Captaincy / Leadership group

My kids, including the ones older than petty when I was going through cancer hell, were fragile.

Comments like Zorko's would have destroyed them.

Especially when so out of context - how did Zorko even know his mum was going through it? And during a game of football - why wasn't Zorko focusing totally on the game?

If Zorko isn't dropped as captain for the final, we will not be going.

What a shit bloke.

He's also been involved with so many poor form incidents over the years, giving away so many stupid free kicks for this behaviour too. Hasn't been the person I want representing the club for a while - but this is the nail in the coffin. We need to strong, decent leader if we're going to take ourselves seriously and build a resilient culture.

It seems everything's not good now.

I've been critical of aspects of our coaching and playing but we have a match to play with a week off that we should win if everyone calms down and just focuses on what they as individuals and what the team needs to do to shut the Tigers down.

The rest of the noise can wait until after we lose if we do. If we don't we go again with the same mindset.

My kids, including the ones older than petty when I was going through cancer hell, were fragile.

Comments like Zorko's would have destroyed them.

Especially when so out of context - how did Zorko even know his mum was going through it? And during a game of football - why wasn't Zorko focusing totally on the game?

If Zorko isn't dropped as captain for the final, we will not be going.

What a s**t bloke.
I watch and read a lot of Lions footy content including FB - Funnily enough, whenever Zorko is interviewed, I tend not to watch him b/c I can't stand the site of him and that was before the weekend. I was talking to another parent at Noosa Footy Club about Zorko and they were saying that there kids were at some signing event and wouldn't let their kids get Zorko's signature or photo. Must admit I was astounded but thought of events I've been to and hes about the must unapproachable and unlikable player at the club. Moving forward I'll be doing the same.

Someone posted the first 20 seconds of this video on FB - dont know how to copy and paste just the clip they had - and spoke of his arrogance and how full of himself he is and I couldn't help but laugh b/c its so true. I thought of lioninthesands story over teh weekend about his interaction with him and it didnt surprise me. The fact Daly is now saying he doesn't know what the issue is, is mindblowing. The club is in no mans land if this is there attitude evidenced by that pathectic club statement. The guys should be strip of his captaincy and suspended for the game against Richmond.

If matho can improve over the off season and be permanent 22, I vote for him as captain.

Never say die attitude, universally loved by players, respectful, super supportive of young developing players.

What's not to love.

We have 3 or 4 who could do the job....Neale, Rayner, Matho, Bailey, McCluggage

They are quite old enough, they are not babies. 80yrs ago, at their age they'd have been captains in a war.

...but it is time to give lots more responsibility to the younger group. Have trust in them to take over.

Could be the makings of them and our team. A fresh start.

Untenable.

The only 'upside' (I use that term with the utmost respect to all involved) is that it makes a difficult decision that much easier. Was not the bloke to lead us next year and now this episode should make it easier to step him down. I'd be a bit surprised if he doesn't himself (and they will probably give him that option as a mark of respect to him).

He has been a tremendous servant and a legend of this club, and his leadership during the dark days will not be forgotten. But his antics have gone on long enough and time for us to move forward. I reckon his rubbish off the ball has come out of frustration that his body has not allowed him to be the player he once was.

Still a spot in our best 22 to start the year if he is fit though IMO.

Neale would be my pick for a couple of years until one of our cohort of younger players basically puts there hand up.

McCluggage and Rayner are still on an upward trajectory as players and it is important that isn't interrupted. Also there is still a bit of doubt as to their best positions on the field.

Starc is an interesting one. Comes across as a quiet, serious dude in the media. Sellwood is one who comes to mind when i read Starc as a candidate. A lead by example type.

The highest credentialed, most professional player who presents well in the media is no doubt Neale.

Neale would be my pick for a couple of years until one of our cohort of younger players basically puts there hand up.

McCluggage and Rayner are still on an upward trajectory as players and it is important that isn't interrupted. Also there is still a bit of doubt as to their best positions on the field.

Starc is an interesting one. Comes across as a quiet, serious dude in the media. Sellwood is one who comes to mind when i read Starc as a candidate. A lead by example type.

The highest credentialed, most professional player who presents well in the media is no doubt Neale.
Neale. Then Robertson. Then Ashcroft.

J Berry is my choice as captain. So many suggesting Neale but I don't see alot of leadership characteristics in him. Yes he is out best player and gives 110 each week. Just not sure he is the type of player to get vocal and get the boys up.

Berry on the other hand seems like a born leader. He has been hampered majorly by injuries this year. But loves to get the boys pumped up.

Zorks captaincy should be done. As of Friday night. He is a fantastic player when playing footy. But far out the brain farts and severe lack of discipline has to go.

His successor is another issue altogether.

Andrews - always seen as the next best option, however horribly out of form this year and another who's antics are wearing thin. Would rather he concentrate getting himself fit again.

Neale - possible, but has never screamed captain material. Would certainly lead by example on field though and you can't ask any more than that. Not sure whether he would want it, but he'd probably be my choice.

McCluggage + Berry - both have leadership qualities but again, can't see them as a sole captain.

Starc - bit of an out there option but he'd almost be my first choice. Another who would do his best work on field rather than in front of the camera. Reckon he may be one that would go to the next level like a Nick Maxwell.

Oscar - not for me.

Rayner - not yet. Needs to show consistency in his game first which he is getting. Let him concentrate on that over the next 2-3 years.

Matho - not sure if that was a serious suggestion. Certainly not. In our best 22 at the moment but should be overtaken by Ashcroft / Tunstill / Dev / Sharp if we want to improve.

what about our leadership group.

At time we were like headless chooks. Seemingly Zorko went one way trying to get us engaged in the match, did the leadership group get their voices heard in this.

to be honest so many players were just screwing up it was basically a system wide failure...

I think Clug is pretty settled. Been an A grader mid for a few years now

there was an interesting comment by hodge in the media that clug is the player he thinks still has another level to go to and could be the best player in the comp

he could be an S Grader mid

His successor is another issue altogether.

Andrews - always seen as the next best option, however horribly out of form this year and another who's antics are wearing thin. Would rather he concentrate getting himself fit again.

Neale - possible, but has never screamed captain material. Would certainly lead by example on field though and you can't ask any more than that. Not sure whether he would want it, but he'd probably be my choice.

McCluggage + Berry - both have leadership qualities but again, can't see them as a sole captain.

Starc - bit of an out there option but he'd almost be my first choice. Another who would do his best work on field rather than in front of the camera. Reckon he may be one that would go to the next level like a Nick Maxwell.

Oscar - not for me.

Rayner - not yet. Needs to show consistency in his game first which he is getting. Let him concentrate on that over the next 2-3 years.

Matho - not sure if that was a serious suggestion. Certainly not. In our best 22 at the moment but should be overtaken by Ashcroft / Tunstill / Dev / Sharp if we want to improve.
I had never seriously considered it, but it wasnt until I read MacMum's post abut Rayner yesterday that I've started to turn towards him. Agree with your summation here, but I don't think Andrews or Berry or McCluggage are it for reasons mentioned and same for Neale - he doesn't scream captain. I think Lester could seriously do it, and whilst I think he should be in the team, he isn't, so probably can't be considered.

I thought MacMum made a compelling case and he speaks exceptionally well and is the type that could lift a team and is a popular clubman. I now think Starcevich based off your comments is another serious consideration and I'd be for either of these two fine young men.

It seems everything's not good now.

I've been critical of aspects of our coaching and playing but we have a match to play with a week off that we should win if everyone calms down and just focuses on what they as individuals and what the team needs to do to shut the Tigers down.

The rest of the noise can wait until after we lose if we do. If we don't we go again with the same mindset.
Disagree J think we should have drawn a line on Saturday then regrouped.If not dealt with it will be kicked down the road an will continue to fester

This has been doing the rounds on FB which is coming from a real leader. Could anyone at the club say this is wrong?:

1661137657373.png
Clearly, Zorko and Fagan have made this club the laughing stock of the comp alongside Essendon.

Truly can't believe the club has been reduced to this as it stands for very little at the moment other than highly predictable and immoral.

I am with briztoon re captaincy, the obvious no brainer choice now is Lachie Neale.... the guy who was massively positively rated for leadership qualities during his draft year was Dev Robertson, from what I have seen at training and in games he is a born leader, if he can secure a lock selection in our best 22 he would be my pick to take over from Lachie in 3-4 years.

Lachie seems the obvious choice, if he wants it.

Would have said Harris if asked 18 months ago. Not as sure but he’d still be my number two choice I reckon.

Berry seems a good choice. In and out with injury a bit though. I don’t think it matters too much that he’s not in the guts full time.

If we’re looking for a stop gap for a year or two Daniel Rich would be good I think.

I reckon O does have good leadership skills and seems popular and well respected. I actually really dig his vibe in the media. I would be against it at all. He seems entrenched in the 22 going forward so that’s a tick.

Why am I not surprised? If Zorko concentrated on playing football Friday, instead of looking for every opportunity to play the grub, we would have been a damn sight closer.

Lingy hit the nail on the head, IMO.

As to the next captain, the cupboard is a bit bare, is it not? Perhaps a joint McCluggage/Berry capaincy?

This has been doing the rounds on FB which is coming from a real leader. Could anyone at the club say this is wrong?:

View attachment 1487123
Clearly, Zorko and Fagan have made this club the laughing stock of the comp alongside Essendon.

Truly can't believe the club has been reduced to this as it stands for very little at the moment other than highly predictable and immoral.

There is nothing wrong with the statement there but Ling is just about the most boring/useless media commentator out there. Which is kind impressive when you think about all the other contenders for that spot!

Sorry for the intrusion but I think these comments from your GM of Football are really disppointing. Nobody in any workplace should be subjected to vile comments about the health of family members and IMO your club should be calling out Zorko's comments publicly, saying he has let the club and supporters down, and that more is expected of him not only as a player but as a leader.

Captaincy / Leadership group