Universal Love 2022-24 Random Chat – brought to you by Harvest Snaps

It is. When I lived in Williamstown as a youth we considered Newport, Spotswood and Yarraville as poor areas too. It will gentrify in the coming decades.

Lived across the road from the botanical gardens and 200m from the beach. I couldn't even afford to pitch a tent there these days.
Yeah Newport, Spoty and Yarraville were dumpy. Seddon was the worst. Now they are super expensive and cool areas

The botanical Gardens in Willy are really nice. Take the kids and dog there a bit

I’m bored.

Someone say something interesting

I’m bored.

My partner has taught our dog how to play dead when we say 'bang' and point a finger gun at him. Except he doesn't really play dead because he gets excited for forthcoming treats. But still looks cute.

This might be better suited to the dogs thread actually.

My partner has taught our dog how to play dead when we say 'bang' and point a finger gun at him. Except he doesn't really play dead because he gets excited for forthcoming treats. But still looks cute.

This might be better suited to the dogs thread actually.
That’s quite interesting. Thank you.

I taught my mums dog to play dead way back. I took her to school. The dog, not my mum that is. And one of the projects in puppy class level was to teach the dogs a trick using treats. So I taught Pong to play dead when I pointed at her and said “die”. It was a good idea because the other 14 dogs in the class were taught to shake hands so this was a bit original

That’s quite interesting. Thank you.

I taught my mums dog to play dead way back. I took her to school. The dog, not my mum that is. And one of the projects in puppy class level was to teach the dogs a trick using treats. So I taught Pong to play dead when I pointed at her and said “die”. It was a good idea because the other 14 dogs in the class were taught to shake hands so this was a bit original
My mum taught her dog to do the ‘sig heil’ every time that bastard Malcolm Fraser was on the telly.

I was going to teach my dog that but Mrs Crim wouldn't let me as she thought I'd probably bring it out at an inappropriate time. So I taught him to 'salute' instead.

I did teach him to 'talk' recently.

I’m bored.

my child is obsessed with bob dylan and it's great because i never listened to bob dylan before and now i'm obsessed with bob dylan too. Anyway that's not the interesting bit.

What blew my mind is the little thing wanted to know what bob dylan and joan baez's feet look like, no idea why but whatever, and you know what I found out? There's a flipping' app for it. I mean a website sure, of course there's hundreds of celebrity feet websites, why wouldn't there be. People love that shit. But a dedicated app? Just for celebrities feet? Like you're sitting alone at the footy at quarter time or going to work or whatever, f--k it i might browse some feet, i wonder what allen ginsberg's toes look like. I love everyone who ever downloaded that thing because they thought it was a fn' great thing to have on their phone, Safari's just not cutting it if you're really keen on heels and insteps.

Anyway that's something I thought was interesting, ymmv.

Edit: I'm sure I can find 5 facts out about bob dylan if you like?

my child is obsessed with bob dylan and it's great because i never listened to bob dylan before and now i'm obsessed with bob dylan too. Anyway that's not the interesting bit.

What blew my mind is the little thing wanted to know what bob dylan and joan baez's feet look like, no idea why but whatever, and you know what I found out? There's a f*n' app for it. I mean a website sure, of course there's hundreds of celebrity feet websites, why wouldn't there be. People love that shit. But a dedicated app? Just for celebrities feet? Like you're sitting alone at the footy at quarter time or going to work or whatever, f--k it i might browse some feet, i wonder what allen ginsberg's toes look like. I love everyone who ever downloaded that thing because they thought it was a fn' great thing to have on their phone, Safari's just not cutting it if you're really keen on heels and insteps.

oh no Toump...

What blew my mind is the little thing wanted to know what bob dylan and joan baez's feet look like, no idea why but whatever, and you know what I found out? There's a f*n' app for it. I mean a website sure, of course there's hundreds of celebrity feet websites, why wouldn't there be. People love that shit. But a dedicated app? Just for celebrities feet? Like you're sitting alone at the footy at quarter time or going to work or whatever, f--k it i might browse some feet, i wonder what allen ginsberg's toes look like. I love everyone who ever downloaded that thing because they thought it was a fn' great thing to have on their phone, Safari's just not cutting it if you're really keen on heels and insteps.

Can you find 4 more?

1654516064525.jpeg

So five, including the best ever fact about The Band?
It's such a good fact!

Fact number 1 (the best ever fact about The Band!):
Martin Scorsese filmed and produced The Band's farewell concert, The Last Waltz, which Bob Dylan almost didn't perform at. Neil Young did perform, but was only included in the film after Martin Scorsese's VFX team edited out the gigantic rock of cocaine hanging from his nose, frame by frame, for the entire duration he was on camera. The VFX crew called this rotoscoping technique "the traveling booger matte", apparently the first time editing of this nature was ever used on a feature film. Robbie Robertson- one of only two surviving members of the Band- called the rock attached to Neil's face "the most expensive cocaine Martin Scorsese ever bought" due to the expense of this editing exercise.

Have a look at the campaigner here, lol, flying high, rock n' roll. One of the greats:

(Bonus fact: on this day in 2013, I was 49 days away from seeing Garth Hudson, the other surviving member from the Band, perform a 2 hour set at Fuji Rock Festival. I had no idea who he was. He finished with a Bob Dylan cover ("I Shall Be Released"), and I didn't know what that was either. Kendrick Lamar, Bjork, Tame Impala, The Cure, My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails, DJ Shadow, Jurassic 5, Death Grips, Flying Lotus and others also played but I did know who they were. Sorry I'm really just bragging here now).

Fact number 2:
Bob Dylan wrote many romantic lyrics, but "here is your throat back, thanks for the loan!" probably isn't one of them...

Fact number 3:
... but "Oh baby, the pleasure would be all mine, If you let me drive your pickup truck and park it where the sun don't shine" is.

(This is Dirty World (Travelling Wilburys Volume 1), which according to George Harrison was Bob Dylan's idea of writing a song that sounded like Prince. Did a ripper job of it too)

Fact number 4:
Wikipedia lists the first ever "diss track" in contemporary music as either King Crimson's Happy Family (about the Beatles breakup) or Paul McCartney's Too Many People (about John Lennon and Yoko Ono), both released in 1970.

Toump Ass, however, lists the first "diss track" in contemporary music as Like a Rolling Stone, written about Edie Sedgwick and released in 1965. I love when Bob stands atop his mountain, spitting on the peasants below (which is pretty much everyone). How does it feel, Miss Lonely, to be on your own, a complete unknown... apparently she had a miscarriage with his child too? Goddamn Bob...

(Bonus fact: if you like diss tracks, Jay-Z's Takeover. Amazing.)

Fact number 5:
You might know this fact already (I have posted it before), but in my house, the words "Bob Dylan" or "Bobby D" refer not just to the greatest songwriter who ever lived, but also to cupcakes. This is because my toddler once remarked that the bakery goods he wanted looked like Bob Dylan. I am of the same opinion. I noted at the time I originally posted this, and am noting again now, that all white people look the same to me, and often remind me of baked goods. I previously posted a photograph of this phenomenon before, to emphasise this point, and I am posting it again here:

IMG_2999.jpg

... Hope this helps!

I didn't know anything about them, I only discovered them from this thread. Since then I "did my research". Here's the best 5 facts I discovered about Sabtaon in the last 5 minutes since I clicked on the link you posted:

Fact number 1. They once used a cannon as a drum riser and it's f--kin' awesome
450px-Hellfest2017Sabaton_01.jpg

Fact number 2. Sebaton claim not to be a Christian band, and are instead inspired by historical battles and war, which might explain the "Christian-y" vibe to their music. Because obviously there's nothing more Jesus-like than armed combat, bloodshed, and nuclear weapons.

Fact number 3. They have a song called "Burn Your Crosses" which is about an Inquisition (I assume Spanish). I copied and pasted the lyrics below:
No use to pray, there's no one listening
I will die anyway
Some say I've killed, some call me Satan
Now my blood must be spilled

This definitely has an anti-Satan God-is-pretty-great vibe despite the not-very-Christian-y song title. Could be a ruse. You can't trust Swedish people after all, and lots of people do claim they are Christian-y.

Fact number 4. Christian or not, they do really like war. Their official website has a wikipedia type feature that's accessed from an "on this day" type thing that displays historical war-related facts that happened on this day. For example: in four days time back in 1942, the Battle of Midway starts. You can read more about the Battle of Midway on Sabaton's official website, right here: "Battle of Midway starts | Sabaton Official Website"

Fact number 5. Fact number 1 is so far the most interesting fact I've discovered.

Fact number 6 (Bonus fact): The "s" in the Sabaton logo is a kind of pale imitation of the Saxon logo.
Saxon are British heavy metal band that are very old now but still make heavy metal music. The first YouTube link that came up also has crosses and knights in the video clip. You can see the Saxon logo on the bottom left of this YouTube link.

Hope this helps!

schmuttt was the one who told me they were Bible rock. Yet they aren't whatsoever.

I had a deep dive of my own on Sabaton last week also, their schtick appears to be writing songs on history, even have their own history channel on YouTube, Sabaton history IIRC, a 15 min history lesson about the back story to their songs if you're not familiar with the battle/war

Anyway, I love the song Bismarck, but Sabaton appear to be a studio band, given, I only watched 2 or 3 of their songs, but they still might be one of the worst bands Ive seen on stage , they set up an epic stage with cannons and planes to distract you from how bad they are imo. Zero energy, lead singers voice not anywhere near as powerful as their songs would have you believe

Last edited by a moderator:

schmuttt was the one who told me they were Bible rock. Yet they aren't whatsoever.
All good my man, glad to see you back :)

I think all their songs are about war... which is probably why they sound like a religious band, given religion seems to be what most wars start from.

Much appreciated mate, would have replied sooner but been suspended. I had a deep dive of my own on Sabaton last week also, their schtick appears to be writing songs on history, even have their own history channel on YouTube, Sabaton history IIRC, a 15 min history lesson about the back story to their songs if you're not familiar with the battle/war

Anyway, I love the song Bismarck, but Sabaton appear to be a studio band, given, I only watched 2 or 3 of their songs, but they still might be one of the worst bands Ive seen on stage , they set up an epic stage with cannons and planes to distract you from how bad they are imo. Zero energy, lead singers voice not anywhere near as powerful as their songs would have you believe

Apologies, a bunch of their songs are about religious events.

Been watching a ton of history doco's lately, mainly on World War 2, have really been enjoying it. So many butterfly effects, really makes you think what the world would be like today if a seemingly insignificant "x" didnt happen.

Not anything to do with WW2 but a great story I stumbled across a few weeks ago when looking for interesting historical stories to do with aviation, if you aren't familiar with the tale of D.B Cooper have a watch of this. very well put together video.

Been watching a ton of history doco's lately, mainly on World War 2, have really been enjoying it. So many butterfly effects, really makes you think what the world would be like today if a seemingly insignificant "x" didnt happen.

Not anything to do with WW2 but a great story I stumbled across a few weeks ago when looking for interesting historical stories to do with aviation, if you aren't familiar with the tale of D.B Cooper have a watch of this. very well put together video.

DB Cooper is awesome because it sounds like an urban myth but it 100% on the record did happen.

:thumbsu:

since I cant react to your post or anyone else's I guess im going to have to reply with a ":thumbsu:" instead for now on when I want to like a post...

Yea,i admire the balls and plan Cooper had. Ive got no doubt he survived the jump.

:thumbsu:

since I cant react to your post or anyone else's I guess im going to have to reply with a ":thumbsu:" instead for now on when I want to like a post...

Yea,i admire the balls and plan Cooper had. Ive got no doubt he survived the jump.

I recently started rewatching Twin Peaks and just realised Kyle McLachlan's character is called DB Cooper lol.

I'm (just) on the wrong side of middle aged.

I was walking down Swanston Street last night ... 6ish, reasonably dressed. A ruffian type spoke to me ... he asked "do you want some smack?" I replied "no thank you". (If i was in the market for that product I may have enquired about a seniors discount.)

Should I be offended that he thought I was a potential smack purchaser?

I'm (just) on the wrong side of middle aged.

I was walking down Swanston Street last night ... 6ish, reasonably dressed. A ruffian type spoke to me ... he asked "do you want some smack?" I replied "no thank you". (If i was in the market for that product I may have enquired about a seniors discount.)

Should I be offended that he thought I was a potential smack purchaser?
No, you just looked like someone who likes to party. This is fine.

Love ww2 docos.

Also love the db cooper story, watched a doco on him recently. Rad story.

Universal Love 2022-24 Random Chat – brought to you by Harvest Snaps