Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion

I thought Shiel was by far their best player last night.
Yep , nothing wrong with these stats

DescriptionDateOpponentResultKHBDMGBTHOGAI50CLCGR50FFFAAFSC
Round 13​
Jun 10​
9​
18​
27​
5​
1​
0​
10​
0​
0​
1​
8​
2​
0​
2​
1​
123​
13​

I'm more OCD about the bastardisation of language. Well and I am smarter than everyone else so perhaps you are correct.

Is trusts an acceptable plural in anything other than law? It certainly isn't common usage. People don't generally say "I lost the trusts of my friends when I talked them into a pyramid scheme". Certainly in law you would say "my family has set up multiple trusts".
You’re living way in the past mate, we’re onto big truss now

Something to this. They've gone into preservation mode. Don't take any risks and are looking like their reason for playing is to minimise damage rather than win. Richo played his whole game around not exposing our shit players to thrashings.

To me they looked like they were running down the clock starting first quarter.

O Dear bailey smith is in big trouble. Big big trouble

I still don't rate Goodwin as a coach, I reckon Choco Williams is more responsible for the Dees winning a flag than Goodwin, they improved considerably when he joined them as an assistant coach.
I always wished we got Choco Williams to the club

Just realised the Sandy game is on at midday today, streaming on the AFL site. They're up against Southport, so we'll get a look at Goober's mum form.
Lets hope so , might be the only thing that makes it worth watching

Wandered over to the Bullflogs forum for a gander…

Apparently this is “all a media beat-up, they love to pick on them, it’s not big deal, and anyway other clubs/players are worse”…

Pretty standard victim mentality stuff from them. 🙄

I know someone who worked at a company associated with Essendon's management. That place had a toxic corporate culture where they had spies that were there to report on the staff to the board and shit. Before this guy got there it had been a great place to work and it eventually became so oppressive that only the toxic people remained in the end. It was like a pool of acid with spies, hostile management and board members all out to get each other. They eventually sold the company to an overseas corporation who couldn't believe what they'd bought. They seem to have imported that to the footy club.

Yeah Toll was ****ed up for a long time

Complaining about the natural evolution of the language is something people do when they think they're smarter than everyone else and want to show it. It doesn't work.

Trust has been a noun as well as a verb for centuries. Here are some of the senses in which the noun trust can be used:View attachment 1421310
Learning has also been a noun for centuries, in these senses:
View attachment 1421311

Go nuts pretending you're smarter than everyone else because you know the english language better, but it's probably not giving people the impression you're hoping for.

This post literally grinds my gears

I'm more OCD about the bastardisation of language. Well and I am smarter than everyone else so perhaps you are correct.

Is trusts an acceptable plural in anything other than law? It certainly isn't common usage. People don't generally say "I lost the trusts of my friends when I talked them into a pyramid scheme". Certainly in law you would say "my family has set up multiple trusts".
I would say, imo, from a creative sense that in context of a team being made up of multiple individuals you could refer to the idea that there are 'trusts' being those individually defined and broken and trust in a collective sense being ruptured. The individual trust applying itself to the collective and the collective trust being inferred upon the individual. In that sense I find the term 'trusts' very evocative and interesting. ha! ha! its all fun!

Cracker of a day up here in Brisbane today. Has been unseasonally cold for the last week or so, today the wind has dropped and is a little warmer. And crystal clear. Tonight will get a bit cooler but there's none of the humidity one might expect. Will possibly get a little dewy but really it should be perfect conditions for footy.

Discussion 2022 General AFL Discussion