgivable. If we’d gone 12 or 18 up early on it would have broken the pies.
A few min later cameron converts a difficult kick from out on the wing and suddenly they are up and about.
As for Tabs, his main contribution last night was a stepladder for Howes mark.
One of the rare possessions he did get was kicked into the man on the mark and went straight back in our defensive 50 again.
I know people will rightly say our delivery i50 was crap but you still need more from senior key forwards in my opinion.

Forward pressure has dropped right off with Walters, Tabs, Lobb and Frederick with only 1 tackle each. Schultz and Colyer 2.

Collingwood had 15 tackles inside 50, we had four.

What's happened to Schulz? He was an absolute game changer and he's disappeared the last few weeks.

God I've woken up bitterly disappointed today.

The entire game plan relies on trusting your team mates to win and retain the ball while you are spreading hard forwards and sideways.

When you run hard one way, your team mates turn it over , you have to run back the other way.

As the game progresses, notice we played OK for the first part each game, the entire game plan quickly breaks down physically and mentally, because the players are out of gas.

The end result is what we see, constantly out of position, no more tackling or pressure , no more spread, and no one to kick to in space when we win it.

It seems obvious that if we are going to fumble bumble and not be clean in the wet, we need a plan B that is about taking and holding territory.

I just can't get over how absolutely nothing was learned from the gold coast game. Pretty much identical to that game in all four quarters. I had faith in JL early in the year where he made some big changes after the stk loss but he seems to be drinking his own bathwater more than any player out there.

We still have players in the team that wouldn’t make it on talent in most AFL lists. If they aren’t working their ar$es off they become useless.

I just can't get over how absolutely nothing was learned from the gold coast game. Pretty much identical to that game in all four quarters. I had faith in JL early in the year where he made some big changes after the stk loss but he seems to be drinking his own bathwater more than any player out there.
If you got a glimpse of a 7-3 W/L with a 128% after 10 rounds at the beginning of the season, would you have been pretty happy?

Review It’s The Hope That Gets Ya - Rd 10 Review VS Collingwood