Game Day Round 17: Brisbane vs Essendon, Gabba, Sunday 10/07/2022 @ 1:10 PM

Who wins?

Huge loss the red dog, in B&F form. Covid well and truely back for afl clubs, going to be heaps of outs on the run home.

Clubs that are a flag chance would be absolutely petrified of September COVID.

Huge loss the red dog, in B&F form. Covid well and truely back for afl clubs, going to be heaps of outs on the run home.

Clubs that are a flag chance would be absolutely petrified of September COVID.
Going to be an interesting run home. Wonder how many players have had a third booster ? Not trying to make a political point or anything like that but it seems the predicted fall away of the effectiveness of two shots is well and truly in play across the community.

Answerth out for Lions. maybe more to come before Sunday's game. that's 8 out from the best 22. We may forfeit this one fellas. At least it's to a team I like. :huh:

Assume Madden will be the one to replace him?

Yeh Madden has been named as a replacement.
However our back-line is decimated. No Gardner, Andrews, Rich, Answerth, Coleman. Only Starce and Adams left from our starting back 7. This may get ugly for the Lions.

In fairness, Jack Payne has improved a lot and is a pretty solid defensive option who would get games at a lot of teams, including ours. Will be interesting to see how Fullarton goes in defence as well.

I'm guessing Ham or Waterman will be the sub. I'm hoping Ham, just for the melts.
Croque-Monsieur_0.jpg

First melt :p

Yes Payne has certinly improved but if Gardner is available Fages will always go with him.

See that's probably the best part of the ground to have outs from a Brisbane perspective. Our forwardline is the weakest area of the ground which means we'll struggle to capitalise on the outs.

If it was your forwardline or midfield, then I'd be a little more confident. As far as I'm concerned, Brisbane have enough quality in the midfield and forwardline to get it done. It would only be a problem for Brisbane if we dominate the midfield, which is unlikely.

Going to be an interesting run home. Wonder how many players have had a third booster ? Not trying to make a political point or anything like that but it seems the predicted fall away of the effectiveness of two shots is well and truly in play across the community.

Without furthering the political or biomedical point here, I do want to point out that the purpose of the shots wasn't to ward off getting COVID entirely, it was to lessen the impacts of the symptoms when you get it - in other words, preventing deaths and shortening the time of recovery. You can still get COVID, and we've accepted that it's out there. So a part of me doesn't understand why players have to bunker up when they have it just because of a close contact.

I get that we don't want to help it spread, but I'm sure the shots we've taken have curbed the likelihood of it mutating to something more dangerous and so I think we've expected COVID to eventually disappear, but if it's always going to be around like the flu, then we have to eventually realize that we can't keep sidelining ourselves just because of association or having the fear to spread it - unless we also accept that it spreads quicker than the flu, and in turn heightening the chance of concurrent sickies... well then what hope do we have as a society?

You'd hope they all had their third and will be inline for a 4th in a month.

What a weird world it is when you have to worry that following the advice of the world leaders in virology and epidemiology could be considered "political".

Next, they will be telling us that listening to world leaders in atmospheric physics, climatology, oceanography, and ecology is also political. :rolleyes::drunk:

Without furthering the political or biomedical point here, I do want to point out that the purpose of the shots wasn't to ward off getting COVID entirely, it was to lessen the impacts of the symptoms when you get it - in other words, preventing deaths and shortening the time of recovery. You can still get COVID, and we've accepted that it's out there. So a part of me doesn't understand why players have to bunker up when they have it just because of a close contact.

I get that we don't want to help it spread, but I'm sure the shots we've taken have curbed the likelihood of it mutating to something more dangerous and so I think we've expected COVID to eventually disappear, but if it's always going to be around like the flu, then we have to eventually realize that we can't keep sidelining ourselves just because of association or having the fear to spread it - unless we also accept that it spreads quicker than the flu, and in turn heightening the chance of concurrent sickies... well then what hope do we have as a society?

If I’m a boss of a footy club, I do not want my players getting it under any circumstance. I’m triple vaxxed, caught it a month ago, and I’m only just right. As we have seen with West Coast, it can derail an entire season.

You'd hope they all had their third and will be inline for a 4th in a month.

What a weird world it is when you have to worry that following the advice of the world leaders in virology and epidemiology could be considered "political".

Next, they will be telling us that listening to world leaders in atmospheric physics, climatology, oceanography, and ecology is also political. :rolleyes::drunk:
In Israel they found the fourth shot to be negligible in terms of protecting people but it is interesting that our politicians are spruiking a fourth at the same time that Pfizer is announcing it has new Omicron specific vaccines 🤔

The Forbes magazine article on Trump's Operation Warp Speed is also worth a read. Everything is political when power is involved.

1657367914997.png

Pretty amazing how the outbreak in Victoria in 2020 and NSW and Victoria in 2021 were such controversies yet we're happy to just accept the current numbers.

I think it is fair to say that no one is looking anymore. People are fatigued by having to make some sacrifices to save lives. It is like we've just accepted that 17,500 people will die this year. I wonder how they would react if there were people here killing that many Australians. Imagine if 17 people a year were being killed by "African gangs" ... lol.

Oh and what is the cost to the community of this:

1657368294926.png

Imagine if that dark blue "indensive care" part of the graph followed the light blue after december 2021 .. wonder why that stopped? mmm

In Israel they found the fourth shot to be negligible in terms of protecting people but it is interesting that our politicians are spruiking a fourth at the same time that Pfizer is announcing it has new Omicron specific vaccines 🤔

The Forbes magazine article on Trump's Operation Warp Speed is also worth a read. Everything is political when power is involved.
That last sentence is very true. However, politics moving into science since the 90s has made for a weird weird world. Clearly all of the anti-anti smoking lobbyists moved on to support the fossil fuel industry once the tobacco industry took a knee because they realised there was more money in doing that and focussing on selling their cancer to S.E. Asia.